Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots

- Item #21108
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Is your horse tired of stomping in the field all summer long to keep the bugs off his legs? Protect his legs from pests with the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots!

Favorite Features

  • Airmesh body allows for maximum airflow and breathabiliy while offering maximum protection against biting insects which means your horse's legs stay cool and protected
  • Comfortable fleece edging keeps the boots from rubbing
  • Ergonomic fit ensures a comfortable horse
  • VELCRO® brand closures keep boots securely in place
  • Set of 4 boots


*Fly boots are not designed to be kept on overnight or for extended period of time if the horse is not supervised.

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

Customers Also Shopped For
Savings on a full set of front and rear boots! Studies have shown that horses wearing supportive boots on their front legs exhibit increased comfort by shifting a greater percentage of weight onto their forelimbs. As a result, many conscientious ...
The Veredus Magnetik Stable Boot Evo include 28 ...
The Veredus Magnetik Stable Boot Evo include 28 Neodymium magnets which develop a power of 2400 Gauss each to promote healing and reduce swelling. Magnetic energy stimulates the production of Elastin and Collagen, which are essential elements for rebuilding tissues. ...
The Dy-No Turn Bell Boots by Classic Equine ...
The Dy-No Turn Bell Boots by Classic Equine willProtect your horse from over-reaching and interfering with comfortable. Favorite Features Constructed of 2520D DynoHyde material with a dense shock absorbing center andSoft, comfortable jersey lining Water repellent and stain resistant to ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric infused with ceramic powder, to reflect the horse's own body-warmth to create a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate discomfort associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints and ...
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue.Neoprene outer ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ultimateProtection with a reinforced Pro Mesh strike area. Pro Mesh material is rip-stop, durable, and will not hold water. UltraShock lining absorbs shock andProtects the vital areas of the hoof while theSoft, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots is rated 3.645320197044335 out of 5 by 203.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe Fly Boots I bought these around two-three weeks ago and I've used them nightly. They're very durable and double as bedsore guards too! They slip down in the back every night, but my horse is also a mover, loves to roll and go... So I expected that. When he's stalled they seem to stay up better. They wash well and the Velcro is strong.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Wraps Stay In Place & Stays Put Bought these earlier this year and like everything about them but especially that once on the leg and velcroed they stay in place. Bonus too is that each piece is marked as left or right and it is obvious which goes front and back. After hosing the majority of mud off I throw them in washer with Velcro closed. They wash up great. I definitely recommend these fly wraps.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did the job Bought these to keep files off my horses legs so she'd stop stomping and tearing up her hooves. They got the job done.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Boots These fly boots are great! They have extremely strong velcro, and fit very well. I ordered the cob size for my 14.1hh mustang and they seem the perfect size. I was hesitant whether I should order the cob or regular horse size, but it seems I made the right choice. These appear to stay on very well, and seem durable, too.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but slouch a liitle These work great on bigger legged horses but fall down on my finer boned Morgan.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I'm always happy with my purchases from SmartPak but not this time! The fly boots did not fit well, they kept slipping down my horses legs. He was stepping on them and tore a hole in a rear boot. Not satisfied with this product!
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like these boots I got the cob size for my arab and they fit well, plenty big. The velcro is very strong and the material is stretchy so it conforms to his legs. Have not had a problem with them sliding down. The velcro middle strap does not match up evenly on the side, but it is so grippy that it isn't a problem. I would definitely buy them again.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I purchased two sets of other brands of fly boots that didn't last 2 weeks before they started falling apart. I have used the SmartPak fly boots now for 6 weeks on a mare that is turned out 24/7 and they are still intact. I like the soft lining--they boots don't rub and the bugs can't get in. Easily cleaned with a hose. They do run a little big and I would recommend cob size for finer-boned horses.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love theses We have a lot of flies out here!! My sweet horse cadette is allergic to fly bites. I have had the vet out here and we treat the bites but I needed to prevent them. I got these for his legs and he loves them. He can actually stand in one place and not fight the flies when there on. They have not ripped or torn. They are made very well.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work well Bought these to give me a chance to wash the Horseware fly boots my gelding's been wearing 24-7. Was pleasantly surprised to find these are actually much more functional boots and cheaper. These actually stay up most days where as the Horseware were sliding down and bending the metal stays. These don't have a stay to get bent and misshapen and stay up fine without it. I did find the cob size fits my 16 hand thoroughbred better than the horse size, but both work.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SP deluxe fly boots Since purchased, the flies are frustrated, I am happy, Timbrado is calm at last. They stay in place and wash well. What else could you expect? Absolutely nothing!!
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots but waaaaaay too big! I've owned four sets of these for several years now, and they've held up beautifully on my horses, who wear them in the pasture for 12 or 16 hours at a time. I'm only now reordering, in fact—the stays are starting to sag. The one drawback of these boots is that they are so wildly oversized. My 15.3hh chunk of a TB wears the cob size, and my other TB, 16.3hh and solidly built, wears the full size, but they don't fit him well—the length is correct, but they're apparently sized for a warmblood with tree trunks for cannon bones. An intermediate "Thoroughbred size" would be wonderful, SmartPak!
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective fly relief These boots work and they stay on. They are very well priced and seem to be holding up well.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointing I bought these, rather than the Kensington boots because of the contoured fit and light weight. And both of those features didn't disappoint. But the Velcro is the strongest I've ever run up against. Sometimes, I had to sit on the ground and use 2 hands to pull the Velcro apart. There is such a thing as Velcro that's too strong. And the lightweight construction equated to not very sturdy. Over one season, there were multiple rips in the boot and the seams started to come apart. I've gone back to Kensington for the remainder of this season. Not up to Smartpak's usual outstanding quality.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't stay up or in one piece I've had two pairs on my horse since June. It's now September. The first pair ripped in the first week. The second pair lasted about 3 weeks.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leg fly wraps This is our 2nd pair as they are great. They run big so the cob size fits my 16h horse best. They last even with washing.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fly boots! These have been great! I've had them for about a month and they've weathered mud and rain. I washed them today and they seem to be holding up nicely. The Velcro is strong and keeps them on. They have been so helpful in keeping my horse from stomping and throwing shoes!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Velcro really holds... Granted the velcro is the strongest I've seen on any fly boot, but the soft material of the boot itself bunches up and slides down, so ultimately it does not cover the entire cannon. I have used these for 2 months and the material has not ripped. I am only using 2 boots out of the 8 I purchased and have replaced them with old boots I had that stayed in place better. I love the velcro, just wish they could re-engineer with a stiffer fabric. Quality is good...but if I can't use it for it's intended purpose? Not sure I can recommend.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy with good velcro! Bought these to protect my mare from flies. They have been great. Easy to put on. Velcro very sticky... almost too much the first few days! They stay up and do not rub or cause any problems. I bought the cob size for my quarter horse mare who is just under 15 hands.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding Product I think that everyone should own these for their horses. Immediate relief from stable flies. No stomping! Super velcro holds boots in place.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I bought these a month ago. Cob size fit well. Washed 3 times in washing machine and came out very clean. Don't slide off either . Wish they were labeled front and back tho
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bed sore problem solved I bought these for our sensitive skin TB. She has had chronic problems with bed sores on her carpus and the bed sore boots keep slipping or get too hot. Then the flies started so I switched to these fly boots. Bed sores have healed up completely! The Velcro is quite strong so it doesn't come undone. The boots sag a little but that doesn't cause a problem. Our horse is finally comfortable. Thank you!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Happy I had really high hopes for these fly boots, because I typically love SmartPak products, but I was disappointed. There are some positives to this product: 1) They are breathable 2) the Velcro does not come undone. Unfortunately, there is a huge negative: THEY FALL DOWN. I ended up purchasing the brand I used last year, from a different website. More expensive, but I know they won't fall. There are two others in my barn who purchased the same boots and they both had the same problem I did.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible! I've only had these boots for about 2 weeks and I can already say they are the only product I've ever bought from SmartPak that I absolutely hate! The cut of these boots are not universal enough. I bought the cob size for a 15.1hh quarter horse and the horse size for my 16.3hh thoroughbred. Neither of them fit in these boots properly. I've noticed them start to fall down and twist after only a half an hour of wearing them no matter how tight you make them. Very disappointed in these boots and would not recommend them for anyone.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok For One Summer... Maybe I have a grey mare with 4 white socks, and the flies just eat her legs up. She with have huge open wounds, bleeding scabs, it's horrible. It's not an allergy, no welts or anything like that, but with no protection her legs are covered in hundreds of flies. Last summer I bought a different brand of boots that had a wire in the back to keep them upright, and the wires bent and they were shredded in a month and unusable. This summer, I tried to go without them, but it got to the point I was coating my girl's legs in bright pink SWAT every 2-3 days, and she was still getting eaten. So I broke down and bought boots again. At first they were great, they fit just right and stayed on. After about two weeks, however, they started to slouch, and tears began to form around where the Velcro is attached. I sewed the holes with the best of my ability, but the boots went from fitting perfectly with the Velcro lined up, to slouching two inches down with the Velcro almost hanging off I have to pull it so tight. Now the tops of her socks are bare and she is getting open sores again, so I have to use the boots and SWAT. For the price, I wouldn't mind so much buying a new pair every summer, as buying jar after jar of SWAT is more expensive than one set of these boots, but they are so stretched out they are almost at the point of being useless. I have washed them and dried them in a drier at high heat, and left them in the hot sun, but nothing got their shape back. If you don't mind buying 2-3 pairs in a summer instead of jars of SWAT and tons of fly spray, then these are fine. If you are looking for something that will last and retain their shape, these are a no-go. I'm trying to make them last the summer, next year if there are no new brands available I may spring for the twice as expensive ones and prey they last, or buy multiple pairs of these and replace them as they deteriorate.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price I bought these to try my girl with boots. I didn't know if she'd wear them and I didn't want to spend alot if she didn't. She doesn't mind them at all. But they are not the best quality...again i didn't pay alot. The velcro was not sewn well and i had to hand stitch some of it back on after first wearing. I would say they are a good starter or spare set.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snug fit, but breathable! I needed something to protect my horse's legs from small biting flies that torment her every summer as she likes to roll in her manure and wet sand in her turnout. These are just the ticket--fit snuggly, but still allow for her legs to breathe and the flies don't get to her legs!
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Horse loves them. They are easy on and off yet stay in place well. Easy to clean by brushing or hosing off. Best fly wraps I've ever used.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly boots I love them, my horses love them , bugs not so much. Durable only take them off to shake them out.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for my special needs horse. I did not purchase the fly boots for fly protection but to protect my horses ankles from falling to the ground. He's sleep deprived and will fall forward causing open abrasions on the front of his ankles. They take forever to heal because the scabs break open when he falls again. I had boots made for him that he wears at night that have helped tremendously, but they're not great for day wear. My thought on the fly boots was that I could add some fleece or other soft material to the ankle area. I was surprised when I received these boots that they were made of a soft material so I didn't have to add anything. I was also concerned the boots may be too warm because of the material used, but that hasn't been the case. We've had upper 90 degrees while he's worn the boots and there is no heat in his legs.The boots have been in use for over a month and the bindings show some wear but the main material and the Velcro straps remain good at this point. Sometimes the boot will scrunch down a little and gather around his ankle but this may be because I don't fasten the boots tight. For my purpose the boots have been working well, the fronts of his ankles have healed and when these boots wear out, I will buy these boots again.
Date published: 2016-08-11
  • 2016-10-24T12:54CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_11108, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders