Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

The Rancher

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #11318
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rancher Gloves are made from genuine North American deerskin and are favorites for roping, riding and working! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Gun cut finger treatment
  • No finger seams on the palm side of the glove allow for a far more comfortable feeling in the saddle
  • Elasticized wrist for easy on and off

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable.Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless noted. ...
SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an ...
SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an economical, comfortable, warm knit cotton glove with pimple grip palm. Fleece lining for warmth. Reinforced in key areas. VELCRO Brand wrist closure. Imported.
Enjoy the Noble Outfitters classic Perfect Fit Glove ...
Enjoy the Noble Outfitters classic Perfect Fit Glove in kids sizing. Made with the same SureGrip palm and double layer SureGrip reinforced forefinger, thumb and pinky, kids willEnjoy completeProtection while riding. Favorite Features SureGrip synthetic suede palm Breathable stretch jersey ...
The SSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is ...
The SSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent for schooling once the temperature starts to drop. Unlined aquasuede palm, excellent grip in dry, rainy or snowy conditions. Thinsulate lining on back of hand and thumb only. Hook and loop ...
The Adult New Rider Package contains the following ...
The Adult New Rider Package contains the following essentials to get any adult started in the saddle! Saxon Equileather Ladies Zip Paddock Boots provides more room in the toe cap area for a more comfortable fit. Ideal for schooling, vacation riding ...
The popular Outrider Glove comes in a winter ...
The popular Outrider Glove comes in a winter version with the same great comfort and fit as the original! The weather resistant stretchSoft shell on the back of hand creates warmth without the bulk. The synthetic leather patches on the ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


The Rancher is rated 4.64 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still Kickin' after 5 Years I have had my rancher gloves for 5 YEARS! And I don't plan on throwing them away any time soon.  I'm from New England and our summers are very humid, and even though these gloves are all leather my hands never get over heated. The leather breathes wonderfully and you will always have a solid grip on any type of rein.  My gloves have endured endless sweaty rides, emergency hose-downs, feeding slobbery apples, handling muddy boots, and even having dirt ground into them from nasty falls.  After all of that they are still holding strong with no rips, tears or holes. They only become more moulded to the form of your hand : )   
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft as butter These gloves are soft, smooth, flexible & fit good. Excellent riding glove because you can still feel the rein in your hand. I plan to purchase another pair.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from work gloves Excellent fit comfortable and wear well around the barn
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as a custom glove I am spoiled. For years, I had a person make my gloves from a template of my hand. When he retired, I thought no problem, plenty out there on the market. How wrong was I! The fit, the quality, the performance all paled in comparison to my custom gloves until I found the SSG Rancher gloves. They are the closest I have found to my well-loved custom gloves. They are of very good leather, high quality, great stitching, and amazing fit. The downside is that you sacrifice some durability for comfort, which I am willing to do. My custom gloves lasted about 9 months, where these last about 6 months of daily use. I am an SSG buyer for life.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough and comfortable Fits very well, and is very tough. But not very warm. Wish I got the lined ones for working in winter weather.
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I love these gloves. I have always used work gloves but the ssg ranchers are the best for barn work and riding. They are tough enough for working around the barn and thin enough to ride in without losing contact/feel for the reins.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent work/riding glove, but... I bought these gloves because I'm sick and tired of gloves that fall apart in 3 months or less. I have large hands, with wide palms and long fingers, so I ordered a 9. They're just a little bit too big- not enough that they're uncomfortable to ride in, but I do have to pay attention so that the fingertips don't get stuck while I tighten the girth. I really wish they offered 1/2 sizes, as I know for a fact that the 8's are too small. They have fairly good grip on the reins, and certainly don't cause rubs or blisters, but they do stain my hands yellow, if I have a particularly sweaty ride. I have a feeling that these will be relegated to the work glove category, as soon as I find gloves that fit me well, and actually LAST!!
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wouldn't buy them again I bought a 7, my usual glove size and they ran very large! I was never able to wear them because they always slid off my hands. When I wasn't morving, the gloves fit well in the fingers (length wise), but everything was just proportioned bigger. The elastic at the wrist isn't very tight so they wouldn't stay on. I know they are meant to be a looser fitting glove, but I just couldnt get them to work for me. The seams in the fingers were bulky and made my hands feel cumbersome, but man oh man are they warm! I really do wish they had fit me better!
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these gloves I haven't been able to use this product for years!! I am thrilled to be wearing them again!!I wear these gloves ALL the time!!! I ride in them, work in them and even wear them around town when my hands are cold--vourse I live in an area where a lot of men wear cowboy hats too!
Date published: 2011-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These gloves are the greatest I absolutely adore these gloves. The Ranchers are buttery soft, yet grippy. I purchased them in a size 7, my normal glove size, and they are a tiny bit big. Even with the little bit of extra room, the gloves conform to my hands and allow me to have excellent feel while riding. I have used my Ranchers on very hot, humid days and they have remained tacky enough to give me a good grip on the reins despite my mount's sweat. Also, my hands have not gotten too hot or too sweaty, as the leather really breathes.
Date published: 2010-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough gloves for everything These are tough gloves for any work around the house or barn or even for riding. I like how long they held up versus other leather gloves I have tried yet still remain butter soft. I also like the fact they come in larger sizes to accomadate my long fingers. I just bought my second pair as my first ones are getting a little thin after 2+ years of use.
Date published: 2010-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not What They Used To Be I've used and loved SSG Rancher gloves for years, but I must agree with another reviewer who said the quality of these gloves has slipped - this is unfortunately true. The leather quality and craftsmanship are now poor, and I won't be purchasing any more of these gloves in the future. What a pity.
Date published: 2010-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves for hard riding! I love these gloves for the fall/spring riding seasons. The leather is soft but very durable. They have great grip and good feel (not too thick). They hold up to a lot of wear - the one glove I was not able to wear holes through in a couple months.
Date published: 2010-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, Comfortable and Surprisingly Warm! My title says it all. My pair of these gloves are going on their 3rd year and still are flexible and have no rips or holes. They are my everyday gloves for everything from riding to barn chores. I have long fingers and most women's gloves do not fit my hand properly. These fit perfectly. I was even happily surprised to find they keep my hands quite warm on all but the coldest of days. Worth the money if you're hard on gloves and want a pair that can take whatever working around horses can dish out.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good schooling glove I prefer deerskin gloves, which limits my available glove options; these are pretty good although I think that I like the SSGs a little better. I tend to wear mine only for riding and switch to rugged work gloves for mucking/chores, so that may be why they are holding up pretty well.
Date published: 2009-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest riding gloves I've ever had My hands are always cold in the winter, and they were toasty through my entire ride.
Date published: 2009-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-purpose glove I keep several pairs of these gloves around the barn because they're so useful. My "clean pair" I lunge and ride in and my "dirty pair" I clean hooves and apply hoof medicine with. They're also durable enough for barn and farm chores like cleaning stalls, fixing fence and weeding. Did I mention they were durable?
Date published: 2007-04-09
  • 2016-10-24T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_1318, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders