Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
Description:
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
Description:
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
Description:
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! Great for ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Use this stall nameplate to coordinate with your ...
Description:
Use this stall nameplate to coordinate with your barn colors. 2" x 8" plastic stall nameplate in red, navy blue, black, or hunter green (all with white letters). Comes with a holder so you can change nameplates easily. Two lines ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.659574468085107 out of 5 by 423.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Nice soft leather halter. Still looks good after being used everyday. I keep mine own during hose downs I just make sure to condition it often. Average horse size is a bit big so if you have a horse with a petite head you might to go smaller.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter! This is my second Double Stitched Stable Halter through Smartpak. My first cob sized halter is still going strong but I ordered another in the horse size for a new lesson horse. Unfortunately the owner backed out of letting the horse join our schooling horses. This is such a nice halter I plan on just keeping it on hand for when our next lesson horse does enter the barn. I had it customized so I will only need to change the name plate. Smartpak is amazing and if I had wanted to return the halter I could have returned it was ease. Thank you Smartpak for your amazing products!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and classy! My gelding is a jerk. No, really...he is! He tries to destroy nice things on purpose. Fortunately, he has yet to ruin this halter and he has been wearing it for over a year now! He lives outside 24/7 and the halter lives on a hook outside of his gate. It's been exposed to the elements (heat, rain, snow, etc) and the leather is still soft and supple. I think I've cleaned it once or twice since I've owned it, and the only reason you can tell it's not brand new is there is a loose thread on the cheek piece that is a whopping 1/4" long. It's a perfect daily halter but it would also make a great show halter as well. Get the brass nameplate so people don't claim your halter as their own!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simply pretty! I love simple halters, no fuss and easy snap on and snap off. Adjusted easily behind the ears for beautiful fit on our Cob sized Appy! Thank you :)
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will purchase again! I orginally purchased this halter for engagement pictures! It came in fast and was perfect for photos and everyday barn use. I was very glad I looked through the reviews before purchasing. The halter does run a little large. I have a small framed quarter horse and the cob size fit him perfectly! The matching lead is great too! Will purchase again!
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter, Runs Large Beautiful halter, however a bit on the large side. It's tricky with a Saddlebred because my one mare (the one this halter is for) typically wears horse sizes, and my other mare typically wears Arab/Cob sizes. My larger mare definitely still could have worn a Cob in this bridle. The horse size required 2 additional holes in the crown and 3 additional holes in the nose. Fits beautifully now and looks great. I anticipate that this will hold up well. For reference, my "larger" Saddlebred mare is 15.1 and has a slender but slightly longer head.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and supple! Grate halter! Definitely worth the money!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Bought this for my pony, fits him perfectly. I love how adjustable it is! Looks gorgeous on him!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Great quality and a good value. Really soft leather right out of package. Cob fits 15H TB Cross
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely Lovely halter but sadly the chin strap was destroyed in three days by pasture mates. I booby-rigged it with some baling twine and it's been intact since. I wish the chin piece was a bit more durable but probably perfectly fine for "lighter" use.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made, practical design These are the only halter so my horses will ever have,Except for a fancier show halter. These attractive halterHave a chin snap for easy on/ off, plus they areBeautifully made. These sturdy halters look like theyWill last forever! Love this product.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I wanted a nice halter for my number 1 and found the perfect one with this halter. The quality is great, very classy!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter - not sure how long it will last. Halter was very soft right out of the package, and hardware seems nice. Only complaint is the leather keepers on the underside of the noseband - the first day my horse wore the halter both became overly streached and looks a bit strange. Have used it for a few days, will see how long it holds up.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly nice and fits my little donkey! I bought one of these in the small/med pony in the hopes it would fit my donkeys, as they need leather halters for shipping. Even though it was relatively inexpensive, it is really lovely quality, rich leather with real brass fittings. Looks great on my old furry guy and I have already ordered more for the other horses and the other donkey.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Good Feel! Bought it 2 weeks ago for my lipizzan who has a smallish head (cob size) and wanted something soft and pleasant to hold every day, and I got it!! it fits well, it is nice soft leather, the color brown is nice, in short, I love it!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible quality! I have a small horse and I hadn't yet found a halter that wasn't too big or too small- until this one! I really love it!
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter I have multiple horses and own a boarding facility. All of my horses wear these halters and I ask all my clients to purchase them. They are affordable and very nice quality. They hold up well being on horses for hours outside and in all types of weather, but still break if a horse gets caught on something. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was good at first but then... Not for grey or light colored horses. I had it for my chestnut and I liked the halter but when I bought one for my grey horse I noticed a reddish pink color started forming on his nose that was not there before. Then when I went to a show and it begain to rain, everything the halter touched it turned pink. Including my horses nose and cheeks!
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter I bought this halter so that my mare could have a nicer one for hauling and wearing at shows. I didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money, and it was on sale so I went for it. The leather was soft and supple upon arrival. My mare's head is quite large and usually hard to fit, but the horse size ended up fitting very nicely. Love the havana color. The nameplate turned out wonderful, I got her registered name on one line and her barn name on the other in the Victoria script, and it looks so lovely! The hardware was clean and the latch very easy to clip. Super happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, soft halter! This leather halter was soft right out of the box. I got it with a nameplate, and it was perfect. I debated getting the more expensive padded halter, but this one was much cheaper and still very nice quality. I don't regret buying this one! I bought the cob size and it fit pretty true to size.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I bought this for my mare and it looks so nice on her.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful stable halter for the price. My horse is a 17.1+ hh TB. He is usually toward the top hole on oversized bridles and halters, so after reading the descriptions about how this halter ran very large I bought the horse sized halter. As soon as it arrived I knew it was too small. It fit him, just barely, on the last hole of both the head stall and noseband. Thankfully it was a Smartpak buy so I put it back into its box and returned it the next day. The oversized halter that they sent in return fits him just as an oversized should. Yes, he's on the top hole and when it stretches I'll eventually have to punch more holes, but that's a normal fit for him. The leather is great, a tiny bit stiff to start but clearly quality enough that it will break in easily. As always - very nice to buy from Smartpak and have an easy return/exchange service so I don't ever have to worry.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I received this halter as a gift about a month ago and I love it! The color, fit, leather quality, functionality, and durability...an all around great halter. The personalized name plate adds just the right finishing touch! My sister has this halter for her mare as well and loves it. I will definitely be ordering one for the rest of the horses in my barn!
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter I have a couple of these. Nice basic halter - have nameplates on mine. Good quality leather - a little stiff but breaks in easily
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Every Day Turnout Halter I already have the padded Wellfleet halter for shows, and wanted a leather halter for turnout. I intially thought this would look a little cheap given the price point, but I was really impressed when it arrived! As always, SmartPak's engraving on the nameplate came out perfectly, and I get so many compliments on this halter. The fit is fantastic (I have the Cob size), and I can already tell that this halter will last a long time. And for a great price, what's not to love?
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Leather I got this as a gift for my mom and I was surprised and the quality of the leather when it arrived.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & well made! We bought this as a Christmas gift for our daughter. She had been wanting a leather halter for her horse for along time. Being on a budget, I chose one of the lesser expensive one hoping it would be of great quality....and it is! It's beautiful leather, adjustable to horses' head size, well stitched and sturdy. So happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good quality leather. poor engraving I bought this product and the halter is excellent. The engraving part was terribly done. It's to small
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product for price. Great halter. True to size. Soft, supple leather. The nameplate really classes it up.Looks good enough to be used for a show/shipping halter without spending a fortune.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a very nice turnout halter for the price and looks great with the added nameplate. I did find that is runs small. Originally ordered cob but had to return for horse. Couldn't even buckle the smaller sized to try on. And he is a cob size in most other things.
Date published: 2015-12-26
  • 2016-08-23T11:01CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_388
  • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders