Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.

Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable

Sizing It Up

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"

Customers Also Shopped For
The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming ...
The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming box necessity! This special sturdy grooming product works as a universal brush. With extra long (4 cm) rubber teeth this brush performs outstanding hair removal action on both animals and textiles. Be ...
Natural tea-tree oil in a convenient and ready ...
Natural tea-tree oil in a convenient and ready to use lotion for a beautiful coat and healthy skin! Favorite Features Helps promote the healing of damaged skin Soothes itching from various skin irritations Moisturizing lotion deeply penetrates skin Stimulates hair ...
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an ...
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an exclusive protein enriched formula developed to maintain strong yet flexible hooves.- Deep moisturizing formula helps reduce dry and brittle hooves- Protein enriched formula conditions the entire hoof surface including coronary band, walls, ...
Natural ingredients like marigold, carrot and St. John's ...
Natural ingredients like marigold, carrot and St. John's wort regenerate and restore damaged skin areas and stimulate hair growth on bold spots. Bio-sulphurous fluid soothes bothersome itching and rubbing tendencies with lasting effect. Favorite Features Effective against summer eczema and ...
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect ...
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect and promote healthy skin. The Dermacloth is an innovative concept in rinse-free cleaning and management of skin problems. Dermacloth is commonly used for rain scald, scratches, ringworm, girth itch, cracked hooves and ...
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating ...
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating treatment that effectively aids in the treatment of thrush, seedy toe, white line disease, coronary band scurf, cracked heel bulbs and other problems associated with the sole, frog and hoof. A unique ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.76530612244898 out of 5 by 98.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick I have used. The metal portion does not bend like other generic hoofpicks.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This is the best pick I have used. Definitely worth using. No bending and always gets under the mud an sand.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof pick ever!!! Perfect Shape! Fits my hand and gives me the leverage I need to get out even packed hard mud and dirt. Certainly makes my life easier!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoof Pick You will have to pry this out of my cold dead hands before I ever buy another hoof pick. Works great on packed in mud. The junior size is the same size as a normal hoof pick
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not really impressed Okay so this is the first hoofpick I have bought. There are plenty laying around at our barn and free for anyone to use. I bought this product based off reviews and bloggers... Over all I wasn't super impressed. I like the hoofpicks with brushes, its more convenient. This one is very sturdy unlike a cheap counterpart and the jr size fit my small hands very well. However, you can get the job done with a cheaper pick. I do have to say though if you aren't prone to loose it, its not a bad investment as it feels sturdy and like it can stand the test of time. However, time will tell, Ive only had mine a month or so.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hoof pick this thing is sturdy! I will probably never have to buy another hoof pick in my life! really gets all the crud out of the hoof and the Jr size fits perfectly in my hands. The regular size would probably be too big for most ladies.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick ever! this is the perfect shape. it spares your wrists, gives good leverage and really gets into those tight places without any discomfort for the horse or yourself. so glad I bought this!!!
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Hoof pick!! I've been using mine for over a year now and I just gave one to my Granddaughter for her horse.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very glad I purchased this hoofpick I have carpal tunnel and other arm issues and I find this hoofpick is very comfortable to hold and is great picking the hooves without a lot of strength on my part. I have three little barefoot miniature horses and I love this hoofpick.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing My life before the Ultimate Hoofpick: "Why would anyone spend that much money on a hoofpick?"My Life after the Ultimate Hoofpick: "Oh, never mind, I totally get it now."You have to try it to fully understand its magic. I am a groom and it wasnt until some clients bought the Ultimate Hoofpick (which I then used when grooming their horses) that I realized I needed one for my personal grooming kit too.So great for tough arena sand, snow-packed tootsies, and general mud mayhem.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product This is the second Ultimate hoofpick I own. I bought two so my granddaughter would have one of her own. I would not use any other kindAWESOME
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love this hoof pick! It is super comfortable and incredibly sturdy. It might seem like an excessive amount to spend on a hoof pick, but you will love picking out your horses feet with this hoof pick.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves my hands! I have arthritis and a bad wrist, so the leverage and sharp tip make this my favorite new tool. The only thing I would like is a bristle brush on the end like the ones on standard picks.
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdiest Hoofpick I've had this hoofpick for over a year and it's held up great. Definitely worth investing the extra couple bucks rather then constantly needing to replace poorer quality ones. Works great on the ice balls the form in their hooves during the winter. The "Junior" size is best for an adult woman with average sized hands, the "Ultimate" size is too big.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super strong and will last! I originally bought this because my barefoot trimmer recommended it - she said it has lasted the longest of any hoofpick and that it has a nice strong tip that won't bend. I decided to buy it and I completely agree. The bevel on the end is nice if you need to even take off some sloughing pieces of sole. Doing this with my old $2 hoofpick usually ended up bending it.
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick This brand is the ultimate hoof pick. I have both sizes and prefer the larger one. I didn't think that hoof picks could be that different until I used one of these. They really do make it easier. So well made and sturdy.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong and easy to use Good sturdy product! Easy to use, beats all other picks I've ever used!
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick ever Gets into little crevices better than anything else, also the most wedged in rocks & mud come out easily. I've never spent so much on a hoof pick before but someone at the barn had one, I tried it, & couldn't go back to a normal one after that.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Handle, Strong Pick I have two of these hoofpicks and would not spend a winter without them.I bought one a year or two ago and it's as good as the day it arrived.It easily gets ice and snow, or hard packed dirt/mud. Great product!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FITS YOUR HAND This hoof pick fits your hand and works with the motion of picking out hooves! The point is great and really digs into the adobe that surrounds the property!
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality hoof pick This hoof pick stands up to caked-in Washington winter mud that bent my other one. I would have given it 5 stars if it had a brush. I still have to use both, as the brush is handy in cleaning out the extra dirt.Be warned that you don't get to pick the color; it is chosen for you when you order. I got yellow. :(
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel I just bought this hoof pick and it is awesome. I've been around a while and held quite a few in my hands and this one is tops!
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect hoof pick in a junior version! Love the ultimate hoof pick, but it's definitely for bigger hands-this pick is perfect for the adult or kids with smaller hands.
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful A little expensive and bulky, but works well. Good grip on handle.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST Hoof Pick With this year's polar vortex, the ice balled up in my horse's feet was bending every hoof pick! I finally got "SMART" and ordered the ultimate pick! Really. Got that ice out in seconds and no broken bent pick! Well worth the investment.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save money just buy this hoof pick first It's pricey I know but if you live in an area where it snows or gets muddy do yourself a favor and just buy this hoof pick. It will be priceless when you have to deal with ice balls or concrete hard dried mud!
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick EVER! I bought this hoof pick about a month ago…SO much easier than all the previous picks I've tried! The others would bend or not be sturdy enough for that mud that sets up like cement in my horses' hoofs. This one is sturdy, no bending, and takes less force to clean out the mud. I love it!
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! I used this hoof pick at the barn recently and thought this is THE BEST hoof pick ever. I was so thrilled that Smart Pak carried this product and size. It fits perfect in the hand and so easy to use. No need for a brush.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable and comfortable to use I love the feel, balance, and durability of this hoof pick!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A hoof pick that gets it done I tried several. Other picks truly are wimpy by comparison. 
Date published: 2013-12-16
  • 2016-10-25T12:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_4949, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders