Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles

Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand ...
Description:
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ...
Description:
RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ingredients to prevent horses from chewing on wraps, blankets, wood, manes and tails, and more. There's one word to describe it: Effective! This is because RapLast works in three ways; by sight, ...
Fasten to the wall for easy storage of ...
Description:
Fasten to the wall for easy storage of blankets, saddle pads, or rugs of any kind. The hooks on the ends will hold your tack, hats, or coats. Favorite Features Made of high yield strength steel Powder coated black to ...
Does your horse get shoulder rubs from its ...
Description:
Does your horse get shoulder rubs from its blankets? The Shoulder Guard can helpProtect your horse's sensitive shoulders from unnecessary rubbing and irritation. Favorite Features Stretchy 100% nylon Touch tape closure Full shoulder coverage Available in Navy Imported Sizing It ...
Four-way stretch shoulder guardProtects your horse from bothersome ...
Description:
Four-way stretch shoulder guardProtects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported. Favorite Features Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting Fully adjustable Fast and easy on/off Sizing It Up Small (70 - 72) Medium (74-76) Large (78 ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.65587044534413 out of 5 by 247.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good coverage, comfortable for my horse I like the high neck for the rain & wind. Also like the bit of elastic...it has some give for him
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TURNOUT I loved it , but I exchanged it for the ultimate turnout. This one fits my thoroughbred better, and I like the better quality too. He looks so handsome in it.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket I've ever owned Purchased this as a no-fill to layer on my hard-to-fit, hard-wearing mare. This turnout fits her pretty well, and only has one tiny snag so far, which is a miracle! Will be purchasing these as long as they continue to be made.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I have had such a hard time finding a blanket that is comfortable for my horse. Inevitably, he ends up with hair rubbed out or the blanket slides back and is super tight across his chest or wither. I love this blanket, it fits him so well
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak High Neck Turnout Sheet. I am very happy with this blanket. It is waterproof, dries quickly and fits well.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit for Young Warmblood, but... Received the Lite version in December 2015 and during average rainfall, it seemed to keep my 5 year old Warmblood dry. I will say it fits her large shoulders very well with no rubs whatsoever. But, during the huge torrential rain storms we had on December 24th, she came in soaked. The other two horses (10 yr old Quarterhorse and 17 yr. old Appendix) had new Rhino Lite waterproof sheets and they were completely dry. So, either she was playing in the water (the field had large portions of standing water for the first time... ever!) or the sheet wasn't completely waterproof as the Rhino;s... which is why I am still giving it 4 stars. My girl loves to paw in the water and is a 'swimmer'.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great fit, warm and looks good too! The 1200D outer shell gives me some peace of mind with my very playful TB gelding
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits well I bought this a month ago and I'm so glad, since all we have had is rain and the high neck prevents my horse from having wet shoulders.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit Got this for a gift for a friend and she and her OTTB love it. Fits him like it was made for him. She was super excited thast it was in her color combination too
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket to have for 30-20 degree weather Got this blanket about a month ago and it's worked really well for my horse. Keeps her dry and warm whether it's rain, snow or sleet. The high neck is nice because it keeps Sienna from getting sore because she has high withers.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate sizing Wanted a high heck heavy turnout that kept my horse warm, dry and didn't create any rub spots. This blanket fits great and meets all my requirements.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice turnout for the price My horse is aging so I decided to try this high neck to provide better coverage with less rub on withers and chest. So far, I am very happy with the fit. After a few more rainstorms, I might change the rating to 5 stars if it retains its waterproofing
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Bought this for my 16.1, bigger bodied Hanoverian. He's between a 78-81, so I originally ordered a 81 but exchanged it for the 78. Unless your horse is FREAKISHLY long, I'd recommend sizing down if in between sizes. Can't speak too much to the durability, but I ordered the heaviest fill and 1200d, and seems to be exactly what you'd expect. I love the higher neck. Paying under $140 for a new heavy weight? Can't beat that.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High necks rule! I had been looking for a non rub wither blanket with a little more neck protection and voila here it is!
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This blanket fits well and seems to be a well made product. I use it on both my thoroughbred mare and my warmblood mare.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these SP blankets! I have many of the SP blanketes; stable, Deluex sheet & heavy. All I needed was the medium to complete the collection. Since my mare has a roached mane, I wanted a high neck to avoid any weird pressure point or rubs (she is a large bodied 16.3hh TB). In her sheet/stable/heavy I had ordered an 81, but noticed on occasion when her neck was down, her banket would creep forward leaving her buns exposed. I opted or an 84" this time. While the butt is a little saggy, it is not offensive to me, and keeps her cheeks covered. It fits everywhere else. Looks sharp too. I already know these blankets lasts, as my others are going on 2-3 years of daily herd turnout. All in all, Im very happy with this purchase & even happier I got it at such a great price.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, excellent fit My horse is hard to fit, but this blanket fits him perfectly. Wasn't sure about the high neck before buying it, but really like the way it fits the horse now that we have it, avoids rubs on his withers.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love smartpak.. But not this blanket I purchased this blanket as my first high neck for my gelding. I was dissapointed in the cut and fit . Perhaps it works for a different build of horse but not my guy. Exchanged for one that works , love smartpak's free return shipping on sized items!!
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High neck I love the high neck fit. It doesn't pull on the shoulders at all.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haven't used long enough but... I love the quality of this blanket. Haven't used very long yet but so far so good!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great blanket! I love the fit of the high neck turnouts. This is my first year getting away from the standard fit blanket and changing to this style. Fits my fast growing yearling very well and there is lots of room for adjustment as she grows. Also keeps her very dry, hasn't soaked through or wicked in from the edges like all of the other blankets I've used in the past.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Just bought my first Smart Pak blankets this year and so far am very happy. They fit very nicely and stay put on the horses out in the pasture. So far, no rubs and they seem to be pretty comfortable for the horses. Like the weight of them too. They aren't too heavy but keep them plenty warm enough.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price and durable I have 2 versions of this blanket: the medium fill for my pony and a no fill to serve as a rain sheet for my older gelding. Both fit very well. I've not had rubs, and the pony's has lasted a year looking good as new despite his constant rubbing.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I bought the sheet earlier this year as it was in our barn colors and I have a TB so I wanted to get the high neck. I loved the fit so much that I ordered the other two blankets for the winter. My horse measures an 80, but I chose to order the 78 and it fits him perfectly.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in everyway. I was searching for a blanket that would not only provide warmth and protection from the rain but mostly I was looking for comfort as my old Arabian has a short body with high withers. I love everything about this blanket; easy on and off, full protection and my horse doesn't just tolerate this blanket, he actually seems to love wearing it.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made, definitely water proof! Love this sheet! We recently had a day of 20 hours of rain. My horses go in and out of their stalls and shelters so on went their rain sheets. My mare was 100% dry whereas the other horses were wet in sections under theirsheets. The other 3 brands are well-known brands, but did not stand up to Smartpak.In addition, my mare is a diva and is very picky about the fit of her blanket. If she's not 100% comfortable she lets me know. I'm happy to say she has not complained about this sheet yet!Double thumbs up to Smartpak!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice! Seems to be pretty sturdy and I love the color. If it holds up well through the winter I will be buying more next year!
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I love the high neck on this well fitting blanket.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket We bought this blanket for our large warmblood as a light weight turn out. It fits great, looks really sharp, breathes well and is a good price. Seems durable as well but we turnout individually so not sure how it would handle other horses biting at it. Very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great blanket for the money! All of my horses have one of these blankets. They wear well and offer good coverage. My only wish is for a faster solution than leg straps for taking on and off.
Date published: 2015-10-14
  • 2016-09-25T13:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_236
  • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders