Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

SmartPak
- Item #19916
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

Customers Also Shopped For
High quality,Heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with ...
Description:
High quality,Heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. 42 inches long. Hole Dimensions 6"x6" *Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a ...
Tough Duratex Professional Choice Trailer Corner Feeder boasts ...
Description:
Tough Duratex Professional Choice Trailer Corner Feeder boasts a 1,000 denier mesh bottom and comes complete with 3 double-endedHeavy-duty snaps. Dust and debris fall through the mesh so you can be sure your horse won't be breathing it! The mesh ...
The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra ...
Description:
The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay. Favorite Features Easy-to-fill Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top Long adjustable ...
A hay bale on wheels! Rolling Bale Bag ...
Description:
A hay bale on wheels! Rolling Bale Bag is the easiest way to transport hay bales - a must have for traveling. Keeps the hay in and dirt out. Favorite Features Durable nylon shell Heavy duty zipper top Grommets allow ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.3739316239316235 out of 5 by 468.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest Net to Load! I use these as replacement nets for my collapsible hoop hay feeders. The holes are small enough to slow them down and helps eliminate waste. The large opening on this net makes it the easiest net to load that I've ever used. I can fit 4 solid flakes in it really easily.
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the right size and easy to fill. Been using the Small Hole Hay Net for about three weeks, and love it.
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used these for years now I have used this net ever since my horse was put on stall rest years ago. She needed an entire bale of hay a day, split into two feedings. Problem was shed Hoover up her half of a bale in less than two hours! Enter this hay net- perfect solution. Slow grazing all day long between her grain feedings. And trust me I know how long it took her to get through it since I stayed with her 18 hours a day every day for a year.I now use these nets exclusively (except for the mini pony, who could probably fit in this net!). I have never been dissatisfied until this last order i received. Net was destroyed within 3 months when normally they last at least 6. The net I ordered before this last one survived for A YEAR.I LOVE this net. I still ordered new owned despite the 3 month life of the last hay net. It keeps the ravenous beasts slow and they can last half a day for my girls, if the net is filled properly.I hope the quality goes back up, or maybe I just got a bad one. These nets are great despite what happened to my last one. I couldn't say enough nice things about them.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as durable as I would have hoped. One part had the strings tied together like they forgot to knot it properly so I had two ends sticking out my horse could easily grab. She's already chewed through one square in less than two months. I use this net in rotation with two others (not from SmartPak) for night time feeding. The other nets have held up better. Not a bad hay net, just not the greatest.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Small holes are great - Durability, not so much I had this out for a few days with my gelding who wants to eat everything in sight; apparently, that also means chewing holes in the corners of the bag. I think I will need to try one without corners and see if it lasts longer. I do love the small holes, though - perhaps the frustration from them, though, is what led to him chewing on the bag rather than his feed. while it doesn't work for my horse as well as I would like, I believe it may work for others and I would recommend this bag for its price.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome small hole hay net Perfect hay net for my easy keeper/fast eater. This slows him down a bit and keeps him entertained. I use it everyday, feeding 3x/day and it has held up very well.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Barn Must Have! I use this haynet everyday for my mare. I hang it in her stall at night to minimize the amount of hay she throws around her stall and then won't eat. And then I use it in her turnout paddock so she has something to nibble on while she's out, and it keeps the hay nice even in snow/slush/mud. The small hole net is wonderful because it doesn't let much hay fall out and make a mess. The only negative I've found is that the twine of the net isn't the hardiest and starts to separate after a little while.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these hay bags. Bought these a couple months ago and I really like them. They are made stronger than some of the others I've used & the holes are smaller so it keeps them occupied longer. :)
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hay net out there, hooves down! I have a very easy keeper, who thinks he is starving all of the time. I bought this hay net to extend his munching time. I love this hay net! The wider opening really helps in loading hay into, its a breeze! The longer rope allows me to tie it off a rail and best of all, my horse has to concentrate on eating instead of being a vacuum. He doesn't appear to be in "starvation" mode at feeding time. Hooves down, love this product!!
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the work This one has openings really too small for my horse to stick his foot in, which he was doing on a regular basis before. Seems strong enough to last for 2 days, we'll see how it fares long term.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect amount of hay, you can also load less if y This is the 2nd set of hay nets I have purchased, the 1st set was around 3 years ago, so they last plenty long. I prefer to leave hay for my horses, but don't want them to eat too fast!
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small hole hay bag Hay bag is durable but I hoped it would slow my mares eating down and it did not
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work great, last longer. Just hung these up on my fence mounted metal hay bag holders (sorry don't remember name ) but they fit great and hold up longer than the less expensive ones. I had bought one before the sale to test it out and it has held up at least twice as long as the less expensive ones. Worth the extra couple bucks.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Durability I'm a little disappointed; the horse has been able to rip/enlarge the openings rather easily and I have had to repair the net 4/5 times already. It holds a good amount of hay though and is relatively easy to fill. In a pinch, I would recommend this product while pursuing other alternatives.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect purchase for my boys recovery After impaction surgery introducing hay super slowly back to my boy. Needed a way to slow done how quickly he loves to eat his hay and this works perfectly. A flake takes him 3 hours to nibble through.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent to slow down the consumption of hay and to keep it off the ground
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Saves Hay Waste This hay net does prevent waste of hay being pulled out and put on the floor but my horse gets rather frustrated because he can't get the hay out and then gets really unsettled. It is a good product, just realize what you are getting into and that your horse may get frustrated with not being able to get more than a string of hay at a time.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The quality is lacking, and it looks like it will fray easily.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haysaver This is a great hay net for the trailer, greatly reducing the amount of hay ending up on the floor!
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loved at first, but the honeymoon wore off These are easy to fill and hold a good amount of hay. I loved that the openings were much smaller than the standard 2"x2". This really slowed my mares down....until the nets started falling apart. The nylon frays and breaks, the knots come undone, and the next thing you know, there is a perfectly sized hole that their entire muzzle fits though.I spent a lot of time doing patch work with baling twine, but I'm replacing these as soon as I can.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great net! I bought these nets to help eliminate a mess on the ground, they are great! It take 5-6 hours for the horses to eat what used to take half hour. I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I now have 5 of these so I can preload them. I think 1 time a knot came out but just retied. I use a carabiner or clip to loop around a post. Holds plenty of hay, several flakes. I drape it over a garbage can & it holds the opening so I can load at ease. Love these.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kind of hay net This net is big enough to hold 2-3 flakes of my hay and has a sturdy draw rope. I like a "flat" bottom like this one has instead of a ring at the bottom. I liked it well enough that I'm buying another. I just wish there were other color choices besides black.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this hay bag! Well made product, easy to use. Keeps my horses happy and occupied while saving on hay- no wasted hay anymore!
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made Quality better than others I have bought. Also a little longer so flake fits in without having to fold it over. Tie cord at the top is good quality but too thin. Would be better if it was 3/8 inch instead of 1/4 inch. The ends of the cords eventually start to fray and it would be nice if someone would sell replacement cords. The replacements I try from a hardware store are not good.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from money saver. My horse Ranger is a hay hound. Loves coastal but would rather spread it everywhere looking for the choicest strand while the "get to later" strands blow away. This product ensures he gets almost every single strand at a nice slow, steady pace.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I've been meaning to try 'slow feeding' for a while now, and I am only sorry I didn't pony up for these hay bags sooner! I have two ponies, one of whom eats like a 16 year old boy and the other who disdains hay once it touches the ground because, well, reasons. The pig is frustrated by the bag, but it really, really slows his eating down, and wonder! of! wonders! the picky eater LOVES to pull a few nibbles at a time and now EATS his hay instead of stomping on it and glaring at me. I bought four of these, two for stalls and two for my trailer. No question, LOVE THEM.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Falls apart Sadly super disappointed in this bag! I bought over 15 of these between the two farms and I must say, don't waste your money! The big issue is that the knots on the body of the bag fall out. The poly fiber rope is of poor quality also. I spent lots of time last year fixing these bags- until I found these: http://www.bigdweb.com/Hay-Net-Slow-Feed/productinfo/67307/These other haynets are much more resilient and have held up next to the Smartpak nets year for year and still look brand new. Also, you can get them on sale for $6- yes, $6.00 that's it! They have rings that are heavy duty, they are a bit smaller, but hold enough for my guys. Smartpak, can you please get these other ones?
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hay next I bought this slow feeder for a horse that when fed finishes fast. This hay net has worked well for his as it always allows grass to be placed in the net so he can graze during the day.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time User I have always wanted to try this product. My horse was eating hay faster than I could put it down. This really slows him down and his evening ration of hay lasts all night. I wish it came in bright colors though...black nets are hard to find in the pre dawn Am feed. Thinking of getting another for the day hay ration too.
Date published: 2015-11-03
  • 2016-09-25T12:53CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_440
  • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders