Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

- Item #19916
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

Customers Also Shopped For
High quality,Heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with ...
High quality,Heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. 42 inches long. Hole Dimensions 6"x6" *Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a ...
Tough Duratex Professional Choice Trailer Corner Feeder boasts ...
Tough Duratex Professional Choice Trailer Corner Feeder boasts a 1,000 denier mesh bottom and comes complete with 3 double-endedHeavy-duty snaps. Dust and debris fall through the mesh so you can be sure your horse won't be breathing it! The mesh ...
The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra ...
The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay. Favorite Features Easy-to-fill Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top Long adjustable ...
A hay bale on wheels! Rolling Bale Bag ...
A hay bale on wheels! Rolling Bale Bag is the easiest way to transport hay bales - a must have for traveling. Keeps the hay in and dirt out. Favorite Features Durable nylon shell Heavy duty zipper top Grommets allow ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.370526315789474 out of 5 by 475.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works . I'm using it on a hay hoop. It slows down eating and saves hay.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have been using these small hole hayfeeders for about two weeks now. My two elderly horses, both with Cushings disease, cannot be on pasture, so their forage is an alfalfa mix hay, previously dispensed in their hay racks. The hay is pricey and having to toss half of their ration away after every feeding was quite frustrating - being elderly, they can no longer chew as well, so they would grab huge mouthfuls and gum it to death, only to spit it out and grab another mouthful. They would leave a large pile of uneaten, wet, soggy hay covered in flies. I switched to using the SmartPak small hole hay nets, and now I am cleaning up maybe a small forkful of wasted wet hay instead of half a flake. I did have to teach them how to use the nets by pulling some hay part-way out of several of the holes, but they caught on quickly. They pull small bits at a time, which allows them to actually chew the hay and swallow it since their mouths aren't stuffed full. One of my horses has a chronic throat obstruction which causes him to choke. His episodes of choking have already diminished. In his case, I keep the hay net lower so that he doesn't have to reach up for it. I also make it easier on my old guys by securing the bottom of the net so that it is more stable. If they were younger, I would let the bag swing for added 'slow-down'. I find these nets extremely easy to fill. I place the net inside a muck bucket and stretch the opening over the rim. I fluff my horses' hay first before filling the net to make it easier for them to extract the strands through the holes. I am really hoping that the durability issue of these nets has been addressed by the manufacturer as they are currently working out very well for me. My only suggestion at this time for improvement would be for the thicker hanging rope at the opening to be made of a constrasting color which would make it that much easier to work with.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This worked perfectly! My chubby pony started to gobble his hay in a matter of minutes, so, i decided to get him a slow feeder hay-net. This hay net worked excellent! It took him about an hour to eat 2 flakes when before it took him 20min to eat 2 flakes With my old haynet.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product, but not durable enough. I bought this about 2 months ago to help keep my stall-bound horse occupied while he recovers. It definitely slowed down his eating and kept him occupied, but he has already ripped a fairly large hole in it. I will be buying another one since they're not that expensive, but I wish they held up better!
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really SMART! Deserve to be called the best!! I have a pony named Chubbs, who can eat 2 flakes in less then 10 min (which I think you already thought of because of the name ;)), I have tried a square hay net trying to solve the problem, and it did- he ate his hay within 15-20 minutes, which I was NOT satisfied with. Plus he kept throwing his head up while wanting to get to the hay (holding the net with his teeth), and that has made a huge noise on the metal fence.. So I decided to try this product, and I'm so happy that I did! First and foremost, the small holes are keeping him busy for a longer amount of time, he eats his hay in like 2 hours now, maybe even more. When he tosses his head the net actually goes with him until he gets his hay out, which doesn't make a loud banging noise on my fence, which, of course, I'm happy not to hear. Plus the big opening makes it easier to load hay and I really LOVE how I can fill only partly, and it will still look perfect and do the job (unlike the square net I had before), the net shapes to the amount of hay so I don't have to fill it to the top and it will still work. I like the material, I like how durable it was. Overall I really like this product and recommend it to everyone, will be buying 2 or 3 more for myself :)
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good size, durable material I wanted to find a haynet with smaller holes than the current one I'm using, but not so small as to frustrate my mare - this seems to fit the bill pretty well!
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointment I purchased this and it didn't even last one trailer ride of less then an hour before is was eaten through.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net Use them exclusively at horse shows. Great as it slows their eating down, so you can keep something in front of them to interrupt the boredom. Keeps your stall at shows much cleaner. Saves on hay.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for the money My horse loves this hay net. The small holes allow him to eat slowly with less waste.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago and am very happy with it! As compared to other hay nets, the fabric is soft but durable and doesn't irritate my horses' muzzle. The price was right - free shipping and $15.00 off as I have been a customer for one year. I love Smartpak! I love the free shipping as a SmartPak perks customer.
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the same quality as my previous purchase This is a great hay net for a horse who needs to slow down and not bolt their hay. It is a tough and long-lasting design, and the small mesh works perfectly for my big gelding. My only complaint is that the composition of the tie-string has changed. Compared to the same hay nets I purchased last year, these tie-strings are more difficult to manage and knot into place. Everything else is great, and I would recommend this hay net for its design and durability.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice intro to slow hay feeding This bag has holes that are a nice size for a horse getting accustomed to slow hay feeding. A great addition to the product line up would be a larger size net, about twice as big, with about one inch size holes for the more experienced slow feed horse.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boredom breaker I've had this net for a couple of weeks. I have a 14.3 hand sport pony that detests stall time. He scarfs through his hay...them occupies his time by rubbing his tail.I'm happy to say that the net slows him down and keeps hay in front of him at all times while stalled. And the tail rubbing has stopped. So I'm a big fan of the smart pak small hole hay net. As is Stormy.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as Advertised I have used this for a few weeks outside in the barnyard to keep my two from devouring hay in the first few minutes, then left with nothing. It does slow them down considerably, but not so frustrating as to deter them. I like the size, but would prefer rings or something around the opening to make it easier to load. It tends to collapse on itself and is a bit frustrating. So far so good. It's holding up okay.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durability is questionable Works well to slow down intake of my hay hoover; however, after two months of use it is starting to fray.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from holds a lot It's bigger than I expected. It holds nearly a whole small bale of hay. Keeps my boy on stall rest busy for hours on end.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent item Bag works quite well for its purpose,a little difficult to fill
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to use! I have a young horse on stall rest and I was needing a hay net to keep him occupied during the day so he would go crazy. This hay net has worked great. I can easily fill it and the holes are the perfect size to allow him to slowly 'graze'
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good start I bought this a month ago my 5 yr old has chewed through a few holes already but easy fix tie a few knots and your good to go. I think this is a good start to slowing down your horses eating.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicest hay net I ever owned! Well, I have to admit, both my horses are alittle too chubby (hubby & I call them fluffy!) So a slow feeder hay net for turn out is a must. It takes them alot longer to go through their hay during the day. Now we have to be patient, cut down on goodies, and see if their diets do the trick!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy I made this purchase This hay net is easy to fill and tie up in the trailer. Helps keep them nibbling on the hay instead of scattering it everywhere. Seems durable and strong. Good value.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good. I bought this for horse shows. It seems to be safe and working well, but I still prefer the old cotton ones.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this HAY BAG!!! Very nice roomy hay bag with easy open top for filling. Extra strong cords for netting. Now have 5 and they are the best thing ever at my barn!!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is really a great product. I bought this product a couple of months ago and it is has been terrific. It really slows my mare down in her hay eating, and cuts WAY down on waste, as she was the queen of wasting hay.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect slow feed size for miniature horses Just right for miniature horses and high quality !
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! We have bought a few of these. Love them for travel or slowing the ponies down from mowing through hay quickly.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from useless First let me say that I have had MANY wonderful products from SmartPac so no reflection on them! This hay bag did not even last 1 hour!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this. It slows my fat horses down. So the hay can last longer.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase! It does what you said it would. It slows them down. Just wish it wasn't so hard to fill.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice net for the price. I bought this net to replace the net on my free up feeder. The net is a good size and fits on the existing holder that I have, the holes are small enough to slow my horse down. I've only been using the net for a few weeks so I can't say whether its going to hold up in the long run. I also would prefer that this net was cotton rather than nylon but this was a sufficient replacement at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2016-04-22
  • 2016-10-26T12:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_447
  • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders