Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Stretchies Shoulder Guard

Item #18757
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Four-way stretch shoulder guard protects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting
  • Fully adjustable
  • Fast and easy on/off

Sizing It Up

Small (70 - 72)
Medium (74-76)
Large (78 - 80)
XLarge (82 - 84)

Customers Also Shopped For
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
Description:
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue. One ...
The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Premier Free Standard Neck Turnout ...
Description:
The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Premier Free Standard Neck Turnout Sheet combines everything you would want in a durable turnout sheet- comfort, fit, and technology! This turnout is made from super strong and durable 1200 denier triple weave outer shell with repel ...
The SmartPak Pony Stable Sheet is the prefect ...
Description:
The SmartPak Pony Stable Sheet is the prefect addition for keeping your pony warm on those chilly fall nights! Favorite Features Durable 80% polyester/20% cotton fabric composition Shoulder gussets allow for freedom of movement Stainless steel hardware stays functional and ...
Amazing quality and features at a great value! ...
Description:
Amazing quality and features at a great value! The Mio Stable Sheet keeps your horse's coat clean and helps save time on grooming. Favorite Features Silky shoulder lining Classic original shape Double surcingles Double front closure Tail cord 100% polyester ...
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Sheet is designed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Sheet is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
Add to your SmartPink and SmartBlue collection with ...
Description:
Add to your SmartPink and SmartBlue collection with these fun sheets exlusively from SmartPak! Favorite Features Polished stainless steel hardware Detachable elastic leg straps Nylon lined shoulders to prevent rubs Fleece at withers Double front buckles and two belly surcingles ...
Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
Description:
Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Stretchies Shoulder Guard is rated 3.8513513513513513 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works I got this to keep my grey warmblood from getting blanket nicks. I wasn't too sure about it when I got it, the material is thin and band that goes around his middle is pretty flimsy. But it does work and it doesn't get a lot of wear and tear because it comes off in the morning with his blanket. So. Works fine. It seems like it should cost about 19$ but it was double that!The L fit my 16.2 big chested gelding.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works Fine The shoulder guard seems to have helped with shoulder rubs and is of reasonable quality. The belly attachment does not maintain its size adjustment well so it does not always stay tight, but it does not displace the shoulder guard as far as I can tell.
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Product I purchased this because my awkwardly sized draft-cross was getting some rubs on his shoulder from his blanket. It fit a bit tight around the neck, but around his elbows it was loose. The strap on the bottom does not stay tight. After about 2 weeks, he's ripped the elastic around the neck hole, but it is still functional. Next time I'll buy a different brand.
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from neck opening is small After reading the reviews, I bought a large for my 15.3 warmblood. He has a fairly high-set neck, and this guard seems to ride high and tight. I'm afraid to pull it down lower on his neck because I don't want it tighter and rubbing. I had the beginnings of a shoulder rub, and this guard is definitely protecting against that. The elastic belly band does not stay tight. It is always completely loose after 24 hours. I also think that the buckle is fairly clunky, and I hope my horse doesn't lay on it. I would probably try another brand in the future. Not crazy about the fit on my horse.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shoulder Guard I've never used a product like this before but I needed it because my horse had a blanket that was rubbing hair off the point of his shoulder. I loved the feel of the material and found it to be very soft & stretchy. I read the previous reviews that said the belly stap sometimes loosens by itself so when I put it on my horse I grabbed a few inches of electrical tape and ran it around the strap to make it a bit more secure to stay in place. I've had no problems with this product & the hair seems to be growing back quickly.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment! Before I purchased this item I was unable to even put a fly sheet on my horse because he would get terrible rubs at the withers. He got one infection that prevented me from riding him for 2 weeks while he healed. If your horse gets rubs on the withers or shoulders, this is a great product. It does run fairly large and the girth takes a bit of adjusting every time to make sure it is correctly tightened. Thank you SmartPak for giving me peace of mind when my horse has his blankets on!
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small I was disappointed in the neck opening. I have order other stretchies items and never had a problem however the neck opening (large) was way too small for my 15.2 hand quarter horse.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shoulder Guard - Good Product but Runs Small I love using these for my horse but this one really does run small. Buzz wears a 78 blanket so I thought large would work...but I bought a large and it just doesn't fit right. It's too tight but I paid a pretty penny for it and can't afford a new one. Will know better next time!
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stretchie ever Love this stretchie for my xl warmblood mare, keeps her from getting ugly blanket rubs and it stays on with belly belt.
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way too small The XL was way too small for my quarter horse. He is 15.2, and wears an 82 blanket, and an XL Schneiders shoulder guard fits fine. The quality seemed to be ok otherwise, I can't say anything about the durability becasue I couldn't get it on him. If you have a smaller horse it looked like it would be fine, but I would order a size up.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this Perfect solution to preventing blanket rubs. Easy to get on and off and works very well. Liked it so much bought another!
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid Value with Caveat I bought this for my Fjord mare as the winter blankets resulted in significant chest rubbing. She was already clipped and with her rugged pasture endeavors, her chest became bare no matter what type of blanket she wore. Within 2 weeks of wearing this guard her hair was returning and the balding areas are no longer irritated. My only complaint is that the plastic clasp is quite large and when tightened, sits directly behind her elbow. The product runs small and I ordered a medium, even though the small is suggested for a 70" blanket size. The product is easy to take on and off, appears comfortable but the surcingle does loosen throughout the day and should be checked at least daily.
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it's job Bought this Shoulder Guard to keep blankets from rubbing.....only started using it and hair is already coming back on the point of his should!! Very Happy!!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product I really like that this stretchie fits so snug around my QH's shoulders and chest. The loop between his legs keeps the shoulder guard from creeping up under his blanket!
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Easy to put on, stays put thanks to the center piece, durable, fits very well, comfortable for my horse, at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse thanks you After a small rub started at his shoulders this guard was a life safer!
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchies shoulder guard My mare developed bad shoulder rubs from constantly wearing a blanket. Since she began wearing the shoulder guard her shoulder hair has started to grow back. The shoulder guard has held up well despite constant use. My only complaint is the fit. I got the extra large and it is slightly tight across the chest and shoulders, but she has very prominent points of shoulder and is a 16.3 hh Trakehner. Other breeds/sizes of horses may not have this problem. Overall I would definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs really small! Glad I read the other reviews...I ordered a large for a 15.1 hand QH, and it just barely fits. An extra large probably would have done just fine. Other than that, the quality seems good, and the product does work.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It does the job The fit is good, and I like the center yoke that goes between the front legs. This keeps it from rising above the rub spots (which my last one did). But, the adjustable part on the belly band doesn't really work and there are no keepers. The elastic slides through the plastic part in 5 seconds making it too big. Also, my mare is still getting rubs through it, but I guess not as bad as if she didn't have this at all.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order next size up This is a great product, but order the next size up. It is snug around the neck like others have said, but it doesn't slip and is a great product!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from helpful addition I have utilized shoulder guards for my mare (always has blanket rubs no matter the product - she is mobile and no change of garment or additional protective item changes this) ...anyway, this item does provide some help but the characteristics I would draw attention to includes the center yolk which holds it in place well, and the reinforcement of heavier product inside the keeper.Enjoy
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from satisfied I like the material and color,its easy to put on.For my particular horse (stocky paint) I wish it was a bit looser on his neck.Other than that I am fully satisfied with the fit and Quality.You just slide it over their head and buckle once on the near side at the girth,very easy.I would buy it again.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job I had read previous reviews and so knew to buy the next size up. So his normal blanket size is 72, I bought the 74-76 stretchie, just the right fit.The addition of the piece between his legs to the surcingle stops it riding up. (Something the other brand kept doing.) Over all, I'm very pleased with it. Only gave 4 stars for fit due to the surcingle leaving an imprint on his coat for the 12 hours he is not wearing his blanket. Yet the strap is not too tight.
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from does the job This product is ok. It does sit very high on neck and is a tight fit for warmblood mare. The belly strap does not stay tight either. With all of that said, it is doing its job. My mare had pretty bad shoulder rubs from her blanket which are all gone now so I am happy with that!
Date published: 2011-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't do what I thought it would I bought this with the intent of protecting my horse's mane since it was getting rubbed by his blanket. The medium seemed a little tight on my 15.1 QH but I thought it may stretch... it never really did. It was tight around the neck and made him very itchy there. He would try to rub up against stuff to scratch and not only put a big hole in the stretchie but distressed his blanket at the shoulders quite a bit too. Meanwhile, when he moves around a little the stretchie and blanket move so that the blanket is still rubbing his mane.If I were to buy this again I would go for the full neck hood which would cover his whole mane and hopefully would alleviate the itchy issue.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit tight for the big guys I have a 17.2 hand Belgian draft TB cross and the XL is a bit snug at the base of his neck. It's stretchy so it doesn't bother him but I'd prefer for the cut to be a bit roomier.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but needs some fine tuning I purchased this specifically I was having issues with a regular shoulder guard hitching up in front, and because it has the center yoke I was hoping this would be better. My horse was getting shoulder rubs low on the front of his shoulders. I bought the large and had to send it back for an XL - these run small. There is a lot of adjustment in the belly band, which I like better than plain elastic and velcro. But there's no adjustment in the neck opening. The XL neck opening is still too small for my swedish warmblood gelding, and the lower shoulders are not very well covered. I would recommend this if the base of your horse's neck is not too large.
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit and comfortable Unfortunately, I got this AFTER I realized the blanket caused rug spots on my TWH mare. While the hair has not yet grown back, this definitely fits well and covers the "rub" areas. So, I feel like it was a good purchase and seems to be very comfortable for my mare who likes to lay down and needs the stretch.
Date published: 2011-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed a bigger size I had to exchange for a bigger size but overall the product is very nice. Really stretchy so it doesn't put pressure on the withers, large adjustable belly strap and smooth, silky material. Works well for preventing rubs.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd Fit This shoulder guard looks like it is well made but the fit is pretty odd. I ordered a large based on the reviews (my 16h TB normally wears a medium) and the hole for the neck is still very small. Hopefully it will stretch. The shoulder area fits but it is a bit deep front to back.
Date published: 2010-12-03
  • 2016-09-25T12:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_8757, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders