Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Oversize

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
Description:
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
The Rockin' SP Custom Overlay halter has been ...
Description:
The Rockin' SP Custom Overlay halter has been designed specifically to fit Quarter Horses and other like stock breeds! Perfect for turnout and around the barn. Your horse will be as comfortable as ever with a halter made for his ...
The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle ...
Description:
The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle best seller! This versatile halter is perfect for show and daily work in the barn. The crown piece and noseband is padded withSoft fleece for your horse's comfort. Favorite Features Made fromSoft ...
Use this stall nameplate to coordinate with your ...
Description:
Use this stall nameplate to coordinate with your barn colors. 2" x 8" plastic stall nameplate in red, navy blue, black, or hunter green (all with white letters). Comes with a holder so you can change nameplates easily. Two lines ...
Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
Description:
Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter isSoft to the touch for both horse and handler and the 8' detachable lead is the perfect length. Favorite Features Made fromSoft, two-toned, diamond braided rot-resistant poly ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.839506172839506 out of 5 by 243.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality! Beautiful halter, very nice quality leather. So nice to have a beautiful halter to put on him for special events
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter. We have 7 of these halters. Quality leather and craftsmanship,they look great and last forever.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I recently purchased this halter to replace a similar padded colored halter. I was very impressed with the quality of it and am happy I purchased it!
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I bought the black on brown leather halter with personalization and absolutely love it! The leather is great quality and I love that SmartPak attached the name plate to the halter for me. I am very pleased with my purchase and have already shown it off to multiple family members.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks awesome on my black horse I bought the black halter with white padding and it really pops on my black horse. The leather is really good quality and my horse and I are very happy with the halter!
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant halter! Bought this for a friend who has just purchased a fancy dressage horse--needed a fancy halter to match. Purchased this in black with a silver nameplate and the resultis quite stunning! Bought the wrong size initially and had to exchange for a larger size and have the halter plate changed ---no problem for Smartpak customer service--excellent as always!
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! Great quality, nice looking halter. Horse size fits my fine boneDutch warmblood perfectly.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Love how well made it is and how soft right out of the bag
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Elegant Halter Beautiful quality. Wish the fittings were brass instead of stainless steel so the name plate would match.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality! After searching for months to find the perfect halter for my picky tastes I finally did! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this halter. It is beautiful and excellent quality. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! As a trainer I love this halter! It is comfort during gentling and starting as a halter can be scary to an untouched horse. I train with an ideal that I want to horse to willing do what I ask without pain. This halter is strong and soft without correcting like others and allows me to do the training not the halter. I own several of these in all sizes and each one of my personal mustangs have one!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking The halter looks great. I have been using it for about a month and it seems durable.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! This halter is attractive and fits well with no rubbing.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best halter I've ever purchased! I love the padding, the soft leather and the overall look and fit. It is the best halter I've purchased for my mare; and the black and white looks fab with her coloring.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a gift and she loved it Thanks for offering the fun colored padding. My sister loved it!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter, nice price. I bought one of these halters for each of my horses. The first to come was black and turquoise and it looked terrific on my Palamino Paint's face. It was beautiful and very well made for the price. I liked it so much that I bought a second one.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Beautiful padded leather halter. Love the contrasting colors
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter, great price I bought the turquoise/black halter for my Palamino Paint. Not only did it look great, but the quality was excellent. I was so satisfied that I bought a second one in red/black for my buckskin the following week !
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The padding is a nice soft leather, Don't have photo- could possibly send a couple this afternoon, since I bought a black cob size and it would be good for others to see the fit on a long nosed horse. She is a six year old Hanoverian mate.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect halter! I absolutely LOVE this halter! The quality is wonderful and it fits my horse perfectly because it's so adjustable! The engraving team at smartpak was also able to handle my request of having one line bigger than the other lines. I would highly recommend this product. Crossing my fingers smartpak starts making the matching lead in the black and turquoise colors.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I ordered this for my OTTB Bay gelding. He looks wonderful in this and the leather is so soft on his head. The Name plate I had done was beautiful and really shows off the halter which was Black/Havanna.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Great Quality! I absolutely LOVE this halter. Having the ability to adjust both sides of the crown and around the noseband gave the halter a custom-type fit for my 16.2hh TB. The hardware seems durable and attractive, the leather is nice quality and I was pleased with the color (I bought the brown with royal blue padding).
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and strong! I got this for my birthday about a year ago and not only does it stay soft year round but it's strong and looks great too. I got her name on it with a personalized name plate and i personally love it. It fits her head nicely, as it's a horse size, and it seems to run true to size. I would really recommend this halter for any kind of use.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! It's very pretty! It's comfortable with the padding and very adjustable.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple, gorgeous, and durable Purchased for myself and again later for a friend in another color. The leather is durable and can withstand some tough love while still being gorgeous. Got Havana with blue and black with purple both with name plates. Pricey but worth it.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice padding! Love it with the name plate. A very nice Halter that works well on a qhorse
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality and details! I bought this as a "special occasions" halter for my horse and loved it as soon as I put it on him. Great quality!
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! This is my third time buying this halter This time I bought the black and red It looks so good on my friesian! Really soft and well made
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saddlebred Bought for a friend and they like it. Going to use it for Show season
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Got the oversized for my dutch warmblood, looks and fits great, soft leather!
Date published: 2016-03-14
  • 2016-08-24T11:23CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_235
  • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders