Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth

- Item #16112
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is designed for the show ring but is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth.

Handcrafted in premium leather with your choice of plain overlay or fancy stitching. Double-ply elastic at both ends to allow for even pressure distribution. Stainless steel roller buckles. Brown.

Customers Also Shopped For
Leather Anatomic Girth designed to give your horse ...
Leather Anatomic Girth designed to give your horse the most freedom of movement possible. Crafted with natural vegetable tanned, pigmented, aniline finished French leather which accepts oil easily. Leather Anatomic Girth is complete with reinforced dees for training aids or ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American leather available and expert craftsmanship. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with stainless steel roller buckles. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at ...
The SmartPak Breathable Girth is cushioned and contoured ...
The SmartPak Breathable Girth is cushioned and contoured for comfort. The synthetic material offers a non-slip, secure hold. The PVC waffle-weave allows air-flow for your horse and convenient, easy care for you!Favorite Features Double ply elastics Nylon reinforcements Stainless steel ...
Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles ...
Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. The Spooner Classic Girth is stylish with a strong grain leather exterior and smooth calfskin underside. Brown elastic on both ...
The Lettia Memory Foam A/P Click Girth is ...
The Lettia Memory Foam A/P Click Girth is a chafeless, contoured memory foam girth with patented spring-loaded tongue which allows for quick adjusting even while mounted.Soft gel inserts provides maximum comfort. Favorite Features 100% Washable Double elastic at both ends ...
Stylish and sophisticated, the Antares Classic Jumper Girth ...
Stylish and sophisticated, the Antares Classic Jumper Girth is crafted by Antarès Sellier, a successful French saddle maker that specializes in custom saddles and fine equipment for horses and is backed by decades of experience. Favorite Features Strong grain leather ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is rated 4.64935064935065 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wrinkles? I actually decided not to keep this girth. The leather was nice quality and it was good looking, but I noticed that the inner leather wrinkled once the girth was ridden in once. It looked like it would cause rubs. I guess it needs more stitching to keep the leather from wrinkling when the girth is bent?
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift I bought this for my friend's birthday. I have the split end version of this girth and I love how fancy it is with the stitching and how affordable it was for the quality and looks. My friend's TB is girthy so I got her the double elastic to help him be less girthy. She loves it and I would buy another one and recommend it to everyone. It's great for schooling and fancy enough for shows
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent girth I bought this girth a month ago and couldn't be happier with it. Takes oil well, the stitching is beautiful, and the elastic on both sides is really convenient. I've had so many compliments on it at hunter shows to cross country schoolings. I noticed that the leather seems to be wearing a tiny bit from the saddle flaps, but nothing a little oil can't fix. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! Excellent quality girth, love the double elastic. I have several sizes of this girth and they hold up really well. The fancy stitch looks great in the show ring!
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth Really impressed with the quality and looks of this girth. A little more than I wanted to spend but am very impressed with the product overall. Am using for schooling and showing.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Girth! This girth is amazing! I have a large collection of leather and fleece girths, but they are all too small for my horse. He has been getting in shape and gaining weight. When I bought him, he was a skinny, unhealthy four year old who had been broke to ride and left in a field for a year and a half. He has gained about 500 pounds since I bought him, and has gained a lot of muscle also. He is in perfect weight now, with the help of a good vitamin, quality hay and grain, and an omega 3 supplement. I have a saddle with relatively short billets, and this is one of the few leather girths I could find in 56". I adore it. The leather is soft and the padding is nice. With the elastic on both sides, I know the pressure is distributed evenly. To conclude, I love this girth and would recommend it to anyone with any size horse, even a VERY large one!
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Girth I purchased this for a show girth. Quality seems nice, comparable to the Dover split end girth, but this is better because it has elastic on both ends. Can't really comment on the durability as I've only used it once. I would like it better if the elastic was matching brown.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was what I needed I needed a girth to hold the saddle on the horse and this girth holds the saddle on the horse.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy. I was beyond excited to find a nice leather girth for this price. It is perfect with the elastic on both sides. I have used it a few times and it looks awesome! I can't wait to use it in the show ring this year! It has the stitching of the higher priced girths, but you couldn't tell it was this price. My trainer loves it and thought it was super expensive and was thrilled with it!The 50 fit my 17.1hh OldenburgxTB(he isn't a big round guy), who is putting on just a little more weight, but it will easily still fit!
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality at a reasonable price This girth is beautiful...show quality. The leather is soft and flexible. After one month's use, it looks brand new. Once again, I am not disappointed by SmartPak!
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Due to the weather, I haven't had the opportunity to try the girth yet. However, I can give it a great rating for leather quality and it looks fabulous. Plus, the double-ended elastic is always great.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GIRTH EVER This girth is amazing! It is great quality for a fantastic price. I use it for daily riding as well as showing. The stitching and leather has held up wonderfully! A great buy!
Date published: 2011-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather is soft but sturdy; padding is lovely; roller buckles are gentle on my saddle's billets. Can't comment on durability yet, but I've used it 4 times per week for the past 3 weeks and love it so far
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Girth! Bought this girth yesterday at the Equine Affaite, I've been eyeing it for a few weeks on line.I easily noticed the girth hanging on the rack, it has a beautiful rich havanah color that I've been searching for. The leather is soft with out being worked, and with the %15 off that SmartPak offered at the Equine Affaire, you couldn't go wrong with an already "bang for your buck" quality girth.SmartPak, you never cease to amaze me!
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy This girth wasa great buy. It did not break the bank but looks great and the pony and child rider both seem to like it.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely girth! Excellent quality girth, looks fancy and fits well. Great job SmartPak!!
Date published: 2011-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the nicest pieces of tack I own I was very impressed with this purchase! I didn't want to spend a lot of money, but I wanted quality and that is what I got! The color matches my collegiate saddle very well and is shaped nicely for an excellent fit. I would highly recommend this girth!
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful girth My daughter loves this girth. Nice quality and with elastic on both ends makes it easier to tighten. Thanks again Smartpak for a great product.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Girth I ordered this girth on thursday, and was amazed at how cheap the shipping was ($10 for 3day! Dover is $15 for regular shipping.) I chose it with Fancy Stitching as I wanted to look fancy no matter what, whether I was in the jumper ring or Equitation ring. I got it today, and was SO surprised at how nice it was. It was a bit stiff, but totally understandable. I immediately rode my horse in it and it softened up a ton [he also really liked it!]. The 42 fit him perfect, with some room to spare! It got dirty super easy, but thats fine, just needs wiping off. And not to mention the price was AMAZING for the quality, and the fancy stitching is gorgeous. If I ever need a new girth, i bet it'll be this one I buy. (: Can't wait to take this to the rated shows [as there are none around here..]. I bet It'll have eyes set on it!
Date published: 2010-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Girth So far so good. Nice hunter girth.
Date published: 2010-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth for an amazing price! I'm the type who likes to find great bargains that are still quality products and stand up to their much more expensive counterparts. I was initially hesitant to order this girth because of the shockingly low price, but after reading reviews on here I was convinced. Fellow SmartPakers did not lead me astray! This is a beautiful, high quality girth that is well made, soft, and looks like it cost 3 or 4 times the amount. I have zero qualms about ordering any other SmartPak-made product - if the quality is like this, you CANNOT go wrong! This girth could (and has) march into any A-rated show and look perfectly in place. I have had several people at my barn admire this girth since I bought it and they can't believe it's not one of the super high end leathermakers. Just goes to show, you CAN get fabulous quality at a low price! Thank you SmartPak!!!
Date published: 2010-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice For the Money Well Made. Great value for the money. If you do not want to spend $250 for a fancy girth, then get this one.
Date published: 2010-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality without the high price I bought the fancy stitched girth for a schooling girth and it is so lovely I have decided to keep this one for shows! The contrast stitching adds a nice touch. This girth definitely looks much more expensive than it is.
Date published: 2010-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Quality! I recently purchased this girth and have already used it for our 1st showing of the season and I couldn't be happier with it. The color is rich looking and the white stitching makes the quality look like I paid a lot more for it. In fact, my trainers wife is going to buy one for herself it's so pretty. I recommend this girth.
Date published: 2010-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fussy mare loves the fit Both of my horses dislike girth tightening despite a gradually process -- the fit and comfort of this girth makes it much more tolerable. Price and fit and quality are all great.
Date published: 2010-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ver nice -- but I found it quite short! This is a great girth. Very high quality and very attractive. My only beef is that it seems quite short. I ordered a 52", which is the length of my last girth, and it was a good 4" shorter. I liked it enough that I was going to return it for a bigger size but a girl in my barn needed a shorter one and she liked it so she bought it from me and now I have to order another one -- in a bigger size!I haven't seen other people complain about this, though, so perhaps you should double measure your old girth before buying one. (I didn't measure mine, I just read off the number stamped on the end.)
Date published: 2010-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome girth! Great quality girth for a fantastic price. I've paid 2-3 times the price for the same quality before.
Date published: 2010-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! This girth is definitely show quality and looks like it costs much more. The leather is supple and the elastic on both ends is definitely a plus for comfort and adjustable fit. The fancy stitching is a nice touch and is not over powering. It also has padding which is a definite plus.
Date published: 2010-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value As always, great value on quality products. I got this for our new saddle and the elastic on both sides makes it easier while we wait for the saddle and billetts to break in.
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hmmm... This girth is so pretty. I use it on my sensitive Arab, so I use a girth cover over it, but the other day when I was cleaning it, it was hanging on a hook by the sink, and someone walked past and was very confused at why a show girth would be hanging up when the previous show was weeks ago.
Date published: 2009-11-20
  • 2016-10-23T11:56CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_6112, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders