Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SoloComb

Item #11626
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.

Favorite Features

  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

Sizing It Up

6 ½” X 3”

Customers Also Shopped For
Smegma, see you later get rid of gunk ...
Description:
Smegma, see you later get rid of gunk andbuild-up with Smeg-U-Later. Thisformula is made with Organic Hemp Oil,Vegetable Glycerin, gentle and effectiveCoconut derived cleansers and soothingHoneysuckle. They have also addedEssential Oil of Lavender, known for itscalming properties. Let's face it ...
Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and ...
Description:
Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and loosen matted dirt for quick grooming. Black, Blue Glitter, Pink Glitter or Purple Glitter. (Glitter makes grooming more fun!) Favorite Features Fits comfortable in your hand Durable Fun color options! Imported.
The cordless, rechargeable Moser Arco Clippers with adjustable ...
Description:
The cordless, rechargeable Moser Arco Clippers with adjustable blade are lightweight, quiet, and powerful! Favorite Features Powerful Rotary Motor offers 5,500 SPM's Stays cool Cordless Operation (2 Drop-In NiMH batteries, each with 80 Min. run time) Exclusive '5in1' Blade Unsurpassed ...
Remove ticks with ease, with Tick Ease! Your ...
Description:
Remove ticks with ease, with Tick Ease! Your key to the easiest, fastest, and safest tick removal for people, dogs and horses. Favorite Features The Killer Dual-Tipped Tick Extractor featuring thin tipped tweezers for crawlers and specially designed slotted scoop ...
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect ...
Description:
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect and promote healthy skin. The Dermacloth is an innovative concept in rinse-free cleaning and management of skin problems. Dermacloth is commonly used for rain scald, scratches, ringworm, girth itch, cracked hooves and ...
The Tail Tamer's Coated Steel Hoof Pick is ...
Description:
The Tail Tamer's Coated Steel Hoof Pick is a true economical barn staple item with considerable quality! Favorite Features Durable Coated handle for added comfort Fun assorted color make them easy to find amongst a tack trunk full of suppliesSizing ...
SUNGARD is the perfect UVProtection for your horse! ...
Description:
SUNGARD is the perfect UVProtection for your horse! Sungard is a modern UVProtection/UV blocker with a UVA/UVBProtection complex. The combination of chemical and physical UVA/UVB filters gives the coat and skin the bestProtection against harmful radiation. TheProtection is equivalent to ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SoloComb is rated 4.315068493150685 out of 5 by 146.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Messed my horses mane up. Bought this because it looked cool and like a quicker way to tidy up my horse's mane but all it did was make it look choppy and uneven. And I followed the instructions exactly. I will stick with traditional pulling.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke on first use Poorly designed. Three snips and it broke (would no longer cut).
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use A friend has one of these and I kept borrowing it so I finally bought my own. Terrific for horses that don't like their mane pulled.It is costly but I think still a good value.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Such a bummer I thought this was going to be so awesome but it sucked. Haha. I was able to get through the my horses mane, but that was it. I couldn't even do my moms horse after. It was totally dull?! I'm annoyed but I just had to try it. Judging by a lot of the reviews it works for people somehow. What I found was the bad reviews all rang to be true as to what I had experienced. I'm so bummed. I loved it the one time I was able to use it. It's not that cheap so think really hard about buying this before you do.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works!!! I bought the SoloComb because my horse absolutely hates his mane pulled. My big guy is very easy going but gets very nervous and quit a handful when it comes time to pull his mane. The SoloComb is great and made pulling his mane a positive experience for him and for me!!!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane looks great always Works quickly and very easily. Mo.excuse for sloppy mane now
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works great...while it works SmarkPak came through as always with quick shipping. Due to a health condition that prevents me from pulling manes by hand, I was so excited to get this. I got about halfway done with my mare's mane, and the SoloComb was doing a great job. The look was natural and lovely. Then - alas - the comb broke. The part that holds the blade in simply popped off, broken. I could still use the comb, but had to hold it so that the blade wouldn't fall out. VERY disappointing and frustrating! This is a great idea, but the concept needs to be further developed into a tougher product.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE I cannot give this enough stars. I will never go back to pulling another mane! I was a little worried because my trainer is super picky about manes looking like they've been cut, but my new mare was not going to let me pull her mane. I gave it a go, and you can't even tell! It looks exactly the same, horses who were running backwards when I pulled their mane are now standing still, and it takes half the time! The mane in the picture is pretty thin, but it was super long, and it only took me 30 minutes to do. I have only used it on thin manes, so I can't say how it does with thick manes, but I've used it 5 times and I'm just now noticing the blade becoming duller. Worth it to me. I'm happier and my horses are a million times happier. Best invention ever.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Breaks Ive used this maybe four times and it broke. I only got to change the blades one time. They get dull very quickly and really arnt worth the price to pay every time you need to pull a mane. My horse hates getting pulled but I'm definatly going to find another alternative to this. It does work okay with brand new blades when it's not broken, but it doesn't last.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Mane looks like it had been pulled. Perfect for those horses who will not tolerate their mane being pulled.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does its job I'm not a fan of these types of combs, I prefer the classic metal ones, but when I can't find the metal one, I use this. It's good quality. I've used other combs that make me feel like the plastic comb will fall off, but this one is really sturdy. The blades get dull, yes, but they can be replaced. I also use this before I start to just thin the mane out, combing the mane like you would just comb it, and squeeze the handle to thin the mane out a little easier (it's easier on my hands).The only thing that really bugs me is that the hair gets stuck in between the blades, making them a little harder to squeeze than normal.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful! As someone who doesn't have much experience pulling/trimming manes, this comb made my job pretty easy. I've used it twice now for lengthy periods of time and found the blades intact and functioning fine. I was nervous about it breaking, but so far so good! My boy hates having his mane pulled, so this item is a great alternative.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes thinning easier! I have a horse with a very thick mane that was really becoming unruly. Since not showing this year, decided to use this instead of pulling. Worked great, took very little time. Not sure how it'll look when it all grows out, but I'm happy with the results right now!
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love it but it broke I've used SoloCombs over the years and have always gotten a nice finish on my horses' manes. But the most recent one I bought (the red one) broke within 3 uses. I do not mean it got dull, they always do that and you have to replace the blade, but this one physically broke on only the 3rd mane. I'm hesitant to buy another.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke the first time I used it. Very disappointed. Didn't even make it through one mane. Blades broke off leaving my horses mane uneven and chopped. Had to finish with a clipper blade. Wrote to customer service, emailed pictures, never heard back. Disappointed, will be returning ASAP.
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Concept - Quality Seems to Be Declining I've been using SoloComb for years now, and I think it's a great product for horses that object to pulling or have thin manes. I think it works better on thin manes than on thick ones.One thing I have noticed is that the quality of the blade has declined over time. A SoloComb used to last me quite a few mane "pulls" without getting dull. Now I maybe get 2 or 3 pulls, and I have to replace the blade. I have multiple horses that I use this on, so it gets annoying having to replace it so often. I would start with a relatively clean mane to make sure that you don't dull the blade even faster.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful tool I bought one of the original Solocombs about 16 years ago. I thought I'd break my Morgan colt into having his mane pulled by going slowly and taking a few hairs at a time when he was really young, but he wouldn't tolerate pulling at all. I bought the comb and have never been disappointed with the results. It works easily and looks like a pulled mane without any discomfort to my horse. He stand quietly and we have a nicely kept mane. I had to buy a new one last month, but I think 16 years is a good long time for something I use a lot, to last. I like that the blades can be replaced and SmartPak carries the replacements, also. Great product.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding has a Fresian-thickness mane... and does NOT tolerate traditional pulling without heavy sedation (picture enough sedation to do a complex tooth extraction...anything less and he's unmanageable). He'll stand all day, sound asleep, for the solo comb. I just did his super long and thick mane yesterday, after letting it grow for about a year because an injury took us out of riding. It took about as much time as pulling would, but my arms were less tired and my gelding was much happier. Final result looks the same as pulled, and I'm VERY pleased. I recommend this to everyone I know!
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite what I expected If you need to do touch-ups on a mane or you're working with fine hair, this product will do its job. But if you're looking to use it in place of pulling a mane with any thickness to it, it doesn't work nearly as well as I expected based on things I've heard about it.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a hard job easier! Love the ease of using this...so does my horse. A tip....go slow...follow the directions. Small pieces at a time. Really does a nice job.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally one that works! I have gone through several similar combs, but they never worked (and so always had to resort to the regular pulling comb). This one actually feels sturdy and substantial in your hand, and the blade actually cuts through the hair like it's supposed to! As long as you cut only the amount of hair you would pull at one time, it gives the overall finished look of a pulled mane. If you try to cut a chunk of mane at one time, obviously it will look choppy. I have a Paint who has the thinnest, most straggly mane you have ever seen, and using this I was able to make it look presentable in 10 minutes. I also have a pony with a mane that was all one length, and I was able to shorten it and make it look like a regular pulled mane with this. I used it on an opinionated 4 year old OTTB who until now would have to be twitched to pull his mane (and he would still try to rear). After he realized that there wasn't going to be a yank following the back-pull, he stood patiently in the crossties and let me finish. I will never use anything but this to pull manes ever again.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Painless mane pulling Very easy to use. Thins and pulls mane without ripping or pulling hair out. Makes it easier and faster to do without upsetting my horse.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful I like that this product makes pulling the mane unnecessary and it works pretty well as long as you follow the directions and don't try to clip too much hair at once. I was disappointed thought that the bristles feel really cheaply made, I can't imagine this would hold up under heavy use or for more than a year or two.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect alternative! My mare hates having her mane pulled, this comb is the perfect alternative :) it does a great job and I have a horse with a neat and tidy mane
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to handle and operate I bought this comb so I didn't have to hassle with pulling my mare's mane.Overall, it does an adequate job of thinning the mane. It doesn't look like a handpulled mane when done, but it does the bulk of the work without causing pain to my sensitive mare. I think over time I will be able to get more of the desired results,but for the first time use I think it went pretty good.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SoloComb I bought this to help shape my mare's mane as she did not like it when Ipulled it. I have to tell you that I love it and so did my mare. I would highlyrecommend this product.
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this 1 month ago. It is simple and easy to use. Most importantly, it is pain free. This is the only way I will shorten my horse's mane in the future.
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this once and got 3/4 of the way done with my horses mane and it stopped working. I have read only a couple other reviews that went the same way. Very strange. It was awesome at first. Trust me, I didn't do anything stupid or forceful with it to cause it sto stop working. I would not recommend this product for the cost. If it was even $20 I might invest in a possible failure, but not the $30-something I spent on this. So bummed. Maybe those few of us received a faulty product. I should contact smartpak about replacing it for another one.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work well I have used a similar product and it worked great. This one would not cut the hair. Totally defeated it's purpose.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! I was kind of skeptical using the Solo Comb as I have always been told it doesn't make a mane look like one that's been pulled. I have to say I was wrong, this really works. And it also works to keep a pulled mane tidy through the season. I also hate pulling manes and this works.
Date published: 2014-03-26
  • 2016-09-30T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_136
  • loc_en_US, sid_1626, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders