Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.

Imported.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
Customers Also Shopped For
Stall Mount Fan Holder supports standard 20 inch ...
Description:
Stall Mount Fan Holder supports standard 20 inch box fans. Keep your horse cool during the hot summer show months. Stall Mount Fan Holder mounts on wall up to 2 inches thick, hardware included. Black powder coat finish. 27" tall ...
Your clothes will always be horse show ready ...
Description:
Your clothes will always be horse show ready in the RJ Classics Garment Bag! This is perfect for the rider looking for a timeless addition to their horse show luggage. The fabric is stain resistant, water repellant and washable- perfect ...
Now in a no sugar added version! Uncle ...
Description:
Now in a no sugar added version! Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today. They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's ...
Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
Description:
Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber.Favorite Features Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof corded rubber holds up ...
Nearly indestructible, the Safe-T Salt Block Holder is ...
Description:
Nearly indestructible, the Safe-T Salt Block Holder is made from one piece of molded plastic making it hard for horses to chew. Favorite Features Scooped sides and short wings for a snug hold Won't rust or corrode Two holes for ...
Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, ...
Description:
Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, these licks are a 550 million year old source of minerals and trace elements for your horse or pony. The distinctive rose pink color comes from the salt's high mineral content, including ...
Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial ...
Description:
Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.692913385826771 out of 5 by 127.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My "Can't Do Without Items" I bought a set of the cross ties and a single trailer tie for when I travel. I absolutely love both versions. My huge, very strong mare came to me with alot of emotional baggage, including fear of being firmly secured (she had gone over backwards in the cross ties and broke her tail with her previous owner). As I continue to work on her confidence, I have gone through a number of bungees and other types of ties before a friend suggested these. Now if my mare sits back (which is getting less and less frequent with time), I don't worry about her getting stuck, breaking equipment, or hurting herself. The velcro doesn't give it up too easily -- gets the message across that she is tied -- but if she continues, it does breakaway, with no harm to my horse or equipment.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I got these originally for my trailer. I now use them when I tie to the outside of the trailer, when I need to tie my mare in the stall as well as when I haul. They work beautifully when she panics, no fighting and once free not scared and easy to catch and reconnect to tie back up.
Date published: 2011-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I'll never use any other kind of trailer or cross ties. These ties release quickly, are easy to put back together, and have saved me and my horses numerous times. Love them!
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name is right.......Tie Safe Ties I have some of these ties from about 25 years ago.They are still good, but I decided to purchase more when I noticed the snap was not as tight as it should be. These are now made in Tawain where they used to be in the United States. I noticed that, but the quality still seems to be the same. These are excellent for a horse that pulls back of which I have one.
Date published: 2011-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had to replace cross ties since I started using these!
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trailer ties I have only used them twice so far, but I think they work great and I dont have to worry about my horses getting hurt by them if something unforseen happens as the velcro will pull apart.
Date published: 2011-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for stall cross ties Bought these because the ones in the stall were pretty thread bare. The velcro allows for different lengths. My horse stands quiet in cross ties so these work well for us.
Date published: 2011-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trailer Ties@ I have one of these ties for each horse in my trailer and they are great! They're definitely the safest on the market. I have a young thoroughbred who has problems with being tied, so trailer ties are naturally an issue. They bring me peace of mind knowing that my horses won't get hurt.
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only cross-tie worth having These safety, release velcro cross-ties have saved me, my barn and my horses numerous times. They release quickly and can be put back together in a flash. I'd never use any other kind.
Date published: 2010-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny i love these ties in my trailer. i have had the elastic ones break with a bad horse and the hardware went flying, have had a horse pull so hard the slip knot wouldnt give ------- so no more worries with new horses, this is the perfect solution to keep me and the horses safe.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety product I use the trailer tie in my trailer and had it pull apart once. It was easy to adjust and put back together. The barn aisle tie didn't come apart and broke at the quick release. I didn't care for the barn aisle tie as the snap at the end just wasn't big enough to attach easily to a D ring on the side of a halter and would require two hands to move it just right to open it. Definitely a great safety item as both times that I needed them to give the did!
Date published: 2010-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works really well, and can be reset for additional use after being pulled apart. Added plus; one piece stays connected to the halter and it is long enough to act as a catch rope on your now loose horse, but not long enough for them to step on or tangle in. LOVE IT!
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multiple uses! I board my horse at a not so up-to-date barn, that uses heavy metal chains for cross ties. Although I never tie my horse to them, I've seen plenty of accidents happen around the not-so-informed wanna-be horse people. I bought a few of these to keep around the barn for people to use, and no matter who is hauling, I hand one off to them to. These have prevented MANY could have been deadly accidents. And the best part is, when a horse escapes, there is a little lead still attached to the halter! Awesome quality too, stitching is good, and velcro is VERY strong. Escape artists can't pull it apart for fun or a quick escape.
Date published: 2010-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safest Tie This is the only tie I feel safe using with my mare in the trailer. She sets back occasionally, and I wouldn't want her to panic while trailering. I also don't want anything to break that needs replacing! This is a great design.
Date published: 2010-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Ties Saved My Life A client's trailer was equipped with these Tie-Safe Ties. While unloading, a horse started to pull back when I approached to attach a lead. The cross tie went taught and pinned me by the throat against the wall while the horse was running back - the Tie-Safe Tie broke apart just in time to prevent a very serious injury. My throat was bruised and sore but I was otherwise unscathed. Since then I have equipped all my cross ties and trailers with these Tie-Safe Ties. Not only are they safer, but when a horse does pull back and snap them, you can put them back together instead of having to buy a new cross tie.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more worries After buying a young horse I bought these so that I didn't have to worry if she pulled back. They give at just the right moment and there is even a small leadope left to catch the horse if needed. I like not having to worry about a horse getting totally freaked out and injured while struggling.
Date published: 2010-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety is Key I was given a set of these ties as a gift but they were cross ties, I finally found them as trailer ties. Smart Pak had the best price around. I love the quick release and the regular snap on the one end. I hate those heavy bull snaps that take two hands to open. These ties will pull apart in an emergency, you don't have to worry about having to be there to undo the quick release, and so much safer then doing a quick release rope knot. I liked these so much I ordered a pair for a friend that got a new horse trailer to start her out right. Great price, great product, great shipping price as well. Quality and service I can count on.
Date published: 2010-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed Nice quality - should break away before the rest of my trailer does. I have a belgianxqtr that has pulled back on the trailer. I don't like leaving him untied so this should do the trick.
Date published: 2010-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Trailer Tie I got one trailer tie for my mare who will sometimes pull off the trailer just to be a diva. Since I got these she's only pulled off once and the grab strap was definitely handy plus it ensured the halter didn't break at all. I do like the peace of mind that the tie will separate and halter remain on the horse. I'm getting a second for the other side of the trailer now!
Date published: 2010-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Safe You don't have to worry about your horse getting hung. But they are strong enough that a horse just leaning on them, they will not come un done. I'm really pleased with this product. I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2010-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish They Were Stronger I have the Tie-Safe crossties and am 100% happy with them, so I purchased the trailer tie based on my experience with the crossties. The hardware is excellent as is the quality of the nylon and velcro system. However, the trailer tie doesn't seem to require as much tension to pull apart as the crossties do. I wish they were a bit "stronger" and required a little more pulling to release so that the horse doesn't learn that he can easily pull loose with them. However, they are a nice quality tie.
Date published: 2010-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I think of this? I take horses off the race track and retrain them. Many times, a racer has never been crosstied, and when they are, they panic. The Tie-Safe ties release the horse quickly before they hurt themselves or others, and in seconds, stick back together to try again! They also adjust quickly and easily for different size horses or different width aisles. I will never use ordinary cross ties again!
Date published: 2010-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improves safety The barn I board at uses these to secure horses to tie rings for grooming. They work well so I decided when I got my trailer I would use them for tying. When I was a kid, someone forgot to untie a horse and took the butt bar down. You can picture what happened! The horse was a nervous loader in the first place and a very nervous loader after that. I'd like to prevent that from happening. Every one makes mistakes or gets distracted. Only thing I don't like about them is that if the horse chews on them the velcro very quickly becomes useless.
Date published: 2010-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service These are a great product, and SmartPak was extremely prompt in personalizing them and shipping them off. I received them 3 days after I ordered them.
Date published: 2010-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product!! After breaking cross ties, trailer ties, and ripping bolts from the walls with training new and panicky horses this tie is the best thing ever! Also after having some training on trailer accidents and incidents I would not want one of my horses to not be connected to one of these. Highly recommend to ALL!
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trailer tie! I really like these trailer ties! They are very good quality and I really like the snaps on the end (much easier than the bull snaps). My mare has broken the bungee trailer ties in the past and I just don't worry about that with this one.
Date published: 2010-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trailer Ties I have a extra tall trailer that is 7'-6" and the trailer ties extended all the way out are too short for the horse to reach the feed bag with these ties. They appear to be well made but there should be more flexibility on the length as my trailer is only 6" taller than normal. I am sending them back.
Date published: 2010-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saftey product and money saver I love these ties, and because they dont break you never have to replace them. I have one of those horses who pulls back occasionally, I have always used the rubber type ties but they break, these let go but you simply put them back together and they are as good as new!
Date published: 2009-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from safe Trailer ties. I have had a set of these for years and bought these items for a friend with a new trailer/I have found them to worked very well having one horse who got hung up ,the velcro released and all was well.Have had no problems and I like the fact that they are adjustable
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad These cross ties are great quality, the only problem is that they are very short. They adjust but not quite enough. I have a 12 foot aisle way.
Date published: 2009-11-02
  • 2016-08-24T11:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_113
  • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders