Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat

Item #13877
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keep your dog warm and dry this winter with our Thinsulate lined waterproof/breathable coat.

The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat's 220 grams of fill provide superior warmth while the 600 denier nylon shell is durable enough to withstand even the toughest play. The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat features VELCRO® brand chest and belly closures allow for easy on and off. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.
Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")



 

out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.755364806866953 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have one complaint. It seems to slide off to one side and not sit square on him. He has a goat coat and that sits perfectly square on him. Otherwise I am quite happy with his coat.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love coats! Who knew? This is a really great coat, so I just bought another one. Walking in the rain is usually a struggle because my dogs are weinies and would rather explode than get wet. It took my dog a few minutes to realize she wasn't getting wet, but the next time she was so excited to see me put on my raincoat she could barely stand still while I put hers on her. My other dogs love theirs too. They are excited to go out in the rain. (This was not normal, I assure you!) They did miss the rub down that used to be necessary after getting soaked, so we still do that afterwards, even though they no longer need it. I waited to write a review until after making an exchange, and it really could not have been any easier.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile coat Works great as a raincoat, light weight yet warm enough for a cold winter day
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog Jacket Around! Fits true to size and stays put on my super active Australian Cattle Dog.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not fit my dachshund- I went by measurements but did not fit my dachshund. I haven't had the issue before but the stomach velcro strap was too large and unable to be adjusted to fit him... had the velcro gone around further on the back, it would have been perfect. But he lost it within 5 minutes of me putting it on... so I haven't put it back on him. Also, it would be nice if the inside was fleece instead of raincoat on interior for comfort. He wears coats daily as he loves to go outside and play and this one only had protection from rain, but no warmth like his other ones. He is very cold natured but wants to go out... so the fleece interior would be of great benefit along with the added velcro to the back patch.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good looking I bought this for an older hound that was a bit chilled even in a warm doghouse. It is just enough to keep him toasty in cold weather. The fit is great and he is very happy and handsome in it !
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome coat! This dog coat is much sturdier (and higher quality) than anything you will find at a pet store! And with getting it on sale the price couldn't be beat! Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I have Smart Pak coats for both of my dogs. They are excellent quality and keep the dogs warm and dry. Very pleased with the look and durability of these coats.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size flexibility! I bought this for my quickly growing pitbull mix puppy, whose deep chest makes it very difficult to buy jackets for. The jacket was recommended to me by a friend, and I am very happy I went for it! The straps are long enough to fit around her neck and chest, and for her to grow into it, but the Velcro strip is also long enough that the long straps do not flop around or become cumbersome. My girl stays warm and dry whether rain or snow!
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and functional This is the 2nd equine coat I bought for my dog. It fits her like a glove, keeps her warm and looks stylish.
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pup loves it my dog won't go outside without it. She sees me pick it up and stands there until I put it on her. The fit it great as well
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality, super warm, but tough to size My doggie is mostly dachshund, and a recent rescue from Georgia, so when I saw this tough, warm little dog coat go on sale just as our Massachusetts winter was starting to come on, I figured she'd appreciate it if I ordered this for her!!!Being a doxie, she has a deep chest (for her small size) and is about 18" long, but only about 17 pounds. The measurements listed on the website made me think I needed a large, but I suspect what I was reading as a length measurement was actually a girth or surcingle measurement, because when the large arrived, it was closer to 30" long than the 18" I'd expected.I called customer service, and they weren't really sure what the listed measurements referred to- fair enough, as they could have answered horse blanket questions I haven't even imagined yet. So I sent it back, requested a medium, which fits my little pup just perfectly! It'll keep her warm and dry for years to come!
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good protection I bought this coat for a little added protection for our Black Lab. She loves to go goose hunting with my husband, but that early in the morning it can be pretty cold. This Thinsulate coat gives her just the right amount of warmth, without being to bulky or cumbersome to run out and retrieve the geese. She loves it, and so do I knowing she is warm when she leaves the house. (Also, she looks so sharp with her name on it..... makes the other dogs a little jealous they don't have a coat likeLady) Thumbs up and 5 star product.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog coat! I bought this for my Weim, Lyric. These dogs don't have a very thick coat like other hunting dogs so her waterproof blanket keeps her warm while she keeps me company when I'm riding.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought multiple sizes of this when it was on sale during 12 days of Christmas. I have a growing puppy and these coats are perfect for him! I get compliments on how nice he looks and I love that they're durable enough to hold up to romping around the barn! I've since ordered the next size up and that should fit him fully grown!
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great color and quality! Just ordered this item two days ago and it already arrived! My dog is a pitbull/greatdane mix so I was hesitant about ordering this online without actually having him try it out, but the XL is perfect fit. This item, like all of Smartpak's other items, is of great quality!
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog and I love it! Got this for my golden retriever. It is so great. Keeps him warm and dry on snowy or rainy days at the barn. Only thing I would change is making the belly strap adjustable. Other than that, it's perfect!
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome durabolity I bought it for my whippet lab mix who is very active and high energy. It holds up well when walking in the woods, and around the barn. She loves wearing it!
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought this for our 25 lb mixed breed after trying 5 or 6 different dog coats and this fits her great! The additional surprise is the quality of this, it's really made well and will last year's. Thanks Smartpack for another fine product!
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this coat! This is a great coat. It's so much less expensive than dog coats elsewhere and way better quality. The only thing I'd change, would be wider, softer belly strap or cross straps like on a horse blanket. But it still does the job.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat!!! My dog is very active and this coat is a great fit, love the Velcro and my dog actually likes wearing it!
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek & warm Such a well-made turn- out sheet! Just the thing for cool days & over a fleece liner on truly cold temps!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best there is I have always loved thinsulate coats. They last year after year on my extremely active dog. Hands down the best coat for keeping your dog warm and dry
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have three of these coats Coats keep my greyhound and whippets warm and dry.My dogs have long back measurements so I bought sizes accordingly - greyhound was XXX large and whippet are X large.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Fits my German Shorthair well. He is long and lean, and it stays in place. Keeps him warm while I'm in the barn.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from discharge fits my greyhound Great quality, keeps my greyhound warm and dry.measure your dog's back for correct size.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits every body type! I have bought several of these over the years for my dogs and daycare dogs too! We live in Maine, so having these jackets are a quick go to item that does it's job well. They wash and dry wonderful as well. My dogs say Thank Woo!
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat and Great Service From SmartPak This is a great dog coat. I've had one for my older dog for almost 7 years and it has held up very well. I was worried about the velcro holding up, but it has been just fine. I just bought one for my new rescue but I ordered the wrong size and had to send it back to SmartPak. I was expecting it to take a while for the exchange, but I got the larger size in the mail JUST TWO DAYS LATER!! I did not know it was even possible to process an exchange that quickly, and at no extra charge! A+ to SmartPak!
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fit yet I have purchased several coats for my 80lb boxer mix over the years and none have ever fit as well or stayed in place on him as well during walks. It keeps him warm and dry (though not warm enough for really frigid temps) and the colors are beautiful with his fawn coat. Best one we've bought so far!
Date published: 2015-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect doggy coat I bought this just in time for the winter, my lab mix is 50 lbs and the xl fits great. She is normal hot natured but with the snow this jacket was perfect and she loves it!
Date published: 2015-03-12
  • 2016-09-29T12:31CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_213
  • loc_en_US, sid_3877, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders