Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.


Customers Also Shopped For
Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, ...
Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, the Nose-It! A Toy with Purpose works with your horse's natural grazing instincts, controlling the amount of food intake at any given time. No more waste or inhaling of food-stuffs. Your horse ...
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 20 ...
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 20 head. The Ultrafount is designed to give year-round service, providing clean, fresh, temperate water regardless of climate. If you're tired of breaking ice on the coldest days, the Ultrafount has been proven ...
The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable Tail ...
The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable Tail Bag is shaped & padded at top of tail for total protection. It is made with a neoprene outer with non-slip lining, four hook-and-loop straps for even pressure and a long cotton bag ...
Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, ...
Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, these licks are a 550 million year old source of minerals and trace elements for your horse or pony. The distinctive rose pink color comes from the salt's high mineral content, including ...
This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system ...
This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system designed to accommodate a fully strung bale or the equivalent in loose hay or hay nets. Double walled and thermally insulated to reach and maintain the critically high temperatures required to effectively ...
Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial ...
Bye Bye Odor is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.67175572519084 out of 5 by 131.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties This product was great and lived up to the price for a pair of cross ties.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tie I like these trailer ties because they're longer than many. I did have a horse break one, the panic snap pulled out of the part connecting it to the strap, but I'd rather have some breakage than have a horse hung up by a tie!
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Safety Feature I bought these because I've had horses freak out in my trailer while waiting to show and the old crossties did not release their heads & caused them to become more upset. Since these are supposed to come undone under extra pressure I feel better about trailering. The only negative thing I could say is that they do not shorten as much as traditional trailer ties.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe! I use one of these ties in my trailer with my mare, who can be a bit dodgy about trailering. She's only pulled back and gotten free once (and it was my fault; I asked her to back out of the trailer and hadn't undone the tie /facepalm!) She wasn't traumatized at all and was quite happy to load even after this experience. Much better than a tie she'd have to fight with, and possibly hurt herself.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, functional ties Love these, they look sharp and serve their purpose. I wish it came with a set of spare rings, though. My horse lost his cool the first time he pulled too hard and the tie began to make the velcro ripping noise (I had the velcro adjusted too low and it released too easily) -- then he REALLY pulled. I have since learned to put more tension on the velcro and we haven't had further issues. He stays put, but I know they will release without tearing down the wall and I don't have to look at ratty baling twine.Very glad these have panic snaps and SPRING SNAPS instead of bull snaps -- harder to find this combination.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I use this instead of a lead rope on the picket line camping. Works great and if horse decides to freak out.. no one gets hurt and still have a way to catch the horse. I ordered a second one
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase Very pleased with this purchase. As described and worth the price.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great when you need them I have used these ties for a few years. I love the fact that if the horse really pulls back the Velcro lets go and the the cross tie mounting plates are still attached, the horse is fine and there is a short handle to help catch the wayward horse.I have only had to use them a couple of times, but they were a much safer method than the baling twine one I have seen at most stables.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these ties! I have a horse that is very anxious to get out of the trailer once it's stopped. With these ties, I know that if he pulls back hard, he won't get hurt or break a rope. I still have a small length of tie to hold onto him. Would recommend these for every horse person!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Cross Ties! I really like this product. . . I had used the trailer tie as a general-purpose tie-up around the barn, especially with a particularly fussy gelding, and it was a good product. Now that I have cross tie posts in place, these were the first choice. They don't stretch and pop like bungees, they can be adjusted for various levels of give or not-give, and they last a long time even in the tough New Mexico sunshine.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trailer safe Tie -Safe tie works well for a horse who may set back or be nervous trailering. It is a bit short for my 7 1/2 foot trailer, yet I like the way it releases with no swinging hardware that could injure a horses eye.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Perfect length and safe if horse was to need to breakaway!
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are The Best These cross ties are the best. You don't need to worry about your horse setting back and getting hurt or breaking their halter. The velcro holds strongly but will let go if a horse sets back and it lets go at the perfect place so you have a short lead with which to catch the horse. It's a great product and I feel totally safe using these cross ties, I know my horse won't get hurt or break his halter.
Date published: 2012-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems safe and secure The cross ties are very secure, I can't rip the velcro apart, but I can see how a horse struggling could. So, it does not pull apart with light resistance, only when really needed. Plan on getting another set once the ones I currently have wear out.
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The ties seemed to have good quality workmanship. The problem is that they release with very little pressure. After securing my horse with the tie, he turned his head and it let go. Then I couldn't find the rubber keeper in the shavings on the floor, so I couldn't use it again. I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from durable product I have not had to test the release of this product but they seem reliable and well made.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it, but not advertised great When I read "Cross Ties", I'm thinking I got a set of 2, as you can't really just use 1 cross tie, can you? Unfortunately, I didn't read it close enough or pay attention. What I thought would be a pair, in order to cross tie my horse, was only one, which was useless. I love them, but wish it was more specific
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I like the idea of the velcro release. Affordable price, seem like good quality and adjust well to different lengths. I also like the smaller snap/clip that you attach to the halter, slightly less bulk. Would buy again
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trailer/cross ties The velcro cross ties are the best! I have used them for years, needed a new pair for a new set of crossties in the barn. I have had horses pull away, they NEVER break, but do come apart with a piece still on the horse to catch him! Excellent product..one of my stable must-haves.
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY AND SAFE I like knowing if my horse slips in my trailer that she can get up and not be strangled. Also, it is strong enough to keep them from putting their heads down all the way while traveling.I like it because they can separate the tie and you just put back together and your not having to purchase another.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cross ties in our barn we do not like the bull snaps, these cross ties have the normal snaps, the velcro pull apart is awesome, no one has pulled back to use it yet:-)
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes The Worry Out Of Trailer Training I am working with Leuk, my young Moriesian gelding, on trailer loading. After having a bad trailering experience with another horse, I'm using this tie to help ME overcome MY fear of tying in the trailer. How can I teach Leuk to feel confident if I don't? Whew!! Now I can relax and move on to actually closing the door...
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality All in all, I would highly recommend these cross ties. I love the quality and the hardware is effective and durable. They are quite adjustable, however I do wish they were able to be adjusted a little more. These just barely fit my aisle at the barn.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not working out I wrote a review on these when I first got them, but after using them for months I wanted to update my previous opinion. I thought these would be a great safety feature and the perfect thing for my 3-horse slant load trailer. But in reality they have turned out to be a HUGE liability and pain in the neck. I have a 7' tall trailer and 14-15 hand horses. These ties have turned out to be extremely too short for my trailer. The other thing is that I have watched horses try to put their heads down many times, and simply rip the velcro loose. They aren't panicking or pulling back or doing anything naughty. The velcro is just so flimsy and weak that they can rip it loose with barely the flick of a head. I was trailering a horse for a friend - was watching him on the trailer cameras - and I saw him put his head down, then bring his head back up, and the darn tie was ripped loose! I had to pull over, open the window, velcro the thing back together again...get back on the road....horse does it again! He did it 3 times before I had to hook a regular lead rope on him and tie that to the tie ring. So for me, these have been a total waste of money and I am very disappointed. NONE of my horses ever pull back and break stuff, but they are constantly ripping these ties loose without even trying! I just ordered 3 Blocker Tie Rings to hook inside the trailer. I am really worried about metal clanging on metal, but I want something that will release if we get into an accident, and I do NOT trust traditional "quick realease" snaps on trailer ties. I have seen that go bad in a hurry when they won't release, then you're trying to get your hand on the rope of panicking horse.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great technology, super product My mare has been horrible snapping the cross ties so I invested in a pair of these ties while I retrain her to stand on the cross ties. These are a great quality product, easy to install. And I have confidence that they will stand the test of a busy boarding barn. Thank you SmartPak for providing a great selection of tools to keep my horses safe.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety purchase I bought the Tie-Safe for my trailer. Every once in a while my horse panics and will pull back when unloading and will break the trailer tie. Doing this he has pulled his neck out of alignment resulting in costly chiropractic appt. He hasn’t panic since I have bought the Tie-Safe but I feel confident knowing that if he suddenly panics when unloading it will release and won’t hurt himself.
Date published: 2011-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered More!! Got these to tie horses while we saddle, etc. Since our boys are young, they are still learning to stand for longer periods (learning nicely), so I wanted something that would "give" if they panicked. Like these so much, I've ordered more - some for the trailer more for other hitching posts.
Date published: 2011-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All barns should use these! SAFEST cross-tie ever. This is a smart design, and it does work. If the horse pulls back / breaks away, a lead is left attached to the horse. Really well-made and quality hardware. Easy to adjust and use. Worth the extra $.
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Um, not all there I ordered two pairs of cross ties along with other items. In the first box to arrive was one pair, and in the second, half of the second pair.I have not yet contacted SmartPak about it as we are very busy setting up our new barn.The one complete pair works fine but of course the safety feature hasn't been tested yet. They are sturdy and the metal fittings look durable.
Date published: 2011-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - A great trailer tie! After having more of the elastic types break with even a little pressure on them, decided to try these. They are the best out there. Our pony and horse decided to "test" them and it was great to just put them back together. They both have decided not to try again.
Date published: 2011-07-13
  • 2016-10-25T12:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_117
  • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders