Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. 

Favorite Features

  • Soft pigskin palm for grip 
  • Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements
  • Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.

Customers Also Shopped For
This Roeckl Chester-Limited Edition Glove combines grip technology ...
This Roeckl Chester-Limited Edition Glove combines grip technology with the latest in riding fashion. This classic glove is made from ROECK-GRIP, a very fine synthetic leather with an excellent grip, supple, breathable and elastic. This glove fits like a second ...
Finally a pair of riding gloves made with ...
Finally a pair of riding gloves made with the Dressage Rider in mind! The Tredstep Dressage Pro Gloves are made with patented FlexiGrip design with the finest lamb skin leather and True Touch synthetic leather palm for a flexible, secure ...
The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly ...
The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly versatile and extremely elastic. The backhand and palm on this glove is made from warm,Soft, and especially elastic Polartec Power Stretch Pro. The materials' particularlyHeavy quality guarantees extra warmth, while the outer ...
The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. Favorite Features Made from aSoft and lightweight ...
The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPERSoft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders. This brand-GoreSoft Shell quality material requires no additional inner lining and ...
SSG Grand Prix is the "perfect feel" English ...
SSG Grand Prix is the "perfect feel" English show glove, made with Aquasuede Plus: a skin thin, long wearing, machine washable material providing excellent grip and exceptional touch. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.493055555555555 out of 5 by 144.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable, well made! I was surprised to see what fine quality these gloves were! The leather is strong, soft and supple. These gloves fit very nicely.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome schooling gloves These gloves haven't changed much in all the (many) years I have been purchasing them! They are cool and protect my hands from the reins and also from being sunburned in the summer.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid glove I have owned lots of crochet gloves over the years and while not my favorite they are pretty good. I usually buy them from a tack shop and really never cared about the brand, just that the leather was soft and that they fit well. These gloves I could barely get on new but after a week of riding they have stretched nicely. The horseshoe back does its job, does not fit my hand/palm shape the best, but that's nothing new. For those who have never worn a horseshoe back glove and have always opted for the Velcro, try a pair. I tried a friends pair and I will never go back, the horseshoe keeps the gloves on but allows more air to circulate around your wrists and palms and it's much more comfortable in my opinion.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My almost favorite. I love crochet gloves, and I love the ones with no velcro even more. I want very much to love these gloves but they don't quite fit perfectly. The 7 is too short in the fingers and the 8 is too big in the wrist. Still looking for the brand that fits me best, but if they fit you well then I highly reccomend them!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True to size Just bought these and am using them mostly to ride - they fit my hands so well, which I'm noting because my fingers are shorter and thicker, although still average sized. It's always a win when my sausage fingers fill the fingers (with the exception of the thumb). I tried some other crochet gloves which were too tight for me (probably would have stretched but I only had enough in the budget for one pair this time). I'm pretty sure I found a new pair for life with these. They hug my hands without it feeling like a vice. I got a seven based on the measurement of the sizing chart.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I purchased these in hopes of protecting my hand from sun here in Tucson.Doc found a skin cancer on the top of my hand.The are very comfortable and not stiff broke in quickly
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves! I'm never disappointed by SSG! Love the fit, feel, and durability.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite gloves! I've only been wearing them for a few weeks (3-4x week for about 2 weeks) so I can't speak to the longterm durability, but they seem very well made and like they will hold up well. They were super comfortable from the very first ride. No break in period, and no blisters, stiffness, or staining of your skin like you get with some gloves. Love the crochet back--they breath well and my sweaty hands have stayed dry and cool in the crazy hot weather we've been having in CA. I was worried they'd be too thick and bulky but they aren't. I have worn them on long trail rides, cross-country schooling, and schooling and in lessons at home and they have been perfect in all situations. I wear a size 10 in many gloves, and the size 9 in these is perfect. The fingers could be a hair longer, but they work. My new favorite gloves!
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable and cool I have had these style of gloves before and I get about 2 years out of them. I like the style and the fact that they don't make my hands sweat. The size I usually wear started off a little snug, but I knew they would give a little and after about 10 rides, they are perfect.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value - love these gloves! I bought these to replace my lost pair. Love these gloves! Cool, breathable, durable. The leather will stiffen over time if you don't care for properly but this doesn't impact performance. The white will dirty quickly but to be expected, they still look great. Superb to ride in. Excellent value. I gave a four because they're not machine washable.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Summer Gloves I've had my first pair of these for a little over a year. They were nice and soft and my concerns about the crocheting holding up was unfounded because it's held up. The only time I ever had them bleed onto me was on a three hour hunt pace which is totally understandable for me. I'm getting ready to replace them with a new pair because the stitching has worn at the wrist of the glove and the leather is starting to break down a bit from being used six days a week for close to a year. I love these gloves and will keep buying them for as long as SSG makes them!
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very soft and durable! Love these gloves! Great in hot weather, very soft but also hold up well. This is my third or fourth pair and they usually last about a year even using them for non-riding barn stuff as well.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I've only used them for a few weeks but they are very comfortable and fit as expected. I even got caught out in a storm with them and they didn't bleed and dried just fine. I gave 4 stars for durability only because I don't know yet.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove!! I have the velcro version of these gloves, but I was looking for an easy on-easy off option. When they arrived I was worried that they wouldn't fit well/stay in place because there's no Velcro. I was pleasantly surprised! They fit great and are easy to get on! Highly recommend them!
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Summer Glove, runs small A good summer glove. Nice price point. But sizing runs small and short, in fingers & full length to wrist. a good glove if they fit you!
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I needed a new pair of summer gloves and wanted to try a non-velcro style glove. I LOVE these gloves. They are so comfortable and breathable. Perfect for summer riding. They fit true to size and fit my hands perfectly.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice gloves Pretty nice quality gloves. Got them in black and even in the hot sun they stay pretty cool. Only thing I don't like is that the seams are right at the fingertips making them feel a bit bulky. Would be a little better if the seem was put into the top side of fingers, like on top of the fingernail. Other than that I'm really pleased with them.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Warmer Weather Gloves I prefer to ride with gloves regardless of the temperatures but my leather gloves are just too hot for schooling in the summer. These are the perfect summer/warm weather gloves. AND they run true to size!!
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves I'm on my second pair of these gloves and I love them. The white cotton backing of them is hard to keep clean but everyone should already know that's going to be tough. These aren't show gloves so it doesn't bother me. The light color keeps me aware of my hand position. They fit well and are quite durable. They aren't light weight but do breathe decently. Difficult to clean though because the leather dries out when you wash them, leaving them basically trashed. Also, it's really tough, almost impossible, to operate a smartphone touch screen with these on. Don't really have that issue with my other gloves. I love that these gloves don't have velcro so they won't snag my clothes, breeches, etc. Overall, a great buy.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice schooling glove I've only used these once but they fit well and aren't too stiff, great for schooling. Hopefully they last a long time!
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Breathable, and Dependable! I purchased these gloves a few months ago and I've never been happier with a pair of gloves! They fit quite nicely, they are breathable, and they do not feel bulky at all. I've worn them in hot weather and in cold weather. They do very well in either climate. Please note that I'm referring to a Southern climate...so cold means low 50s. I love the horseshoe design...very elegant. Unfortunately, my dog loved them too and chewed them up. I'll be buying another pair....and keeping it out of reach of my dog!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting! I ride at least 3 times a week and I've had the same pair of these gloves for over a year and they are STILL going strong. Very strong nice leather fingers but still flexible. The only thing I don't like is that the crochet lets a lot of dirt in but what can ya do.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly What I Needed Exactly what I was looking for and needed! .. Gloves fit perfectly for my wife and was a great early Xmas gift as she needed them immediately. Thank you!!!
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure how long they'll last Comfortable, seem pretty durable, but I've only worn for a week and there are already loose threads so I'm not sure how long they'll actually last. But perfectly fine for the price.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and comfortable! I love these gloves! I purchased them for schooling. The fit is true to size; snug without constricting and I can feel the reins. It's getting cold here in my area and they keep my hands warm enough without feeling clammy or sweaty.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves Bought these for fox hunting and now I wear them all of the time!
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves. They do run a little small but look awesome.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs Small I think these gloves are pretty well made, but they do run small. I have long, thin fingers and typically wear a 7 in gloves, but these 7s were not even close to being the correct size--it was almost like putting on a pair of kids gloves. I returned them an bought a different brand at a local tack shop--size 7, like always.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bought for my husband, these are his second pair, very long lasting
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I bought those gloves to replace my old crochet ones. I was a little concerned about the size but they are just perfect, I took one size up since my measurements were in between 2 sizes. They are very comfortable and do not slip out of your hands although there is no closure. I love then!
Date published: 2014-10-03
  • 2016-10-22T11:43CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_5272, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders