Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

- Item #11625
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up

1" width except Pony (3/4")

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! Great for ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.668192219679634 out of 5 by 437.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter at a great price I bought this as a show halter and it is very nice looking. For the price, I can replace it every season if I need to but so far it has held up well
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits a Draft! The oversized fits our Percheron gelding with room to spare. Great quality for the price. Nameplate is wonderful. Soft leather, nice rich, dark, color.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, high-quality leather, acceptable fit This halter has very soft leather right out of the box, no additional treatment needed before using. The leather appears to be very good quality and looks as though it will prove to be durable. Stitching looks good as well. It is generously sized for my 16.2 TB who has an average-horse fit on most halters, I punched an extra hole to go up one above the available holes on the crown piece, no big deal - if your horse is on the smaller end of the standard horse size you might even want to go down one to the cob. I'd rather have extra size than too little. Overall I'm quite pleased with this purchase, a very functional product for everyday use and very good value for the price.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect The halter is very soft, beautiful, and good quality. It especially looks fantastic with name plates. For this price I could not be happier. Definitely would recommend to anybody looking for a nice leather halter!
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMARTPAK DOUBLE STITCHED HALTER I bought this halter for my Palomino Quarter Horse Mare and love it. The quality of this Amish made halter is unbelievable!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for the Price I was very surprised by the quality of this halter. Even though it was to big for my horse, I had to exchange it for a smaller size. He is a 15.3 hh horse, but the Horse size was to big on him. So hopefully the Cob size will work for him. It really is a soft leather, and good quality halter and you can't beat the price!
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo pretty I bought this halter for a show that was a longer trailer ride away. I wanted something that looked nice and was comfortable for my mare. I love it. It looks so good on her - the color of the leather is perfect for any color horse in my opinion. Seems like it will last, too!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning halter Bought this for my horses halter to take him to shows in, the nameplate made it look very fancy and the leather was rich and high quality. Has held up great so far and haven't noticed any sign of wear and tear after he's worn it quite a bit. Great halter for a great price and looks just as good as the expensive ones.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing quality! Love this halter! Comes very soft and ready to use. Beautiful color and great quality. Also love the different sizes. Have this product for many of my horses.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter for a Fantastic Price! I bought this halter for my large pony who is now retired to beginner lessons. I felt comfortable allowing the lesson kiddos to use this halter because it seems very durable and is extremely affordable!
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its beautiful! took advantage of sale of this item. was so suprised when it arrived. Its so beautiful, i won't use it for everyday, saving it for a future halter class
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! Beautiful halter! As I'm sure some of the other reviews mention, the pictures do not do this product justice. I was so surprised when it arrived! The leather is so much richer and higher quality than I expected. There's really no reason to spend the extra money on the triple stitched halter, this one is gorgeous enough.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful quality! This was the first leather halter I've ever purchased for a horse. Not wanting to spend too much I purchased this while Smartpak was having a sale. I was very happy with the product. I got it and spent a day oiling it and it came out looking great. The quality is good enough for the barn and for a show. I definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Funny color and oily residue. Just received two of these halters to replace two show halters at the last minute that were lost. They arrived very oily like they had just been oiled and the color was an odd burgundy. Saddle soaped them a couple of times to try and remove some of the oil but it still stained my grey pony with a red/pink residue. We had to wash his face quite often at the show. Also, the horse size runs a bit small in the crown piece. So not very thrilled. Will be using these for turnout now and will order the nicer Walsh halters for show.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing quality! I have bought many halters throughout the years. This is the BEST quality halter for the price. I would definitely buy it again and recommend it to anyone. The leather is super soft and high quality. Great job Smartpak!
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Nice soft leather halter. Still looks good after being used everyday. I keep mine own during hose downs I just make sure to condition it often. Average horse size is a bit big so if you have a horse with a petite head you might to go smaller.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter! This is my second Double Stitched Stable Halter through Smartpak. My first cob sized halter is still going strong but I ordered another in the horse size for a new lesson horse. Unfortunately the owner backed out of letting the horse join our schooling horses. This is such a nice halter I plan on just keeping it on hand for when our next lesson horse does enter the barn. I had it customized so I will only need to change the name plate. Smartpak is amazing and if I had wanted to return the halter I could have returned it was ease. Thank you Smartpak for your amazing products!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and classy! My gelding is a jerk. No, really...he is! He tries to destroy nice things on purpose. Fortunately, he has yet to ruin this halter and he has been wearing it for over a year now! He lives outside 24/7 and the halter lives on a hook outside of his gate. It's been exposed to the elements (heat, rain, snow, etc) and the leather is still soft and supple. I think I've cleaned it once or twice since I've owned it, and the only reason you can tell it's not brand new is there is a loose thread on the cheek piece that is a whopping 1/4" long. It's a perfect daily halter but it would also make a great show halter as well. Get the brass nameplate so people don't claim your halter as their own!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simply pretty! I love simple halters, no fuss and easy snap on and snap off. Adjusted easily behind the ears for beautiful fit on our Cob sized Appy! Thank you :)
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will purchase again! I orginally purchased this halter for engagement pictures! It came in fast and was perfect for photos and everyday barn use. I was very glad I looked through the reviews before purchasing. The halter does run a little large. I have a small framed quarter horse and the cob size fit him perfectly! The matching lead is great too! Will purchase again!
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter, Runs Large Beautiful halter, however a bit on the large side. It's tricky with a Saddlebred because my one mare (the one this halter is for) typically wears horse sizes, and my other mare typically wears Arab/Cob sizes. My larger mare definitely still could have worn a Cob in this bridle. The horse size required 2 additional holes in the crown and 3 additional holes in the nose. Fits beautifully now and looks great. I anticipate that this will hold up well. For reference, my "larger" Saddlebred mare is 15.1 and has a slender but slightly longer head.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and supple! Grate halter! Definitely worth the money!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Bought this for my pony, fits him perfectly. I love how adjustable it is! Looks gorgeous on him!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Great quality and a good value. Really soft leather right out of package. Cob fits 15H TB Cross
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely Lovely halter but sadly the chin strap was destroyed in three days by pasture mates. I booby-rigged it with some baling twine and it's been intact since. I wish the chin piece was a bit more durable but probably perfectly fine for "lighter" use.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made, practical design These are the only halter so my horses will ever have,Except for a fancier show halter. These attractive halterHave a chin snap for easy on/ off, plus they areBeautifully made. These sturdy halters look like theyWill last forever! Love this product.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I wanted a nice halter for my number 1 and found the perfect one with this halter. The quality is great, very classy!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter - not sure how long it will last. Halter was very soft right out of the package, and hardware seems nice. Only complaint is the leather keepers on the underside of the noseband - the first day my horse wore the halter both became overly streached and looks a bit strange. Have used it for a few days, will see how long it holds up.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly nice and fits my little donkey! I bought one of these in the small/med pony in the hopes it would fit my donkeys, as they need leather halters for shipping. Even though it was relatively inexpensive, it is really lovely quality, rich leather with real brass fittings. Looks great on my old furry guy and I have already ordered more for the other horses and the other donkey.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Good Feel! Bought it 2 weeks ago for my lipizzan who has a smallish head (cob size) and wanted something soft and pleasant to hold every day, and I got it!! it fits well, it is nice soft leather, the color brown is nice, in short, I love it!
Date published: 2016-03-18
  • 2016-10-22T11:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_403
  • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders