Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Solstice Tall Waterproof Leather Boot

- Item #21358
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

Favorite Features

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions


A note about these boots: Everyone has a favorite pair of boots that are well-worn and full of memories. Every time you wear them, you’re adding wear that tells the story of where they’ve taken you. Instead of making you wait years for that unique, well-worn look, every Solstice boot intentionally looks weathered and broken in right from the start. As soon as you take them out of the box, they’re ready for you to continue telling their story.

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
The exceptional durability and iconic style of the ...
The exceptional durability and iconic style of the classic Galway Boot, with fashionable and functional features. Genuine fleece at the top and in the footbed are extremely durable and exceptionally comfortable. Gore's top-of-the-line Potelana synthetic fleece lines the leg, offering ...
The stylish Dublin River Boot offers comfort and ...
The stylish Dublin River Boot offers comfort and functionality at an amazing value. Favorite Features Waterproof all leather foot Water-resistantSoft Redskin leather Pebble Nubuck upper Waterproof RCS Touch Tech sole provides better traction & lightweight flexibility Drilex lined calf and ...
The Dublin Thames boot is made with a ...
The Dublin Thames boot is made with a stylish full grain leather upper with a plaid insert. Dublin's foot bed system with heel and arch support offers a double cushioning layer for all-day comfort. Favorite Features Durable Tough Tech outsole ...
Mudruckers hard-working, 100% waterproof boots are the best ...
Mudruckers hard-working, 100% waterproof boots are the best thing since the invention of the manure fork. StretchNeoprene make on/off easy and keeps feet dry and warm. Natural rubber uppers, sure-grip rubber outsole and Comfort-Flo lining. Removable EVA sock liner for ...
out of 5
87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Solstice Tall Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.261802575107296 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Odd fit I tried these boots in two different sizes. Neither worked for me. Felt like a lump by the heel that would rub. Otherwise, they were nice looking. I'm sad they didn't work out but love the easy return system!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and great fit. Love the fabric gusset at the ankle....no more zipping up socks or pants.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goo Features, But Not the Right Fit I've been riding in paddock boots and half chaps and thought I'd try the tall boots.Each manufacturer has different sizing and I thought I'd find a fit. The foot bed wascomfortable, but the top of the boot cut into the back of my knee. I didn't feel it would drop. Also it would be helpful if Smartpak had another option to choose under "recommend to friend?" Just because it didn't me, wouldn't be a reason not to recommend.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of boots I bought these boots two weeks ago to teach therapeutic riding lessons in and loved them from the start. I was initially looking at Dubarry tall waterproof boots and their ridiculous prices ($300 - 400!). I just couldn't justify walking around in muck, sand, and wet manure and paying that much. I bought the Solstice boot, mainly because they were a lot cheaper, and am very pleased so far. The leather formed quickly around my feet. I have somewhat skinny calves and there's some extra room but not too much. I wear orthotics which are fairly thin and they fit into the boot well without making it too tight for my feet. I wear a 9 medium and this boot is true to that size. I recommend these boots for standing, walking, and even riding. They are made of substantial leather with just the right amount of thickness that protects your legs and feet. The soles are cushioned well enough to be in them all day long without hurting my feet - I'm in mine for at least 8 hours/day.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fabulous boot runs SMALL I was excited to see it comes in a generous calf and size 12 foot. (I'm a 46 in Tredstep and womens 11 or mens 10 in Ariats.) . These boots run large in the calf and SMALL in the foot. I couldn't get my foot in the foot area.. I feel I could have gotten it zipped up even over jeans, but the foot part was definitely closer to a womens 9. Bummer. Thankful SmartPak has fabulous returns!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would be nice but a very weird fit. Sadly I am returning these boots. I normally wear a size 10 in boots so I followed the other reviews and ordered a size up for an 11, but even those were too small. I sent the 11s back to exchange for a 12, but sadly these were also too small and the footbed was much too wide as was the calf. They also did not seem like they would hold up to daily barn work and seem more like a nice fashion boot that you can occassionally ride in or go out to the barn just to groom. I waited for about a year for these boots to go on sale, but I was sadly disappointed by the fit.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made I bought this product 2 weeks ago. I tried to wear them but the sizing is off. They run small.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I ordered a size 9 because the reviews said they run small. I normally weary an 8-8.5 . The boots fit me perfectly and they are so cute. My new favorite
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boot! super comfortable and I love that they are waterproof and have a zipper! I use them exclusively now instead of paddock boots and half chaps. It is strange that the sizing is so off, however, I had to order 2 sizes up!
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order larger size My boots just arrived & they are beautiful, but unfortunately too small. Both the footbed & the calf are too tight. I could tell just by looking at them they wouldn't fit. Just ordered the 8 ( I am normally a 7), and am hoping they fit. Great looking boot. I am 5'4", 140 lbs, moderately large calves, but not crazy big. I could barely zip them up with bare legs.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots Very comfortable and a good fit. I have worn them only a few times. They are definitely waterptoff
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved these boots but too small for large calves It really was hard to return these boots because they are so beautiful but they were just too small for my big calves. I wanted to keep them so badly.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, small sizing I just received my boots today, I wear a 9 to 9.5 usually. I did read the reviews that said this boot runs small so get a size up. I ordered the 40 which their size chart says is equal to a 10. It was very small, I had a co-worker try them on who wears an 8.5 and they were a bit snug on her as well. I really liked the boot so I just ordered the next size up. My advice would be if you are a half size like me order a size and a half up. Or if you can afford to, order 2 sizes and send back the one that doesn't fit.(The return was super easy, there was already a return label and form in the box)These boots are made for long thin calves, I have a really hard time finding tall boots that are not custom made because my calves are so thin. I can usually fit my whole arm down in the neck of other boots I have tried. My calves measure 13" at the widest part. These boots left a gap just big enough to fit my flat hand in on a bare calf, and fit to a T with my jeans tucked in. They also did go up to just under my knee as well.These boots were not big and clunky like other waterproof boots either. They are very stylish and everyone in the office agreed that they would make great fashion boots as well. I am excited to try the next size up. I hope they fit my calf as well as the size 40 did.I also believe that you can ride in these boots, English irons might give you some trouble, but my western stirrups will accommodate these boots just fine.I will update on fit when I receive my new larger pair.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fitting boots These are great fitting boots. I LIke them a lot they look more like unasex.boots they are great when I ride my motorcycle. I even put another pare on my wish list.
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A boot that finally fits my calves!! I have been going back and forth with buying these boots for about a year now. I love the way they look, but was concerned about the fit on my calf. I have freakishly large calves. The measurements that SmartPak provides are right on. I ordered the pair I thought would fit. They arrived and I put them on while I held my breath for fear they would not fit. They fit like a custom made boot! I love them!!!! Leather is beautiful, soft and conditioned. Fit is AMAZING!!! Foot bed is soft and comfortable. Leg is warm and cozy. It is truly the perfect boot. I am just bummed I did not buy sooner.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! Around harness horses all day ... Between training and washing and mucking stalls, I needed something that provided protection and was waterproof. These boots are amazingly comfortable. I was shocked how my leg / foot stayed cool on a 90 degree day at the racetrack! Planning to get another pair - that's how much I love 'em
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great all around boot. I bought these boots a few weeks ago and have worn them only a few times. I operate a trail riding facility in a mountainous area so I need a good tough boot with a grip sole and the water proof part is always a plus. I usually wear a size 8 or 8 1/2 depending on the maker. After reading the reviews here, I ordered a size 9. They are a touch loose, but for me it's better than being too small. Socks will help with that. I haven't given them 5 stars just because I need to wear them more. It is just too hot for them right now where I live.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great style and nice leather falling apart I love these boots and they are great at the barn I work at all day . I've had them almost a month and at week 2 they started to separate on the side from the man made material ) sole and leather . I didn't have another pair of boots so o just have kept wearing them . I work for a dressage barn these work as a stall cleaning horse working boot . I'm on my feet 10 hrs a day !
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this boots Bought these boots a few weeks ago. I agree with other comments that the boots run small. I usually wear a size 6.5, so thought a 7 would give me extra room for heavier socks. But the 7 is snug on my foot. I also have to wear my gel ankle guards to prevent rubbing and blisters when wearing for long periods (pretty much every time I wear them to the barn). But other than that, I love the style and ease of getting in and out of these boots. I had a pair of dublins that were hard to pull on and off, and were really loose around the ankle. These boots fit me much more nicely and the full zipper is great.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good causal riding boot The boot runs a small so I had to go from 37 to 38. 38 is a little big, but an insole helps. Great for around the farm, daily riding work outs.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from super cute field boots I love these tall waterproof boots! They are tough, great for everything from horse chores to weedeating. The down side, these do run small. I ordered a 9 based on other reviews, which fits like a 7 1/2 wide, ok because that's my size. The calves are narrow, especially for a size 9, doable but a little scary the first zip up.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I expected These boots fit like they were made for me. Very Comfortable. I tested the waterproof part this weekend with the rain and mud and they are truly waterproof in the foot area. Very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking and stylish The boot runs small. I wear an 8 and had to return for a 9. The heel cup is a bit stiff and rubbed a few blisters. But the boot is light weight and looks awesome on.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality I loved the style and quality of these boots, but they didn't fit me right. The foot foot great and the height was good (definitely on the tall side, I was afraid they would be too short). I returned them because they stuck out on the side and looked weird.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Order at least a size up! I opened the box and was excited to see stylish, supple boots. Happiness was short-lived, though. They run SOOO small that I could not even get my whole foot in, let alone zip them up. I wear an 8, and have returned for a 9 (supposed to be delivered today). I really hope that I can enjoy these boots, as I wanted something for less formal events like hunter paces - in between my everyday paddocks and half chaps and dress boots.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a custom boot The quality on this boot is just amazing for this price point. The best thing about it, besides being very comfortable, well-made and good looking is that is the only boot I have found that is actually tall enough for me and has a perfect fit in the calf. I have only had them for a week or so but I wear them every chance I get and have gotten many compliments. Don't plan to use them as riding boots but they would be OK for casual hacking about. I don't think the gusseted area would hold up under strenuous work. I usually wear a size 8 but I ordered the 39 and it is a perfect fit with an average sock.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Riding Boot I took a chance on this boot because I wasn't sure the smallest size would fit. For this boot the size 37 is listed as a US size 7, but on their tall buckle riding boots (https://www.smartpakequine.com/pt/solstice-waterproof-tall-buckle-boot--12673), a 37 is listed as a size 6. So I went ahead and ordered the size 37. In most shoes and boots I'm a size 6 or 6.5 and these 37's are a perfect fit. They could use a little more sole padding on the inside if you're going to be walking a lot, but other than that I'm really happy with the purchase. Good quality leather and a good quality riding boot for the price.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Large sizing not accurate, much too small When you wear a size 12, you get excited to see a womens boot offered in my size. I really had my hopes up with these boots as I am a solid 11.5-12, so ordered the 12 after reading the reviews. Unfortunately, even the 12 was MUCH too small, my toes were not only hitting the end, but scrunched at the end of the boot. I would say it fit more like a 10.5. Unfortunately, with a size 12 there is no option to get the boot in a larger size and they had to be returned.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfy boots Put them on the day they arrived and have worn them daily since. Very comfortable, perfect fit, waterproof up to ankles and warm. Only disappointment is the edge of sole is beginning to become unattached where the foot bends and meets the leather. I will contact Smart pak to see how they'd like to resolve this. Happy with then other than that.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the boots! These are very attractive boots, plus comfortable, just what I needed.
Date published: 2016-03-08
  • 2016-10-24T12:45CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_11358, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders