Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Dog Collar

Item #20838
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing dog
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Dog Collar is Amish made, soft padded leather dog collar.  The Havana color collars have brass hardware and the black color collar has stainless steel hardware.  

Small: 3/4" x 16" - fitting dogs with 10 - 13" necks, Medium: 1" x 21" - fitting dogs with 12 - 16" necks, Large: 1.25" x 25" fitting dogs with 16" - 20" necks, X-Large: 1.25" x 31" fitting dogs with 20 - 25" necks

Made in the USA


Customers Also Shopped For
Oratene Brushless Toothpaste Gel contains natural Bio-Active Enzymes ...
Oratene Brushless Toothpaste Gel contains natural Bio-Active Enzymes that effectively inhibit harmful odor-causing bacteria and remove plaque. Favorite Features Clear gel form provides long lastingProtection to the teeth and gums Should be used as part of a pet's daily oral ...
The Weaver Leather Sundance Leash coordinates perfectly with ...
The Weaver Leather Sundance Leash coordinates perfectly with the Sundance Collar! The Sundance Collection is crafted from brown skirting leather oiled for a rich color to bring out the beautiful heart border stamped tooling. Scalloped edges and antique copper berry ...
Barkworthies Natural Beef Bon Bons are bite-sized, all-natural, ...
Barkworthies Natural Beef Bon Bons are bite-sized, all-natural, grain-free treats made from free-range, grass-fed beef liver. High in protein and low in fat, these fully digestible morsels are a tasty and safe alternative to rawhide or other high-ingredient treats.Containing no ...
earthbath Tooth and Gum Wipes are the easy ...
earthbath Tooth and Gum Wipes are the easy and convenient solution to keeping your pet's mouth clean from plaque, tartar and odor-causing bacteria. This totally natural formula is free of parabens, alcohol, and other nasties that don't belong in your ...
Forget the heat! Whole Life combines Greek yogurt, ...
Forget the heat! Whole Life combines Greek yogurt, fresh raw fruits and vegetables and ground flax seed as the foundation for Living Treats. Instead of cooking, Whole Life avoids nutrient loss by freeze drying, which allows them to maintain the ...
This flavorless concentrate is added daily to drinking ...
This flavorless concentrate is added daily to drinking water to provide the safest, healthiest way toconveniently keep teeth clean without brushing. Features two patented enzyme systems: the LP3 Enzyme System AND the MD2 Enzyme System (Mutanase + Dextranase). Together, they ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Dog Collar is rated 4.662337662337662 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple Leather, Looks Sharp I bought two of these almost 2 months ago, one for my Australian Shepherd and one for my Healer/Pointer/Hound mutt. They look super nice, the name tags stay on top of the collar, and the leather is a very good quality. I got them both a large, I probably could have gotten a medium but I just put a band around the excess end. My dogs spend a lot of time swimming and these collars seem to be holding up to the water well. I just used some tack cleaner/ conditioner for the first time and they look great. Plus, they match my horse!
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Beautiful leather, adjustable sizing, nice finished looked. Terrific buy for the price.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality and value These are made by Perris and are of nice leather quality. The leather is already soft and broken in.... I did condition it lightly with one of my saddle soap/conditioners cause I'm a leather snob :) I have one in the blue advertised on my yellow lab and one in bright green ... They no longer sell on my black lab. I bought a large for my 65lb labs and they fit right in the middle. A couple notches bigger if they gain weight and extra notches to go tighter if needed. The blue is slightly brighter then advertised.... They photo I attached is true to color. :) I also had them engrave his name and my number too... Excellent. Arrived quickly wven with engraving.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality but... I got the large size and it was way to big for my dog. The collar itself is pretty decent quality for the price. However, the width of the collar is pretty wide, so I was surprised when I saw the plate & that the engraving on the plate looks pretty weak. I feel like it's worth the money but is one of those items you should see in person prior to buying.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but did the money! Beautiful collars! Great buy for the price. I wish the name plates were a little bigger on the larger sizes. We have two!
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality collar I bought the Havana and green collar for my yellow lab. Love the quality and the price. I had a name plate added and the collar looks smashing on my girl.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Name plate wasn't centered for pony club fit Collar and name plate are great but name plate isn't put right in the middle.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this handsome and quality collar! Both of my pups are sporting these collars. Our 80lb yellow lab has had a green/havana Large sized collar, which fits perfectly and has held up very well in the 1.5 years he's worn it. The collar broke in well and looks very handsome.Our 90lb golden retriever also wears a large in the blue/havana. It just arrived this week and it is also a perfect feet.Both nameplates have the dogs' names and our phone numbers and they are easy to read nicely done.I would recommend this collar to anyone looking for a high quality, handsome and affordable collar for their pup!
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful collar I bought this for my Shih Tzu who is really picky about collars. Most of them are too thick or have something itchy on the inside and she will keep scratching at it. No this one! This collar is soft and narrow enough for her and it looks amazing even after wearing it to the barn and playing in the mud and puddles.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality for the price! I bought the older version of this collar for my parents' lab about 8-9 years ago. It was just starting to come apart at the rivets, so I decided to do an upgrade. The new design with the d-ring is smart and functional. It definitely runs larger and I'll probably need to scrounge up a second keeper so the end doesn't flop around as much. The nameplates are smaller and thinner now -- not ideal on an XL but not a deal breaker. I preferred the older version, but this one is still fantastic quality and a ridiculous price. You'd pay $40+ for something like this in a non-equestrian retailer. Horse people know their leather goods!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cute Collar The collar turned out great, this one fits a little larger than the same type of padded collar I bought for my other dog (4 years ago); but SmartPak was extremely helpful with getting the size exchanged and sending me a new one!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful collar I bought this a few months ago for my 60lb husky. He is a 16" neck, and is thus right on the cusp of sizing between M and L. I initially ordered a L after talking with customer support, but when the collar arrived it looked very big on him, both in terms of the leather and in fit, at the tightest hole it was still looser than I like, and I prefer slightly loose collars so it doesn't smash his fur too much. I very easily exchanged it, and the M is perfect. It sits very nicely at the second to loosest hole. The quality of the leather is wonderful; not stiff at all, the padding is buttery soft, no break-in period was needed. I love the run-through D design as it is much more durable than typical buckle collars, as pressure from the leash goes through the length of the collar rather than putting force directly on the buckle and hole. The only thing I'm not thrilled with (a very minor thing) is that I wish the D ring were slightly larger. If you use a leash a lot (having a husky with a non-fenced yard, I do), the D ring is just small enough that you have to hunt for it and clip the leash a little more carefully. Like I said, it's a very minor thing.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Pup! My Brittany, Ryder, has allergies and my vet suggested trying a leather collar so allergens can't absorb and rub on his neck. I spoil my boy and loved the idea of a padded leather collar! With the price of this product- I couldn't pass it up! I got the brown/green in medium and it's the perfect fit! Next time I may get his name engraved, but I feel that it'll be a while before he needs a new one- the quality is great!
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great collar for the price. Looks like it should cost more than it did. Soft and comfy. The large fit my 100lb American Bulldog perfectly.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather I bought this a month ago and so far am very happy. The leather is nice and the stitching is holding up well. The leather was a little stiff and hard to break in, but after conditioning a couple of times is fine.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice leather Put together very well and beautiful leather. (I bought the black on black). The sizes varied more than I thought. I originally bought a medium which to me seemed more like a large. It fits my huskee. I then purchased a small which fits my smaller sized standard poodle on the last hole.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Collar This collar is amazingly soft. The leather is beautiful and supple. I have gotten several complements on this collar. By far the best leather collar I have gotten for my dog. The name plate is also great. It is easy to read and looks very nice on the collar.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very soft VERY impressed with the quality of this item. Much better than expected. However, only reason for 4 stars, not 5.... why would this not have free returns, as it is a sized item? Crazy. Fits my dog on last hole and needless to say, will be making it work. :)
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful collar! I recently bought this collar for my dog. Her neck measures 16.5" at the widest part so I was unsure of whether to get a size medium or a size large so I asked SmartPak customer service. They were fantastic as usual. The representative measured the collar for me and let me know the sizing. She said from the end of the buckle to the loosest hole measures 19" on the size medium and there are holes every inch from 15" to 19". Therefore she recommended I stay with a size medium. It fits my dog perfectly! When my dog wears it on the last hole it's too loose so she wears it on the second to last hole and it fits just right. I LOVE this collar. It's very soft right out of the package, is holding up very well, and looks beautiful. I have gotten so many compliments on this collar! The only thing to note is that the name plate is small. It looks fine on a size medium collar, but when then collars go up in sizing and get wider then the name plate will definitely look small and out of proportion.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor fit I purchased this collar for my lab. Measured three times and followed the sizing chart. Arrived and too large. Unfortunately though a size item did not qualify for the guaranty of sized items free shipping for exchange. So I sent it back and for the same price bought one of better quality from a local merchant.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS COLLAR Great collar, super soft, the padding is great, size runs true, got the large and it is the perfect width. Also purchased with the leather lead and both look and function great, Got the personalized nameplate and everyone comments how sharp it looks and asks where I got it. GREAT PRICE
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful collar This collar is beautiful, especially with the customization. Looks and feels very comfortable for my pup as well.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One year later and this collar this looks great! I bought this collar for my very active English Pointer a year ago. He wears it daily running out in the horse's paddock and in the woods. It has been completely soaked by the rain many times and is no worse for the wear. This collar still looks amazing and has held up great.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome I bought one for my dog two years ago. It's held up great but I wanted to get him a new color this year!
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product, good price! Speedy delivery and nice quality product. The engraved nameplate looks really nice and sizes according to scale
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth Price I bought this collar a size smaller based on the reviews, however, it is true to size. I had to return it, & even with the name plate on it, Smartpak made it a truly hassle free experience. The collar and name plate are very handsome!
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The collar came quickly and was true to size. It looks great on my dog and the personalized panel really adds to the look of the collar.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable collar This is the 2nd collar I have purchased.Good quality .
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very classy Sizes run large. Beautiful, soft leather. Well made. Only four stars because the nameplate is small Exchange for sizes was easy with mailing label inside box.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful collar I bought this collar for my lab after his old leather collar was subjected to a good roll on a dead animal... Gross! The halter I had previously gotten for my horse was awesome, so I decided to order this collar as well.The quality of the leather and the look of this collar is outstanding. My only complaint was that the size chart was off. We got an extra large, but really only needed a large. I could have returned it, but didn't feel like waiting, so we just punched an extra hole. Overall I am extremely happy with the product. Another win for Smartpak!
Date published: 2014-12-02
  • 2016-10-26T13:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_10838, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders