Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Lavender Utility Balm

Item #20658
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SmartPak Lavender Utility Balm is the ultimate "jack of all trades." This all-natural formula has so many uses, we can't even list them all, but we thought we'd try anyway!  

Here are some of our favorite ways to use the SmartPak Lavender Utility Balm:

    • Treating & preventing rubs
    • Gently healing nicks & scrapes
    • Soothing dry skin
    • Protecting sensitive areas.

The balm's handy "deodorant stick" applicator makes it easy to apply in a number of hard-to-reach areas. Just uncap and start swiping (anywhere, every day, on your horse, your tack, even yourself!). How many uses will you find for your SmartPak Lavendar Utility Balm?

2.5 oz.

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Mineral Ice offers cool, fast, temporary relief of ...
Mineral Ice offers cool, fast, temporary relief of minor aches and pains. Favorite Features Reduces muscle and joint pain associated with arthritis, injuries, sprains, strains and bruises. Relieves minor soreness and stiffness from exercise and performing activities. All natural water ...
Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat poultice ...
Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat poultice Is a highly regarded formulation of premium clays and choice earthen materials carefully blended with aromatic essential oils and select absorbent agents to remove heat, swelling and pain. A silky smooth drawing ...
Arnica, rosemary, menthol andfrankincense resin relax and rejuvenateboth ...
Arnica, rosemary, menthol andfrankincense resin relax and rejuvenateboth horse and rider and benefit the whole musculature. Works in two-fold fashion: firsta refreshing cool-down effect, followed by a soothing deeply penetrating warmth. Made in Germany.
Absorbine Fungasol Ointment is proven effective to help ...
Absorbine Fungasol Ointment is proven effective to help combat bacterial and fungal skin conditions such as rain rot, ringworm, girth itch, wound bacteria, and more! This product contains soothing Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf (tea Tree) oil and other ingredients known for ...
A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian Tea ...
A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian Tea Tree Oil, Aloe Vera, Jojoba Oil, 1% Hydrocortisone, Benzathonium Chloride and Behenyl TMS in a soothing vanishing cream base. Aids in the treatment of ‘scratches’, girth itch, galls and sores, and numerous ...
Healing Tree TEA-CLENZ is a cationic, or non-sudsing, ...
Healing Tree TEA-CLENZ is a cationic, or non-sudsing, cleanser that in its properly diluted form is superb in the treatment of rainscald, rainrot, ringworm, summer sores, girth itch, and other fungal and bacterial skin problems, especially those involving large areas ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Lavender Utility Balm is rated 4.6744 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great smell ! Great smell of lavender that is awesome. It works well for small rubs, but big rubs it does absolutely nothing. I bought it for muzzle rubs but it has only helped a few of them.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for summer time bug bites, itchy spots and chafing. Seems soothing to irritated skin. Nice that ingredients are not all chemicals, but simple, natural things.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I bought this about a month ago for my grey mare that always gets little cuts and scrapes. It has helped grow back her white hair instead of a dark scar!!! I love the smell and the application container. It attracts some dust but if you curry and brush the area if absorbs into the hair.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells amazing! I bought it on a whim and it smells great and seems to be very useful.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I tried this on a skin scrape . Easy to apply absorbed well but has not helped keeping the skin moist enough. After 3 days I went back to my old creams for better result.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The scent is heavenly I've only had this a short time, but I've used it on my horses muzzle and on his belly, in a hair whorl, to manage any flies that might come to visit. Love it so far!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells wonderful! I have been using product for the past couple of months to treat hock sores on my horse. The balm keeps the sore soft and promotes healing. Plus it doesn't freeze in cold temperatures and it smells so good!
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this I've wanted to buy this for at least a year but for some reason kept forgetting to add it to my orders. When I finally got it and started using it its been great. It's basically like deodorant applicator, but it's not deodorant. I use it on an blanket rubs or bites from pasture mates, every time I reblanket my horse after a ride or groom.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Genius product! Perfect all purpose balm that smells wonderful. Simple ingredients. Practical packaging. If Smartpak made this in a tea tree oil version my mind would explode! Hint hint!
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still not sure exactly what it's for... but I love it. It smells GREAT, and seems to be helping my mare's scabs and blanket rubs. But seriously. Smells so good. Horse perfume.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells nice. I haven't had a chance to use this much in the cold weather, but I expect I'll use it more once it warms up. So far, I like the smell and the feel--very soothing.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smelling, multipurpose salve for any horse Love having one of these handy for all the horses.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells GREAT! I use this on my boys rough spots and rubs and it stays and keeps the area protected/moisturized long enough for hair regrowth.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to moisturizer at work! I bought this to have in my brush box to treat every day issues, like shallow scrapes or rubbed areas. When it arrived, I popped the top off and was in love... the smell is fantastic. It's made with real lavender oil and smells so fresh. I read the label and saw that it could be used in a variety of ways, so I kept it for myself. Sorry, mare, but this one's in my desk drawer at work for after-handwashing application. It keeps my hands moisturized without being greasy, and the smell is a good pick-me-up. Good one, SmartPak!
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product ! Does it's job! Hair seemed to grow back fasterWish it was cheaper tho!
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy application, toxin free Best idea ive seen in a long time. Easy to apply , pleasant smell to me and i hate anything that has an odor. This isn't offensive. It works and i even use it on my potbellied pig :-)
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK I use it in an odd way, but I love it While this stick is great for scrapes and bites and I put it in my horses ears for bugs while riding and for night turn out, I also use it on myself. I get nervous at shows and this stuff smells like lavender, pine and lemon. So I put a little under my nose before I get on to compete. I love the smell and it helps me relax and breath deeply which always helps!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product Purchased this about a month ago. I used it I several places where Irish was suffering from numerous bug bites. It worked great leaving his skin nice and smooth after only a few application.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bonus-repels flies! This product does everything it says it will do and more. It's REALLY hot right now in the desert, so wearing fly hoods and fly masks just adds more heat and causes more sweat. I do not use chemical fly sprays, so this has become my go to. I put it on the horses' nose/mouth area and around their eyes, and they are so much happier. They really like it, too, you can see them visibly relax when they walk away from the barn with no flies buzzing their faces. It is a very high quality product, and does a fantastic job on all the advertised uses as well. Ordering another stick right now.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great utility balm This balm has been great for scabs, rubs, and all mysterious scrapes on my young horse, plus it has a great scent!
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This - Especially for Sweet Itch-Black Flies I just started using this product this year, especially around my gelding's sensitive areas, where he is extremely sensitive to black fly bites and it seems to really work. Not only that it is so much easier and less messy to apply than the SWAT I used to use in this area!
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great!! I have used this on my gray horse's sensitive skin for a few months. It keeps the rubs away and keeps his skin in great shape!
Date published: 2015-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healed nasty girth rubs I received a sample of this from SmartPak and am now on my second stick. I use it for everything from minor knicks, sunburn, rubs and even as a fly repellent when I forgot my fly spray at a event! But, it excelled at healing two very nasty girth rubs on my mare. Within four days I was able to put a girth back on her and within ten days we had new hair and was completely healed. My grooming box is never without it!
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use, Hard to Beat Quality I have been using this balm on two of my horses whom have sensitive skin. It works to calm them and keep pesky flies off their faces. Really nice product.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have used this on my horse's wounds & they seem to heal much quicker than with other products! Plus both he & I love the smell!
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing miracle cream!!! I love love love this product!! Use it for all my horses scratches bites and itchiness ...it works almost literally overnight...this will always be in my grooming tote
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grooming Box Must Have! I bought this product a month ago after seeing it on a blog here..and I love it!! I have used this on my horses sensitive skin for minor irritations, blanket rubs, bug bites, and chaffing, and it works miracles!! My horse is a big guy (17.2 WB/x) and he tends to chaff behind his elbows, I noticed a change after only 3 days!!! And the smell is wonderful, lavender. Everyone should have this product! i love that the application is a roll on, which makes it mess-free and prevents wasting the product!
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great! I absolutely love this roll-on balm. I put it on my horses' blanket rubs (they were minor but noticeable) and they were literally GONE in a few days! One word of advice- make you you LIKE the smell of lavender! That sounds silly but it has a very strong scent (which I personally absolutely love) and if you don't like lavender- DO NOT purchase this product. For me, it will be a staple in my groom box from now on.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of good uses I have used this on my horses sensitive skin for everything bumps from shavings to insect bites and blanket rubs.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems like a great product! I haven't had this long enough to see if it actually heals rubs from the blanket, butevery time I take the cap off my horse HAS to smell it! It's a very nice soothing lavender smell! I think it is a great product even though I haven't had it a month yet, really like the way it is applied as well. No messy hands!
Date published: 2014-02-18
  • 2016-10-28T12:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_10658, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders