Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover

SmartPak
- Item #21423
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!
 
The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will extend the length of time the water takes to freeze (although please note that the length of time can vary depending on sun exposure and  the temperature of the air and water.) 

Favorite Features

  • Encourages your horse's hydration during winter months
  • Ends the ice breaking madness
  • Eliminates the need for heated water buckets, saving you money 
  • Durable waterproof fabric
  • Constructed from 600D waterproof fabric with 600g fill

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Fits standard 5 gallon buckets

Customers Also Shopped For
ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what ...
Description:
ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Favorite Features Special offset front ...
Add some color to your barn! These colorful ...
Description:
Add some color to your barn! These colorful Duraflex Flatback Buckets are durable and impact resistant. Favorite Features Protects against warpage and helps prevent stress cracks Features aHeavy-duty wire bail with notch for hanging Stacking ribs so the pails come ...
Our Slow Feeder Saver is designed to give ...
Description:
Our Slow Feeder Saver is designed to give Equines the healthiest and most natural eating experience possible regardless of them being stalled or stabled. Favorite Features Small grate holes prevent horses from wasting feed by consuming it to quickly or ...
The UP-RIGHT Anti-Cast Safety Assistant Strips are patented ...
Description:
The UP-RIGHT Anti-Cast Safety Assistant Strips are patented strips attach to the wall to give a safe gripping surface for their hooves, to safely push their bodies away from the wall to regain their feet and stand. Surveys show that ...
Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
Description:
Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber.Favorite Features Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof corded rubber holds up ...
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is ...
Description:
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is easy to hang in your horse's stall Favorite Features Includes attached S hooks orHeavy-duty snaps for installation Galvanized reinforcements Capacity markings in gallons and liters Perimeter rim helps bottom of bucket resist ...
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 40 ...
Description:
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 40 head. The UltraFount is designed to give year-round service, providing clean, fresh, temperate water regardless of climate. Great if you're tired of breaking ice on the coldest days!Favorite Features Premier, energy efficient ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is rated 4.626086956521739 out of 5 by 115.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've been using the Smartpak insulated water bucket cover for several weeks. It has kept ice from forming and allows water to be available to my horse. On one particularly cold morning(about 5*) even the small amount of water was still liquid. So far I'm impressed! I purchased this product because others at my barn have it and it has held up well.
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps I bought this to use with my gelding's meals of soaked hay cubes in the really cold weather. Haven't used the top piece yet. I have to place the covered bucket inside a 10 gallon tub to keep it from tipping over(he eats at ground level). It has kept his soaked cubes warm enough that he finishes them before they get too cold for his liking and freeze.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Definitely helps keep water from freezing as quickly in cold temps. Easy to use.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars! Love this product :-)Used it during the recent extreme cold in the mid Atlantic region.Kept my stall water bucket from freezing in 10 degree weather without using the cover.Highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I've bought in years!! I wanted to make sure my older mini was able to get unfrozen water but we don't have the hook ups for plug in water buckets so I thought I would give this a try! Well I live in upstate NY and this winter the weather went down to -20 at night and I added half a bucket of hot water and half cold hose water and in the morning I came out and the water had just a thin layer of ice on the top!! He was able to brake it with his nose and have water all night long!! Very happy with this and will be getting more soon!!!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for stall buckets This is great to have during New England Winters, so their stall water doesn't freeze.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I run a boarding facility, and encouraged all of my boarders to purchase their own cozy and I've never been so glad I did! It has next to illuminated ice in the water buckets, which means all the horses have water all night long and there is no ice to chisel out the following morning!
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't' had a frozen bucket yet this winter! I bought this insulated water bucket cover with skepticism; but much to my surprise: this item has worked like a charm. I put 2 gal of warm water from the house and mix with the cold water from the barn around 5PM and by 9AM there hasn't been ice in the bucket yet. I live in NJ and we have had some single digits and lots of teen's temps, but this has done its job magnificently. And the best part is that my 22 year old mare drinks three times more water than when the water is near freezing! Isn't that something every horse owner hopes for in the winter months???
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Very well made; easy to put on and take off buckets; keeps water in the buckets from freezing solid; the lid piece stops the thin layer of ice from forming on the top. I've been looking for something like this for 2 years as we don't have electricity at the barn. Thank you SmartPak!
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for smart horses I really thought the concept was great. The material seemed sturdy and I liked the Velcro straps. However, my one horse got it off his water bucket in less time it took me to latch his stall door. My second horse was scared to death of the big black thing on his water bucket and would not go anywhere near it. So back they went.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I live in VT and with this cover my horse's water stays warm for hours, and I barely ever have to break ice. Thank you Smartpak! Total winter must have!
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use, good value It has helped decrease the freezing of the buckets. They were easy to fit on buckets. Buckets still freeze if below 20deg in barn as expected, but don't freeze solid.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good idea the top velcro thing is a little awkward but otherwise it's a good product
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Fantastic !!! Have a horse, that is extremely aware of any and all changes around him, so when I put in my heated buckets, he snorted and wouldn't go near them, would only drink out of his regular buckets. Now don't get me wrong, he is a fantastic drinker. So I bought this and tried it. .....he loves it & drinks out of it like there's no tomorrow. Keeps the water from freezing and if there is a power outage, I now have one less thing to worry about using the insulator. Buying a 2nd one now !!!
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far - so good! I bought this right before a New England cold spell and was pleasantly surprised! Temps consistently in the low 20's and only a little skim of ice on the top (I filled the bucket right before turning my horse in for the night). The rest of the buckets in the barn had significantly more ice by morning feeding!
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good insulator. I bought this a month ago and am very happy I did. The water doesn't freeze as fast as it did without the insulated bucket cover. Great product.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bucket cover I bought the smartpak insulated water bucket cover right before the blizzard. It worked great for my horse while he was in his stall. It kept his water from freezing so i didn't have to worry about him not having water to drink
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick fix Quick fix for winter water freezing, works great for low temps over night. Probably wouldn't work for extended below freezing temps
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No ice! These work! Very easy to put on and also to clean. I used them without the collars for a larger drinking area and STILL no ice!
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this product My horse has a heated bucket in his stall but will empty a single bucket overnight. So I purchased this cover for a second bucket. On the coldest nights, it sometimes gets a thin layer of ice, but only after he has emptied 2/3 or 3/4 or the water out of it. So for the purpose I bought it, I'm very pleased. It went on easy to a flat back bucket.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New England winter must have! The easiest way to make sure your horse has water available to him at all times!
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing since sliced bread I love this. I just bought a few acres and for the first time in my life I have my horse in my backyard. I keep a bucket with this cover on it in his run in shelter and he always drinks it before his cold water from the stock tank. I can also sleep better at night knowing his bucket won't freeze when his stock tank does. So happy it is helping keep my horse hydrated this winter!
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Insulated Water Bucket Works! When the cold weather hit us here in PA, I decided to try the SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover. The electric buckets I have are very heavy and need to be dumped and scrubbed too often since my horses dunk their hay. The covers fit nicely around my flat backed buckets and secured with velcro. There is a cover at the top with an opening for the horse to drink through. My horses adjusted to them immediately and drank without hesitation, which I was glad to see. I hang them in their stalls by the door which opens to a paddock, and I leave the door open unless it is extremely windy. The first morning it was 17 degrees when I went down to feed. There was a small amount of ice around the edges, but the water was still drinkable and not frozen in the middle of the bucket. Amazing! I find them to be lighter than the electric buckets, with the added bonus of not heating up any food or hay dropped in them and getting the water fowl smelling. In the morning I dump and scrub them without removing the cover and they are ready for refill. I am very glad I tried these Insulated water bucket covers. They appear to be well-made and although I have used them only 3-4 weeks, I am sure they will hold up for future winters. Good job, SmartPak!
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME product! If you cannot use heated buckets this is truly the next best thing! Electric heating options aren't available to us. We had near zero temps the last few weeks and the water in the buckets with these covers rarely froze or only got a small layer on top while the others were frozen completely through. I hope SMARTPAK starts making them for outside troughs!
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No frozen water! Tried these at the recommendation of a friend and they are awesome!! Even in single digits They did not freeze!
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My winter savior!! I LOVE this thing! Even in the teens outdoors my buckets have minimal ice on them that can easily be broken by my horse. Some morning there is no ice at all if it fill it with hot water, which is the key to success with these things! Buy a gas can to transport hot water from home and viola!! I also put the buckets side by side to minimize exposure and I put them in direct sunlight because the black absorbs A LOT of heat. If I put my hand between the bucket and cozy it actually feels warm! Again, I love these things. They have made my electricity-less winter more bearable!! Thank you!
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bucket 'Cozy' really works I bought this thinking that an insulated water bucket cover like this could never really work. I have tried others in the past with no success, but this works very well.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Money Turned into an expense play toy for my horse. She ripped it apart within minutes.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A product that really works I bought one of these last season and two this year. I broke them out for the first time last night. It was 15 degrees with real feel of minus 6. Admittedly it was somewhat warmer in the barn, but on a night like that typically the naked bucket would be frozen solid by morning. With the cosy on, the buckets that were fairly full had no ice and the one that was drunk down had the thinnest sheet of ice. A MAJOR difference. Well worth the price! It did seem like there was a mid-season re-design, the 2 newer ones were easier to put on and covered more of the top of the bucket. I highly recommend this product, well worth the price!
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Only really works above 15 degrees with no wind, if it gets below that it freezes!
Date published: 2016-01-19
  • 2016-08-28T12:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_11423, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders