Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout

- Item #13907
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Add to your SmartBlue® and SmartPink® collection with our fabulous SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Turnout Blankets.

Favorite Features

  • Tough 1200 denier waterproof polyester outer with a polyester lining
  • Thinsulate lining provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight
  • Polished stainless steel hardware, double buckle front closure
  • Elastic leg straps
  • Tail flap
  • Shoulder gussets
  • Dual belly surcingles
  • Fleece at the wither. 


Sizing It Up
SmartBlue® or SmartPink® Plaid w/black trim. Sizes 51 - 84.

For turnout blankets, we recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Super fast drying, this cooler is perfect for ...
Super fast drying, this cooler is perfect for busy riders! Made of a unique microfiber towelling cloth material, this Rambo Dry Rug will have your horse dry and you on-your-way in no time. Favorite Features Absorbs moisture in record time ...
This beautiful screen weave cotton/poly mesh is the ...
This beautiful screen weave cotton/poly mesh is the ideal item to keep horses clean and cool in their stall or while waiting ringside. Let everyone know what barn your beautiful horse is from with custom embroidery! A must have for ...
Pre-shrunk 8.5 oz 100% cotton day sheet material ...
Pre-shrunk 8.5 oz 100% cotton day sheet material provides superior durability with rich colors that won't fade. The matching supplex lined shoulders allow for uninhibited shoulder movement and the faux beaver at the withers adds even more richness to this ...
The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. ...
The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. This blanket has 300 grams of insulation, fur friendly taffeta lining, high bias surcingles, detachable elastic leg straps, faux beaver at the withers, double buckle front closure with a detachable tail loop. ...
The Horseware Rain Sheet is a lightweight, waterproof ...
The Horseware Rain Sheet is a lightweight, waterproof sheet toProtect your horse and tack from the elements. Perfect for use on rainy show days! Favorite Features Integrated neck cover with VELCRO Brand closures Stirrup slits to allow you to ride ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout is rated 4.665158371040724 out of 5 by 221.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I was originally given this blanket a few years ago and loved it. It fits my horse really nicely. This was a repurchase since the old one got some tips and tears.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super high quality and very nice!! This is of top quality and looks amazing on our horse. Highly recommend!!
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So thin and lightweight!! I couldn't believe how truly thin and LIGHT this blanket is compared to my heavyweight blanket. Makes it so much easier to throw on, fold and store. I think my horse appreciates how light it is.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Their blankets actually hold up! Haven't tried this blanket on yet, but it's very nice. I have another Smartpak blanket that's outlasted all my other blankets (I think this was its 4th winter! ) only buying Smartpak blankets now on.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice light weight! I got this blanket a few weeks ago and love the light weight even though it has the warmth of a medium weight blanket. Love the blue color too, looks great on my horse!
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and fit great Bought this blanket a month ago. Try to size and great quality
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I got this at the end of the season as another option for my delicate flower of a horse who lost weight due to the cold, so it hasn't been tested for sturdiness fully. It seems really well put together though. It does hang a bit low on my horse, probably because he's a narrow guy. I'd also like to be able to tighten the back straps a little more because of this, but he is gaining weight so that might not be a problem once he's back where I want him.The fit is pretty true to size which is nice.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Super cute blanket & great value! I love SmartPak, great company!!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! Got the SmartPak Pink, beautiful color, well made, nice padding around the neck. Nice tail flap, and kick pleats for front legs. Fits well. My horse measures ~69 inches, I purchased a 69 inch blanket; fits very well. Room to adjust with straps, would fit a horse a bit bigger. Not crazy about the buckles at the chest, would have preferred the Quick-clip front closures like on the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout (have that blanket as well). LOVE SmartPak!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lite turnout blanket! Excellent fit, great waterproofing ability (out of the box), sturdy for playful horses who like to nip blankets....just want to say this is a step down in terms of insulation from a medium weight -- which is great for Spring/Fall transitions! Highly recommend for a lightweight turnout blanket!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality turnout I just got this for my new warmblood gelding. The fit is great. It runs a little large so a 78 fits him perfectly. I was hoping it would be the same pattern as the Kensington smartblue shipping boots, but the plaid is slightly different. Overall I am very pleased with the quality and hopefully my gelding won't tear this one to pieces like his last one. We will see next winter.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits true to size, haven't used it yet, only tried it on.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great Love the way this fits my Paint who has a thick neck and wide chest.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Quality I got this with my order of Smart Pack. It is one of the best Turnout Sheets that I have ever used!
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable and durable! This blanket looks adorable in blue on my old white Arab! Fits him well and seems to be made very well!
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mid weight blanket This is a great mid weight blanket! It is so light weight because of thinsulate material & the silky smooth lining keeps haircoat shiny.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great neckline and fit This is a very good fit for my horse. She often has problems with the front of blankets sliding down or back, and this turnout is cut close to the neck. Great for small shouldered horses and preventing water from getting into the neck.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I bought this blanket a few weeks ago. it fits my mare perfect and the material feels very durable. absolutely recommend
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBlue Thinsulate Turnout I purchased this turnout blanket in a size 54 about 2 weeks ago for my 16 hand Morgan horse. It fits him perfectly. The blue plaid is very attractive and my gelding stays dry and warm in our rainy northwest climate. Previous reviewers said this blanket holds up to rough use which was one of the reasons I chose this blanket. My horse tends to be a bit rough on his blankets. Two weeks of use is a bit early to tell, but so far so good. I do notice that the fabric and stitching looks and feels very sturdy and the fabric has a good "hand feel".
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BLANKET! I own 2 of these blankets for two different horses with very different body types. they fit both very well, but they are just a tad short in the drop. The shoulder gussets are great, no rubbing. I highly recommend this blanket
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice blanket pros - light, attractive, warmcons - not very fitted around haunches and tail area - stiff fabricwish it had snaps instead of buckles on the front, would be quicker to put on
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cute on my Pony! Overall, I'm pleased with the fit, design, and quality. I'm optimistic, that this turnout blanket will be around for a good long time. Thanks for providing your customers with quality products at reasonable prices.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, great quality, and great design I first bought the SmartPink blanket for my mare who is very easy on her blankets. I loved it so much and felt that it was quality so I decided to get the SmartBlue for my gelding who is very, very tough on his blankets. I'm happy to report that the blanket has been holding up very well! I am really happy with these blankets, their hardware, and their durability.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stands up well to playful gelding! I bought this blanket right before the big midwest snowstorm set in and the blanket has been nothing short of wonderful since then. It keeps my POA pony nice and toasty and he looks adorable in his blue plaid. It's also held up remarkably well to his rough playing with the other gelding as well as him staying bone dry when he's outside in the rain. My only complaint is that the blanket runs a little big, but that's my fault for ordering a size up on a hard to fit pony. Though it's by no means too large, I could have easily gone down a size on my boy. That being said, there's also zero signs of any rubs or blanket marks from it being a little too big either. This truly is a great blanket and I'd recommend you stay true to size unless you have a stockier horse.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits good very good fit has extras that make this blanket better than more expensive ones i have purchased have not had it long to see how it wears. Mini stayed nice and dry after a heavy rain here. the only thing I would like for my mini is shorter back leg straps
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great very good fit has extras that make this blanket better than more expensive ones i have purchased have not had it long to see how it wears. Horse stayed nice and dry after a heavy rain here
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adorable! But not for broad shoulders I loved this blanket from the moment I saw it! Beautiful color, very well made especially for the price. However it fit my 16.2 TB mare in length, but was super tight in the neck and shoulders! Even on the last buckle hole she couldn't comfortably lower her neck. Had to return. So sad!
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I bought this item and it hasn't come off my gelding since! It's heavy enough to have on him for the cold cold nights we've been getting, but also light enough that I can leave it on when he goes outside when it's a little warmer(since he doesn't have much hair). It keeps his coat super nice and smooth and is super water proof! Definitely going to buy for my mare when it's time for a new blanket for her.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I love the way this blanket looks and fits. However, the first time it rained the blanket soaked though. I had to take it off and am going to have to re-water proof it...
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Bought Two More! I recently bought two of these blankets for my two horses. My shoulders aren't what they used to be, and the light-weight thinsulate caught my eye. This turnout is so much easier on my shoulders going on and off. A week after they arrived, winter storm Jonas dumped two feet of snow on my farm. My horses were able to go into their paddocks from their stalls if they chose, and they chose to stand out in the wind and snow during most of the storm. I kept checking to see if they were wet under the blankets--they stayed bone dry, and the blankets never shifted. No more changing saturated, heavy blankets in the middle of a snow storm. I'm back to buy two more.
Date published: 2016-01-24
  • 2016-10-27T12:51CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_206
  • loc_en_US, sid_3907, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders