Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
Description:
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
Description:
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
Description:
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! Great for ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Use this stall nameplate to coordinate with your ...
Description:
Use this stall nameplate to coordinate with your barn colors. 2" x 8" plastic stall nameplate in red, navy blue, black, or hunter green (all with white letters). Comes with a holder so you can change nameplates easily. Two lines ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.664351851851852 out of 5 by 432.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful stable halter for the price. My horse is a 17.1+ hh TB. He is usually toward the top hole on oversized bridles and halters, so after reading the descriptions about how this halter ran very large I bought the horse sized halter. As soon as it arrived I knew it was too small. It fit him, just barely, on the last hole of both the head stall and noseband. Thankfully it was a Smartpak buy so I put it back into its box and returned it the next day. The oversized halter that they sent in return fits him just as an oversized should. Yes, he's on the top hole and when it stretches I'll eventually have to punch more holes, but that's a normal fit for him. The leather is great, a tiny bit stiff to start but clearly quality enough that it will break in easily. As always - very nice to buy from Smartpak and have an easy return/exchange service so I don't ever have to worry.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I received this halter as a gift about a month ago and I love it! The color, fit, leather quality, functionality, and durability...an all around great halter. The personalized name plate adds just the right finishing touch! My sister has this halter for her mare as well and loves it. I will definitely be ordering one for the rest of the horses in my barn!
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter I have a couple of these. Nice basic halter - have nameplates on mine. Good quality leather - a little stiff but breaks in easily
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Every Day Turnout Halter I already have the padded Wellfleet halter for shows, and wanted a leather halter for turnout. I intially thought this would look a little cheap given the price point, but I was really impressed when it arrived! As always, SmartPak's engraving on the nameplate came out perfectly, and I get so many compliments on this halter. The fit is fantastic (I have the Cob size), and I can already tell that this halter will last a long time. And for a great price, what's not to love?
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Leather I got this as a gift for my mom and I was surprised and the quality of the leather when it arrived.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & well made! We bought this as a Christmas gift for our daughter. She had been wanting a leather halter for her horse for along time. Being on a budget, I chose one of the lesser expensive one hoping it would be of great quality....and it is! It's beautiful leather, adjustable to horses' head size, well stitched and sturdy. So happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good quality leather. poor engraving I bought this product and the halter is excellent. The engraving part was terribly done. It's to small
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product for price. Great halter. True to size. Soft, supple leather. The nameplate really classes it up.Looks good enough to be used for a show/shipping halter without spending a fortune.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a very nice turnout halter for the price and looks great with the added nameplate. I did find that is runs small. Originally ordered cob but had to return for horse. Couldn't even buckle the smaller sized to try on. And he is a cob size in most other things.
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! This is a great halter. The leather is very supple and the brass name plate I had attached is beautiful (and so nice to have SmartPak attach it before sending!). Reno is Ranch Horse trained and this halter gives her a nice look without any bling. Just perfect!
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a great halter for the price. I oiled it twice the first week, and that's all it needed. The leather was pretty supple right out of the box, but now is even better. My TB has a more petite head, so I ordered the cob size. It fits him really well!
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter I bought 2 halters a few months ago... It's beautiful and fits both of my horses great.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty Nice quality for the price. Just a little stiff upon arrival but softens with a conditioning. I read the other reviews about sizing and ordered a cob for my 1/2 Arab and it fit perfectly. The custom nameplate turned out beautiful.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picture doesn't do justice! Clean the leather before you put it on your white horse, as it does bleed. Other than that- the quality of the leather and the brass fittings are unmatched for the price. Great quality leather and buckles!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturdy but colors don't match The halter is well made and very sturdy. I was a bit disappointed because the cheek pieces don't match the rest of the halter - they are quite a bit lighter in color. Since the price was right and I bought it just for use around the barn, I am trying to oil it so that the colors match. Otherwise it fits great and I think it will last for a long time.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality! We have used this saddle pad for a month, and washed it numerous times. It is durable, keeps its color and will last a long time!
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Great, sturdy leather. I would choose this halter over most $80+ ones any day! It arrived within a week and I even got it personalized. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this for a turnout halter! I don't typically use a turnout halter but I was moving my horse to a new place and needed a good one for a short time! It is well made and since its leather it would break if he got hung up. He has learned to immediately pop off a safety halter so those no longer work for me! Beautifully crafted! A very nice leather halter that is affordable!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bet you can't find something better! I bought this halter a few weeks ago and I'm really glad I did! The leather was so soft and felt instantly broken in. Bought as a barn halter but decided because its so nice to keep it as a Travel/Show halter! One on the best halters I've ever bought, specially for the price!It does run big. I have a 17h Appendix Quarter horse with large jowls that normally wears a over sized Nylon halter on about the middle hole. I ordered this in a horse size (after reading reviews saying it ran big) and its on the smallest whole and fits about right.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! I bought a horse size and it's really big! Our horse is 16 hands 1200 pounds. So I say buy the smaller size.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple nice leather In just a few days the name plate on it efficiently as ever it arrived !Easy and on time
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Halter I really wanted a nice leather halter that wasn't going to cost me and arm and a leg, I decided to get a name plate attached and it looks fantastic. I used a little oil just to help in break in and it looks amazing. For the price you get such an excellent halter that looks and feels like something that would be 200+
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought! I have the padded leather halter as my horse's everyday halter and bought this one as her hauling halter that I put fuzzies on to protect her face. I only oiled it twice before it was soft and ready to use. I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was, and am happy with the purchase!
Date published: 2015-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quality halter! This is the nicest quality leather halter, especially in this price point. Definitely would recommend.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I got this halter as a gift for my birthday for my newly purchased horse. That was back in July and it still looks amazing even after everyday use. Leather is soft and supple and I get compliments on it all the time, it also is a great adjustable halter for my TB with a mammoth head. My halter has an engraved nameplate which I adore and is in great shape. Favorite halter, a must have.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent halter My mare is between sizes, the horse size was huge and the cob barely fits on the last hole. It's a decent halter so I kept it as a backup, but I wouldn't order again.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchase this a couple months ago and am so happy with it! It did run a little big so I had to punch a new hole but aside from that this halter seems like it will last a while even stuck outside in the sun all day!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this halter recently, and the cob size fits my petite, 15'3" thoroughbred very well. Good quality leather. My only complaint is that the "brass" has started rubbing off the metal pieces after only one weekend of use at a show. I'm a bit surprised it didn't hold up better.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I bought this halter about a month ago and I love it. The quality is very nice, not too stiff. Our horse looks fabulous!
Date published: 2015-08-28
  • 2016-09-26T12:40CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_397
  • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders