Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tipperary Eventer Vest

Tipperary
- Item #14856
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tipperary Eventer Vest is most preferred by world class riders! Light weight Flex-Pad design allows for a contoured custom fit that is not restrictive to movement. This versatile safety vest can be worn through all levels of competition, from beginner to Four Star, during schooling rides, and out on the trail.

Favorite Features

  • Dual density padding system provides superior shock absorption and impact reduction
  • Flex designed padding and construction allows for maximum mobility and increased airflow
  • Lightweight and breathable Durasport covering with a Micro Mesh inner lining and vented padding
  • Zippered front with adjustable side laces provide a custom fit
  • Scalloped lower front limits the amount of restriction in the saddle
  • Extended padding provides increased protection for the tail bone

Sizing It Up

Safety Vest Comparison Chart

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest is a culmination of ...
Description:
The Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest is a culmination of more than a decade of experience in airbag technology by MUGEN DENKO, LTD. The Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest is a "harness type" airbag that employs the new higher speed key ball mechanism which activates ...
The Pikuer Gracia Primaloft Vest has all the ...
Description:
The Pikuer Gracia Primaloft Vest has all the elements of functionality that you need done with the elegance and luxe details that you desire! Favorite Features Rose gold tone zippers and zippered pockets Detachable Imitation Fur on Stand-up Collar Very light due to 133g Primaloft® ...
The Hit Air Equestrian Super Light Weight Vest is ...
Description:
The Hit Air Equestrian Super Light Weight Vest is a "harness type" airbag that employs the new higher speed key ball mechanism (component that activates the CO2 cartridge). This model is especially light weight, cool and more comfortable than the competing brand. It ...
We love riding and we love safety, so ...
Description:
We love riding and we love safety, so why not combine the two? A vest version of the Corrib Neon Jacket, the Corrib Neon Vest is perfect for anyone looking for some additional warmth while also being noticed. If you're ...
The Reflective Safety Vest provides high visibility for ...
Description:
The Reflective Safety Vest provides high visibility for horse and riderProtection. Adheres to European safety standard EN-471. Front and rear reflective strips. Adjustable elastic at both sides. Imported.
This EQologySoftshell Vest by SmartPak is from the ...
Description:
This EQologySoftshell Vest by SmartPak is from the EQology Collection by Smartpak - look good, do good, feel great. You'll feel great wearing EQology by SmartPak because every piece is built for performance with an athletic fit and constructed with ...
Replacement CO2 canisters fit exclusively with the Point ...
Description:
Replacement CO2 canisters fit exclusively with the Point Two Air Jackets. Please Note: Please specify Bayonet or Screw-in Fitting for your replacement CO2 canisters As a general guideline: Bayonet fittings should be purchased for vests manufactured after October 2012 Screw-in ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tipperary Eventer Vest is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Protection I bought this for my friend for christmas and she loves it
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy Lightweight and good price. Works well in hot weather
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very light and Comfortable Bought this a while ago, and I'm glad I did. A little bit small, but I like it a lot. It is super light and fits well. It is nice and soft and bends to your body. The only thing I don't like is how it gets hot in the summer (but that is how most vests are, anyway.) But overall it is worth the buy!
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable Getting my first vest and have tried 6 different brands, but the Tipps are the only brand that doesn't feel as bulky or restrictive. This vest is very lightweight, moves with your body and non-contrictive feeling. Only concerns are: !) Although I ordered the correct size, it fits a little big above the chest area, so has a tendency to ride up at the top; 2) There is no extra protective flap on the sides to cover the area where the sides come together under the laces; 3) It is not rated (I am guessing because of #2).Really like it though and will try it in a smaller size to see if #1 is eliminated.
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, great for novice evener For my 14 year old daughter - she found it very comfortable and gave her a lot of confidence in her first eventing trials. We are very pleased with this vest. We found the smart pak video on how to measure for size and how to put on the vest properly to be very helpful . She is 5'8" and 115 lbs and the Adult XXS worked great. Great price too for someone just getting into the sport.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what it used to be! I have two Tipperary vests. One I bought 3 years ago and love. The second I bought a year ago and it is not the quality of the original vest. The problem I had was that I would be riding and the vest would come unzipped. I was not wearing anything under it other than a top. I contacted Tipperary and the rep said that the unzipping was a problem they had been recently having. She told me to wear only a top under it no heavier than a t-shirt otherwise it would come unzipped. I told her that I was not wearing heavy layers under it only a thin top. I was originally told to send the vest back but I never received the shipping info. And really do I want a vest that I can't trust to not come unzipped? Otherwise the vest is comfortable and comes in fun colors.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Vest I Need I'm about to order my 3rd vest- first two needed to be replaced after hard falls. They've never shown any type of wear, I am just cautious about using possibly compromised safety equipment. I've used these Tipperary vests since I was 12 years old... now 21. They're so comfortable you don't even notice them, and the adjustable sides are awesome. I've always worth the Adult Small, even though I've grown quite a bit! For reference, I'm 5'9'' and 160lbs, but small chested. Larger chests probably have to go up a size. I only wish they were certified.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and super comfortable! Love this vest! I'm actually a hunter rider, but ride young horses alone fairly frequently so wanted to get a little extra protection in case of an accident. After reading the reviews, I ordered an XS and it fits absolutely perfectly (I normally wear a S or M in shirts). I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to move around in. Just the extra, comfortable protection I was looking for!
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I have only used this vest twice, so I cannot comment on durability or functionality in a fall. However, the fit was perfect. I wear small in tops, ordered an extra small after reading the reviews and it fits perfectly. It is very light and comfortable.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vest for this novice eventer... I was looking for a nice safety vest that would be protective without being bulky and at a reasonable price point and I found it with this one. I love the adjustability that the laces on the sides provide. Double bonus, the laces can we switched so I can color coordinate to my hearts content or replace any that start to fray. So, excited to get started with my x country lessons!
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still my favorite I love the look of these classic vests and they are about as comfortable as zipping foam around you could be. :) They do ride a little high in the front, but they must for mobility when you're in the saddle. I'm on my second one now and don't see myself changing in the future, unless I get a hybrid air vest. I got white laces for my black vest to go with my colors.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable fit allows for easy movement Bought this after fall from young spooky mare.  While I do not participate in eventing and use only for schooling and practice, it is very comfortable and light weight.  Definitely provides a secure fit and gives the rider that extra confidence knowing they are a bit more protected without any impact on range of movement.  Fits true to size based on sizing charts; side lacing provides customization and allows for wear over different tops.  It is still quite cold so I cannot comment on if this will be hot in warmer months (hence only  4 stars).
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this vest! Finally upgraded to the Tipperary Eventer Vest. So glad I did. Very comfortable, very lightweight. I couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great light weight vest I love the Tipperary Eventer vest, they are very light and breathable, not restricting at all. I do find that the back runs a bit long, and I even have a long torso and have the XXS (5'2", 115lbs). It was more of a problem with the XS, not really with the XXS. I have had the bottom of the zipper separate on two different vests, which is why I gave it a 4 for durability. The 4 for value is because it's still a hefty price for a non-certified vest.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have for Eventers Lightweight, comfortable, fits great, and safe!!!
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits & looks great! I really love my Tipperary Eventer vest...I don't think that I'd consider buying a different brand. I've owned 2 vests--the first was from when I was in my teens & I outgrew it! I currently have this style in black. It is great that Tipperary offers a good variety of stock colors, and some lovely custom colors as well! I went with black, so that I could wear different colored shirts under it without clashing. I also saw that Smartpak offers Tipperary replacement laces for the sides of this vest...for just a few bucks a pair! I'm definitely excited to add a little color to my vest! Back to the vest--the zipper seems of good quality and has held up well so far. Also, I like the small blocks rather than larger pieces in the vest, because it is able to mold to your body. Make sure to follow the measurement chart-I usually take a size S-M shirt, but I actually have a size XS in my Tipperary vest. Highly recommend if you are looking for a vest!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable vest! I bought this vest to wear when my mare is feeling fresh and full of herself. Thankfully I haven't fallen while wearing it but I feel that it will soften the blow. It's not bulky and fits true to size. Great safety vest!
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta love the Tipps! This is a great vest, simple enough. I had to downsize to an XXS (I am 5'2" 110lbs) after realizing I was swimming in my XS. Fits very well and allows great freedom of movement, I do not feel restricted by this vest whatsoever. It has held up to many a meeting with XC fences very well. :)
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vest, fun color I bought this vest because another gal at our barn had one in black and I thought it was actually really cute. I have a young and green OTTB and though I have never yet taken a fall off him with his varied shenanigans I felt at my age, it would be a good idea to own this vest for trail riding and maybe when jumping as he is just learning. This vest fits like a glove, and looks chic in my opinion. I got the royal blue and it is a lovely true royal and not the light turquoise it appears in the color chart on my monitor at any rate. It seems very well made and conforms to my body and once it's on I really don't feel at all restricted and though it was in the mid 70s today when I wore it, I wasn't hot. I even got a complement on how cute my horse and I looked, he with his bright orange Renegade hoof boots and me in my bright blue vest.Teenager alert! My 14 year old daughter refuses to wear this in the trails. She thinks it is stupid and makes her look like a beginner rider, lol! I told her its an eventer vest and if anything makes her look like she is on a hot horse, haha!
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vest I actually did recommend this to a friend and she wasn't on her horse but it still saved her from getting hurt! We were walking our horses down a hill that was lose gravel, and she slipped and rolled a few rolls down this hill. We both laughed, but the joke was, it was her first time wearing the vest. Had she not had it on, she would have got hurt by the rocks, gravel and stickers. The vest took the brundt of the fall!
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since I first got the vest and wrote the first review, I have ridden in it a few more times, and went camping for a week and used it. I am much happier with it. At first it was hitting the cantle on my Dressage saddle; which was annoying. But I tightened it up in the waist and it took care of that. It's a little harder to mount from the ground (but I'm old). I feel so much more secure knowing if I fall, I have a better chance of not breaking anything.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Safety Must I bought this vest for my husband who events. He had an older vest that needed replacing due to age. This vest made well and is recommended by his trainer.Great also under his air vest.The size was perfect and the adjustability is a plus.
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this vest. We already had one of these vests and needed another because we have more than one rider. My daughter said that she wants to wear it every time she rides (even when not jumping cross country) because it doesn't hurt to fall off.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worth the money I like the vest, it is on the "thinner" side, but still thick enough to do its job (e.g., if you dismount unplanned you have a soft landing). The material is not very durable, especially if you ride through woods and there is contact between, e.g., a twig and the vest. The vest is very comfortable, does not hinder any movement at all!!!What I do not like is that I can not wash the fabric shell without the inner protectors (other models allow this), and, as one should not use detergent because of the protectors, no real washing is possible (therefore the 3 stars for duarbility).But, OVERALL, I would buy this vest again! A comfortable, yet safe wear!
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vest is very comfortable. I used the sizing chart and was not convinced that an xs would fit, but it fit perfectly. It breathes well and flexes, so you really don't even know that you are wearing it. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2011-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Vest This vest is amazing. We had to get a vest on short notice for a show, so we decided to get this one. It is very comfortable, I love using it when conditioning my my mare, and anytime on x-country course.
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, lightweight vest I got back into eventing after a long break, and found that my old Tipperary vest wouldn't fit anymore (though still in good condition after years of use and storage!)I was pleased to find that SmartPak offered the larger and tall sizes in stock immediately, which I hadn't found in any other supplier.
Date published: 2011-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vest Comfortable, adjustable vest- bought it several years back before I really grew and it still fits great now that I'm several inches taller and bigger all around- it was a little big but its great that it still fits! I've taken a few tumbles in it and honestly felt like I bounced a bit more with the vest! Durable but does catch on velcro, needs to be stored flat or hung up. Good, lasting product. The company is great. Just detailed my black vest with colored cinching strings and it looks NEW!
Date published: 2011-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Royal Blue Vest I am back in the tiny English Saddle and regaining confidence over jumps. I purchased my vest for rides outside of the sandy ring. I wore it out on a long trail ride with my horse. We were by ourselves and I felt good knowing I had on my Tipperary. We rode for about two hours in relatively warm weather and I was not uncomfortable at all in my vest. It is very lightweight and not restricting in movement. I got the royal blue color and it is so rich looking. I love my blues and so does my horse. I also love how I could get the tall fit for my long torso. Great product and great insurance!
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My First Vest I bought this vest second hand, and it is amazing. It's not restrictive, it's not hot and it's not annoying like some of the other vests I've tried on. I love how lightweight it is, and how it moves with you.
Date published: 2011-03-09
  • 2016-09-28T12:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_4856, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders