Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10910
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an economical, comfortable, warm knit cotton glove with pimple grip palm. Fleece lining for warmth. Reinforced in key areas. VELCRO® Brand wrist closure. Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable.Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless noted. ...
This boot from Pajar provides high level warmth ...
This boot from Pajar provides high level warmth and waterproofProtection in very stylish boot. The upper is combination of a leather in the vamp and high denier nylon on the shaft that provide a waterproof seal that is perfect for ...
The Back on Track Fleece Headband is manufactured ...
The Back on Track Fleece Headband is manufactured from the revolutionary Welltex ceramic infused fabric, which helps provide soothing, pain relieving far infrared therapy to help alleviate tension and aches. Favorite Features Fashionable, yet practical, so can be worn with ...
The Pajar Kimi II Ice Gripper Boot provides ...
The Pajar Kimi II Ice Gripper Boot provides premium warmth and waterproofProtection with the ultimate grip to give you sure footing in winter's worst conditions. Imported. Favorite Features Made from a high denier nylon with taped waterproof seams and wool ...
Enjoy the Noble Outfitters classic Perfect Fit Glove ...
Enjoy the Noble Outfitters classic Perfect Fit Glove in kids sizing. Made with the same SureGrip palm and double layer SureGrip reinforced forefinger, thumb and pinky, kids willEnjoy completeProtection while riding. Favorite Features SureGrip synthetic suede palm Breathable stretch jersey ...
The Adult New Rider Package contains the following ...
The Adult New Rider Package contains the following essentials to get any adult started in the saddle! Saxon Equileather Ladies Zip Paddock Boots provides more room in the toe cap area for a more comfortable fit. Ideal for schooling, vacation riding ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper is rated 4.260869565217392 out of 5 by 138.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and flexible I bought these for winter arena riding and they've been great!
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So so gloves I purchased these gloves for outdoor, around the barn, activities. They are great outdoor gloves and do keep my hands warm. The grip is nice and the price fair.What I'm not so crazy about is the fit. For some reason the middle finger on both gloves is tighter than all the other fingers. No idea what I should read into that but suffice to say... all my other gloves fit ok so I don't think I have humongous or weirdly large middle fingers.I'm not sure I would buy these again. They're ok but I'm sure I could find better in another brand.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from gripper winter gloves The gloves fit fine except the thumb was to long, so have returned them, hopefully for a pair that fits correctly.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous gloves! I purchased these for my 9-yr.-old son who rides. They are of excellent quality and a perfect fit. They are also nice and warm as advertised. He loves them! Thank you, Smartpak!
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I use these gloves year round. Even though they are fleece they are no hotter than other gloves. The advantage of these gloves is if your hands sweat they do not get slimy on the inside and you still have a good feel of the reins. They can be washed. They are not the most durable but they are not very expensive. I usually Oder 5 pairs at a time.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and not too bulky I have warmer gloves, but I end up not wearing them because there is too much bulk and I don't feel my reins the way I prefer. So I end up wearing these riding. In sub-teen temperatures I might add a hand warmer, but these work down to about 20 degrees. Not fancy, but these are the gloves I keep using!
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Amazing gloves!! Warm, fit true to size and stylish all at the same time.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable and effective!! I had a few bucks left on a gift card and decided to add these gloves to my order. So glad that I did! The fleece lining keeps my hands warm even during the coldest PA rides! (temps in the teens!) They are comfortable, have great grip, and are not at all bulky like some other winter riding gloves that I have had in the past. I would absolutely recommend these gloves to other riders, and would buy them again for myself.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from .. You get what you pay for... not at all impressed with these gloves I had to send them back twice to get a size that sorta fits. The fingers are abnormally short and the rein grips make it hard to move your fingers. Needless to say I haven't even used them since I bought them. Will probably use more for barn chores on a bitter day rather than riding. Would not recommend pretty disappointed usually ssg has great products but this isn't one of them:/
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but thumb is gigantic Bought these for my daughter a couple weeks ago. The fingers fit fairly tight but the thumb of the glove is very large---long and roomy---which bugs her a bit. The quality seems otherwise OK, we'll see how they do over time.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from comfortable fitting, not for super cold super comfortable gloves and warm, but not when it's super cold. Sadly, I did not find them to have the kind of grip I needed to have. The reins slipped through my hands unless I really hung onto them. I tend to have lighter rein contact, and oftentimes pony another horse along with the one I'm riding. Couldn't hang onto the rope very well either without it slipping through my fingers. Really, the only problem I have with the gloves.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves for my daughter-who I know will outgrow them before she trashes them, so I didn't want to spend a ton.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value My daughter said she really noticed a difference between these fleece lined gloves and her normal riding gloves... kept her hands much warmer. Should preface we live in Texas so our winter's probably aren't as harsh as others. Great value.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely gloves for in-between days! Perfect for those 30-50 degree, damp days. Not great when it's super cold, but perfect when it's chilly. Nice feel, not too thick. Price is definitely right! Haven't had long enough to speak to durability, but they wash well and have help up thus far.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but a little snug These gloves are a great value and I'm very happy I bought them. That said, they do feel a touch snug. I'm hoping that they stretch out a little bit with some more hours in the saddle.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, yet still flexible/not a bulky glove I liked these so much I bought two pair - one for the barn and one to keep in the dressing room in my horse trailer as a "just in case." I wear a size 7 and thought at first the gloves might be too tight, but after 1 ride the stretched slightly and are perfect.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I bought them for winter and I love them! They are so warm and definatly a good buy!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice gloves These are nice and flexible for the insulation they offer, but one glove seems smaller than the other, and they do run small overall. Haven't had a chance to ride in the cold with them yet, but they kept me warm while auditing a chilly clinic.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and warm and comfortable I wear my glove on the cold mornings at the barn while handling the horses they keep my hands nice and warm
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Great Fit" ! These gloves offer a great fit with added padding and with very little bulk. I have bought SSG gloves for years and they always hold up really well!
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice weight, weird sizing Good SSG quality, and they feel like a great transitional season weight. Unlike some SSG gloves, they DO actually have the pinky/ring finger rein reinforcement. However, the thumb seemed too big (I returned them because I was afraid it would actually get in the way) in length and width, and the gloves kept riding up - I guess they were too short from tip to wrist. No, I don't have oddly-shaped hands; otherwise the fit was excellent. Given this happened just out of the package, I sent them back.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST I am so happy with this product. Purchased them to protect my paddock boots. Well to my surprise I can not believe how warm they keep my toes!!! Added plus. Purchased Med and fit my size 8 Ariat Paddock boots perfect. Look and feel excellent quality. No equestrian should go with out. Just amazed in this freezing weather how warm my toes are staying. I live in New England and it has been so cold and snowy. Keeping my toes warmer then my winter boots. Will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Fleece Lined Winter glove Perfect for winter riding. I can see that they would not for deep freezing cold but who is out riding in that? I ride all winter in Colorado and these are perfect.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Latest pair not so good... I usually go through a pair of these every winter (they are not the most durable, but for the price it is okay) so I buy them in the spring when they go on sale. LA winters are not that cold, so these are good for the chilly nights when I ride and they are light enough that it is easily to tack up while wearing them. Unfortunately this last pair is almost unusable in terms of fit. The fingers are way too long and there is too much fabric between the fingers - definitely can't bridle a horse while wearing them. Not sure if I'm going to try another pair; for now I'm using my old ones with holes.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the goldie lox of winter riding gloves These are my favorite winter riding gloves. The fleece lining keeps your hands warm but gives you the grip and flexion you need to ride. I find other gloves to be too bulky for riding or not warm enough. But these are just right. I also like that they are machine washable.  
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice as long as you put on before you go out! The only time my fingers were cold/numb is when I put these gloves on AFTER I had been outside. These need to go on in a nice warm house, so that when you go out they stay warm.They're so nice to ride in, because you can flex your fingers and still grip the reins unlike other winter gloves I've tried. The velcro keeps them secure on your wrist and doesn't come undone.
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Warm! I bought these gloves because I had another pair just like them and loved them. They are made well and just warm enough that my hands don't sweat. I work with a lunge line quite a bit in my program and they hold up longer than any others I've tried!
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent glove Bought as a christmas gift for some students. A bit bulky but well worth the price. Good closure and seem well made just not the sleekest looking glove. But the kids tell me they are comfortable and warm and that's what I was wanting!
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Excellent for winter schooling, hopefully will last the winter
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good glove but only for light use I really like the fit and thickness of this glove, but after only a month of wearing them, there is a hole in one finger and the grippy stuff has worn off all the fingertips.  I was wearing them to do some barn chores as well as riding, so I would only recommend them for someone who wants to wear them riding only a couple of times a week.  Happily smartpak gave me a refund I can use for a more durable glove.
Date published: 2013-12-17
  • 2016-10-23T11:54CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders