Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Solar Glove

- Item #15991
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after hours (or was it days?) in the saddle?

The Solar Glove is a combination of skin protection and a longer lasting suntan result from the SOLAR TAN'S UNIQUE UV FILTER FABRIC.

The Solar Glove allows your hand to "see the light" while at the same time, protecting your skin with SPF 10. Now, you can get an even tan on your gloved hands, while keeping your hand cool and offering protection. 









Customers Also Shopped For
The Slouchy Toque Hat from Asmar Equestrian creates ...
The Slouchy Toque Hat from Asmar Equestrian creates casual cool in seconds with this knitted toque. Favorite Features Effortlessly accessories any outfit with the relaxed fit of this wool blend knit toque Metal Asmar notion and delicate scalloped edged Prefect ...
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and ...
These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. Favorite Features Soft pigskin palm for grip Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style Imported. Sizing It Up To determine your glove size, measure ...
The Romfh Microweave Bling Pre-Tied Stock Tie features ...
The Romfh Microweave Bling Pre-Tied Stock Tie features clear crystals along the front band, a comfortable adjustable neck collar cover, and a Chill-factor panel on the tie layer to keep you cool on those hot days at the horse show. ...
The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPERSoft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders. This brand-GoreSoft Shell quality material requires no additional inner lining and ...
The Eskadron Climatex Training Bandages are ideal for ...
The Eskadron Climatex Training Bandages are ideal for high performance horses. Provides optimum support and totalProtection against any pressure points. Climatex offer increased air circulation and help keep the leg cool. Pair. Favorite Features Promotes air circulation Provides additional support ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Solar Glove is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only glove I'd ever wear! I hate gloves. I hate riding in them. So when I found this glove I immediately fell in love. They give you a solid feel of the reins, but keep your horse from pulling them out of your hands. The only thing I would say, is to put them on once your on your horse. I went to tighten my girth with them on and accidentally snagged the seam and pulled a small hole in it. They still work just fine, just annoying. I've have to replace one pair in 2 years, so they last forever.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Glove!! For the past 3 years, I have been wearing the Roekel Solar Glove from March through October. I'm definitely a sweater, and that includes my hands as well. These gloves keep my hands feeling cool and dry! The palm is grippy enough that despite the sweat and the occasional "caught-in-a-rain-storm," I always retained excellent feel and grip on the reins. It's also incredibly easy to type on your smartphone with these on.I don't wear the gloves for the no tan line feature, but it definitely is a plus!As other users have mentioned, the mesh on the back on the gloves is rather delicate. However, after a few times of being conscientious while putting them on - it just became second nature. I usually end up with one or two small rips, but I trash them at the end of each season anyways, more so for the smell than for quality!These gloves are definitely worth their price, and I will continue to turn back to these gloves each spring!
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No tan lines! Great glove! Wonderful rein feel and no annoying glove tan lines on the wrist or pale hands. Have been riding in them a while and hope they hold up well. So far so good!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cool and comfortable Great glove for the summer. Great grip but cool. I am concerned about the closer and its durability but have not used it long enough to know how it will hold up
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this glove and it's awesome fabric which is nice and cool and allows great air flow!
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rips apart easily I bought these gloves and loved them but they tear apart at the seams. I spoke to the people at Charles Owen (owns Roeckl) and they sent me a replacement pair, not once but 3 times- each pair ripped after a week or so of light riding. They had me send the ripped ones back. I was going to send a 4th time but figured why bother. I loved my other Roeckl gloves but because of this switched to Samshield. Great gloves otherwise, but a huge design flaw
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! Lightweight, stylish , comfortable. They are lovely. Also practical as you can type on your phone with these gloves.I know someone made a comment about them being delicate, which is true but they are absolutely stunning. And....if you are wearing an engagement ring that you love, then it will be awesome to see it gleaming through the thin netting! Actually, that is why I LOVE this glove! :)
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite glove I bought these gloves in the spring when we reopened our outdoor, and they have held up exceptionally well. I've seen many bad tan lines, and these really do what they say. These gloves are lightweight, cool, thin but not flimsy, have a good grip, and don't give tan lines! I will never wear another summer glove ever again. When I'm schooling I forget that I'm even wearing gloves! They've held up better than other summer gloves - I'll definitely buy again if they wear out.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light, excellent grip, super comfortable I've only ridden in Roeckl gloves since I bought my first pair years ago and loved them. I live in a very hot climate and thought I'd give these a try though I usually buy Chesters. These are very comfortable (they run a bit small though you might want to order up a size, I read this on other reviews and followed the advice), have excellent grip and are very light to wear, you could even forget you are wearing them. They are a bit fragile though, I had a fall and my knuckles went through the netting on two fingers, will sew them shut. But really like them!
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves - and sexy! My husband first noticed these gloves on a trainer at our stables. (Later) he commented on how sexy they were because they are so sheer on top. That actually got my attention (no one would call horse gear sexy) - and I asked my trainer about them. She bought them because (supposedly) the gloves allow your hands to tan-through so you don't end up with white hands and brown arms. An interesting concept - seems to work okay on that front.But, the great, great, great selling point is how cool they are! I actually feel breezes (when we have them) and my hands DO NOT sweat at all (I live in Texas - just stepping outside makes you sweat). And, like all my Roekl gloves, they are great quality.The one hitch 0 be careful when you put them on - if you are wearing a ring with stones, they will catch very easily. I do not wear rings with these gloves. Other than that - they are a repeat for me.Who knew sensible could also be sexy?
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Feel and Grip This is my second pair of these gloves. Lightweight, comfortable. Great grip with very close contact feel. Probably not "classic" enough for the hunter ring, but great in the jumpers! I had to go up 1-2 sizes. I usually wear a size 7. I can get into a 7 1/2, but the 8 is better. There is some give, but not alot. They don't stretch out much. The fingers are long enough. They don't hold up really well, but given how thin they are, not a surprise. The feel and grippiness is well worth replacing them more frequently.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite!!!! I have had many gloves over the years and they have ripped and torn and usually fall apart within months! But not these they last for years around our barn! At first I was leary about the solar fishnet looking stuff because of how easy it usually rips but once I got them and have been using them I found out that they are very hard to rip or scuff! Around my barn these are the only kind of gloves we use! We love them!
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This glove latterly fits like a glove. I have long fingers so it makes glove fitting difficult – these are perfect! So light weight I hardly notice they are there! The sun protection is always an added bonus. I sunburn instantly, with these gloves no burn and they help prevent my reins from rubbing my hand raw. Worth the buy!
Date published: 2012-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Read before you buy! These gloves are sized very small. I suppose they do that because they stretch, but on me they only tore from my thumb across the palm. The first pair I returned for a larger size, and the next larger size tore. I still am using the torn pair because they are comfortable and cool in the summer. Order carefully. They exchanged sizes with no problem.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The best for what they are This is the best summer glove. Frankly, I wear it in the winter if it's not too cold. I actually prefer it to my driving gloves. I can't say enough good things about the glove. The bad things I can say are as follows: its fit is lovely at the expense of its durability. It doesn't hold up to any semblance of hard use. It fits decidedly small. I typically wear a 7 glove and the 7.5 JUST fits when it is new. It does stretch because of the net finish on the dorsal surface of the hand. I own many pairs. They are durable with respect to machine washing.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves Despite not giving these gloves 5 stars, they are still my favorite gloves. I would wear them year round if I could. They are cool for the summer, and they almost eliminate a sun line - not 100%, but pretty close. The material is thin, but that's the type of material that it is - otherwise, it wouldn't let the sun through. The last pair gave me 2 summers, so hopefully these will do the same.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tanned hands This is the second pair of these gloves I have owned. I like the fit and function. However, they are not the most sturdy.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I generally hate wearing gloves, but I ride a lot of horses and ponies so they're kind of a must. My SSG Hybrid gloves are awesome, but they get really hot in the Florida heat, so I thought I'd try these. New favorite gloves, hands down. At first the sizing was a little snug, but after the first ride they felt great. They keep your hands so cool that you almost forget you're wearing them! The palm and fingers are lightly padded and quite grippy, and they've been perfect for keeping me comfortable during multiple rides. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roeckl gloves My daughter and I have been thru them all. these are the best. What more needs to be said?
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool well-fitting gloves!!! I love these gloves! I can't speak to the durability yet as I haven't had them for a month yet.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for summer riding this is the third pair I have bought for my competing daughter. They are lightweight and fit well. Unfortunately lightweight also means light wear. They will only last one season before they have worn holes in the seam on each third finger. I wish the manufacturer could maybe reinforce this area. Due to the mesh they are not easy to repair although she does wrap duct tape around the finger towards the end of the season. They are not cheap considering the length of time they last but my daughter has yet to find a more comfortable summer glove solution.
Date published: 2011-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves ever I ride in Dubai where you have hot and sticky summers. These gloves keep your hands dryer than every other glove I used and always provide a good grip. They are super thin and a relief after wearing bulky gloves. I was so delighted after my first weeks of using them that I ordered the same gloves for my friends. Huge smiles on all of their faces, too. One is using them with rope reigns and is thrilled.
Date published: 2011-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am on my second pair. They are perfect for summer riding. I also have long fingers and difficulty finding gloves to fit. These fit perfectly. My only complaint is that they do not wash well. After a few washings, the seams start to give.
Date published: 2011-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Summer Glove This glove is so light and thin it's perfect for the summer months. I love the fit as well. The material on the palm is great and I have no issues holding the reins. The only downfall I have is their durability- I ride with double reins and not all the fingers are lined on these gloves so some of the mesh did pull away on one of the gloves. But if you don't ride with draw / curb reins then I do think you would be fine. And despite this I still love this glove and will buy another pair next summer.
Date published: 2010-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sun Glove Fun BEST pair of gloves I have EVER bought. I love these! I had thee worst farmers tan from working as a full time working student in NJ and now the problem is solved. The best part is the fabric the gloves are made from are airy and light and hold a great grip on the reins. I will never choose any other for a schooling glove. Had them for 6 months now, I ride almost everyday and only have a slight tear...great durability.
Date published: 2010-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Love them for keeping my hands tan. It's one thing to have a farmer's tan but white hands too :(.Tactile. Could last longer.
Date published: 2010-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE these gloves These are great. They are super comfortable to wear and are great for hot weather riding (used them today in 90°+ heat) and didn't even think to take them off while mucking my guys stall. The only downside is the kind of cheesy lightning bolt on the glove, but this didn't stop me from buying. I can overlook that given how comfortable and lightweight these are. I also really like the feel of the reins through these. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2010-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hot weather I bought these gloves after trying a friends. I really liked them for riding in the summer heat and humidity. The gloves are light-weight and have a good grip. I am concerned as the top part is a very thin material. Again, it is great for keeping my hands from sweating, but I'm not sure how durable they will prove to be. I do really like the fit - you can certainly adjust your girth and leathers without taking off your gloves.
Date published: 2010-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy If you are looking for a riding glove that is light this is it.
Date published: 2010-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice gloves I went to the Smartpac Store looking for gloves that are not hot. The lovely young ladies at the store recommended these. I have been very happy with them. I have worn them to ride and do work around the farm. They work well as a riding glove and a work glove. No sweaty hands!
Date published: 2010-05-05
  • 2016-10-22T11:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_5991, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders