Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

The Better Bucket

Item #19839
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Double L's Better Bucket is an ergonomic feeder that is excellent for horses, cattle, and other livestock. The bucket's tapered sides cause the feed to funnel toward the back of the bucket, making feed and grain more accessible and reduces animal behavioral problems. The Better Bucket fits in a corner or on a flat wall and can be hung with either a traditional wall bracket or snap hook. The Better Bucket is built to last with a durable, impact resistant, high-density polyethylene with smooth, finished edges, and a heavy-duty handle.

Favorite Features

  • Angular design accommodates the animal's facial structure
  • Flat back provides stability against a wall or fence
  • Fits in a corner or a traditional wall

Sizing It Up

20 Quarts

Customers Also Shopped For
Space age technology has made these polymer mats ...
Description:
Space age technology has made these polymer mats the fastest growing floor in the industry. At only 12 pounds each you can snap a floor together in minutes. Use them at show grounds, grooming areas, in trailers and in most ...
ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what ...
Description:
ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Favorite Features Special offset front ...
Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!The ...
Description:
Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will ...
A convenient solution that holds boots securely in ...
Description:
A convenient solution that holds boots securely in place during washing. Allows boots to dry quickly and thoroughly. Favorite Features Long lasting nylon holds up to repeated washing Four rows of hook-and-loop material holds several pairs of boots at onceImported ...
The UP-RIGHT Anti-Cast Safety Assistant Strips are patented ...
Description:
The UP-RIGHT Anti-Cast Safety Assistant Strips are patented strips attach to the wall to give a safe gripping surface for their hooves, to safely push their bodies away from the wall to regain their feet and stand. Surveys show that ...
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is ...
Description:
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is easy to hang in your horse's stall Favorite Features Includes attached S hooks orHeavy-duty snaps for installation Galvanized reinforcements Capacity markings in gallons and liters Perimeter rim helps bottom of bucket resist ...
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 40 ...
Description:
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 40 head. The UltraFount is designed to give year-round service, providing clean, fresh, temperate water regardless of climate. Great if you're tired of breaking ice on the coldest days!Favorite Features Premier, energy efficient ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

The Better Bucket is rated 4.064 out of 5 by 125.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Water I bought this because i needed a flat back feeder (but not a corner one) and couldn't find anything else. It works ok but it does get spun around the way i have it hooked up. I think it would be ok for water but wouldn't recommend it for feed if your horse likes to fling his food around, it's not as stationary as a corner feeder for sure. But it is durable and looks like it would be great for a water bucket. I use it for feed but not on my horse that flings his head in the bucket.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more annoying banging I decided to give this bucket a try as my horse managed to bite through the edge of his previous bucket. His teeth left a clear indentation where he bit the previous bucket. Once he grabbed the bucket with his teeth, the banging was on. He grabbed the bucket to situate the grain to one location and for attention. Sometimes I arrived at the barn to find his bucket outside of his stall. The banging was driving people crazy. "The Better Bucket" is aptly named. The edge is harder to grab and the grain moves to a location easy to consume. The net result, my horse no longer plays percussion with his bucket. He may be disappointed, but the humans at the barn are happy.Construction of the bucket seems good. Size is definitely large enough for my quarter horse.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST feed bucket! I own a Percheron draft horse.... This bucket is the best thing! It fits his head and is also very ergonomically correct. I would recommend this to anyone
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My trainer got this for her horses as their noses were too big for a regular bucket, so now it is fondly known as the "big head bucket". I got one for my horse (who has a normal sized head) because I noticed that his eyes were always squinting when he ate. I do think he likes it better than a normal bucket and it definitely seems to be easier for him to eat out of. I even noticed that he was cleaning up his powdered supplements more when I switched buckets.The only complaint I have about this bucket is that the balance is a little wonky because of the ergonomic shape. If you set it on the ground, it will tip over. But this is a small price to pay for my precious pony's comfort.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working just fine Been using this bucket a little over a week. Yankee seems to like it, and it has stood up to his abuse - and the near-zero temperatures - just fine.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bucket My horse has partial sight in one eye and was hesitant putting her head into a regular bucket to eat. As soon as I put the new one in she immediately started eating all her food. Great bucket.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for Drafts! My Clydesdale, Romulus, likes to dunk his hay. Thought the wider mouth and ergonomic shape might be helpful; not so. Have had much better longevity with the Equifit clean buckets. Perhaps if they rework it with titanium and a 2 inch thick handle. Score Romulus 2 Better Buckets( not) 0
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! I Purchased the better bucket about a month ago and it is perfect; however, I do feed my mates low and do recommend removing it after feeding . The only place I recommend purchasing everything for horse and rider is SmartPak-- they are the best-ever in customer service!
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Better bucket I love the design and it allows my mare to reach all of her feed comfortably, however, after only a few days the whole side cracked open very dissatisfied .
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect feed bucket Love this bucket!!! It's perfect. Easily removed to clean. Lots of room for them to like it clean. I was using a ground feeder but always had spilled feed. I don't like permanent feeders cause they're hard to clean. This one is perfect
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for older horse We needed a feeding method that would allow an older mare (30) to eat in comfort; the design of the Better Bucket and being able to position it at a good height lets her eat all of her food. She get a senior feed and compressed hay. Her weight is already better
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had it one year and it cracked I bought this 4th of July 2014. Last week in June 2015 it split all the way from the lip to the bottom. I love this bucket because there was less waste of feed going onto the floor…..but…I'm going to try again and put it at a different height to see if that makes a difference. I'll let you know what happens next 4th of July :)
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent in every way the size makes it easy to feed cubed hay or grain the horses can easily reach inside to eat every bit of grain they don't have to move it around to get to the grain. the horses seam more comfortable eating out of these buckets because it is easy to see around them and continue to eat. they don't pull there heads out with each bite to see what is around them so there is less wasted grain.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very large Great well constructed sturdy bucket. It's nice to see my horse eating easily now instead of a regular bucket where his eyes rubbed on the metal sides. It's a huge bucket for the little amount if grain he gets and would be a little in the way in a small stall. I'm happy with it.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great idea, but not durable I bought this for one of my horses that always seems to be a little "off" when she gets massages, chiro or acupuncture. She usually is tense in her neck and I hoped that the design of this bucket would at least eliminate the possibility that her feed bucket was causing some of the issue. I installed the bucket in the wall bracket that I had been using for her regular "flat back" bucket. It lasted less than two weeks before it cracked! Very disappointing, since the description even mentions using a wall bracket. I've used the regular flat back buckets with that type of bracket for 5+ years with no breakage. I think the design of this bucket is brilliant, but it is seriously lacking durability.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Both of my Horses love this bucket and I feel better with them not eating from a bucket laid on the ground. I have noticed that is not alot of feed dropped on the ground.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am completely satisfied with this bucket. Good design
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful design! My hoses love having more room while they're eating!
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Herd Feeding I love these buckets! I have three horses in my herd and typically only one of them gets to eat all his grain (plus the other's feed). This bucket allows my dominant eater to finish his grain without getting frustrated and pushing the other guys off their feed. Now everyone gets to eat. Horses are happy and I'm happy.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Large Bucket I bought this bucket for my horse that is being stalled at night. This bucket is perfect for her grain feeding.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse is much more content Only had this bucket for a couple weeks. I was using a flatback 20 quart and my TB would toss it around, swing it, and in general just bang it around. He dropped a good 25% off his grain due to just swinging the bucket. I hang this one from the same bucket strap and he doesn't knock this one around at all. I seriously think the other flatback style was uncomfortable for him (the handle pushed on his faces/eyes). He just munches away now. Don't see this bucket pressing anywhere on his big head haha I am a fan! Seems durable, but have never had issues with durability in any type of bucket.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shocked! It works-he is not cribbing Wow! I cannot believe this bucket. I bought two because my horse breaks his grain bucket all the time because he cribs on it so bad. So far he has not cribbed- nor has he broken the bucket. What am amazing design.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good feed bucket I use these buckets for feed and I like that I can hang them up like water buckets so I can easily take them down to clean.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses luv it we needed some new buckets. saw a video on better bucket. thought we would give it a try. now the horses dont fight to get feed out of a bucket. the better bucket is sloped and works to the horses favor.
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! I have one horse with a really large head and one who likes to fling his feed everywhere, this bucket works wonders for both. I use it at shows, hang it in a corner. It is MUCH easier for the big boy to get to his feed, and much more difficult for the young one to scoop feed out or turn the bucket over.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feed bucket!!! We love this bucket!! I swear Ali is happier at meal times because its much easier for her to her quite large head in the bucket! She seems to eat slower and no knocking around the bucket. Worth the price!!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Better Bucket, but this one is HUGE I love the Better Bucket design for a grain bucket. I've found that my horses spill less grain and bump/play with it less than traditional buckets trying to get the last nuggets out of the bottom. The previous Better Bucket I purchased from a local retailer lasted for almost 6 years of constant use, so when it finally developed a crack I purchased this one as a replacement. My only complaint is that this bucket is HUGE. It's twice as large as my previous bucket, it takes up a considerable amount of real estate in the stall and even larger than my water buckets. SmartPak: please consider stocking the smaller sized Better Bucket! I recommend the Better Bucket product to everyone, but beware that this is a very large 5 gallon bucket.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bucket I bought this bucket for my Thoroughbred who spilled about as much grain as he ate. He is doing much better and I bought another for my Clydesdale. Now they eat happily side by side! Bucket holds up to their rough eating manners.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Better Bucket is very large! I bought two better buckets about three weeks ago and find them to be as described. They are very sturdy and easy for the horses to eat and drink from. I did have some difficulty getting them attached to my metal round pen fence panels. But I'm sure there is some way to easily attach them.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the first bucket my horse cannot sweep his grain out of
Date published: 2014-10-09
  • 2016-08-31T11:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_123
  • loc_en_US, sid_9839, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders