Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.

Imported.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
Customers Also Shopped For
The tried and true FortiFlex's Flat Back Buckets ...
Description:
The tried and true FortiFlex's Flat Back Buckets are a favorite among horse owners and horses alike! Made with FORTALLOY rubber-polyethylene blend for exceptional strength and toughness even at low temperatures. The thick wall construction andHeavy duty galvanized fittings ensure ...
Our Slow Feeder Saver is designed to give ...
Description:
Our Slow Feeder Saver is designed to give Equines the healthiest and most natural eating experience possible regardless of them being stalled or stabled. Favorite Features Small grate holes prevent horses from wasting feed by consuming it to quickly or ...
The perfect tool for any farm or stable! ...
Description:
The perfect tool for any farm or stable! The Burlingham Feed Cart is the largest, strongest feed cart available with 8 cubic feet of storage space. Favorite Features Very strong dual lids cover three compartments Large compartment will hold 120 ...
Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, ...
Description:
Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, these licks are a 550 million year old source of minerals and trace elements for your horse or pony. The distinctive rose pink color comes from the salt's high mineral content, including ...
This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system ...
Description:
This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system designed to accommodate a fully strung bale or the equivalent in loose hay or hay nets. Double walled and thermally insulated to reach and maintain the critically high temperatures required to effectively ...
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is ...
Description:
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is easy to hang in your horse's stall Favorite Features Includes attached S hooks orHeavy-duty snaps for installation Galvanized reinforcements Capacity markings in gallons and liters Perimeter rim helps bottom of bucket resist ...
Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial ...
Description:
Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.692913385826771 out of 5 by 127.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety First! Purchased these to end the tying and untying of lead ropes in the trailer. The safety release is backed up by a velcro release, which leaves you something to catch your horse with in the event of an escape. A generous length and also adjustable.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Right I bought a used trailer, and hadn't realized it wouldn't come with ties. So I used a lead rope tied with quick-release knots until these were delivered. When I put them in, I was pleased to notice that they were exactly the length to which I had adjusted the lead rope. I'm pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good enough i have an 11' wide aisle and the cross ties are great but could use a little more length. I am afraid to velcro less than half of the total allowable.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secure and safe! This item a friend of mine had for a long time, has lasting quality and functionality. I bought one for myself and have still gotten the same great results! It gives a great piece of mind then hauling someone new or working with a green horse. I love it, it's the only tie I will use from now on.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works exactly the way it's supposed to! My little mustang can behave like a toddler when it comes to taking a bath. He doesn't cross tie, so I bought only one of these Tie-Safe Ties. When he started acting up and pulling back I thought (for a brief moment) that he would pull the post out of the ground. Instead I heard the velcro starting to come undone. So did he and he was so surprised he just stopped struggling. I know if he had tried harder, he could have gotten out of his bath time but the velcro would have kept all of us safe - which is most important to me.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONLY TRAILER TIES I WILL USE!! I have a 24 year old barrel horse that is as mellow as you can get but one day he was in the last stall of my horse trailer and backed out before I could unsnap him /: thank God no one got hurt but he set back and luckily broke the tie down that was used to tie him. Since then, I have learned my lesson and will only use these safety ties. Also great for training babies ( I have a weanling who is still getting used to the trailer ) and they aren't expensive!
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Ties I bought this for my quarter horse and my mini horse. Used them and they work great. Ties are good quality and price is reasonable.
Date published: 2015-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very useful I bought this trailer tie to use for our pony. I love the Velcro as I can make it longer to reach my pony's height. The quality and construction is excellent and safe for our pony activites.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderfully! I use the trailer tie's in my trailer and also on my picket line (attached to a lead rope tied to the high line) for over-night camping. My horse has a bad habit of scratching his ear with his back hoof, which can turn into a disaster when tied to a high line with a regular tie. With the Tie-Safe the velcro just gives way and he walks safely to the nearest patch of grass. I'd much rather catch a horse then call the vet!
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look like they should work. I've only had the opportunity to use these ties once, but they are well made and look like they should work as described. I bought them because I had a horse get loose with a lead rope flapping around his legs! This should solve that problem should it ever occur again.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've had horse's pull back in the trailer before and not able to release because of both their halter and the trailer tie not breaking. Extremely scary and will happen to every horse at some point. The horse that did it with me was a very mellowed gelding, he'd been in that trailer 50+ times and the location wasn't new. It was just a freak thing that occurred. I LOVE that these provide resistance before releasing, as most (not all) horses will sometimes give to the pressure and chill out (my mare is an example of this). I have one in each trailer stall and am considering ordering 2 more for cross-ties once my current ones retire.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good I was worried this would be too forgiving, but I had a horse pull back on it a bit and it didn't come apart, so I'm happy with it
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe tie for every horse! I use these ties religiously in my facility-every horse will panic or set back at one time or another and these ties with the easy release Velcro save halters, ties rings and horses!
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy trailer tie with extra safety feature I purchased a trailer in January. I wanted a trailer tie with a panic snap, and saw this had the additional Velcro safety feature. I liked the idea so ordered this product. It arrived and I really like how sturdy the trailer tie is; the Velcro is very secure and I don't anticipate any issues with the Velcro not holding up.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety always first! I bought these and also the picket or cross ties, and love them. It is worth having a piece of mind when camping and have horses on a picket line. I can sleep much better when camping! LOL
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but I would love stainless steel hardware! Hopefully I will never need these cross ties to release my horse, but since I'm working with a green three year old, you never know. And it pays to be safe.I love how sturdy they are, nice big heavy hardware pieces and sturdy nylon. I have no doubt that they will do exactly what they're supposed to do in case of an emergency.The only improvement would be for the hardware to be stainless steel. And yes, I would be willing to pay more for the upgrade in hardware. We will see how long the brass plated hardware lasts.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cross ties While I haven't had a horse spook tied with these yet, I have in the past on my old ones that didn't release, taking hide off his face from the halter, and a black eye for me trying to get him released! This is why I gave a 4 star rating as of now, but the ties look well made and the idea of still having something to grab onto to secure the horse sounds great.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties! I just replaced the pair i had for over 5 years! They are dueable and last so long!
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ties ever This trailer ties are awesome! Lets your horse get away from danger and you can avoid a vet bill! Trust me... been there done that wish I had these ties that day. Strong enough to do the job but break away when needed with out breaking... awesome. won't buy any other tie EVER again.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An old favorite! I've used these trailer ties for years! They are slim and streamlined keeping your trailer looking neat and tidy and their release system is consistently effective. I have had a few horses over the years panic when unloading, or even times when I have forgotten to unhook them, and these trailer ties have always done their job! Even after a safety release has been triggered they are easy to reset and continuously reliable!
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better I have several sets of these cross-ties in several barns, and also use the trailer ties, and love the product. I personally hate the look of most cross tie areas with the abundance of broken snaps tied together with baling twine, etc. Though I still attach these ties to baling twine loops on the walls, and though I can't say that I have never had a broken snap, the velcro attachment is usually the first thing to let go. This does provide better safety because you then don't have the whole broken cross tie continuing to follow the already spooked horse.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well Does the job, breaks under panic pressure and is easy to put back together. Quality snaps.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Safety item The Velcro release is such an improvement over the binder twine ties I was using.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price great product Great price, work well!! Wouldn't look elsewhere for them.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feel safe with it I had never heard of these trailer ties until the seller left one for me in the trailer I bought! I was thrilled when I saw it and learned how it worked. I also didn't know they made cross ties until I went on smartpak! Eventually I will order those too. And I will be buying a second trailer tie for the other side of my trailer. It feels good to know that your horse is able to pull away if he needs. I also LOVE the fact that one end of it is a standard snap and the other is a quick release snap. They're both so much easier to use than those stupid bull snaps that require two hands. A little pricey, but worth the piece of mind. No other product like it!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Nice quality, easy to use, safe and liked the fact that tension can be adjusted.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties This product was great and lived up to the price for a pair of cross ties.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tie I like these trailer ties because they're longer than many. I did have a horse break one, the panic snap pulled out of the part connecting it to the strap, but I'd rather have some breakage than have a horse hung up by a tie!
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Safety Feature I bought these because I've had horses freak out in my trailer while waiting to show and the old crossties did not release their heads & caused them to become more upset. Since these are supposed to come undone under extra pressure I feel better about trailering. The only negative thing I could say is that they do not shorten as much as traditional trailer ties.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe! I use one of these ties in my trailer with my mare, who can be a bit dodgy about trailering. She's only pulled back and gotten free once (and it was my fault; I asked her to back out of the trailer and hadn't undone the tie /facepalm!) She wasn't traumatized at all and was quite happy to load even after this experience. Much better than a tie she'd have to fight with, and possibly hurt herself.
Date published: 2013-05-22
  • 2016-08-30T11:43CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_113
  • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders