Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

- Item #17378
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles


Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
This finely woven fly sheet offers comfortableProtection against ...
This finely woven fly sheet offers comfortableProtection against flies and insects. The unique zebra print design is theorized to add additionalProtection against flies by utilizing patterns in nature thought to confuse and dissuade insects. Favorite Features Finely woven material Belly ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun and all types of insects. Favorite Features 270 g polyester fabric Twin chest straps Hidden front surcingle Adjustable and removable leg straps Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement Generous tail flap for ...
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ...
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathableSoft knitted polyester fabric with UVProtection to keep your horse cool andProtected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Favorite Features Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches Integrated ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight flysheet that is sure to keep your horse comfortable this summer. Offers head to tailProtection from insects, UV rays and dirt. Favorite Features 95% UVProtection Soft-knitted polyester Includes removable neck cover Azure ...
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your ...
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UVProtection Adjustable and removable belly wrap Full ...
Four-way stretch shoulder guardProtects your horse from bothersome ...
Four-way stretch shoulder guardProtects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported. Favorite Features Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting Fully adjustable Fast and easy on/off Sizing It Up Small (70 - 72) Medium (74-76) Large (78 ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6546184738955825 out of 5 by 249.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket We bought this blanket for our large warmblood as a light weight turn out. It fits great, looks really sharp, breathes well and is a good price. Seems durable as well but we turnout individually so not sure how it would handle other horses biting at it. Very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great blanket for the money! All of my horses have one of these blankets. They wear well and offer good coverage. My only wish is for a faster solution than leg straps for taking on and off.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit for the high-withered Previously, I have been buying Rambo's exclusively for my big, very high-withered warmblood because they are the only blankets I have tried that do not give him rubs and pull/bind on his withers. I am pleased to report that SmartPak's Deluxe High Neck T/O also fits my horse great and for a significantly better price. Can't comment on the durability, it's only been in use a few weeks, but the workmanship looks very solid.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think we have a winner ! This blanket fits my stocky Quarter Horse very well. There seems to be no pressure points over the withers, nor on the point of her shoulders. The length of the drop is just right,too. The color is nice, though it was not a deciding factor on whether or not I made the purchase. I'm only curbing my enthusiasm because I haven't yet tested it's waterproof promises. Presuming it's waterproof, I will upgrade my rating to Five Stars.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket and Very Durable I bought this blanket for my 16.1 1/2 H bigger bodied thoroughbred. It for very well, but as he needed up more it rubbed a little so I bought a sleezy and it didn't rub anymore. Very durable, I have had 0 repairs and it was worn on him basically 24/7 in the winter and he lives out with 5 other geldings. It kept him dry through the crazy NY winters that are always really rainy and extra wet snow. I'm buying this same blanket again for my new horse, I LOVE. it.P.s. I bought the heavy weight
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from beautiful, but does not fit! A friend bought this blanket for me and my horse. He is an average sized 16hh OTTB, hes not wide by any means. Every blanket I get is a size 78 and fits him well. Needless to say we got a 78. The blanket is BEAUTIFUL, I was so excited to get it! HOWEVER it does not fit his front at all. Its wayyy too narrow and the space for his neck is way too tight. It pushes down on the top of his neck a lot. When the blanket is buckled its too narrow in the chest, so much so that he wouldnt even be able to put his neck down without choking or braking the blanket snaps... The rest of the blanket fits perfectly, its very odd. Unfortunately this blanket is getting returned...
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet Very happy with it. I have a blanket with light fill as well. Keeps my horse happy until his bug sheet goes on. He likes the feeling of pressure on his chest and seems more relaxed when wearing something high necked.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I am new to horses so I never owned a blanket. I bought the heavy weight and medium weight at the beginning of winter and I am so glad I did! I live in southern IL and occasionally the windchill factor can be 40 below zero! My horse is a dominant mare, loves to boss other horses, loves to roll in anything. These blankets held up perfectly!!! At the end of the season I brushed them off, hosed them down, put them in the washer and dryer - and they still look like new!!!
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and sturdy I've had this blanket for awhile now and not only is it gorgeous, but my horse has been unable to destroy it. Looks great, kept him warm throughout a rough New England winter, and is as sturdy as competitors' blankets that are twice the price!
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket I haven't washed it yet. I hope the loft in the blanket does not mat down.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I bought this blanket about a month ago, to fit one of my geldings who has prominent withers, causing running and poor fit. This blanket was absolutely the perfect solution. This neck on the blanket goes much further up the horse's neck, solving the issue of other blankets falling way behind this horse's withers, and causing irritation and rubbing. As well as this blanket style helped solve our particular fitting issue, I feel like this style blanket would suit any horse. This blanket has the great options as most Smart Pak's blankets do-My favorite being the so-easy-to-buckle chest snaps. GREATEST FEATURE, EVER!! Thank you, SmartPak, for once again delivering an excellent product.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality and great fit This blanket is one of the few that fits my large warmblood. Fantastic quality with many features (i.e. rubber surcingle spacer locks). Very fairly priced with outstanding SpartPak shipping and service
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the turtleneck Perfect weight, great colors, turtleneck keeps my horse warm
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Turnout, Nice Fit... I bought this in the no-fill in the 84" to replace an aging Rambo for a 4 and a half year old Oldenburg gelding who is 17 hands or more and still growing. I liked the fit, at least for now. This horse is still a little bit lanky, but has a large chest and very deep girth. The blanket covered adequately on his side and fit his chest on the largest setting, so no room to expand, but okay through the spring. The length was good and the blanket did not appear snug, he looked comfortable. The high neck fit well with a little bit of room. He is a ruiner of turnouts, both his and his little herd of mares, so time will tell about that aspect. This blanket fits him the same as his old Rambo, so it does run generous, however, I probably could have gone up a size. If this works out, I will replace the mare's turnouts over time with the same item. The hardware seems fine, including the leg straps. The velcro in the front won't stick well as soon as some hair gets in it, but I can live with that for the price.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the picky horse I have been using this blanket for this winter season, almost every day for 24/7 turnout. My thin-skinned TB who doesn't grow hair has been quite comfortable in the heavy weight. The high neck seems to take all the pressure off her sensitive withers and I am happy to report no mane rubbing! The quality is excellent, very waterproof even in sleet and rain, and brushes completely clean easily. I also like how it is not tight over the shoulder and yet doesn't shift. Runs true to size. Would highly recommend, especially for the price! I am looking to purchase it in the no fill weight since I am so happy with it!
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage. Had to size up for my big Oldenburg Mare, as it was too snug in the neck. Went from 84 to 87. But bought it to go over her turnouts for extra protection from wet and wind.Very pleased with the quality.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I have 6 horses in the pasture and they are very hard on each others blankets. This one has held up very well. I love the fit and the higher neck. I will buy two more for my other horses.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality Love the blanket!! It is such good quality and fits most of my horses body shape really well.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, perfect weight. I first purchased two of these high neck blankets in Medium weight for two different horses... one a still gangly 4 yo and the other a hefty warmblood. Each fits fantastically. I've since purchased three more of them in heavy weight... for the same two horses and the third for a thoroughbred. Fit is great on the third horse too. I favor high necks and these especially sit comfortably vs. binding down as some other high necks I've owned. The warmth factor for the mediums and the heavy are exactly what I would have expected. Love this blanket.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and great look! This is the 2nd of these blankets I've bought and I haven't been disappointed yet. They look awesome and they fit great as well. They also go on and off easily. My teen daughter who is only 4'11" can easily manage putting on and taking it off of her 16 hand appendix quarter horse. Love the high neck especially if windy with rain or snow blowing. Another great product from Smartpak!
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around quality I am very happy with this sheet. The shoulder gussets are deep enough for movement without rubs, and the high neck keeps the rain from running down the neck and behind the withers. It seems like it is built to last through rain and muddy rolls.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket, fits well I bought this blanket for my tb/warmblood cross and it fits very well. Seems well made and sturdy.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect blanket! I love this blanket! I bought the heavy version last year. My warmblood has unusually high withers and a bulky body. He is also very rough on his blankets and constantly picking fights with the others in his pasture he lives with. He did great with the heavy so I bought the medium weight this year. So excited to finally have a decent set of blankets!
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good! After my gelding's other blanket got destroyed by his pasture mate, I was in a quick hurry to find a new turnout. I decided to go with this one because I liked the high neck option and for the price I thought it was worth a try. It fits my horse great, doesn't rub, doesn't slide. Thus far it is in good shape *knock on wood*! Will be interesting to see how well it pulls out after winter. The one thing I didn't like is there were some clear spots where the sewing was messed up leaving fraying edges/straying string…so I did have to take the scissors to a few spots.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mid-weight high neck turnout is awesome. I bought this mid-weight blanket last year for my aged TB mare who has trouble keeping weight on in winter. It held up and kept her warm and dry, and she didn't lose weight. So when our gelding needed a new turnout this year, I bought one for him. He's now toasty and dry as well. Smartpak has improved the leg straps, and the high neck is especially effective in heavy rain. It keeps their shoulders completely dry. I wholeheartedly recommend this blanket.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the design I love everything about the design and quality of the blankets. However on both PRE mares it is tight over the shoulders. I wish there was more room.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific turnout! I bought the sheet version of this turnout a year ago and I liked it so much that when it came time to replace my gelding's worn-out heavyweight turnout this year, the SmartPak high-neck turnout was an obvious choice. With more adjustability through the chest and deep shoulder gussets, this blanket allows my high-withered, retired TB more freedom of movement than his old Rambo wug did. It hasn't rubbed him anywhere, and the fit is deep enough to cover his sides and belly. (For reference, I ordered a 78" for my 1,050-pound, 15.3h TB). He is turned out 24/7 with access to his stall, and I am pleased to say that the turnout has held up very well in these conditions. It's a great high-quality alternative to pricier wugs, and I will definitely consider getting one for my other horse when the time comes to replace her blankets, too.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I have had this blanket about 2week. So far I'm pretty happy with it. The only bad thing is the white piping on it started coming off already :( also the nylon and the blanketstarted ripping where the clasp is on the chest.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Other blankets rub on my horse's mane, this one fits the whole body perfectly and the coverage on the neck seems to eliminate a rubbed out mane. Time will tell, but I love the fit and quality.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic sheet Hind leg straps attached to the sides are too low-
Date published: 2014-12-26
  • 2016-10-20T13:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_238
  • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders