Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Winter Overpant

Item #20729
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Overpants will be your workhorse all winter long! Waterproof and channel insulated to keep you warm in the saddle or around the barn. 

Favorite Features 

  • Synthetic suede full seat will keeping you secure in the saddle and the elastic jods to keep the legs from riding up.
  • Two-way zippers allow for you to easily put the SmartPak Winter Overpants on over layers.
  • Elasticized waistband is flexible to accommodate how ever many layers you're wearing!
  • Belt loops and front pockets.
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Jacket for the ultimate in winter warmth!

Imported

Sizing It Up

Waist Measurements: XS - 32", S - 34", M - 36", L - 38", XL - 42", 2XL - 44" (note, measurements should be taken at natural waist. Inseam 29.5".

Customers Also Shopped For
The Back on Track Fleece Headband is manufactured ...
Description:
The Back on Track Fleece Headband is manufactured from the revolutionary Welltex ceramic infused fabric, which helps provide soothing, pain relieving far infrared therapy to help alleviate tension and aches. Favorite Features Fashionable, yet practical, so can be worn with ...
Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying ...
Description:
Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying your time at the barn! This practical and stylish windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Favorite Features Complete with cozy white kasha lining, draw cord ...
The Noble Outfitters Girl Tough Canvas Vest is ...
Description:
The Noble Outfitters Girl Tough Canvas Vest is designed to hold up to work in the barn while remaining feminine and fashionable! Favorite Features Made of 100% cotton, 8.8 oz canvas with water repellant finish Soft brushed lining quilted with ...
Fight off chills in style with this flattering ...
Description:
Fight off chills in style with this flattering fleece! Fitted styling with princess seams flatter your figure, while unlined anti-pill Loftex fleece keeps you comfortable and warm. Favorite Features Stand-up collar and elasticized cuffsProtect against cold winds. Open hem with ...
The SSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is ...
Description:
The SSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent for schooling once the temperature starts to drop. Unlined aquasuede palm, excellent grip in dry, rainy or snowy conditions. Thinsulate lining on back of hand and thumb only. Hook and loop ...
The Dubarry Hawthorn Coat is the epitome of ...
Description:
The Dubarry Hawthorn Coat is the epitome of style, quality, and function. This elegant, tailored women's tweed coat features a flattering fit and flare silhouette with quality details including: Teflon coated 100% Pure wool Signature Dubarry jacquard lining in contrast ...
Stay dry andProtected starting with your head, with ...
Description:
Stay dry andProtected starting with your head, with the Kodiak Oilskin Hat! This waterproof, shapeable oilskin hat features a Dry-Zone Elastic Sweatband that transfers moisture away from the skin to the quick-drying reverse side of the fabric. Favorite Features Reinforced ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Winter Overpant is rated 4.246913580246914 out of 5 by 81.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WARM Really happy with these pants. Bought them for work and they look great and keep me warm riding outside the indoor
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from smartpak winter overpant I bought these to ride in, but they were so bulky you could fit 2 legs in each leg. they need to rethink the design. Looked like the were made ok but sent them back.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I love these Pants. They totaly keep me warm in good old vermont winter weather.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm! I am very happy with these pants! The full seat feature keeps me secure in the saddle while the horses display their frisky winter behavior. On the ground, they keep me very toasty while I'm teaching lessons in the indoor. I even threw them on over my pj's to dig my car out of the snow from Blizzard Jonas, but they were too warm! I ended up changing into jeans. One of the elastic jods broke the second time I wore them, but I don't want to let them go in order to exchange them. I found that they fit true to size. I'm 5'10, 34" w and got a medium.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Good to wear around the barn and still be able to jump on a horse here and there. Also nice for winter relaxed trail rides. Elastic boot straps broke pretty quickly and not as sturdy as traditional snow pants, but less bulky and more comfortable. Runs large, even with winter gear underneath I still need a belt to hold up a size small.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and comfortable. Bought these pants for winter riding last month.I'm very happy with them. They have kept me warm and dry in all kinds of weather!
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm These pants are super warm and comfy. Easy on/off and pockets! Very light, and easy to move in them. I'm 5'5" so I do have to turn up the cuffs so they don't drag the ground. I think my husband said it best - it feels like you're wearing a sleeping bag! I think they're too bulky to ride in, but maybe if you're a smaller size these pants would work for riding.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what I was looking for Great idea, but these are really large and bulky. The first time I ordered by the size chart and got a M but they were huge. Exchanged for a S but still really bulky. XS would be too short. I am 5'7" size 28L breeches. Ended up returning.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pant!...but big.. I bought these for my daughter to wear to the barn as an over-layer for warmth while she works and also for winter trail riding. The quality is very nice, and I love that the legs come unzipped for easy on/off over breeches and boots. They wash beautifully....she's already gotten them pretty muddy and wet (great protection). They are a roomy fit....which would be great except we sized up one size based on sizing suggestions....I suggest sticking with your regular size. Unfortunately, the smaller size in now out of stock :(
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these pants!! Very warm in sub-zero temps!! I wrote a review when I first bought these and want to update it. Now that zero degree temps have reached MD, I love these pants even more!! They are extremely warm even over just leggings and so easy to pull on and off!! The two-way zippers on the legs are great and make it so easy to take your long winter boots on and off. This is the first winter I've not been cold in the barn!! I only wish SmartPak would start making these in XS because they DO run very big and roomy!!
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent warm pant I bought these pants looking for something I could wear at work. I am in law enforcement and needed a warm rain pant that could also support my duty belt. I also ride hunter jumpers. I am 5'4" and built like a guy, I weigh 130 lb. give or take a few. My inseam is a little long for my height. The small size fit perfect. I would not want to be any larger. Length was great also. The small would fit someone I would think up to 140 pounds. My natural waist flexes 28.5 to 29.5. They do extend above your natural waist a little, which I like for movement. They are well insulated and I wear with running tights underneath them. I love the roomy front pockets. Its convenient and you should know both sides of the pant zip open on the side...its great to cool off if you get too hot. I rode in them and I love the soft chamois type full seat. You get a good grip in the saddle. They are a little puffy, but I think they will flatten down with age. If you live back east in cold weather you will love these.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from true to size Bought as secondary backup winter pants for my Mt.Horse winter riding overpants. While these aren't as tapered of a fit as my Mt. Horse pants, they still fit well enough to do the job of keeping me warm and dry. I am a size 6 and the small size fits fine. Only negative: the back end waist does tend to slide down more than I would like in a seated position.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Run really Big I loved the pants and hated returning them since there was no XS at least not for this year. Well made. Perfect style and function but run superbig. I could have worn them over 5 pairs of pants
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good snow pants! Now that winter has arrived I sure appreciate the warmth of these snow pants. I have not ridden with them on yet as I am riding a young horse and I wasn't sure how she would react to the sound of the material rubbing up in the saddle. It wasn't very loud but does have some sound. The material seems sturdy enough for snow pants but probably not chore pants if carrying bales, etc..I do wish they had some adjustment at the waistline in addition to the elastic. I anticipate the need for a belt as the elastic gets used a bit. That is the reason I rated quality as good and not excellent.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems Awesome! I bought a Medium and they fit wonderfully over a pair of jeans. I am 5'3" and 145 lbs. I followed other reviews and went with an XL in the coat, and it fits great too.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gigantic-- if you are small, don't bother I was so excited to get these pants and stay warm on winter days. Unfortunately, the smallest size they have are huge! Seriously, I could have fit another person in them with me. I normally wear a size 3 and the smallest size fits like a 6-8.Also, if you have a spooky horse, these make swooshing sounds when you walk...
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice I ordered a large first (I'm usually a size 10-12 jeans). I thought at first they'd be ok, but after wearing them one time I realized they were too big. I re-ordered a medium (sold the lg locally). I'm wearing them, but even still I think that they might be big for me (I'm about 138 lbs and 5'1"). I'm not likely to re-order the small just yet. The other thing of note is that you have to zip carefully or the flap inside catches in the zipper. Otherwise, I like these pants and they seem of great quality for the cost. I think I would definitely recommend to order size down. PS. I live in Alaska and so far these are plenty warm without having to layer up underneath. A pair of riding jeans has worked fine warmth wise.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable overprints I really like this style of overpants for my over-sized waist and thighs, but short legs. They are very comfortable and easy to put on and take off. For the price, I really like the features. They are a bit bulky, however. But very warm and weatherproof for those cold days outside.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Quality! Really liked these pants, but sadly they did not fit me just right. A little long and a bit too roomy in the bottom area for me, but the waist was perfect, so sizing down would not have worked. I am sure they would have been super warm, as I use older style ski pants for barn chores in winter and they work great too, but not for riding. These are very substantial without being stiff like some competitors' pants. Give them a try cuz if they fit they are worth it!
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm I ordered these in a small (I wear a 28 in breeches), but they seemed a bit too big--especially in the knees. I have ordered a size down in the hope they will fit a little bit slimmer. They are not an incredibly bulky pant, but they are essentially snow pants, so I'm not sure how flattering they can really be! They do seem quite warm and I think they will be a must for winter riding.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Laughably Large I sized down, since I figured I'd wear these without riding clothes underneath. They were so enormous that I felt like the Michelin Man. I wore them around the house for a little while, and they rustled and bustled. They were also quite long, and the waist came up to my armpits. Good idea, but nothing I would ever wear!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really wanted to like them! I had high hopes- I tried a medium and while the length was okay in the leg, the waist was way too high! The legs were very baggy as well. I exchanged for a small and the length & waist were a great fit but the legs were just as baggy as the mediums. I ended up returning them.I liked the material and they seemed quite warm. They didn't work for me but I can imagine that they might for someone else! For reference, I am 5'1" & 125 lbs.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter pants!! True to size!! Love these pants and I'm sure I'll get lots of use out of them this winter!!! I ordered one size up (M instead of my usual S) as recommended by SmartPak's video and other customers, saying they run small! THEY DO NOT RUN SMALL!! I had to exchange them for my normal size as one size up was enormous on me.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fit great! I bought these over pants to do chores in this winter and plan to ride in them when we go Chirstmas caroling on horse back.... they fit perfectly!
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile. Not just for riding. I bought the riding pants with the sole intentions of riding but i wore them for my sons last football game as we had rain snow mix and very cold. I was warm, dry and comfy. Very happy with this purchase. :)
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I purchased these pants for winter riding. I was disappointed at how bulky they were. I returned them. I was very happy with the Smartpak service.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm Not that I want to wear them, but I will have to. The fit is great.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reasonable but not my favorite Were a bit slippery in the saddle and didn't bend at the knee so well, so we tried the Mountain Horse ones which we liked better.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pants I was at the barn the day these pants arrived. My upper body was warm but my legs were absolutely freezing. I threw these pants on over my breeches and was pleasantly surprised at how perfect they fit and how comfortable they were. In minutes, I could feel my legs again. I am now able to stay at the barn in frigid temperatures and have toasty warm legs. I even bought a second pair "just in case". I don't ever want to be without a pair of these!!!
Date published: 2015-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and practical Bought these to wear during our February cold spell (negative 12 degrees - aaarrgghh!). Glad I did and don't know why I didn't sooner! Very warm over jeans or leggings. Haven't worn them to ride yet as snow/ice accompanied cold but expect the pants will perform well. No problem with zippers and appreciate that they are full length. Makes getting pants on and off easier. Four stars instead of five as I have not laundered them yet or owned them for very long so reserve judgment as to durability. Caution: you will sweat in these if worn in temps over 30 degrees!!
Date published: 2015-03-12
  • 2016-08-27T12:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_10729, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders