Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SSG Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10893
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Everyone has at least one pair of these SSG Grippers- and for good reason. They are comfortable and when they wear out you can replace them without any guilt. So go to your tack box, toss out those old ones and treat yourself to some fresh Grippers. Economical cool knit cotton glove with hook and loop fastening wrist tab. Pimple grip palm. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
The perfect combination of style and function! Favorite ...
Description:
The perfect combination of style and function! Favorite Features 100% smooth knit polyester with TopShield moisture management wicks moisture away from body, leaving you dry and comfy. The fabric is specially treated with an anti-microbial agent that inhibits the growth ...
The popular Outrider Glove comes in a winter ...
Description:
The popular Outrider Glove comes in a winter version with the same great comfort and fit as the original! The weather resistant stretchSoft shell on the back of hand creates warmth without the bulk. The synthetic leather patches on the ...
Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding ...
Description:
Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding and working. Favorite Features The Winter Lined Ranchers have a polar fleece lining for added warmth and feature a gun cut finger treatment No finger seams on the palm side of the ...
The Asmar Polka Dot Pony Short Sleeve Sun ...
Description:
The Asmar Polka Dot Pony Short Sleeve Sun Shirt has a fun flair to it. This short sleeve sun shirt has a half zip mock neck collar and breathable mesh side panels. A polka dot pony print gives an equestrian ...
The Wave Fork is an unbreakable, lightweight and ...
Description:
The Wave Fork is an unbreakable, lightweight and customizable manure fork. The aircraft aluminum handle is strong enough to supportHeavy loads all while feeling light with comfortable plush hand grips. This revolutionary fork adapts to the task with a copolymer ...
The Helly Hansen Loke Jacket is the essential ...
Description:
The Helly Hansen Loke Jacket is the essential outdoor shell jacket. But don't let it's ultra light weight fool you - the HELLY TECH PERFORMANCE technology makes this jacket a real workhorse! Favorite Features Windproof, waterproof, and breathable shell keeps ...
The Helly Hansen Welsey is a chic Scandinavian ...
Description:
The Helly Hansen Welsey is a chic Scandinavian take on a classic trench for women! Without compromising any style, the functionality has been bumped up into creating this modern Helly Tech® jacket that is waterproof, windproof an breathable. Classic styling ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SSG Gripper is rated 4.179245283018868 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for the price Needed new gloves after the 2-year-old I was training wore all of the grip off of my old ones (also SSG, but they were nicer than these). Just needed something cheap (poor college student!) so I went with these. The fingertips wore out and ripped after a couple of weeks of use, but when they were functional, they had a great fit and great grip. For what I paid, they were worth it, but if you are looking for a quality pair of gloves to last you a while, I'd suggest spending a little more money on something higher quality, but I still recommend SSG due to past experience with them.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves for schooling I purchased a pare of the light blue ones at my local tack shop about two years ago, I loved them and always wore them to my weekly lesson. They have held up well but do get dirty fast, and they just recently began to get holes in them, so and will purchase a pair of SSG crotchted gloves
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves Ever! I love these gloves, and I buy several pair a year. I use them every day for riding and barn chores. They don't last forever, especially as hard on them as I am, but for the price, who cares how often you replace them. Great fitting, comfortable gloves!
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I have several pairs of the SSG Gripper gloves. Great value for the price - well-made, and they've been holding up well. I am petite (5' tall with small hands) and the x-small is the perfect size for me. The small had a little too much extra room.
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Duable. Certainly not the best out there, but decent enough for schooling at home. I know from the past they don't hold up the greatest through the fingers but that's what you get for the price I guess.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling gloves! I have been using these gloves for years, and love them! They hold up very well, and are super inexpensive to replace.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Product is better than expected for this price range.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for price I ordered these for my husband who is just starting to ride. It was just a starter pair, for like $8 they are fine. Because they are so cheap they run small and prolly won't last super long but for a beginner or one per week rider they would be fine. If you ride more or are looking for any quality, spend a little more on nicer SSG gloves, I only ride in SSG they rock!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the quality I expected I bought a pair of these gloves a few years ago at a local tack shop, so I decided to get them for a friend. The first pair were heavier, and have worn really well. The pair I just bought are really poor quality - thinner fabric and poorly constructed.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for the price Nice gloves. I got the pink ones :) Cheap!! I only wish they were a little stretchier.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flo Ten These were great gloves for the money and I hope the durability can be extended to a 5 star.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice little glove! Material was thinner than I thought it would be. Not super heavy duty made. We`'ll see how long it lasts!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed So these gloves are inexpensive but I must have gotten a faulty pair because I used them a couple times for chores (picking manure) and twice to ride and the seams are already ripping. I'm also not pleased with the bulk and seams for the area between the ring finger and pinky for the reins, uncomfortable. Surprised because I'm usually very happy with SSG
Date published: 2011-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good glove for a great price A fellow barn buddy could not speak more highly of these gloves, and for the price, I have to agree. They have the right amount of grippy-ness for my leather reins, allowing a good amount of grip while still allowing my reins to slip when I need them to. Perfect for summer x-country schooling.
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Schooling Glove I love these gloves and use them daily. I have purchased more than a dozen pairs over the last few years and find them to be an excellent glove for daily riding. They are great for our hot summers and mild winters. I actually own a couple of white pair that I even use for shows.My only complaint is that I eventually wear through one of the fingers on my left hand. Once my finger pokes through, I'm forced to toss them and move on to a new pair. I ride two horses a day in the summer and find that one pair will last several months. In the winter, they tend to last a bit longer as I don't always get to ride.The fit is great and they are comfortable. And for the price, I don't mind buying a couple of pair a year.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good glove for the price I can count on SSG gloves for quality and good fit. These gloves are perfect for summer riding. They are lightweight but sturdy, holding up well to barn and riding demands. I love these gloves.
Date published: 2011-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what I expected I'm not sure if I read the descriptionwrong, but I was expecting microsuede type material, not cloth...the work well enough though, and for the price I should get good use out of them.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves These gloves are really nice for the amount you pay for them. I have long fingers, so it's hard to find gloves that fit just right. And these do!
Date published: 2011-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Schooling gloves These gloves are great for summer schooling. I used to order the crochet gloves but found them to not be very durable. I have worn these every time I have ridden since receiving them and so far they are worth more than they cost.
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from save my hands I was a little skeptical when I got these because they're so light and look flimsy. But I've been riding with them every day this week and they're holding up just fine, no problems and they're saving my hands from blisters. They're also cool enough to wear in the hot hot heat of summer in the south. I'm so glad I bought them!
Date published: 2011-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for the $$ I love these gloves for the summer because they are so light and breathable. They also provide great grip. They do wear out because they are cotton, but you can't beat the price. I had the sewing unravel on my last pair shortly after buying it, but smartpak sent me a new pair pronto.What a great company
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Gloves for Non-Riders, Too! I had a pair of these many years ago when I was still riding and remember that they held up well for such a low price. I run a dog walking business, and my business partner and I each picked up a pair of these at the start of the winter. We needed something to keep our hands warm but still needed to be able to adjust collars, open plastic baggies, etc. and these do the trick. We wore them daily all winter and they are still in great shape!
Date published: 2011-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good cheap gloves My horse pulls the reins out of my hands. I have more expensive gloves (that wear out just as often) but these are back ups and they work just fine. They're also nice for the occasional child rider to feel more important. Funny how something that costs so little can make them feel so much more grown up.
Date published: 2011-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decent gloves These were my first riding gloves and now I am attached to this brand. I had the same pair for 5 years, and now I have a few pairs (in different colors of course)! I recommend these to all my beginner riders and they like them a lot.
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do their job These are not the best made gloves, even though they are a great price, I was surprised when I received them, I want to say my previous pair were better made, but I haven't owned them in a long time, so I'm really not sure. A great glove for casual use. I haven't worn them much, but it seems they will wear out quickly, however at the price, I don't mind if they do, and it's nice that I don't have to be worried about loosing one as they will be easy to replace. If you are just looking for a riding glove to protect your hands, nothing fancy, these are a good choice.
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Riding Gloves These riding gloves are pretty nice. I was a bit disapointed with the material, it's not very durable. They do however fit really well. Despite the disapointment in the material, there overall a decent riding glove.
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Gloves I live in Southwest Florida and I pretty much need to wear gloves all year round for training and I love the SSG Grippers! They are super grippy and hold up decently well. However, they don't last as long as a leather glove would. That really doesn't bother me since they are only 7 dollars to replace.
Date published: 2011-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap and flimsy These are cheap and flimsy gloves. I was hoping for a little more substance but the pimple grips get rubbed off with the first ride/use and the reinforcement seams are weak. They might last less than a month if you ride several times a week.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, inexpensive, schooling glove. Smartpak's description pretty much sums it up. One comment I have to say is that I (personally) tend to get holes in the fingers when I fall. But No big deal, because their only $7.
Date published: 2010-09-08
  • 2016-08-29T11:26CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_893, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders