Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Spooner by Antares

Antares
- Item #14873
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Spooner by Antares is for those with a discerning taste who need a ready-made saddle. Classic French design is perfect for Hunters or Equitation. Designed by Antares for Richard Spooner, "The Master of Faster" as he is known on the Grand Prix circuit. The Spooner helps place the rider in correct position allowing the rider to focus on the ride rather than their position.

Favorite Features

  • Medium-deep calfskin leather seat
  • Light brown grain leather flaps
  • Knee and thigh blocks.
Sizing It Up

Seat sizes 16.5", 17", 17.5 and 18". Short (1), Regular (2) or Long (3) flap.

Customers Also Shopped For
Designed by Olympic trainer Pierre Jolicoeur. Crafted by ...
Description:
Designed by Olympic trainer Pierre Jolicoeur. Crafted by master French saddler Bruno Delgrange, the PJ features a deeper, more supportive seat than most close contact saddles, plus squeezable, balloon-like flaps with superb hip-to-heel balance. Foam flocked. Knee blocks.
The Pessoa Legacy XP3 XCH has beautiful European ...
Description:
The Pessoa Legacy XP3 XCH has beautiful European styled stitching and made with extra supple long-wearing pre-oiled Antique Grained English leather. XCH Changeable Gullet System allows the rider to modify the width of the tree with just a screwdriver. The ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, stylish hunter bridle suitable ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. UltraSoft and ...
The M. Toulouse Giselle Close Contact Saddle with ...
Description:
The M. Toulouse Giselle Close Contact Saddle with Genesis System is hand crafted of natural, tanned, pigmented, aniline-finished high-quality leather which easily accepts oil. The innovative Genesis adjustable gullet system allows a single saddle to custom fit all of your ...
The HDR Advantage Close Contact Saddle is crafted ...
Description:
The HDR Advantage Close Contact Saddle is crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, giving you world-class European designs in the finest imported leather-all at a reasonable price! Henri de Rivel saddles and leather goods are not built ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Complete adjustability and comfort for your ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Spooner by Antares is rated 4.695652173913044 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful saddle, unfortunately didn't fit. I tried this saddle through the test ride program, which was a great program! The saddle is beautiful with really pretty, soft leather. Unfortunately, the saddle did not quite fit my horse and I realized I wanted a little deeper seat. I would recommend to anyone to try this saddle - if it fits you and your horse, it's a great deal!
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If only there were more sizes..... My husband bought this saddle with the test ride for me for Christmas. I LOVE it. Beautiful leather, comfortable, seemed to fit my horses well. Sadly SmartPak doesn't carry the 18" so I'm having to seek an alternative means of purchasing this saddle in the correct size for me.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING SADDLE So I got this saddle used not off of Smartpak but I can't even imagine how amazing this saddle would be if it was purchased new! It is a gorgeous saddle and amazing quality and even new it isn't too terrible on your wallet! The only downside to the saddle is that the leather is so incredible soft that it scuffs pretty easily, and it shows pretty easily... but once you clean it up with a cleaner and a conditioner of your choice it cleans up really nicely and most of the scuffs come right out! It is great! The knee blocks and the thigh blocks are great!!!!!!
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Saddle! I bought this saddle a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it! It has been a piece of cake to break in and is very comfortable! It is beautiful and I'm very happy with my purchase. Note that it does turn much darker (primarily the seat and knee area) when it is oiled.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and easy break in! I bought this saddle a month ago and it was comfortable the first time I rode in it.... break in was very easy. Great fit for me and my horse and great quality!
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saddle! Great saddle for my Quarter Horse gelding- he loves it and I do too! Nice quality and lasts great. Comfy!!
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING AND COMFORTABLE I got this saddle in a 16.5 regular flap and it fits me great even though i do have a longer leg than most people. This saddle is beautiful and the calfskin is super soft. With this saddle you dont have to have that break-in stage because the leather comes super soft when you purchase it. The spooner by Antares stirrup leathers dont come in the same color as my saddle so i bought the bates stirrup leathers instead and it works amazing. This saddle really improved my position and helped me keep my leg in place over big jumps. It also comes with a great waterproof, fleece lined antares saddle cover. Overall, AMAZING
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saddle - Hard to Get I absolutely love SmartPak and their saddle test ride program is simply the best! I was looking for a new saddle for my ever growing 12 year old daughter and her new TB. They will do dressage and hunter and her saddle just didn't fit her well anymore. She's tall and I wanted an 18" which really limits your options! We tried Pessoas (Nice, but not a good fit). SmartPak recommended this saddle for our TB's high withers. It took my daughter a couple days to adjust to the twist and then she loved it. Then I found it took 10 weeks to get it! I emailed the Antares rep and actually got a similar new "custom" saddle. Wow! Are they expensive! We enrolled in their junior saddle program which I hope will save me in the long run. If the Antares is a good fit for you and your horse, it's a quality saddle that should last forever with proper care. Very lovely saddle and the trainer loved my daughter's legs in it. Sorry I couldn't make the purchase from SmartPak. I buy everything I can from them. You can't beat their customer service period!
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saddle Really loved the balance of this saddle. The flap was comfortable, but it did not feel forward enough even for my small frame (5'2"). And I wish the flap felt a little more secure. The saddle was beautiful and really soft. It didn't fit my horse- but he is a hard fit. Narrow back with very large withers and large shoulders. I felt like the saddle ran true to it's size in both the seat and the tree. Ultimately, I didn't purchase the saddle because it didn't fit my horse (the medium was too wide for him). He was measured by a saddle fitter for a narrow.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I have been trying a bunch of saddles from SmartPak (thank you to SmartPak and the amazing Demo program) and other peoples at the barn. The Spooner is fantastic. Very well made, nice leather and provides a great balanced position for me. I really wish that it came in a forward flap option because then it really would be the perfect saddle for me. But, in the end, this is the best saddle for me without going custom. Would definitely recommend trying this saddle.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for both of us The Spooner fits my horse perfectly. He has been uncomfortable for some time ,come to find out it was my old saddle. IT is wider over the withers and now he moves so much better. IT places me in perfect position and it is so comfortable. Well worth the wait. A MUST TRY SADDLE !!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from gorgeous I knew that ordering this saddle was going to be a tossup because the horse that I ride is a really difficult fit and pretty much needs a custom saddle, but with SmartPak's awesome test ride program, I figured I'd give it a try. I was so excited to receive the saddle - it was gorgeous! The leather was so soft. Unfortunately, I never even got to sit in it because it didn't even come close to fitting my horse. I would have to take a guess, especially once reading the reviews of others, that it's really comfortable to ride in. I've ridden in Antares saddles before and I love them. Sadly, this one had to go back. Would definitely go with SmartPak again, though! Great customer service!
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So In Love! This is a great saddle! I love, love, love it. It makes me feel like super glue on my horse. I ride a young, green hunter and she can over jump big time! I really feel so much more secure in this saddle than in my old one it helps a lot!!! The leather is yummy. Super soft seat and knee area. It is not broken in yet, but is already very nice to ride in. It came with oil, which was nice. I also splurged on the Antares conditioner which is excellent. I ordered a short flap as i am not tall, and I'm glad I did. Like all Antares saddles, the twist is not narrow, but feels fine. One note, the tree fits a little more narrowly compared to other med Antares trees I have tried on my horse. Not a disaster, but important. A great saddle at an amazing price from SmartPak. I am thrilled.
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saddle quality, great fit! I took this saddle on trial and would first just like to say that the Smart Pak saddle trial program is FANTASTIC! So easy and really helps you find the saddle for you and your horse. Back to the saddle, the leather felt butter soft and grippy right out of the box, it fits my mare like it was made for her, the seat is squishy and very deep and secure. I would say that, like other reviewers, I found the twist a bit wide, but not uncomfortable. The saddle really helps me slow my post and keeps me in a great position.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looking for a durable, pliable saddle leather? Though I didn't end up purchasing this saddle (didn't fit my horse — what a shame!) but I really wanted to put in a review. The Spooner is an impeccably made saddle, with the utmost detail in the stitching. The leather is very soft, and very pliable, and I imagine it wears VERY well. My only complaint is that I find this saddle is not as comfortable for tall, leggy riders. I found the twist a little wide (my friend found it comfortable, so it has it's types) and the 3 flap was just a little short. Don't take this the wrong way, it took me a couple of days to get over it! I really wish this saddle worked out, but it didn't quite clear my TB's high withers. Definitely take a look at this saddle, you won't be disappointed. I feel like this is a great price for such a high quality saddle. My budget has exponentially grown after this saddle, it sets high standards.
Date published: 2011-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Spooner saddle I tried the Spooner, Antares Jumping Saddle and the PJ saddle. My favorite was the Spooner. It is so comfortable. The Spooner's seat is deeper than the than the Antares jumping saddle and the PJ saddle, which I love. The seat is like butter. This saddle fits my my TB very well. The seat size runs a bit small so go to the store and try it first before you order it online. I really love this saddle. It is so comfy and well made.
Date published: 2011-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Saddle! Beautiful, lovely saddle. The picture on the website really does it no justice; it's super pretty in person with the nicest leather I've ever seen in a saddle.It is beautifully balanced and really, really comfy. I feel like I could sit the canter all day. The seat is deep enough to add security without feeling like you're stuck or can't move into two-point. The saddle is a great fit for my long thigh, even in the #2 flap.It fits my TB great - he's broad in the back with withers and it is wide enough in the tree while still offering enough clearance through the withers. I imagine it would fit quite a range of horses.Really, just a great saddle. You can't beat the price for a new Antares and this saddle is just beautiful.
Date published: 2010-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is a fabulous saddle!!!! i bought this saddle because i was trying to find a saddle that fit my mare. she had been running out at fences and really acting up, such as bolting and bad bucking fits (often at the same time) once being evaluated, we found that her back was very sore. she flinched when i ran my hand down her spine. it was sad to watch such a talented little mare be restricted based off of what we had assumed to be "just bad behavior and freshness". well that is no more!! the Spooner by Antares has been such a miracle for me, my trainer and for Willow. i love the color and the position it puts me in! its a bit pricey but overall its such a great value. it was like getting a new horse really. now our goals for this wonderful mare seen much more attainable. thanks Smartpak and Antares!
Date published: 2009-08-21
  • 2016-09-29T12:29CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_4873, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders