Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Oversize

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Customers Also Shopped For
Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine ...
Description:
Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine bright, beautiful colors. These stripes are thicker than most stick-on stripes available. The 8 ml. Thick vinyl helps resist the abuse of every day use. The color is not printed on the ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
Big D leads are durable and long lasting. ...
Description:
Big D leads are durable and long lasting. Favorite Features Manufactured usingHeavy duty nylon and polypropylene for extra strength Exclusive bolt snap and chain are guaranteed not to breakSizing It Up 5/8" x 9'. Chain measures 30".
Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality ...
Description:
Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality memorial at a very affordable price. Crafted for indoor/outdoor use as a garden stone, placed beside an urn or displayed anywhere you want a special reminder of your dog. Our fine-grain black-finish ...
The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what ...
Description:
The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love! Favorite Features Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face Soft ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle ...
Description:
The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle best seller! This versatile halter is perfect for show and daily work in the barn. The crown piece and noseband is padded withSoft fleece for your horse's comfort. Favorite Features Made fromSoft ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.837398373983739 out of 5 by 246.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! This is my third time buying this halter This time I bought the black and red It looks so good on my friesian! Really soft and well made
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saddlebred Bought for a friend and they like it. Going to use it for Show season
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Got the oversized for my dutch warmblood, looks and fits great, soft leather!
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I love this halter. It is so soft and fancy looking. My mom has the same one that she bought 4 years ago and hers has held up great and still looks amazing!
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this halter I am always hesitant about buying leather halters online in fear of getting them home and looking "cheap". Needless to say, there is not disappointment with this halter. I liked that I got to choose an underlay color for a pop of color and it doesn't look cheap! Fits true to size and seems like it will hold up well. I can't say if it is as durable as it looks as I've only used it once to try it. Can't wait to use it to kick off the first show of the season.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather and look I purchased this for my QH gelding and it fit perfect. The leather is great, no horrible smell like something made elsewhere. I absolutely love it
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter!!! I've had my halter for a few weeks now and am SO completely in love with it. The leather is great quality, butter soft, and strong. I got the black with purple underlay and it's just enough color to be a nice accent.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice leather. Good fit. Just beautiful! Bought this halter for my daughters horse, love the color choice, leather is high quality, great fit. It's just beautiful!
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! Purchased this a few weeks back, ans could not be happier. It's nicely padded, absolutely beautiful and very well made. the name plate adds a little touch of fancy that makes my handsome boy even more gorgeous. Love it
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price Bought this halter and am absolutely in love with the softness of the leather and the color. I was unsure as to the quality when I bought it thinking it would look "cheap" but it is a stunning and sturdy halter.
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter!!!! I bought this halter a few months ago and I can say that it's amazing!!! It was soft and subtle right out of the bag. I got the black leather and white padding, on my black Arabian it contrasted so well the other people at the barn were jealous. The cob size fit perfect for my Arabian, I didn't need to adjust anything. It is a little pricey, but the leather is so soft and it's very durable, in the end it's definitely worth it. I clean it with leather cleaner and conditioner and a damp paper towel for the padding.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value Great looking halter, very good fit and soft feel!
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it ! Great quality, even the leather shop commented on the quality of it when I had him put the name plate on it :)
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks super on my horse! Purchased this with personalization for my horse when we go to shows. Very nice quality, and even with two lines of text on the metal plate it is still easy to read.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I have been using this as his daily turn out halter since it arrived. If it gets dirty I wipe it with a damp cloth and it looks like new. The leather was soft and supple from day one and the cob size after adjustment fit my large pony just fine. I did put some weather proofing on it to protect the leather. My boy looks quite dapper in his new halter. The SmartPak logo on the buckle doesn't bother me a bit and the metal fixtures are good and strong. With care we hope to enjoy this halter for a good long time
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, soft leather!!! I bought this halter to replace a fairly new nylon halter that was cutting into his snout. I bought the Havana/Havana color, horse size and it fits perfectly and looks gorgeous! It is super soft and wearing it right away did not leave any rub spots. It cleans up really nicely with a little leather cleaner.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from padded leather halter Love it! Soft padding - good quality - reasonably priced!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing halter!!!! I got this about a month ago and I just love it, I got it with the black leather and white padding for my black Arabian and it looks stunning on him. I got a cob size for my Arabian, and most halter a don't fit him, surprisingly cob sizes, but this fit his well! I'd suggest this halter to anyone who wants the best for their horse, it is also really soft and subtle right out of the bag!!!
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter This halter is extremely nice. I bought it based off how soft and durable the leather is said to be in the reviews. I had a name plate added and the whole halter looks really good!
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!!!! I got this halter for my gelding . I Got a cob and fits him perfect! very soft right out of the bag! Love it!
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Love this. Fit my thorough bred perfect and quality is outstanding.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beautiful halter. Love the soft leather and the padding made this look just right on my very large Oldenburg's head.The custom nameplate turned out perfect.Excellent value.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful halter! I splurged on this halter for a show halter for my 16 hh TB/Hano cross. I got the blue and havana horse size customized with his show and barn names (barn name on second line). He usually is in between horse and cob sizes with his tiny nose and delicate features, but I measured the old nylon halter I've been using and compared to the measurements found in the Q&A section of the product description and the horse size was closest. When it came in, I see there is a TON of room for adjustments, especially around the nose. He would have fit in either one, I think. It looks beautiful on him (he is gray) and now I just need to find a lead to match. The blue has a very slight purple undertone; more like true blue than royal or navy, but it is really pretty. The leather is very soft out of the package and the engraving looks great. I might splurge on another one for use around the barn, it's just so nice.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Leather Halter I really liked that the halter was soft and ready to use right out of the box, no breaking in period. Looks fantastic on my handsome gelding, befitting to his majestic looks ha! :)
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I ordered this in Havana/Havana. I choose horse sized for my smaller paint. He is almost on the smallest size, but there is tons of room for adjustment at the crown for a bigger horse. The leather is nice and supple. I did put some leather conditioner on it and play with it a little and it got even softer. I personalized this with my horse's name as well. I love this halter and it looks so fancy without being over the top. I do a lot of group trail rides so I didn't want something too fancy, just a classic look. No problems with this halter so far!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter This halter fits well. Leather is nice and supple and requires little maintenance.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks sharp! I bought this halter a few weeks ago and love the classic look! It came already softened and fit true to size.
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this halter! I've been lusting after a nice, show-worthy leather halter for a long time, and I'm so glad I chose this one! I had pretty high standards for a SmartPak brand product, and this halter definitely delivers: the stitching is great, the leather is soft right out of the box, and the quality of the construction is fantastic! Not to mention, I added a nameplate to this halter, and it looks really sharp! Plus, I waited for a sale and got this halter for a great price. If you're looking for a high-quality, show-worthy halter, PICK THIS ONE!
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect halter I bought this halter recently an it fits my horse so well! I love the rolled throat latch. My horse has a fairly petite head so I went with the cob size. I couldn't be happier with it.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and beautiful. Halter was soft and beautiful right out of the box, which I greatly appreciate it. No break-in period. The leather is apparently high quality as are the fittings. My only niggle regarding the halter is that it runs large, so my average sized horse took a cob size halter. Still, I recommend this highly.
Date published: 2015-10-09
  • 2016-08-31T11:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_238
  • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders