Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SSG Winter Training Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #12095
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel on the reins without sacrificing warmth.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Thinsulate lining to create and maintain warmth
  • Knitted cuff helps to keep the cold out of your glove 
  • Outer material is drum dyed soft leather for a better grip on the reins

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
Description:
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable.Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless noted. ...
The Gladstone Waterproof Parka by Ariat is the ...
Description:
The Gladstone Waterproof Parka by Ariat is the prefect addition to your outwear collection for in and out of the barn.  Favorite Features Waterproof seam sealing and zipper construction Fully lined Removable hood that is sized to fit over helmet 2-Way Zipper ...
The Back on Track Fleece Headband is manufactured ...
Description:
The Back on Track Fleece Headband is manufactured from the revolutionary Welltex ceramic infused fabric, which helps provide soothing, pain relieving far infrared therapy to help alleviate tension and aches. Favorite Features Fashionable, yet practical, so can be worn with ...
Our SmartPak Knit Cap is a must have ...
Description:
Our SmartPak Knit Cap is a must have this season to keep you both warm and comfortable! Favorite Features Fully lined Easy care Coordinates withThe SmartPak Infinity Scarf 100% Acrylic, hand wash cool water, air dry Imported Sizing It Up ...
The Pajar Kimi II Ice Gripper Boot provides ...
Description:
The Pajar Kimi II Ice Gripper Boot provides premium warmth and waterproofProtection with the ultimate grip to give you sure footing in winter's worst conditions. Imported. Favorite Features Made from a high denier nylon with taped waterproof seams and wool ...
The Ariat Lowell 1/4 Zip Top is ideal ...
Description:
The Ariat Lowell 1/4 Zip Top is ideal as a cold-weather base layer top or use it on its own! Tailored from sueded poly stretch jersey is super comfortable andSoft on your skin. Favorite Features Sueded poly stretch jersey fabric ...
This infinity scarf is both stylish and functional ...
Description:
This infinity scarf is both stylish and functional perfect for everyday use and around the barn! Favorite Features Trendy ombre styling Perfect for the barn and also everyday use Easy care yarn Coordinates perfectly withThe SmartPak Ombre Knit Hat 100% ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SSG Winter Training Glove is rated 4.493150684931507 out of 5 by 73.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pair of gloves! Warm, soft, fit perfectly. Excellent pair of gloves!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft & warm! I already had a pair of mountain horse gloves, but found the plastic grip on them wasn't grippy enough, so I wanted to try something leather. I couldn't believe how buttery soft these were when they arrived! They're not too thick or bulky, and they're really warm. They provide excellent grip too. I use the mountain horse gloves still for grooming, but these are now my go-to winter riding glove. I've had them about a month now, and have been riding in them 5-6 days a week and they aren't showing any signs of wear other than being a little dirty. Love them!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Don't even know how long I've had these but it's literally been years and I still love them. They are my go to gloves for barn chores on really cold days. Warmer than the ski gloves I bought for that purpose. I think their flexibility helps account for their warmth over thicker gloves. Usually ride in my other SSG insulated gloves but these are best if its really cold.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Winter Training Gloves Just recently purchased these gloves. Love them. Keep my hands/fingers warm as toast. First time I have had gloves that actually do keep me warm. Always have cold fingers - Not No More. Now to find boots that keep my feet warm!!!
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I got these gloves at the beginning of the winter, and I love them! They held up very nicely (look just as good as when I got them) and are perfect for barn work and riding. The only problem I've had with them is that they're a little big, even though I measured my hand and ordered the correct size -- might just be my hands though. I'd definitely recommend them, they're excellent!
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the barn-workers borrows them all the time! I love the SSG winter gloves. The only problem is that one of my friends that works at the barn steals them all the time to use since they are so great :) They are great because they are warm but don't give you the builkiness of some other winter gloves!
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves for cold weather riding I got these gloves from a friend's recommendation after I tried the SSG 10 below waterproof gloves. These are warmer. It's also easy to hold reins while riding.
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I love all the SSG products these gloves are warm and cozy. I wore them all day at a freezing horse show 25 degrees and my hands were never cold.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves for working horses There is no perfect glove when you have to be adjusting tack and riding horses in bitter cold weather, but these come as close as any glove can. They are warm and you can hold onto reins without them slipping through your hands. They fit well, so you don't have extra bulk in your way. I train horses and tend to go through gloves very quickly - these ones hold up. They look like the day I got them. Keeping my hands dry and warm.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I wore them yesterday in cold and wind. I'm always cold but my hands stayed toasty warm for the first time. Grip made riding easy as well. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good all around Fall glove. These gloves although stated to be winter warm to minus 32 degrees fall way short of that warmth! I live in northern Wisconsin where it does get to -32 and I can tell you these gloves don't cut it for that bitter cold. I wore them around the barn when it was between 20 to 40 degrees no colder. At those temps they were great. They are well made and hold up well, in fact, I ordered another pair for next year. I wish they would add more Thinsulate to make them warmer. One thing I might add is that I am a small person 5" 1" wearing a size 6 glove so I get cold very quickly. Perhaps more quickly than the average person. They are good for riding too.
Date published: 2011-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Glove I bought these for my daughter who has a real problem with circulation in her fingers in the winter. Although her fingers are still cold, these gloves are the best we've tried. The fit is great.
Date published: 2011-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best glove Love these gloves. They fit and are warm. Waterproof and I can ride in them too. Cannot be without them. My puppy liked them also so I immediately bought another pair :).
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves for winter These gloves are supple, easy on and off, and keep hands warm. On extremely cold days I stick a hothhand pack in the back of each glove--and my fingers stay toasty. In spite of their warmth, I can do almost all my tack up and other barn activities without removing them.
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm Gloves! I have now worn these gloves several times in 20 degree weather with the wind chill making it feel like well below 0 and my hands stay toasty and warm! They grip great and have not show a bit of wear. Nice gloves and at a great price!
Date published: 2010-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves We're not in the depths of winter yet, but we've had some evenings in the 20s with biting winds, and these gloves have risen to the occasion. They are the first pair of winter gloves that I can ride in that don't *feel* like winter gloves, I have a very solid hold on the reins. I think in the completely frozen months, with some hand warmers, these would be perfect. I'm getting a pair for a good friend for Xmas!
Date published: 2010-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice glove but slippery I own these gloves and use them during the coldest winter months riding outside and in the indoor arena on cold evenings after the sun disappears. My hands get cold if I sweat and then cool down and also if it is below 25 degrees. They aren't bad as far as a winter glove, because I have tried many. The leather is durable-only problem is that it is a bit slippery. Deerskin is so much better as far as that goes, but these have better insulation and are much more fitted. Not as warm as a ski glove, obviously, due to the thinner insulation and I don't believe they provide the best feel, either due to the thickness. But what can you expect from a insulated winter glove. I would say they are about the best you will come across-again stating that the biggest complaint is the slippery texture. They seem to get more slippery with age as well. I'd buy them if you need a thicker glove for riding.
Date published: 2010-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well made - not as warm as I'd like I normally take a size 7, but in these gloves, I take a 6. If the temperatures get into the low 20's or below, I still get very cold fingers when riding during the first 20 minutes. Bought a second pair so I could try trading off a warmed up pair when fingers start aching. Do find them warmer than the Ariat Insulated Teks. Still looking for better technology to come along.
Date published: 2010-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves These are the warmest gloves I have found, my fingers still get a chill when we drop into the "teens " but nothing like before I got the gloves. I do recommend the gloves! :)
Date published: 2010-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality I like the quality - they are just too bulky for me to use for riding
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality but not as warm as expected I have been using these gloves for about 2 weeks now in Vermont between 9 and 34 degree F weather. I really like their look and quality but they havent been as warm as I was hoping. My fingertips get cold when the temperatures get down to 20 and below. I dont know how they would be used for riding because I have only had the opportunity to wear them while doing errands.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product is as expected Very nice to get a product that is what you expected it to be. Can't say that they exceeded my expectations, but I am quite pleased with them, they have been very good in the below freezing weather we've had. Would recommend, and purchase again for myself.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat purchase My wife has used this glove for several years. After our Giant Schnauzer ate the last pair we knew where to go.
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves ever I absolutely love these gloves. My first pair lasted 9 years. I just bought a new pair for myself and a pair for my 20-year-old daughter. The leather is soft and supple, and the gloves are very warm. The knit cuff is especially helpful in keeping my hands warm. They fit really well, and I appreciate that they come in a size that fits me (8). If you wear other SSG gloves, order the same size, and they will fit perfectly. They definitely don't feel as bulky as they look. You certainly don't get the close feel you get with a thin glove, but I find them very easy to ride in and can feel the reins just fine.
Date published: 2010-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GLOVE! Warm and comfortable! what more could you want out of a winter glove?
Date published: 2010-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from warm but thick These are well made gloves for winter but they are a little thick for riding inside... would be better to use while riding outside.
Date published: 2010-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Glove Fit was perfect. These were for a gift and she loved them. They also fit my chubby little fingers!
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Winter Gloves! These really ARE very warm! I have tried numerous types of winter gloves and they are never as warm as expected.They are not too bulky, easy to ride with and well made. They fit true to size (I wear an 8).The soft extended cuff is an added bonus for both comfort and warmth.
Date published: 2009-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves. Great gloves that fit as they say are are made well. My last pair lasted 2 winters with rough use. They really keep your hands warm without the bulk.
Date published: 2009-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter gloves I love the fit, especially the cuff that keeps out the cold. This glove is one of the best gloves I have used for riding. They are a little slippery for use with a nylon mecate rein, I think they would be fine if I was using leather reins. I am tempted to add a mitten string to these gloves, so I never loose one and have a chance to wear them out.
Date published: 2009-12-17
  • 2016-08-31T11:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_2095, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders