Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

The Cantering Chef Horse Treats

SmartPak
- Item #19141
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique for your horse! His tasty horse cookies combine the freshest natural ingredients, including scrumptious rolled oats and molasses. Choose from three delicious flavors:

  • Blackberry Vanilla - flavored with natural blackberry flavor and pure vanilla extract
  • Apple Cinnamon Raisin - flavored with natural apple flavor, cinnamon and raisins
  • Peppermint Crush - flavored with peppermint oil
  • Banana Blast - flavored with natural banana flavor
These oven-baked goodies make the perfect bite-sized rewards. They've been tested and approved by our own horses and ponies, so your horse is sure to love them!


Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Omega Horse Nibblers are tasty and functional! These ...
Description:
Omega Horse Nibblers are tasty and functional! These treats provide omega 3 fatty acids from stabilized flaxseed to support overall health and wellness. In addition to being perfect for clicker training or as an anytime treat, they're a convenient supplement ...
Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that ...
Description:
Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today. They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs. Fits in the Pony Pop ...
A practical solution to carrying your companion's (horse ...
Description:
A practical solution to carrying your companion's (horse or dog!) treats. It easily attaches to your belt or waistband. It is equipped with an innovative fastener that allows for simple handling. Favorite Features Attaches to a belt or waistband Innovative ...
Giddyap Girls® Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, ...
Description:
Giddyap Girls® Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, beet pulp, oat bran, live probiotics, superfoods, vitamins, trace minerals, and other natural ingredients., making them naturally healthy and extremely palatable, Horses love them! The newly added live probiotics give balance to ...
Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a ...
Description:
Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a hanging boredom buster from Uncle Jimmy's popular line of products. The Big Licky was created to reduce mess and stickiness. Packed with all the same nutritional value and flavor as their popular ...
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains ...
Description:
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains with the wonderful aroma of homemade muffins fresh from the morning oven! Harvest Hearts fit comfortably in pouch or pocket, and are a big hit with horses and young riders. Harvest Hearts ...
Withers & Withers Horse Treats are made with ...
Description:
Withers & Withers Horse Treats are made with only the finest quality food grade Organic and Fair Trade ingredients. Herbal ingredients have been carefully chosen with the advice of veterinarians and equine herbalists for their healing properties and sure-to-please flavors. ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

The Cantering Chef Horse Treats is rated 4.669811320754717 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse can't get enough!! I bought these treats a month ago and my horse still tries to eat the whole bag every time she sees them! The bag is a very nice size as well as the treats! The quality and quantity of this product is matched very well with its price!
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love them! This is a great treat and the horses love them and are good for them!
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snack! My horse loves these! He begs me for them constantly. I highly recommend them as a fun fall treat!
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bot this cookies for my pony and she loved then will be beying them again soon
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these cookies! Both my horses like these cookies They love each flavor, and don't seem to have a preference. All the other horses at the barn like them as well.I purchase a bag of these every month. (As a side note, they also smell GREAT!)They are a hard cookie, and would not recommend to any horse with any sort of chewing problems.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseooved tem. Got about 2 weeks ago and horse likes them very much.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An instant barn favorite! I bought these cookies a couple weeks ago and the horses loved them- they look and smell like people cookies- I will have to order more very soon.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He cant get enough of them My horse loves these, he would eat them all day everyday if I let him!
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse LOVES the Blackberry Vanilla! My horse LOVED these treats! Will be re-ordering!!!
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be tasty! I have these treats in banana, blackberry vanilla and peppermint. My horse LOVES all of them, but I mainly give her the peppermint and blackberry vanilla. I give my goats the banana flavored ones, especially my nanny goat who LOVES banana's. Never seen any of them spit it out, so it must taste pretty good! Once they see or hear me open the packet, they all come rushing to me to get one.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One satisfied pony! I bought Cantering Horse Treats for my QH Pippin in the Banana Blast flavor as he'sbonkers for bananas. Well, he seems to love these horse treats just as much. Agreat choice for a treat for your horse.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses loved them! Not only did my horses loves these, my dog loved them, too!  I like a bigger treat that takes my horses a couple seconds to finish them.  Then I feel like I didn't have to give them as many :)
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious horse cookie! Fantastic horse treats! Well loved by the horses. Apple cinnamon raisin is the best. I tried the blackberry vanilla today and my guy loved them. He's used to me giving him all kinds of odd flavored treats though. They are a crisper cookie, so I do not recommend them for horses who have difficulties chewing.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent treats! I bought one 3lb bag of each flavor for my horses for Christmas, and they've all been a complete hit. My oldest mare doesn't care for apples or peppermints, and while she still turned up her nose at the peppermint-flavored ones of these treats, she scarfed down the apple-flavored ones without batting an eye. Everyone else likes all the flavors equally well. The only downside is you can't break the individual cookies in half, so be careful if you have a greedy horse that likes to gulp things down and hardly bothers to chew.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Healthy and Delicious I've been trying to move away from some of the other horse treats out there that are loaded with preservatives and artificial flavorings. I was hoping for horse treats made of better ingredients that were still tasty, and the Cantering Chef did not disappoint! I ordered the Cinnamon Raisin and Banana flavors and my OTTB loved them! The unique flavors are enough to get a lip curl from even the pickiest eaters, and the quality of ingredients makes me feel less like I am giving him junk food. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I could eat them myself! great healthy treats loved by even the picky horses in the barn!
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! I gave these treats to a friend for her horses and they are awesome!
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TREAT! I have bought several flavors of this treat and my mare loves all of them. I haven't tried the peppermint yet but I am sure she would like them too. They come in a great resealable bag that makes them easy to store and I have had one bag for a couple of months and they are still soft/chewy and fresh. Great treat for the price!
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Treat Both of my horses will do anything to get another one of these cookies. These are their favorite treats! They smell good enough for humans to eat! The raspberry vanilla is their favorite flavor but they will eat any of them happily.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding ate them up! Shipped with my smartpaks which I love!!!! No hassle at all!! And my big loved them!!
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only the picky one won't eat Bought the peppermint ones for my thoroughbred mare who is picky about treats (I should know better than to try new treats with her). She ate a few then turned her nose up at them. However they were a winner with every other horse I tried to give them to, especially my retired gelding who loves anything in treat form. He was begging and begging for them. They are really hard and crunchy so don't break, but they are a good size and the horses seem to be good with the crunchy texture.I just wish my mare wasn't so finicky! :)
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Horses Loved Them I bought the Cinnnamon Apple Raisin, they smelled great and my horse (as well as the others in the barn) went crazy for them!
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't care for them I purchased the Apple Cinnamon Raison flavor and when I opened the bag I thought that they smelled delicious. I figured the horses would love them. Unfortunately, none of the horses in the barn cared for them and wouldn't even eat them. The one that eats everything did attempt to eat the cookie, but spit most of it out and was uninterested after that. I'm a little disappointed and next time will have to avoid The Cantering Chef.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smell like heaven Both of my horses love these. The vanilla scent is heavenly -- I want to eat them myself!!
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone loves these! I have yet to find a horse that doesn't love the peppermint horse treats! I board at a barn with 20+ horses and every single one (even the picky eaters) start nickering for treats the minute they see the bag. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horsey didn't approve :( My horse who eats almost anything hated these treats. They looked good, smelled delicious but my horse just spit it out and ran out the door! I wanted him to try something new instead of the molasses treats but I guess Ill stick with German Horse Muffins from now on! But Im sure some other horses would like them.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mare's new favorite The blackberry vanilla was a surprising hit with my mare and the others in her field! She's been begging for more.
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They're great--I tried them! Look at the label--there isn't anything in these that we don't eat. I took a small bite--no wonder Al loves them! If he gets to his corner feeder before I've had a chance to drop in a couple of cookies he looks quite put off. Loves the peppermint. Maybe a bit pricey for everyday treats but for an 18 year old cutter who is still competing and takes VERY good care of me--he's worth it!
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony tested and approved My horse loves these cookies. They look and smell yummy. They are a little expensive but I only give them occasionally.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive These seem to be more for people to buy then for horses to eat. Smell very vanilla and my horse ate them but not as interested. She would rather eat a carrot and those are way cheaper and healthier, even if organic.
Date published: 2012-09-14
  • 2016-09-29T12:26CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_9141, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders