Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SSG Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10893
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Everyone has at least one pair of these SSG Grippers- and for good reason. They are comfortable and when they wear out you can replace them without any guilt. So go to your tack box, toss out those old ones and treat yourself to some fresh Grippers. Economical cool knit cotton glove with hook and loop fastening wrist tab. Pimple grip palm. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Under Armour Bras will be your go ...
The Under Armour Bras will be your go to for those busy days at the barn! The Super-smooth, double-layer HeatGear fabric delivers superior next-to-skin feel Signature Moisture Transport System wicks sweat to keep you dry! Favorite Features Compression: Ultra-tight, second ...
The Under Armour Heatgear Coolswitch Run Shortsleeve is ...
The Under Armour Heatgear Coolswitch Run Shortsleeve is lightweight, breathable construction that keeps you keep andProtected. Favorite Features Fitted: Next-to-skin without the squeeze. UA CoolSwitch uses an exclusive coating on the inside that pulls heat away from your skin, making ...
Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding ...
Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding and working. Favorite Features The Winter Lined Ranchers have a polar fleece lining for added warmth and feature a gun cut finger treatment No finger seams on the palm side of the ...
The Wave Fork is an unbreakable, lightweight and ...
The Wave Fork is an unbreakable, lightweight and customizable manure fork. The aircraft aluminum handle is strong enough to supportHeavy loads all while feeling light with comfortable plush hand grips. This revolutionary fork adapts to the task with a copolymer ...
Keep warm on crispy fall days at the ...
Keep warm on crispy fall days at the barn with the Under Armour Storm Swacket! Combining style, comfort and storm technology! Favorite Features Reflective details, this will definitely be one of your favorite pieces Adjustable hood UA logo on left ...
With more than 100 years of leather bootmaking ...
With more than 100 years of leather bootmaking experience, Justin created the Ladies Leather Half Chaps to be functional, stylish half chaps with a unique 3M technology panel to provide ultimate grip. Favorite Features Full grainSoft, supple leather Patented 3M ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SSG Gripper is rated 4.186915887850467 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, inexpensive, schooling glove. Smartpak's description pretty much sums it up. One comment I have to say is that I (personally) tend to get holes in the fingers when I fall. But No big deal, because their only $7.
Date published: 2010-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great summer glove These are a great lightweight glove for summer riding. No sweaty hands. I can make a pair last the summer, but at the price, wearing out two in a season is not a problem!
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Gloves I've been buying these lightweight gripper gloves for years. I usually buy 2 or 3 pair every summer. The cotton fabric absorbs the perspiration on the back of my hands while the thin rubber palm gives me just enough grip to keep my reins from slipping. While I love my Neuman's gloves, they are just too heavy for riding during the hot, humid Texas summers.
Date published: 2010-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great feel with reins but don't last! I bought several of these gloves cause I like the grip feel on the reins, but in less then 1 week I have a hole in them already. That shouldn't happen so soon even at their cheap price. So I can't recommend them and won't buy any more.
Date published: 2010-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Practice Glove! Inexpensive, durable, perfect for practice rides. Allow great gripping on inside of hand and has cotton outside of hand (perfect when having to wipe away sweat from riding during a hot summer day)! A value, quality product.
Date published: 2010-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from keep a pair handy! These gloves are essential! Perfect for schooling or trail riding in the spring, summer and fall. They tend to wear out a little fast, but they are so inexpensive it's not a big deal to buy a new pair. Also, if they get lost, you're not out a big investment.
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Gloves for the barn These Gloves are the only thing that I will wear around the barn for Riding or doing Chores. The Lightweight material and grippers, make it easy to hold onto the Muck Fork, buckets and so on. The Winter Weight ones keep my hands warm all winter long, and the summer ones keep my hands cool yet protected. And, the price is easy on the wallet.
Date published: 2010-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! This gloves are a great value for the price! They are soft and comfortable. They are long enough to cover my wrists and don't ride up! They are durable yet light enough to breathe! Great buy!
Date published: 2010-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best gloves I do a lot of ground work and needed gloves that would stop rein slipping - these gloves are fantastic.
Date published: 2010-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price and good quality! I'm impressed with these gloves! I have bought something similar from my local tack store for more than twice the price and they fell apart right away...these ones seem like they should last a few months if not the summer! They are light weight and breathable and the grip is great. The fit is pretty good too!
Date published: 2010-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price If you have a habit of loosing gloves, this is a great priced glove to buy a few pairs, and stock up:)
Date published: 2010-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value purchase I'm very happy with the gloves,as they are just what I'd been looking for, and so well priced.
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value These gloves are the best buy for the lowest price. They are better than those slip-on pimple grip gloves that look like winter gloves, because they have a better fit and the Velcro closure. They are great to wear for schooling/everyday use to save the life of your expensive show gloves; however, if you live in an area where it gets cold, these are NOT the gloves to keep your hands warm. They are made of very thin fabric. Despite that, they last pretty long– my last pair lasted about a year and a half of almost everyday riding use– and they provide excellent grip/protection from rubs/blisters/etc.Overall, these are a MUST because they're well performing, and they're cheap as dirt.
Date published: 2009-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves I have bought a lot of riding gloves and these are nice but kinda thin.
Date published: 2009-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good gloves at a great price Just like the description says, these gloves are comfortable and a great price. You will wear holes in them if you use them alot, but at that price its not a big deal. I usually order two pair at a time.
Date published: 2009-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good buy for the price The price on these gloves is excellent and they fit well and are comfortable. The pink color quickly gets FILTHY dirty so I suggest buying a darker color. The fabric is very thin which is good for summer but they will probably wear through or rip quickly.
Date published: 2009-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! These are the best light weight gloves I've ever bought. I once bought a store brand knock-off and they barely lasted through the summer! I've had a pair of these that lasted for over a year. And the reasonable price makes it so easy to replace them, I'd never buy another brand again. I highly recommend them for their super comfort, great fit and durability.
Date published: 2009-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Schooling glove This was just what I was looking for! A reasonably priced schooling glove that could be worn without worry of ruining them. These look so nice they could even be used as a show glove at a local show!
Date published: 2009-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very comfy but wears through quick These gloves are very comfy but I seem to break through them in a week or two. Sure they are super cheap but replacing them all the time became too much of a pain. I purchased a more expensive pair of SSG gloves and they are holding up a lot better.
Date published: 2009-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Gripper My favorite gloves. Inexpensive yet durable. Fits true to size, and I love the color selection.
Date published: 2009-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I finally broke down and decided to try these gloves. I couldn't be happier! They do a great job of keep my hands cool while allowing me to still have a good 'feel' on the reins.
Date published: 2009-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Gloves These are great inexpensive everyday riding gloves. They're not show quality but they are nice for everday wear and tear and, for the price, they last a long time.
Date published: 2009-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought these gloves for my daughter, and she loves them. Very comfortable.
Date published: 2009-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GLOVE I love these gloves. They are perfect for riding, lunging, leading, grooming and they are so inexpensive, I never worry about them getting lost. Also i put them in the wash each week and they clean up great.
Date published: 2009-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy For The Money Awesome value! These gloves work great and grip really well, they also look extremely cute. I wear them not only when I ride but also when I'm doing chores around the farm because they keep your hands clean and some what warm. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2009-02-11
  • 2016-10-23T11:54CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_90
  • loc_en_US, sid_893, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders