Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

- Item #12425
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why we Love This
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.
Favorite Features
• Adjustable Chin
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.

Coordinating Lead: Flat Nylon Lead with 24" Chain

Sizing it Up

Please note, all breakaway halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is ...
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Big D Halters are built to last. The ...
Big D Halters are built to last. The halters are made withHeavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled stitched for strength. The buckles, rings and squares are premium quality and guaranteed not to break. Favorite Features Customizable Triple stitched ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.464114832535885 out of 5 by 209.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too bih One size does not fit all. Why not offer cob, horse and oversize versions?
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice breakaway halter I bought two of these for my 'boys.' They fit well and are smart looking. (no smart pak pun intended) I had previously purchased the nylon web with knotted nose, which I also liked. These have a nice smooth webbing and it turned out I needed the breakaway feature. I followed the fitting tips from other buyers and they fit fine. My 'regular headed' Saddlebred wears the cob and my long headed one wears the regular.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good products with reasonable prices! The break-away halter is a "must" for my operations. The halter I purchased from Smart Pak is of excellent quality for the price.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent These are decent quality for the price. The nylon parts are very soft and comfortable. The biggest flaw is the hinge area of the clip closure has this little area that seems to just attract mud. Then you can't get the clip open to take the halter off without either digging the mud/dirt out or hosing the whole thing off. It's frustrating enough that I'm not sure I would buy these again. But if you aren't using them for turnout that isn't a problem.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable halter I use these on all my horses and have my boarders also purchase these halters for safety and ease of use. Straps adjust and buckles make clipping halter quick and easy.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bout this about a month ago and it fits my dainty ottb well in a cob. Love the green color!
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter I really like the quality of this halter, but it does run very big. The horse size was way too big for my horse, so I returned and exchanged for a COB, the exchange went very smooth and very happy with this product and the service
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I didn't read the reviews before I jumped on this and ordered a horse size, received it and it was extremely big on my horse, however, the return is so simple, I boxed it up, filled out the paperwork, attached the label and took it to the UPS store and exchanged for the COB size, which fits perfectly. Appears to be great quality too. No hassle returns.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barn Basic at a Great Price We bought these in blue and green and there are a great basic break-away halter for a great price.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter I like the color and quality however it runs large.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! But oversized means *oversized*! This halter is high quality! But man, when they say "oversize," they're not kidding! My massive Oldenburgs were seriously swimming in these bad boys!! Had to exchange them for normal horse size for my big-headed warmbloods.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and pretty The horse size fit my chunky-headed Haflinger perfectly! Love the color, and the leather breakaway is just what I needed for him out in his field with a grazing muzzle.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter and price My horse was traveling and I wanted a safe halter for her.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong yet soft Alive had other breakaway halters hat broke too easily and became stiff with turnout use. This one is still flexible and soft for the horse, and the leather part is strong enough to not break unless it has to. Fits great too.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a halter It's nice. Not cheaply made. Fits nicely. Nice color options
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter on the Market I've been using SmartPak halters for years and love them! The clip is easy to use and they fit well on my horses.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good turnout halter Quality turnout halter that looks good and has held up well after 3-4 weeks of turnout.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this halter a month ago and it is holding up ok. My only complaint is that I wish it was a heavier gauge of nylon and thicker
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the navy blue. I love the navy blue color to match my horse's fly sheet. It looks great on him and fits well.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter I'm like the 10th person in the barn to purchase one of these halters and I'm glad I did! It's sturdy and looks great. Not to mention it's a great price!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality halter, well made. Runs large. Buckles and snaps are of good quality, solid halter. Looks great. Runs large. Overall, good quality for the price.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great every day halter Perfect for turn out. Runs a little big, but still fits.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality I am very happy with the quality of this product. I purchased two since our pony is hard on halters and typically requires frequent replacements. However, the first one has held up so well that we have not yet needed to use our backup. My only issue was that the size was too big. We were able to adjust the fit by punching an extra hole in the leather band.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs large I was disappointed that while my horse usually wears a large in weaver brand and oversized in bridles, this halter is too big and have to adjust on the last holes. Quality is less than weaver. The snap under his cheek is backwards so it faces toward his cheek instead of away so it pokes him. Also unhappy that it snags and collects shavings so my poor guy is wearing his bedding all the time. I needed a halter that he could safely wear 24/7 due to recent haltering issues.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this halter for our new old pony. It is well made, fits very well and expect it to give us long service.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality This halter is very nice, I do wish it fit my horse a little better. I have the crown piece adjusted to fit a shorter head, but then the strap that clips under her throat is just a little too snug. She seems to be between the cob and horse size.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable My horse is in a situation that he has to wear his halter all the time and gets turned out with a large group of horses during the day. My horse being a 4 year old plays all the time and this halter has held up and still looks nice.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great basic Halter I needed a halter for everyday use, and chose this one because it offers the breakaway feature, nice colors, and is reasonably priced. I was happy with the overall quality when I received it.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy halter I bought 2 halters to use for turn out. They are very durable. The only thing I don't like is that they are not stiff around the nose making it difficult to get on at times
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good halter for a good price I like to keep an extra halter or 2 around the barn, just in case! This is a great product that won't break the bank.
Date published: 2016-04-01
  • 2016-10-20T13:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_186
  • loc_en_US, sid_2425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders