Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug

- Item #17512
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Experience full neck protection against the elements with the SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier ripstop outer shell is ultra durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected 
  • Lined with nylon to prevent rubbing 
  • 220g of polyfill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional hook and loop closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 


Matching SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket also available.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Customers Also Shopped For
The ultimate inProtection! The Stretchies Hood reduces rubbing ...
The ultimate inProtection! The Stretchies Hood reduces rubbing on the shoulders,Protects the coat from sun bleaching, helps to reduce hair growth, and polishes the coats. Fully adjustable Stretchies Hood has an easy-to-fasten zipper closure. Elastic and center yoke help make ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight flysheet that is sure to keep your horse comfortable this summer. Offers head to tailProtection from insects, UV rays and dirt. Favorite Features 95% UVProtection Soft-knitted polyester Includes removable neck cover Azure ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Sheet offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to ...
Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, Rockin' SP blankets offer superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. This coordinating set includes key pieces of your horse's ...
Fasten to the wall for easy storage of ...
Fasten to the wall for easy storage of blankets, saddle pads, or rugs of any kind. The hooks on the ends will hold your tack, hats, or coats. Favorite Features Made of high yield strength steel Powder coated black to ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug is rated 4.196428571428571 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made! I bought 2 of these last month and am extremely pleased!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I hope it works! I'm so glad Smartpak is good about their returns because my gelding does not follow the sizing guidelines! He is half arab and has a very petite neck! He wears a 78" blanket and the mediums size hood seems to be a decent fit! I wanted a hood for a little extra warmth on the days when we are below zero here in MN. Time will tell how it holds up and if it rubs on his mane at all....In the future, I think it would be nice to have all snaps to attach to the blanket instead of the two velcro pieces however! I do like the double velcro in front as I have found single velcro straps do not stay put!
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to the Deluxe turnouts Our horses are out a lot more where they are living now so having some extra neck protection on the colder days and nights is important. These handy neck rug covers easily attach/detach to/from the Deluxe turnout blankets for convenience and are an exact color match, too.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good.... Just got this neck rug. It fits well and has good attachments. I am using it with a blanket and sheet from another brand and it fits them fine. Horse was turned out in heavy rain and stayed dry. Don't know how it will hold up but I am hoping it will last!
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit The neck rug fits well. It easily clips on and off of the blanket.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Destroyed in about a week Bought this for my field boarded QH. He isn't that tough on his blankets, had a neck cover that previously lasted all last winter and most of this one but it was a bit too big and becoming worn.Sprung for this cover, and he broke the velcro closure to the point it wasn't functional in about a week! Also tore the connector that went from hood to blanket. Not impressed at all.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good crossover I bought this in lightweight for my other branded turnout sheets/blankets. The other brand only had medium or heavy hoods available. I simply sewed a new ring to the wither pad on the blanket/sheet and was able to attach this hood just fine. I use it only periodically for heavy cold rains or very snowy days. The black matched my sheets fine and kept my horses' necks dry.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!! Leave the hood attached to the blanket all the time!
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features This is a very good quality and is easy to attach to the blanket
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought separately from Blanket but Perfect fit Did not buy neck rug since did not think it got that cold here but this winter is much colder and wetter than usual. Would have ordered the wrong blanket but customer service saved me. Easy fit and easy on and off, my mare seems to like if. Keeps mud off her mane.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Initially great...but broke quickly I bought this to go with my ultimate turnout blanket, figuring I'd save a little $$ and get the cheaper neck rug...how much abuse can a neck rug go through anyways?? Well about a week and a half after purchasing my mare came in with the neck rug un-velcroed but still attached to the blanket, the top velcro piece has fallen off, the stitching had come loose. It was still attached to the neck rug and I was able to stitch it back on. I contacted smartpak and they were great! I was able to return it (had to wash it first) and in the meantime purchased the Ultimate neck rug and have been happy with the quality of the ultimate.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers well Fits great. The only problem I have with it which was the same problem I had with the quilted one I purchased the year before is that the stitching for the velcro tabs are not reinforced so I had to repair both neck covers. Once that was done they both stay closed very well.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I was looking for in a neck hood. This is pretty much exactly what I was looking for. I was looking for a Weatherbeeta neck cover but they don't make them anymore sold separately. So this was a good runner up. I like the material and neck closure much like Weatherbeeta. The top strap is to short to attach to the blanket I have so I just use the Velcro on the sides. I also would have preferred a 300 gram fill but that was not an option so I got the 220. It seems well made and over all is getting the job done.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good protection Purchased this neck rug for a little mare who is in an in/out stall in all weather. It has given her good protection from the wet weather we have been having. It is on 24 hours a day and has stayed put. Just what I was looking for.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit function and quality Bought this neck rug for the matching deluxe turnouts in medium and heavy. Attaches easily, stays on comfortably, no gaps or rubs. Fits true to sizing guide. Excellent construction. Horse is cozy and dry even though he likes rolling in mud. So glad I bought the set. Thankful for reasonable price.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality product I bought this a month ago, it fits great and attaches easily to matching blanket.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Velcro! I almost love everything about this neck rug. The look, style, and fit are amazing, but I hate how it attaches to the body portion of the rug. The velcro has been stripped and no longer stays on just right. I would love to see snaps in place instead, or even better, velcro similar to the front of the hood. That's the only reason I wouldn't rate it at 5 stars.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sizing was easier than thought I wanted to make sure my TWH mare was good to go with the winter (she's being field boarded with a run in shelter). Wanted to make sure she stay protected and matched this up with the Deluxe Turn Out. Sizing was very easy.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ease of Velcro. I bought this a month ago because we needed to body clip my Morgan to participate in Equine Affaire this year and with tempetures being below normal this fall Fritz has been snug as a bug in a rug.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good coverage Coverage is good and product works well with all my sheets and blankets. Definitely offers my horse the protection from wind and rain that I was looking for.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looooove this neck rug!!!! Here in upstate NY, in October it gets into the low 30's at night. The necks' of my show horses get fuzzy overnight! The SmartPak deluxe neck rug was the ONLY one that fit my horse. 16.1 Hanoverian with slightly crested neck. All other brands were too tight around his neck. With that said, if your horse has a thin neck, not sure if this one (horse size) would be too loose. One other thing, I got the heavy weight, and if the temperature is above 40 degees, my horse sweats, even with his summer coat, and when I decreased the weight of his blanket. The neck rugs keep them really, really warm, bear that in mind!
Date published: 2014-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice neck rug This neck rug is functional and easy to use. Has only been used a handful of times but so far no issues with the velcro or unraveling that other reviewers had- the covers seem to be high quality and durable. The large size fits very well on our horses (size 81), actually better than our Amigo neck covers. A very nice addition to our horses wardrobes on those super cold days!
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug My horse has worn this 3 times and the seam is already apart and the flap that holds it together came off.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Neck Rug - uses velcro instead of snaps. V The neck rug uses Velcro instead of snaps. We will have to see how it holds up - but Velcro in past blankets gets clogged with hair and wears out - so, we will have to see.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money Really cheap stuff and it broke the very first day my horse was out with it.
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Secure Winter is here with a vengeance, and I am so glad I had purchased this. It is  well made, fits securely, and stands up to turn-out buddies and their attitude.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits Nicely I bought the non-insulated version of this neck rug to go on the SmartPak Deluxe blanket. I was worried about the fit in light of earlier reviews, as they made it sound like the width of the neck rug would be too big in the large (he has a size 78 blanket), but that the medium would be too short. I went with the large and it fits my 16.1 hh TB really well.  My only suggested improvement (and why I only gave 4 stars rather than 5)  would be to add some metal rings to put the velcro fasteners through rather than relying on the vertical strip of velcro - getting that lined up so that the horizontal strips of velcro attach evenly is a bit of a challenge, even with a cooperative horse. But a small complaint on an otherwise nice neck rug. 
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Usual, great quality! I have had several horses over the years and they always, always get a new SmartPak sheet. They are durable, fit well, and have great features like the snap and buckle front closures which make them uniquely adjustable. The coordinating neck cover is no different: well made, strong Velcro closures and it attaches effortlessly to the sheet. Love SmartPak value and selections..not to mention top notch customer service! Thanks SmartPak!
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, comfy & nice fit! Bought this to attach to matching rug. Stays on great & fits perfect. Just right for my trace-clipped horse when he needs extra warmth. A little pricey in comparison to the cost of the blanket, but worth it.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor durability I bought this for a 25+ yo retiree and it fit and looked really nice. However it only made it 2 days before the lining ripped out on the inside in 3 separate places. The other horses in the field still have grazing muzzles so it wasn't them, and this old guy horse isn't rough on blankets at all.
Date published: 2013-12-01
  • 2016-10-23T11:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_7512, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders