Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Super Comfort Iron Pads

Item #16038
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say "Goodbye!" to losing a stirrup while riding, these pads provide superior grip for added security. 

You can easily attach the Super Comfort Iron Pads to your own stirrup irons and they are guaranteed to stay firmly in place. These unique Super Comfort Iron Pads are made of treaded rubber which wrap around your entire iron, thereby eliminating foot to steel contact that often causes a rider to lose their stirrups. 

Favorite Features

  • Reduces impact to help alleviate added stress on the knees
  • Helps keep heels down
  • Easily attaches in less than 5 Minutes
  • Helps improve body and leg position
  • Treaded rubber lasts for years of wear

Made in USA

Sizing It Up

Should be sized down by a half size for jointed irons.

Customers Also Shopped For
SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon ...
SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. Covered withSoft leather, requires no break in time!The SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers measure 7/8" wide. Holes spaced .75" apart. Stainless steel roller buckle. Brown 48" or 54" long. Black ...
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Favorite Features Half hold lined leathers made of fine calfskin with nylon lining Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk Provides ...
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the ...
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the world patented and made of aluminum and titanium, two extremely light materials. These innovative stirrups feature a wide, titanium footbed with a high densityNeoprene to provide extra grip. The unique design of ...
The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are ...
The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are made from top quality English Leather.Favorite Features Competition design White contrast stitching Leathers are 3/4" wideSizing It Up Choose from Australian Nut in the 36", 42", 48" length or Black in the ...
Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, ...
Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, strength and comfort! This international, patent-pending style consists of four links allowing for movement in four directions at the same time, enabling immediate release in case of emergency. Favorite Features The Herm ...
Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup ...
Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction and greater support for the traditional or performance minded rider. The MDC Hunter Classic features an ultra-low profile tread and is practically invisible in the show ring, allowing all ...
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Super Comfort Iron Pads is rated 4.897196261682243 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought these because a fellow rider recommended them. They are amazing, no more foot slipping in my stirrups, just the perfect amount of grip. They were super easy to put on.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really love these! So glad I tried these--wasn't sure as I'd not seen them before.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for grip and comfort I bought these after riding in a pair that came on a used saddle I purchased. They are so comfortable and they are great for hunting, lots of grip and easy to install. Highly recommend them!
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work great I bought new old-fashioned, regular stirrup pads recently and within a few months they were cracking and wearing. I bought these because they hold up, have great grip without making me feel like my feet are stuck, and have a great price-point.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I've had a pair of these on my English saddle for over a year and love them. So comfy and grippy! Got a pair for my son, daughter and a client.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I used to wrap my stirrups in vet wrap before XC but since I found the Super Comfort Iron Pads I no longer need to do that. Bonus, I've had the same pair for almost 10 years and they are totally fine!
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I swear by these pads! I now use regular stirrup irons, and have had a lot of success with these "cheese grater" pads in the past. When I went from the flex irons to regular irons, I stopped using these pads, but noticed that my foot slipped in the iron and I lost my irons more than I'd like. I ordered a pair of these pads and noticed an instant difference: my foot felt MUCH more secure, especially when wearing paddock boots (with little grip on the sole), and my ankle was able to stay down and stay supportive under me. I had toyed with the idea of splurging on a pair of the MDC stirrup irons, but I'm so glad I purchased these instead! I'd highly recommend them.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to stirrups I bought these pads for my MDC Ultimate stirrups. I led the Ultimate sport stirrups,but they ruined the bottom of my boots so I bought these to make the Ultimate stirrups even better because they add extra grip and add a little more width for extra comfort. The only thing I don't like is the ends of the connectors are sharp under the stirrups Sinai have to have them filed down or try to move them to the underside of the pad.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Slick Stirrup Pads I bought these at a friends suggestion to prevent my paddock boots from slipping in my irons once the ground gets muddy. I love them! They fit perfectly in my Herm Sprengers and make my foot feel very secure.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product! These comfort Iron pads are nice looking and work well.Highly reccomrnd.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesom I recently bought this product 2 days before a show. I was worried I wouldn't be used to them by then, but I was, and they work wonders. I can't remember the last time I lost my stirrup!
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy, feet don't slip I have ridden in these for about a week now. They are much more comfortable on my foot than my old "cheese grater" pads, and my feet don't slide around in the stirrup at all.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought them I was on the fence about these because I wasn't sure I'd like the "wrapping" feature going all the way around, but they look pretty slick on my black dressage saddle. And an added bonus I hadn't accounted for - I do a lot of lunging, and the extra rubber on the edges keeps my stirrups up no problem. No longer need to use a stirrup keeper or do weird things with the leather....just run them up the leathers and they'll stay put!I was a little unsure just how comfortable these would be. I was expecting a material a little more "cushy" like a memory foam, but these are not. Whatever they're made out of, they are comfortable. Between these pads and new boots, I no longer have horrible foot on the ball of my foot.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! I absolutely Love the Super comfort iron pads, they were easy to put on my stirrups I read the directions twice just to make sure I was putting them on right. Once I got one on the second was super easy. I was able to tighten the zip tie by hand, and I cut the ends off with my scissors that I have in my grooming box. The minute I put my foot into the stirrup, I was so glad that I bought these. I now can ride my large mover of a warmblood, with out constantly loosing my stirrups! I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2015-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I Wait So Long? I bought these about a month ago and am recommending them to everyone. They keep my foot steady in the stirrup (no slipping and readjusting your position) but in an emergency you are not locked in like the cheese graters will do. They are softer on my ankles and knees and really were so easy to put on.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Many people at my barn had gotten these so I decided to try them out! I love them, not only are they comfy, but they are also super grippy
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will never go without them! I have had these on my stirrups since 2009. I have used the same pair of iron pads through several different sets of stirrup irons. They have never lost their grip and after spraying with the hose and only a tiny bit of scrub they look black as ever. I got these mainly because where I live its always muddy and they have held up through 5+ rides a day for 6 years. Worth the investment!
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love with these stirrup pads I started using these stirrup pads about 3 weeks ago and have notice a huge difference. I had been losing my stirrups recently on my new horse and I thought these would be worth the try since I had heard some good reviews about them. I am so happy that I bought these they have definitely made a difference with keeping my stirrups. They also have helped my foot not to slip in the stirrups (not completely losing my stirrups) even when my boots are wet or a little on the muddy side. I have also noticed that in using these stirrup pads my ankles have not been hurting as much during and after riding. I also think that these stirrup pads are worth the price. I don't think I will ever go back to regular stirrup pads again!
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge difference! As someone who is notorious for loosing her stirrups and finishing a course stirrupless these made a huge difference. The irons that I got with (stole for) my saddle came with these on but as soon as I started riding in them my feet slipped significantly less. I'm never going back. They are hardly noticeable and I definitely feel comfortable taking these into the show ring.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I wanted to try these, so my husband bought them for my birthday: never going back to regular pads! Very comfortable and feel very solid in them. They're terrific! Liked them so much I bought my mom a pair for Christmas.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Grip I have used these for a few weeks now and they are definitely more comfortable and I have yet to lose my stirrup despite wet, muddy conditions.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The stirrup pads I was usually previously lasted a month tops (usually only a couple of weeks). A friend recommended these. I have only had these a couple of weeks, but so far so good. They were easy to put on and have stayed in place. Time will be the real test.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! I have the comfort pads set up with the bendable stirrups, and my leg is amazing! I tend to lose my stirrups or have them shift on me while jumping, but not anymore. I've only ridden in them around 10 times, but I can't imagine riding without them now. They are easy to put on, just make sure you order a size below your pad size if you have the bendy stirrups. Comfort pads = life.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had them for years! I bought these a few years ago and they are still going strong (used 6-7 days a week!) If you are looking for an 'in between' the regular stirrup pads and a fancy stirrup cushion, they are worth a try. Not too difficult to put on once you get the hang of it, and I have never had to adjust mine, they have stayed put this long. Ordering another set for my other saddle. If they get muddy or ring dirt stuck in them, they brush out easily with a hoofpick brush too.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the money These were the only replacement pads that Smartpak carried that would work for a 5" stirrup. They are fine to ride in but not worth the extra money over a regular replacement pad. And while the zip ties do the job, they seem like a cheesy solution for install. And I would not go in the show ring with these so their use is limited.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from <3!!!! Look a little funky but do the job!!!They are super no slip!!!
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent These pads do help a bit with grip in wet conditions. No real noticeable difference any other time.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing little guys I love these pads! They really are worth the money. I can't say how durable they are yet, since I've only used them on my jumping saddle a handful of times. They really help keep your heels down, and secure your feet in the irons. Will be buying another pair!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tough I really like these, they are very thick and durable and will last MUCH longer than regular stirrup pads, which I've been changing out every 8 months or so. I can't say that I never lose a stirrup but the pads make them much easier to hold onto! Only drawback, the ties that secure them leave sharp little points on the underside of the stirrup. There might be a way to rotate the tie so it can be cut off inside the stirrup, but that experiment will have to await the next pair, which hopefully won't be for a couple of years!
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The pads are durable, no slip, and give great support. They give great traction- whether I'm riding in my Ariat paddock boots OR Dubarry's! They are more expensive than other pads, but well worth the money!
Date published: 2013-03-21
  • 2016-10-26T12:45CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_6038, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders