Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Thin Pads Non Slip Pad

Item #18406
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Non Slip Pad is made of grippy Neoprene to keep your saddle in place. Place directly on the horse's back, underneath your saddle pad. The pad can be trimmed to any shape if necessary.

Hand wash with cold water. Lay flat to dry. Do not bleach, iron or put in dryer.

Black. 17.5" x 21"

Customers Also Shopped For
Powered with a vented Zoombang insert that is ...
Powered with a vented Zoombang insert that is scientifically engineered to dissipate energy, reducing injury and stress on equine athletes, breathable design remains securely in place, providing conformal layered protection. Hand woven, 100% New Zealand wool blanket top can be ...
Wither Relief Half Pads focus attention on the ...
Wither Relief Half Pads focus attention on the withers, an area in which many horses can experience discomfort. Addressing wither problems with an ergonomically designed cut out area, Wither Relief Half Pads help relieve wither pressure and improve saddle fit.Favorite ...
The Ultra Thinline Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with ...
The Ultra Thinline Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is perfect for riders that prefer fit, function, and fashion in a saddle pad. ThinLine developed this pad to give riders the fashion appeal of sheepskin and the shock absorption ...
Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, ...
Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather, and wool. Melp is highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products. Favorite Features Specially formulated for lamb and sheepskins Restores the natural properties Highly concentrated ...
We thought about what we want, as riders, ...
We thought about what we want, as riders, when we’re shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styles and unbeatable prices.   Breathable poly/cotton blend oversized pad. 26" spine x 22" drop.
The Coolback Bareback Pads are made from a ...
The Coolback Bareback Pads are made from a pile fabric with a dense concentration of resilient polyester fiber that is closely shorn to provide maximum cushion with minimal matting or slipping. Favorite Features The girth is adjustable on both sides ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Thin Pads Non Slip Pad is rated 3.883720930232558 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value This non-slip pad was a great value at $14.95, but unfortunately it didn't work at all for my horse and I. This is the first non-slip pad I've tried, so it's possible we just can't be helped with a non-slip pad and may just have to use a breast collar! I'm trying the SmartPak Air + non-slip pad next, we'll see if it works! The pad itself is extremely light weight and I'm not sure how it would hold up to continued use.
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but... I'm happy I got this pad because it serves its purpose. However, when I got it, it was extremely stiff. When I put it on, I cannot get it to lie flat on my horses back, and if i put it on with the saddle (at the same time), it does the same thing. Im hoping that somebody can give me tips on how to soften it up.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I've had this pad for a month. In one ride it went from intact, to torn. It literally tore up the middle (from my horse's withers to about 5 inches down) during my ride. It does its job in keeping my saddle from slipping, but the quality isn't good.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Pad Really Works! When I received the product, I wasn't sure it would work...well, it does. My saddle was slipping back and this little pad, stopped it. I put it in the tree area directly next to the horse and voila! it stays in place.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good non-slip pad. I was hoping this pad was a little bit bigger. It does seem to really help with the saddle slipping back.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Slip Pad This product was suggested to me as a low cost approach to fixing saddle slippage from side to side. The mare has uneven shoulders, I am not sure if it is due to uneven muscle build up, or just her build, but the no slip pad did not really help me in this case. I did appreciate the sales associate suggesting to start inexpensively first, before spending $100's of dollars on more expensive fixes!
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this product to help saddle fishtailing. It definitely holds tack in place, but at the increased risk of dermatitis for sensitive skinned horses because of its rubbery texture and lack of breathability. It does rinse off easily and dry quickly. It is also quite large, and I found the vent holes to be awkwardly placed to enable trimming of the pad (you could end up cutting one of the holes in half, sacrificing the pad's durability), so I ultimately left it in its original shape. Overall it does perform its function, but perhaps best for winter vs summer riding because of sweat and bacteria build-up on horses with sensitive skin.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Less than useless I had high hopes that this pad would help keep my saddle in place. I'm not sure why others found this pad useful, but not only did it not keep the saddle from slipping, the pad itself kept slipping out from between my horse and the saddle pad! I tried it in different positions, this way, that way - nothing helped. It was disappointing, but the pad had to be sent back. Glad it worked for other folks, but I will look for other options.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth $12 These are cheap cheap cheap. Not worth the money. If you've never had a nunn finer no slip pad, maybe you won't know the difference, but these are so lacking in quality it's ridiculous. My first impression was I could rip it in to pieces with little to no effort if I wanted to. I also don't think it works nearly as well as the nunn finer no slip pads I've had in the past that smartpak unfortunately doesn't sell. Don't spend $12 on this, it probably costs someone <$2 to make. Go buy the nunn finer one elsewhere.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy I use this everyday and my saddle never slips. I do find that it is a bit large to go under a contour show pad but can be cut to fit
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works but not enough. I've used this pad for a couple weeks. I purchased it because I felt it was a good value. The quality of it is good and I can't really comment on durability but I don't doubt that it will last. Unfortunately my saddle does still slide back some. I think I need a breastplate. I think that if you just have a little problem with saddle slippage this should do the job fine. I will still use it as it does help some.
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders! I have been riding a draft horse with no withers and have not found a single no slip pad that keeps my saddle in place...until now! I love this pad! I was skeptical, but decided to try one more product before giving up and Im glad I did! This pad was a great size and can be cut for a more custom fit. I have spent hours in the saddle without any slipping or constantly having to readjust the saddle.
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from non slip pad Had to cut this down so it wouldnt show under a hunter pad but it works great :)
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value It seemed to work the few times I have used it so far. My saddle was sliding really bad used this and it doesn't budge. Compared to other ones out there this one works and is reasonably priced
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad Greatly reduces slip on my big shouldered beast. May be a little rough on a more sensitive horse but definitely stays in place. Would be east to cut down to use under a show pad and durable enough for everyday use.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I was having trouble with my saddle slipping back just slightly. This totally fixed the problem!!
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works This is a nice thin non slip pad, works on my skinny TB!
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Non Slip Pad I bought this for my high withered tb because his saddle kept sliping back, it worked great! But I have stopped using this because it seemed to rub abit. But if I was going into a show I would use this for extra grip!! Does work great!!
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Slip or Slide This is the third or fourth one of these pads that I have purchased over my years of riding. They don't wear out but I have had horses in different boarding facilities and somehow they get lost in the shuffle. You can trim them and they work really well to keep your pads from slipping and sliding.
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An inexpensive staple These pads really do help keep my saddle from sliding back. I started using them 15 years ago, and my old one finally developed a tear. Luckily, they cost less than $20 to replace. I wouldn't consider riding without one.
Date published: 2011-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy this product, it doesn't work! So I have never given a bad review to a smartpak purchase, but I am very unhappy with this product. I finally wore out my nunn finer no slip pad, and since I get barn buddy shipping with my supplements and the price was cheaper, I thought I would try this no slip pad. It does not prevent my saddle from slipping. It is also about half the thickness of the nunn finer pad and it doesnt feel as 'grippy'. I will be buying another nunn finer no slip pad.
Date published: 2011-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value for a non-slip pad These non-slip pads are an excellent value. I've paid over $20 at the local tack store for a similar product. They work well to keep my saddle from sliding back. I use it on 2 different horses. They should last 1-2 years.
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have a 16 + hand Tenn Walker. His saddle would slip back even with a breast collar. This would make the breast collar very tight for him. I purchased the thin pad non-slip pad. On the first ride with the non-slip pad the saddle stayed in place and his breast collar was not tight on him. I am so pleased that this little pad worked and the cost was well worth it. I would recommend this pad to all riders if they are having a saddle that moves back.
Date published: 2011-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldnt leave home without it! I have a flat backed Warmblood, I dont ride without one of these! It definitely makes my saddle for secure. Its thing enough to trim down to fit my half pad too. Great price! this is my second one - to go in the horse trailer for shows!
Date published: 2011-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use my 22 year old Saddlebred for mounted patrol at one of the large malls in The Woodlands Tx and I have been having problems with keeping the saddle up on him. It wants to slip down his back after a couple of hours on property. The Non-Slik pad is grate. It keeps the saddle from sliding down his back. Now I have not used it in the summer and in August & September on a black parking lot it is HOT. I will have to see how it works then, but so far I would highly recommend this product for any horse.
Date published: 2011-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not work for my horse This pad did nothing to help my saddle stay in place..it still slipped the same amount. I had high hopes since it has gotten decent reviews, but no such luck. :(
Date published: 2010-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nonslip pad This pad has really been working. I have a very downhill built horse and the saddle would slip forward with every half halt. I do wish the pad was more "shaped" though. It's totally flat and is hard to avoid wrinkles when I place it on my horse's back. Now that I've been using it for a while it's easier to place. I would recommend it though. Great value!
Date published: 2010-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality and Great Price!!! I had bought this for my German Warmblood who has pretty high withers. The saddle would slip back and you had to constantly re-adjust it. I purchased this about two years ago and I haven't had problems since. The saddle stays where it should and does not bother any of my horses. Once you start using this product it will be hard not too even if another horse doesn't necessarily need it.
Date published: 2010-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad/Great Price When a special girth and breast collar weren't preventing my saddle from slipping on my barrel shaped horse, I didn't know what to try next. Went in search of non-slip saddle pads and found this pad at SmartPak with a price I just couldn't pass up. It REALLY works!!!
Date published: 2010-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO SLIPPING keeps the saddle in place! prevents slipping on any shape of horse (i ride several horses, all with different builds). best price!
Date published: 2010-06-15
  • 2016-10-22T11:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_8406, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders