Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a horse that is tough on blankets. We’re so sure it will last for years to come that we’ve backed it with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We’ve got you and your horse covered – no matter what!

10-Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty 1000 denier nylon material features a special weave that is ultra-durable and resists rubs and tears, making it the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable so your horse can stay dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining   
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Two low-cross surcingles and nylon/elastic leg straps allow for freedom of movement while keeping the blanket securely on your horse and preventing shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  •  Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing

Customers Also Shopped For
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand ...
Description:
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
Description:
Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and shorter ...
Big D quality and features in this top ...
Description:
Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
Description:
The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer ...
Only a blanket from Big D could have ...
Description:
Only a blanket from Big D could have this many features and not be custom! Long-wearing turnout has a waterproof and breathable 1200 Denier rip-stop exterior. Tailored shoulder gussets fit the natural curve of the shoulder. VELCRO brand and double ...
Why We Love ThisThe Rambo Vari-Layer Supreme Turnout ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Rambo Vari-Layer Supreme Turnout offers a smarter way to blanket your horse! Vari-Layer technology provides added warmth with less weight providing more comfort to your horse. Horseware designed this blanket with additional layers of thermobonded fiber ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.642058165548098 out of 5 by 447.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout!! This might be the most perfect turnout sheet in the universe! Completely waterproof, breathable, with great fit! And so far, 3 weeks on the destructor of all blankets- with NO VISIBLE SIGNS of wear & tear!!! I was sure that I'd be utilizing the 10 year guarantee within the first week! Thanks for another great product!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rain Sheet! I needed a rain sheet to use on the stormy, heavy rain nights we some times get in Hawaii. But, being in Hawaii I didn't need any warmth and wanted it to be breathable. This sheet has been perfect. I've had this blanket for about a month and have used it several times. It fits nicely and has held up, staying waterproof in some serious rain. It doesn't seem to restrict grazing movement as my mare is on pasture. It also stays in place. So far I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and love the warranty! Seems to fit my big warmblood's shoulders well. Love the nylon lining--helps keep his coat shiny. Can't beat the warranty.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the clips in front Love everything about this blanket it is. Perfect easy to use and it doesn't bother my horse
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still alive after two winters! I bought the light and medium weight blankets for my horse when I first got him two years ago, and both have held up well. My horse isn't terribly hard on his blankets, but he does roll and run around and they haven't ripped or even frayed very much, and all the buckles and straps are still intact. I'd say these are pretty durable for the average horse. My horse is 16.2h with slightly narrower build and the 72" fits him very well.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It So far I love this rain sheet!! Fits my horse great!!!
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money!! My horse is terrible with blankets. She rips holes in the chest and destroys them. I thought about buying this blanket for a while and I finally decided I should try it. It fits great and is very durable. I love that I can send it back and get a new one completely free. I wish I would have bought it sooner.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wearing well and living up to it's reputation! I bought this because my gelding was getting picked on in his pasture and consequently his blankets - yes blankets with an "S"- were getting shredded. So far so good. No teeth marks, holes, or rips. However - the perpetrator has been relocated and harmony had been restored to the herd. I love the snap closures at the chest. No more wrestling with buckles. I anticipate this item lasting a long time and will add other weights as the need arises. Thank you SmartPak for a great product and warranty.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I have been using this Sheet on my Swedish warm blood mare for a month now since the weather has been warmer and I love it. I also have it in a mid weight blanket. The fit is excellent and I love the quality of the blanket. The warranty is superb!
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't say enough good things! My blanket demolishing gelding is rather disappointed at how indestructible this blanket is. He is even more upset that, try as he might, he can only make the outside of the blanket dirty, so he no longer can do his nightly coat beauty routine of sleeping in the muddiest, most pooped-in area of his field. Although he must now be clean and dry, he begrudgingly admits that it is very comfortable. He also gets compliments from the mares that live next door.Pros:-No rubbing anywhere-Fits my boy perfectly-Warm-Extremely waterproof and strong-Very adjustable-Tough hardware-The warranty of course!Cons:-No more full-body mudbaths, bummer!-Wish it came in more colors (my guy is dark bay so this black looks stunning on him, however he's really hard to find in the field when it's dark outside!)
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable I bought this blanket about a month go for my very long warmblood and it fits him great. He's 15.3 but wears an 81 so its hard to find blankets that don't look like a dress on him!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I have been working on getting these for all of my 40 horses. I currently have 20. Smartpak does a great job with the replacement guarantee.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these blankets This is the only blanket that stands up to my gelding's destructive tendencies, and not only that, they still look brand new after two seasons. I have both the sheet and the medium weight blanket. I wish they came in more color selections, but for the durability and quality, color doesn't matter. Would highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Hannibal-resistant miracle I've had this sheet for a few weeks and other than being covered in dirt, it looks exactly like when I bought it. This is shocking because one of my horse's turnout buddies is a blanket serial killer and has routinely destroyed similarly-priced sheets in under a week. My last 1200D Amigo is held together by nothing but mud and duct tape after a month with him. The lining on this is smooth and hasn't rubbed my sensitive TB at all. Excellent purchase.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate blanket Love the quality and the warantee! Clearly well made! All of the horses at our barn sport them!
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We got some very cold, wet weather after this turnout arrived, and this blanket kept her warm and more importantly dry. I am not a huge fan of clip front closures but they do the job,
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I bought this blanket and it is wonderful. My horse is in the pasture all of the time and it keeps him warm. Plus, the other horses do not rip it. SmartPak was amazing in helping me find the right fit.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ULTIMATE TURNOUT I bought this blanket for a young horse who is quite destructive on his blankets. Blanket looks good and is holding up well, 10 year guaranty makes it worth every penny!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding up GREAT My horse is VERY hard on his blankets....so far it's holding up great!!!!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Great blanket hasn't ripped yet even though my guy is known for taking his blankets off in multiple pieces
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and durable I bought this a month ago due to the 10 year guarantee and would highly recommend it. My horse is 21 but acts like a 3 year old out in pasture. He loves to play blanket tag with his buddies. All previous blankets have rips quickly. This blanket has held up.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love SmartPak Blankets I have the sheet, no fill turnout, lite turnout and stable blanket and love them all. Really well made, nice cut and cute! Fit both of my different body type horses well. The high withered 18h guy fits surprisingly well in the 84" and my normal warmblood bodied 17h gelding looks good in the 81" though perhaps it's slightly short on his rump. Very pleased with how they're holding up so far, especially with a young silly guy.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable, high quality workmanship! Finally, a durable turnout blanket that my horse can't destroy! He loves to roll in the pasture and all the straps and buckles are holding up great!
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Thoroughbred This was the 4th blanket I've tried on my Thoroughbred and this one actually fit! All the others had to be returned.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great in dry weather, but... It was quite wet all the way through after snowing...luckily it warmed up so I could take it off and hang to dry.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I got the heavy version of this, I love it, and I think my mare will love it too!! We got it in black and it really is a very nice blanket. With a 10 year guarantee, I don't think you can go wrong with this blanket
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure We had such a light winter this year and I returned the blanket for a lite blanket. The customer service was up and beyond with the exchange. She told me when I got the other one if it was to large just send it back and they would send me another size. That is the way a company should be run.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket! This is my second ultimate now, I love the quality and durability! I have the medium for my young horse and the light for my old mate, both for great and are holding up very well this winter!I just wish they came in another color option, at least a different piping. That would make it a little easier to tell apart! Hah.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit, again! Perfect fit for wide, muscular, 14.2 gypsy vanner cross mare! Length & drop perfect, shoulder gusset handles big shoulder, and enough coverage for muscular rear. Well made, should hold up for years! Great value. :) One thing though, with sensitive young horses, the tail straps are safer than the leg straps; just sayin'.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ordered this sheet along with the hood as my current sheet lost all of it's waterproofing. I especially like how easy the hood is to attach and detach. Great quality, fit, and I really like the color scheme. Best feature, 10 year warranty!!!
Date published: 2016-02-11
  • 2016-09-26T12:51CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_427
  • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders