Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

SmartPak
- Item #19916
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

Customers Also Shopped For
High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net ...
Description:
High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. 42 inches long. Hole Dimensions 6"x6" *Hay nets and bags should always be hung at ...
Tough Duratex Professional Choice Trailer Corner Feeder boasts ...
Description:
Tough Duratex Professional Choice Trailer Corner Feeder boasts a 1,000 denier mesh bottom and comes complete with 3 double-endedHeavy-duty snaps. Dust and debris fall through the mesh so you can be sure your horse won't be breathing it! The mesh ...
The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra ...
Description:
The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay. Favorite Features Easy-to-fill Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top Long adjustable ...
A hay bale on wheels! Rolling Bale Bag ...
Description:
A hay bale on wheels! Rolling Bale Bag is the easiest way to transport hay bales - a must have for traveling. Keeps the hay in and dirt out. Favorite Features Durable nylon shell Heavy duty zipper top Grommets allow ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.380952380952381 out of 5 by 462.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as Advertised I have used this for a few weeks outside in the barnyard to keep my two from devouring hay in the first few minutes, then left with nothing. It does slow them down considerably, but not so frustrating as to deter them. I like the size, but would prefer rings or something around the opening to make it easier to load. It tends to collapse on itself and is a bit frustrating. So far so good. It's holding up okay.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durability is questionable Works well to slow down intake of my hay hoover; however, after two months of use it is starting to fray.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from holds a lot It's bigger than I expected. It holds nearly a whole small bale of hay. Keeps my boy on stall rest busy for hours on end.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent item Bag works quite well for its purpose,a little difficult to fill
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to use! I have a young horse on stall rest and I was needing a hay net to keep him occupied during the day so he would go crazy. This hay net has worked great. I can easily fill it and the holes are the perfect size to allow him to slowly 'graze'
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good start I bought this a month ago my 5 yr old has chewed through a few holes already but easy fix tie a few knots and your good to go. I think this is a good start to slowing down your horses eating.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicest hay net I ever owned! Well, I have to admit, both my horses are alittle too chubby (hubby & I call them fluffy!) So a slow feeder hay net for turn out is a must. It takes them alot longer to go through their hay during the day. Now we have to be patient, cut down on goodies, and see if their diets do the trick!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy I made this purchase This hay net is easy to fill and tie up in the trailer. Helps keep them nibbling on the hay instead of scattering it everywhere. Seems durable and strong. Good value.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good. I bought this for horse shows. It seems to be safe and working well, but I still prefer the old cotton ones.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this HAY BAG!!! Very nice roomy hay bag with easy open top for filling. Extra strong cords for netting. Now have 5 and they are the best thing ever at my barn!!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is really a great product. I bought this product a couple of months ago and it is has been terrific. It really slows my mare down in her hay eating, and cuts WAY down on waste, as she was the queen of wasting hay.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect slow feed size for miniature horses Just right for miniature horses and high quality !
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! We have bought a few of these. Love them for travel or slowing the ponies down from mowing through hay quickly.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from useless First let me say that I have had MANY wonderful products from SmartPac so no reflection on them! This hay bag did not even last 1 hour!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this. It slows my fat horses down. So the hay can last longer.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase! It does what you said it would. It slows them down. Just wish it wasn't so hard to fill.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice net for the price. I bought this net to replace the net on my free up feeder. The net is a good size and fits on the existing holder that I have, the holes are small enough to slow my horse down. I've only been using the net for a few weeks so I can't say whether its going to hold up in the long run. I also would prefer that this net was cotton rather than nylon but this was a sufficient replacement at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Hay-Net, Not a Slow Feeder This is a very nice hay net, however, I would not consider this a slow feeder as the holes are quite large. We bought two of these hay nets for our two geldings, who are both extremely rough on anything and everything. Surprisingly, the hay nets have lasted us about 7-8 months of every day wear and tear, now they both have tears in them and will need to be replaced.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not small enough No complaints with the hay net quality, but the holes are not as small as I thought. I need smaller.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems sturdy, hard to fill The material it is made of seems pretty tough. It's a little hard to fill because it's stiff.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hay net The hay net is working well for my mini donkey and my sheep. yes a sheep it has kept her from sleeping,standing peeing or pooping on the hay and significantly reduced hay waste.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke after the first use I bought this haynet a couple of weeks ago and it is my first time using it today. It looks super nice and I was excited about it but one of the holes broke within an hour of use. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not a slow feeder The holes in this "Slow Feeder" are 2" thats to big in my opinion. Other than that no complaints so far.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartPac Small hole hay net A good bag overall in quality, though I would prefer a smaller size
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest Net to Load! I use these as replacement nets for my collapsible hoop hay feeders. The holes are small enough to slow them down and helps eliminate waste. The large opening on this net makes it the easiest net to load that I've ever used. I can fit 4 solid flakes in it really easily.
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the right size and easy to fill. Been using the Small Hole Hay Net for about three weeks, and love it.
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used these for years now I have used this net ever since my horse was put on stall rest years ago. She needed an entire bale of hay a day, split into two feedings. Problem was shed Hoover up her half of a bale in less than two hours! Enter this hay net- perfect solution. Slow grazing all day long between her grain feedings. And trust me I know how long it took her to get through it since I stayed with her 18 hours a day every day for a year.I now use these nets exclusively (except for the mini pony, who could probably fit in this net!). I have never been dissatisfied until this last order i received. Net was destroyed within 3 months when normally they last at least 6. The net I ordered before this last one survived for A YEAR.I LOVE this net. I still ordered new owned despite the 3 month life of the last hay net. It keeps the ravenous beasts slow and they can last half a day for my girls, if the net is filled properly.I hope the quality goes back up, or maybe I just got a bad one. These nets are great despite what happened to my last one. I couldn't say enough nice things about them.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as durable as I would have hoped. One part had the strings tied together like they forgot to knot it properly so I had two ends sticking out my horse could easily grab. She's already chewed through one square in less than two months. I use this net in rotation with two others (not from SmartPak) for night time feeding. The other nets have held up better. Not a bad hay net, just not the greatest.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Small holes are great - Durability, not so much I had this out for a few days with my gelding who wants to eat everything in sight; apparently, that also means chewing holes in the corners of the bag. I think I will need to try one without corners and see if it lasts longer. I do love the small holes, though - perhaps the frustration from them, though, is what led to him chewing on the bag rather than his feed. while it doesn't work for my horse as well as I would like, I believe it may work for others and I would recommend this bag for its price.
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome small hole hay net Perfect hay net for my easy keeper/fast eater. This slows him down a bit and keeps him entertained. I use it everyday, feeding 3x/day and it has held up very well.
Date published: 2016-01-26
  • 2016-08-24T11:19CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_434
  • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders