Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a horse that is tough on blankets. We’re so sure it will last for years to come that we’ve backed it with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We’ve got you and your horse covered – no matter what!

10-Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty 1000 denier nylon material features a special weave that is ultra-durable and resists rubs and tears, making it the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable so your horse can stay dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining   
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Two low-cross surcingles and nylon/elastic leg straps allow for freedom of movement while keeping the blanket securely on your horse and preventing shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  •  Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout blanket provides value and durability in one. This turnout blanket has a classic fit and is available in Lite (no fill), Medium/Lite (100g), Medium (250g), andHeavy (400g) weights. Imported.Favorite Features Waterproof ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand ...
Description:
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
Description:
Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and shorter ...
Big D quality and features in this top ...
Description:
Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
Description:
The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer ...
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.641255605381166 out of 5 by 446.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome look, fit and warranty for teh price! I bought this blanket recently for my 18 hand TB and it fits like it was tailor made and looks great! Cannot beat the warranty as its 10 years no matter if torn, looses waterproof etc. how could you go wrong with this blanket? AND it fits a neck rug where a lot of other brands I have found do not since I have upwards of 20 blankets for my horse! as far as turnouts, this will be the brand I get as long as the warranty stands! Great!
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One for every horse. I bought blanket a year ago for my mare who shared a pasture with a bonified blanket destroyer. The blanket still looks brand new. I was so impressed with how the blanket fits, and holds up, I now have all 6 of my horses wearing the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome sturdy blanket! I bought this a month ago for my 15.3 thoroughbred. He is normally very destructive with blankets, but it has held out great so far! Very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!! Hoping this holds up and excited that is has a great warranty.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought it for the warranty Fits well adjusts easily good color selection.I would recommend it to my friends.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had to exchange 2 blankets I bought both a medium & a lite SP Ultimate blanket 3 years ago. They both were damaged. The medium blanket's front clasp broke and the back flap tore off. A large tear formed in the side of the lite blanket. After calling customer service, they requested that they could do an exchange but only if I washed both blankets and returned them. Because it was winter, I didn't want to return them and leave my horse without blankets. Instead, I resorted to buying 2 extra blankets before the return so my horse had blankets while I returned the damaged ones. Inconvenient for me and my checkbook but eventually I was reimbursed for the original 2.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product The product was a good fit for my horse and I know that she will be comfortable in it. Lots of other boarders at my barn use this blanket and they LOVE it.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A 10 year blanket! We purchased this Ultimate medium weight after 2 years experience with an Ultimate light weight. At our boarding barn I have seen numerous turns outs ripped and torn. Some after a year, some after a few days. What these animals do to destroy blankets is beyond me. Our blanket is still intact!The only downside for me is that I wish there was a choice of piping colors so I could easily distinguish between light / medium weight.Bottom line: I want to make one purchase and be done! There seems to always be something more this horse needs and I like that a replacement blanket will not return to my list again for 10 years. I like that!
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardy, warm, love the guarantee! I bought two of these blankets at the end of November when I purchased my gelding. I figured, with the 10 year guarantee, they were worth it! So far, with the warm winter, I haven't had to use the heavyweight outside of the blizzard two weeks ago, but the midweight is doing it's job. Aside from the pretty blue piping not being as bright - and the inevitable dust a five year old kicks up - this think looks new. The buckles and clasps are all in great shape and the fabric is completely undamaged. I don't think I'll be needing another anytime soon, but these things rock! My only complaint would be that the neck is a bit large and sits a little less smoothly than I'd like, but again, my guy is a baby and doesn't really fill it out yet.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit I always worry about shoulder rubs on turnouts. Love the design and the color.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Tough Blankie!! We bought this blanket for all 3 of our horses. Extremely tough! Our mare shreds every blanket she has owned, ripped off every strap. Our 4 year old gelding plays WAY too rough with the other two. My gelding is the angel of the bunch. All three horses are wearing their blankets in the midwest. They dont shift, nothing has ripped. All 3 stay dry during freezing rain, straps still attached. Even the hooks and closures have a small strip of material that covers the snap. This is important when removing the blanket thats covered in frozen mud. We are beyondpleased!!! Well done Smart Pak!!!! We are happy!
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed My horse had only worn this blanket for about 2 weeks when it tore. He never tore a blanket previously. When I called SmartPak I was told that the blanket had to be cleaned before it could be returned (about a $20 expense) and if not returned within 60 days of receiving I would be responsible for the return shipping. I expected a better quality blanket and a better response to the issue from a company that gives this product a 10-year indestructible guarantee.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this two months ago as a waterproof top layer, and I am so glad I did! It has held up beautifully to this year's crazy/rainy/slushy Vermont weather.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Turnout Wonderful turnout! Slightly big. Seems durable and moves with the horse.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good turnout sheet overall Only complaint with this sheet was that the piping has pulled out and torn in a few different spots, but it hasn't effected the sheet itself. Well constructed and has held up well alone and layered with a medium during a storm. If it weren't for the minor cosmetic issue with the piping, I wouldn't have any complaints!
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One major problem Problem on this and other Smart Pak blankets that I have purchased is the design of the front closures: the snaps ( which ALWAYS break) are stitched right into the straps. That makes it almost impossible to replace the snaps. Major design problem.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality! I was really impressed by this blanket's quality. It seemed a lot sturdier than the Saxony blanket I have as well as a little thicker. Unfortunately, it appeared to rub on my horses shoulders so I had to return it.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fits well, and seems comfortable for my horse. The blanket seems well made and so far is holding up very well. A very nice blanket for the price.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well as long as it doesn't rain too much This blanket looks great and fits my horse very nicely. I was very happy with it until it started raining hard. The water got in through the neck area and rolled down to the shoulders, chest and belly areas, which got soaked. Also, somehow everything was wet under the tail flap.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my pasture boarded gelding I splurged on this sheet for my OTTB gelding who is pasture boarded because of the 10-year guarantee. (He doesn't defend himself from others who intend to disrobe him). I arrived one day to find his tail flap had been removed and over the course of blanketing season, some of the trim had pulled off. Stitching holding the surcingle straps had also started to come loose. I contacted Smartpak and explained it to them - I quickly had a return label and just had to wash it and pack it up. A replacement showed up at my door not long after. Love Smartpak and this blanket!
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for my big shouldered Morgan! Love the shoulder gussets that are roomy for my big shouldered Morgan. Very durable and the color combo is classy!
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket 2nd winter, great blanket. Only a few rubs on some edges but nothing major. Waterproof and fits great. Not a fan of the neck hood but the blanket is excellent.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket I bought this blanket in August for my gelding that is very hard on blankets and I could not be happier. The look and fit is great and you cannot beat the 10 year warranty. My horse and his pasture mates have had fun destroying the matching hood but Smart Pak was great in the replacement process and sent a replacement right away. If your horse is hard on blankets I would highly recommend this product!!
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than anything else! I had been drooling over this blanket for about a year until I received one for Christmas! My mare was between sizes so I originally had the person who got it for me to size up and order an 81, but upon arrival it was huge and definitely did not fit. Sending it back was easy, and the new blanket took about two to three weeks to be delivered. The 78 fits my horse perfect, so I definitely suggest sizing down if your horse is in between sizes. With all of that aside, I absolutely love it! My previous amigo blanket lasted about two years, but I was endlessly having to stitch up tear after tear. This SmartPak Ultimate Turnout has lasted a few days now and I haven't had a single tear yet, which is a lot to say for my 5 year old! I'm incredibly excited about the 10 year guarantee because I know that eventually she will have her way with it and somehow tear it, especially because the geldings over the fence have an obsession with her. The medium weight is perfect for the weather we have, and has proven to keep her warm without overheating her. I'm not incredibly thrilled about the black color because her previous blanket was bright blue and I could always spot her in the pasture, which is especially handy in a big pasture, but I think I can live with it. Overall, I'm pretty excited to see how it holds up. Also, when the weather finally warms up and I have a chance to take it off this week, I'll be looking to see whether or not she's had any rubs, but this blanket is so well designed that I doubt it would rub her. The pictures attached are from her leaving her shed, braving the snow and wind to come and see me, and happily grazing. I think she loves it and I do too!
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely waterproof and durable! Just recently purchased this turnout blanket for my horse Casino. He can be a little hard on blankets at times but this product lives up to its name. Very durable and the waterproofing is, let's say, the Ultimate. On my next purchase I'm going to order a medium, high neck Ultimate. Out of all the horse blankets I've had that were short lived, so with a 10 year warranty, it's a "no brainier".Will be calling you soon Smartpak!!
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly well made- very robust material My horse is a 17.1 1500 pound thoroughbred and very hard on blankets. Fit can be an issue because he is big boned especially the shoulders but this turnout fits him well and I love the light weight even though it is a medium as it is eaasy for me to get on him(I sm 513).He rolls a lot and he and his friends play blanket tag and the material is invincible. I was a little skeptical about it lasting 10 years but not any more!
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another awesome SmartPak product! Excellent quality and fit. We purchased 4 of these blankets, 2 medium weight and 2 heavy weight, for our two yearlings from CA. They're doing the trick and we're so pleased we decided on the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout!
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! My horse is one of those guys that seems to find total entertainment in finding ways to destroy things and cost me as much money as possible. I don't usually blanket all winter long, as he isn't clipped, but there are really cold days/nights here when I do want to blanket.I've previously purchased Amigo for him and he's now tried to kill two of those. I received a gift certificate to SmartPak and thought it would be worthwhile to give a different blanket brand a try.Things I love about this blanket...1. It fits!2. It seems well made. The seams are all excellent and the buckles, snaps, straps and hardware work beautifully and easily.3. The closure at the chest is SO much better than the other blankets I've owned. It stays in place, doesn't fold over or come loose at the top buckle. Much better!4. The hind leg straps have some elastic so I've made them a little more snug and they stay nicely in place, the blanket stays in place and there's no more Houdini maneuvering by my horse to get the blanket off and stomp it to death.5. It's pretty!6. I bought the blanket on sale. I thought the price was fair and the shipping (speed) reasonable.Honestly I would like to buy this blanket for all 4 of my horses. As they wear out their current blankies... that is the plan!
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome STurdy Blanket I love that this blanket has a 10 year guarantee/warranty! It is a good canvas medium weight blanket with sturdy stitching and strong heavy duty clasps etc. It also breathes enough to put on a wet horse and she still dried out very well.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality! I Love this blanket. Quality all the way around! I'm exspecially impressed with the hardware.
Date published: 2016-01-13
  • 2016-08-26T12:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_426
  • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders