Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Oversize

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Customers Also Shopped For
Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine ...
Description:
Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine bright, beautiful colors. These stripes are thicker than most stick-on stripes available. The 8 ml. Thick vinyl helps resist the abuse of every day use. The color is not printed on the ...
The Canvas Personalized Tote Bag is the perfect ...
Description:
The Canvas Personalized Tote Bag is the perfect size to carry all your equestrian essentials! The price includes optional embroidery- customize the bag however you would like, just select "Get Started" above! Favorite Features 100% cotton canvas Contrasting handles Outside ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality ...
Description:
Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality memorial at a very affordable price. Crafted for indoor/outdoor use as a garden stone, placed beside an urn or displayed anywhere you want a special reminder of your dog. Our fine-grain black-finish ...
Big D leads are durable and long lasting. ...
Description:
Big D leads are durable and long lasting. Favorite Features Manufactured usingHeavy duty nylon and polypropylene for extra strength Exclusive bolt snap and chain are guaranteed not to breakSizing It Up 5/8" x 9'. Chain measures 30".
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
This Stable Board is hand crafted solid hardwood ...
Description:
This Stable Board is hand crafted solid hardwood and is Made in the USA! A classy addition to any barn. Favorite Features Available in Walnut or Cherry Stain Comes with hangers Available in showing & grooming, 12 lines 7 columns ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.8431372549019605 out of 5 by 255.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beautiful halter. Love the soft leather and the padding made this look just right on my very large Oldenburg's head.The custom nameplate turned out perfect.Excellent value.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful halter! I splurged on this halter for a show halter for my 16 hh TB/Hano cross. I got the blue and havana horse size customized with his show and barn names (barn name on second line). He usually is in between horse and cob sizes with his tiny nose and delicate features, but I measured the old nylon halter I've been using and compared to the measurements found in the Q&A section of the product description and the horse size was closest. When it came in, I see there is a TON of room for adjustments, especially around the nose. He would have fit in either one, I think. It looks beautiful on him (he is gray) and now I just need to find a lead to match. The blue has a very slight purple undertone; more like true blue than royal or navy, but it is really pretty. The leather is very soft out of the package and the engraving looks great. I might splurge on another one for use around the barn, it's just so nice.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Leather Halter I really liked that the halter was soft and ready to use right out of the box, no breaking in period. Looks fantastic on my handsome gelding, befitting to his majestic looks ha! :)
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I ordered this in Havana/Havana. I choose horse sized for my smaller paint. He is almost on the smallest size, but there is tons of room for adjustment at the crown for a bigger horse. The leather is nice and supple. I did put some leather conditioner on it and play with it a little and it got even softer. I personalized this with my horse's name as well. I love this halter and it looks so fancy without being over the top. I do a lot of group trail rides so I didn't want something too fancy, just a classic look. No problems with this halter so far!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter This halter fits well. Leather is nice and supple and requires little maintenance.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks sharp! I bought this halter a few weeks ago and love the classic look! It came already softened and fit true to size.
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this halter! I've been lusting after a nice, show-worthy leather halter for a long time, and I'm so glad I chose this one! I had pretty high standards for a SmartPak brand product, and this halter definitely delivers: the stitching is great, the leather is soft right out of the box, and the quality of the construction is fantastic! Not to mention, I added a nameplate to this halter, and it looks really sharp! Plus, I waited for a sale and got this halter for a great price. If you're looking for a high-quality, show-worthy halter, PICK THIS ONE!
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect halter I bought this halter recently an it fits my horse so well! I love the rolled throat latch. My horse has a fairly petite head so I went with the cob size. I couldn't be happier with it.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and beautiful. Halter was soft and beautiful right out of the box, which I greatly appreciate it. No break-in period. The leather is apparently high quality as are the fittings. My only niggle regarding the halter is that it runs large, so my average sized horse took a cob size halter. Still, I recommend this highly.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as Described I purchased this item a little over a month ago for my new horse. The halter is very nice; exactly as described and reviewed. The padding is soft and the leather is good quality. I bought a horse size for my 4 year old Oldenburg and it fits him well, with a little room to grow.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter I bought this halter a few weeks ago for my quarter horse gelding. The leather was soft and supple right out of the box. I purchased the halter in Havana and the color was beautiful! The adjustable chin strap and double buckle made for a great fit and the padding is soft and comfortable across his nose. I have already received a few compliments from my barn mates. I definitely recommend this halter!
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! Looks great, works great. Have gotten many compliments on it.
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Great halter! I will be ordering more for my other horses!Very fairly priced
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sharp looking halter Bought the black/red halter for my small black & white pinto jumper. Had it personalized for when she goes to a show. The hardware on the halter is silver and the added name plate matches. Nice leather - I didn't have to condition it.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality Just received my halter and its stunning. Super soft leather. Very well made. The stitching is meticulous. I ordered the black halter with brown padding and chrome hardware. I really wanted the chrome hardware and the combination of black and brown leather is stunning.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter with relly nice leather!e My horse seems to like it, and it does not rub his face
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! The cob size is gorgeous on my quarter horse mare, who has a very dainty head. The leather is very supple and soft right out of the box, although the buckles are very slightly hard to adjust to the very top hole due to the padding. The halter fits perfectly, and the padding is great for my horse, who gets rubs easily. If you get this halter, get it customized with engraving; smartpak does a gorgeous job of making the halter look beautiful.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft and comfy This is the second one I have bought as I loved the first one so much I bought another for my new mare
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Bought this amount a month ago and the leather is very supple. With new halters I usually have a hard time adjusting them because the leather is so hard. This halter required no break in time and looks great.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Quality Ive bought plenty of halters before and this one supersedes all of them! The quality is amazing the color is fabulous. I also purchased the nameplate and the engraving is beautiful. Won't be buying any other halters ever again! I opted for the cob size for my quarter horses head.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, Love the colors!!! I bought this halter about a month ago ,and I love the way it fits on WallE....
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter! I have been looking for a black leather halter with white padding for a long time and this is the nicest leather at the best price. It's very soft and supple and looks great on my horse. I'd recommend getting a nameplate and having SmartPak put it on for you. It looks super snazzy!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super fit for my quarter horse I first bought a similar halter at Dover but the horse size was too big. So I ordered the Cob size from Smart Pak. It was too small. Since I thought it was the same maker I almost didn't order the horse size through Smart Pak. Sooo glad I did! It fit's my Quarter Horse's head perfect! Although they look like similar makers, the one from SmartPak fits very different and is perfect!
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome feel and fit looks wonderful , her name plate adds a touch of class
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made, good quality very nice halter....I bought it for my Gypsy Vanner and it is nice enough to use for showing.; I'm very pleased.
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter! I bought two of these halters to replace 12 year old ones that were finally looking shabby. I'm very happy with the quality of the leather and fittings for the price.
Date published: 2015-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Absolutely in love with this halter! I've previously purchased SmartPak's double stitch halter and loved the quality and have always wanted this halter and had to wait for my color combination and size to be in stock. Love that the halter is butter soft out of the box (just like my other halter was). The turquoise is more of a teal, but it's still gorgeous! And the nickel name plate is a beautiful addition. I personally don't think that this halter runs small like a lot of the reviews state, as my gelding is in between a cob and a horse size and the cob fits him perfectly! Thanks for an amazing product, SmartPak!
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic halter for a fantastic price Great quality, very nice halter, can easily double as a barn and show halter!
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost too attractive for turnout:-) Love this halter. Fits well, nice soft leather and is very attractive. Unfortunately I had to replace the first one I purchased, as a pasture mate had a taste for the nose band. Lesson learned, too pretty for turnout:-)
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Padded Halter A really nice halter for the money. I have a thoroughbred/draft cross who has a rather nice head. He wears a regular horse size bridle so that is what I went with as far as size for the halter. It was a bit small, so we had to return it (easy!) for a warmblood size which fits perfectly. He is a bay and looks so handsome with the green lining.
Date published: 2015-06-01
  • 2016-10-01T12:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_247
  • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders