Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Shoulder Guard

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #11943
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Does your horse get shoulder rubs from its blankets?  The Shoulder Guard can help protect your horse's sensitive shoulders from unnecessary rubbing and irritation.

Favorite Features

  • Stretchy 100% nylon
  • Touch tape closure
  • Full shoulder coverage
  • Available in Navy


Sizing It Up

Small (Pony)
Medium (Cob)
Large (Horse).

Customers Also Shopped For
The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! ...
The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Click here to save $50 on ...
The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Standard neck Turnout made ...
The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Standard neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in fun colors only available at SmartPak! Imported. Favorite Features Waterproof Lite weight has 0g of polyfill. Made with a 1200 Denier ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and wet conditions, providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
Experience full neckProtection against the elements withThe SmartPak ...
Experience full neckProtection against the elements withThe SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier ripstop outer shell is ultra durable and designed to keep your horse dry andProtected Lined with nylon to prevent rubbing 220g of ...
The Rambo Techni-Waffle Cooler offers the latest in ...
The Rambo Techni-Waffle Cooler offers the latest in moisture management technology! The innovative white fabric helps to reflect the heat of the sun while the waffle design helps to dry your horse quickly and effectively while wicking away sweat. Favorite ...
Bundle and save! Includes the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof ...
Bundle and save! Includes the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Turnout Blanket (Medium weight,220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet in either open or closed front options. Use individually or layer, your horse will stay protected year round with the ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Shoulder Guard is rated 4.078125 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I bought this because my horse and pony wear blankets all winter due to our cold climate and they get shoulder rubs. I bought an XS for my welsh pony and a L for my horse. The L fit well for my horse. The XS for my pony was loose in the chest, but still did the job. My pony is not big in the chest. Product is decent, good velcro.
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product for the price This is a good product to use to prevent shoulder and wither rubs from turnout blankets, however, if it doesn't fit correctly it will rub the tops of their legs. A size medium would have ft my 16h TB better than the large. However, it does the job...the velcro is nice and durable, and the material is easy to wash and stays clean. Good to use under the Rambo Wug turnout for extra warmth in cold weather, also.
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Until I washed it... I loved this product until I washed it. I washed it in cold water, hung it to dry, and the elastic belly band was ruined, as there was no more stretch to it, therefore deeming it useless. It is unfortunate, because it was a nice product for the price.
Date published: 2010-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good fit I ahve a 15.2h Saddlebred mare, I had to order a large because of her big shoulders and neck and it fits great. stays in place and best of all the blanket rubs went away!
Date published: 2010-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from snug fit i ordered the large for my 15.2 ASB mare and it fits perfectly. easy to take on/off
Date published: 2010-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for blanket rubs My horse had a decent size blanket rub on her left front shoulder. This shoulder guard works greatunder her blanket now to protect the shoulder and prevent it from happening again.
Date published: 2010-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fix the Rub My horse had rubs marks all along his shoulders where the blanket was rubbing the hair off. This is great - he seems quite comfortable in it - it isn't binding and the fabric appears to wear well.
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I have a Welsh pony, who, when I measured is a cob type. And having read some reviews it seemed like it may run small. So I decide to get the medium, hoping that it would be better bigger than smaller.I wanted it because his blanket has been rubbing him horribly in two spots, at the whithers and front shoulder. The "shirt" as I call it covers both of these.The material is a nice soft spandex so it stretches, and I suppose you should plan on it stretching because there was enough slack in the fabric and with the blanket on it would pull back on the shirt anyway. It still covered him, but it would have been better to have the small, as it slid further down his back.I noticed it got a little staticky when I pulled it off to ride, but that is to be expected.The only reason the overall rating is 4 stars is because I could use the small, not because the product is bad.
Date published: 2010-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with purchase Size fits well on my horse but do have to adjust it every other day or so as it shift on withers and belly strap shift forward slightly (not enough to interfer with use or bother horse). Stays put on shoulder area that gets rubbed the most though.
Date published: 2010-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit, great price It seems some people have trouble with sizing on these, but the L fit my 16.2h appy qtr horse like a charm.
Date published: 2010-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what its supposed to do My horse's blankets were rubbing his coat across his shoulders so I bought this shoulder guard. He has only been wearing it a week and his coat is already growing back.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it's probably working It is difficult to see whether or not my horse's thinning coat has actually stopped thinning, but the way this cover's top is slightly rubbed indicates that the cover took the rub, instead of my horse's coat. So I am hopeful. The other people's feedback had some sizing issues, but generally speaking, it is fitting pretty OK with my Dutch WB. Next time I might go up to the full body cover.
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shoulder Guard All 8 of our horses wear a shoulder guard under their blankets all winter and we have tried many different brands. This one not only seems to fit the best, but also holds up better than the others to washing and wear. I highly recommend it:)
Date published: 2009-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Item description did not say velcro and when I called a Smart Pak employee they said it was snap on but it is velcro and I do not like that. Also, I have a large horse and I got the size large which is huge and very baggy. I guess it will do the job but it def. isn't worth $35
Date published: 2009-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase! Recently, I bought the shoulder guard for my horse that tends to be hard to fit with blankets so therefore he does get some shoulders rubs. He is a show horse so I needed to make sure that his coat stayed show ready for the rest of the season. I have been happy with this purchase so far, no rubs! The only negative that I have is that the girth area is a little large on him, but it fits him everywhere else so it stays in place just fine.
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some Design Flaws Contrary to another reviewer, I actually found that this ran a little smaller than I expected. Perhaps the sizing is just inconsisent. I ordered this particular shoulder guard because it has a touch tape closure instead of a sport clip closure, but the touch tape closure is put on so that the "rough" side is against the horse unless you pull the touch tape as far up as possible (which in my case makes it too tight). In addition, the shoulder guard seems very tight around the neck and loose behind the shoulders, which is particularly odd because my horse is a smaller, very light thoroughbred. The next size larger would definitely be too big, particularly given the "loose behind the shoulders" issue. I can only imagine what it would be like on a warmblood.
Date published: 2009-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected My horse has worn this Shoulder Guard less than a week and it has already started to pill. Additionally, the size seems to run big- my horse is 16.1 hands, so I ordered a size large. It has actually rubbed a little of his coat rather than preventing it. I do believe it has an extra layer of warmth and does help keep the coat shiny (in the areas where it doesn’t rub).
Date published: 2008-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shoulder Guard I have an Arab gelding who wears it. It has definitely stopped the blanket rubbing and it has held up in terms of quality. My only problem with it is that it goes over my horse's head. Anything going over my horse's head upsets him terribly so it takes two people to get it on and off of him.
Date published: 2008-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Coverage, Best Fit and Durable I've tried many shoulder guards & this one is the best. The materials, including the Velcro closure tape, are comfortable (no plastic buckles!) & it stays fastened and in place. On one horse I use it as a little extra warmth layer & on the other it protects from rubs. Works perfectly for both, and holds up to my roughneck gelding's shenanigans.
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for older horses! My horse Babe has shoulder problems and in the winter she wears a heavy blanket. It really hurts her shoulders! But every since I've started using this product she has been really improving. Works great on the good old ones too!
Date published: 2005-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I moved my thoroughbred up from North Carolina in the middle of December, little did we know we were headed into one of the snowiest winters Massachusetts has seen in quite awhile. The sudden cold shock had my boy huddling under several layers of blankets which began taking their toll on his sensitive withers and shoulders. The Weatherbeeta Shoulder Guard immediately stopped the rubbing and within a few weeks his hair started to grow back. I was concerned that as the weather warmed he’d be unable to wear the shoulder guard with his turnout, but the lightweight material allows him to enjoy his puddle splashing on rainy spring days without working up a sweat.
Date published: 2005-05-07
  • 2016-10-24T12:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_1943, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders