Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Shoulder Guard

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #11943
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Does your horse get shoulder rubs from its blankets?  The Shoulder Guard can help protect your horse's sensitive shoulders from unnecessary rubbing and irritation.

Favorite Features

  • Stretchy 100% nylon
  • Touch tape closure
  • Full shoulder coverage
  • Available in Navy


Sizing It Up

Small (Pony)
Medium (Cob)
Large (Horse).

Customers Also Shopped For
The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! ...
The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Click here to save $50 on ...
The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Standard neck Turnout made ...
The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Standard neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in fun colors only available at SmartPak! Imported. Favorite Features Waterproof Lite weight has 0g of polyfill. Made with a 1200 Denier ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and wet conditions, providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
Experience full neckProtection against the elements withThe SmartPak ...
Experience full neckProtection against the elements withThe SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier ripstop outer shell is ultra durable and designed to keep your horse dry andProtected Lined with nylon to prevent rubbing 220g of ...
The Rambo Techni-Waffle Cooler offers the latest in ...
The Rambo Techni-Waffle Cooler offers the latest in moisture management technology! The innovative white fabric helps to reflect the heat of the sun while the waffle design helps to dry your horse quickly and effectively while wicking away sweat. Favorite ...
Bundle and save! Includes the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof ...
Bundle and save! Includes the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Turnout Blanket (Medium weight,220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet in either open or closed front options. Use individually or layer, your horse will stay protected year round with the ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Shoulder Guard is rated 4.078125 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems that it will work well. I have only used for a week but seems like it will solve the blanket rubbing problem. I thought it might ride up over the shoulders since it has no strap going between the front legs to hold it down but there seems to be no problem. The only design problem I find is that the strap that goes around the belly and attaches is rather short. There is a huge strip of Velcro but there is no horse that would be that small thru the barrel that you would make it that small around. Could stand to be longer for bigger barreled horse.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice feel and color The shoulder guard is working to keep my horse from shoulder rubs. It fits well and stays in place. The one thing that I would change would be to add a chest strap that would run between the legs and fasten on the Velcro fastener that goes around the girth
Date published: 2015-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I needed this to prevent my horses blanket from rubbing the mane.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has held up really well My Thoroughbred mare gets rubbed really easily by her blanket and I was unimpressed with the durability and the quality of the one I bought before this. So far it's held up really well and done its job, not much else you can ask for.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does it's job but already has a tear Bought this as my old shoulder cover had worn out. Disappointed that within a week of wearing it it has a tear in it.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well. I bought this product for my OTTB as he was getting run marks from his sheet, and the hair is already starting to grow back! It is easy to put on, and fits him overall, my only complaint is that it gapes a little in the shoulders after a few uses, and is maybe a little tighter than I expected through the ribs once Velcroed.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good fit Bought this a month ago and it fit my 16.3 TB pretty well.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it Good product, good quality, but a little tight on my 16 hh quarter horses stomach.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from returned no in between leg strap I preferred to have with strap between front legs to keep in place
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product! Easy to put on, seems durable, drawback...it makes the blanket slip.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits fine, already ripped? I bought this for my gelding because he was getting wither rubs from his blanket, this helped prevent that but it does make the hair go in weird directions. It already ripped, and my gelding is not very rough on his blankets...
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! When ordering, I was concerned whether the large would fit my 18 hand warmblood. No problem!! It looks a little like a muscle shirt on him, haha, but the material stretches perfectly to fit right over his "rub" area. Great price, fast shipping, and as always SmartPak's customer service was awesome!!!
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cob fit a 15.1-15.3 hand horse easy Runs large. Fits nice once you get the right size figured out.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lasted the season, may have rubbed? I was impressed this guard lasted the WHOLE season (although full disclosure Wisconsin's season was a little shorter than usual). As usual I waited until after his shoulders were rubbing out, but the guard did succeed in keeping the rubs from getting worse, and allowing the hair to grow back. It machine washed several times and retained it's shape and stretch. Only possible caveat is towards the end of the season I discovered a pretty nasty wither rub. He has never had rubs there before, and I am not certain if it was a seam from the guard (I did not see excess hair or ick on the guard when I checked it out), but he didn't wear anything different from last year either. And it didn't happen until the very end of the season. So I'm not certain if maybe the guard stretched out and started rubbing, or what--when it comes to nicks and scrapes with my horse, really anything is possible.Wrapping it up, I will probably try this one (a new one) again for next season and keep a closer eye on his withers for possible rubs and if it happens again, try another brand. I was impressed that he managed to not destroy it before the season was out, and am not convinced the rub was directly from the guard.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great idea a good solution if winter blankets are rubbing. Quick & easy to put on.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good shoulder guard Doesn't stretch out or fall out of place. Fits my large bodied 16.3 TB well!
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality product but too big! The quality of this shoulder guard seemed good, but horse size was way too big even for my 17 hand Hanoverian mare. I had to take it off after a week because it slid way back, and the top of the neck opening was at the middle of her withers. It pushed the hair up backwards and caused swelling in that area. I definitely should have ordered cob size.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Serviceable shoulder guard Product is doing its job but the elastic is already getting stretched a bit after just about a month of fairly constant use. Product is ok for the sale price I paid but I would be disinclined to purchase at full price.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Large is a medium i have had this one for a short so I can't talk about durability but I have a large horse and this is too small. It needs to come in a XL.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stops shoulder rubbing Winter blanket shoulder rubs are a continual problem for my endurance Arab gelding. Shoulder guard solves the problem. Nice and stretchy, with velcro closure which minimizes bulk and snagging under the blanket. Good value, useful purchase.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I purchased a large for my very broad shouldered Lusitano and it fits him perfectly. There is much higher coverage than a previous other brand I had, yet it does not constrict his huge Lusitano neck! Great product, have only used for a month, so cannot comment on durability.
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from would buy again fit my narrow high withered TB very well! but rides up a bit on my broader shouldered TB..but overall very happy.. The hair started to grow back after 1 week! very pleased and the price was right!
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great product to prevent blanket rubs, but it tends to slide way back on my horse's back. I think that if it was a little smaller and had a piece that went between the front legs, it wouldn't slide back so much. I love that this shoulder guard is a little bit longer than most and gives more coverage along the withers and back because those are the main areas my TB gelding always gets blanket rubs on. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone dealing with blanket rubs!
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I purchased the medium for my 16.1 hh young, thin warmblood and it fits wonderfully. The neck opening was the right size and it stays in place. Material has a nice feel to it also. It has plenty of adjustment around the belly. Definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from held up well this winter Got this because my horses winter blanket was rubbing the hair off her shoulder. It fit well and held up to the winter use. In the spring I threw it in the washer and it came out great.
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect addition I purchased the shoulder guard to eliminate rub, perfect fit, super comfortable for the horse.
Date published: 2011-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This shoulder-guard is perfect for preventing shoulder rubs and protecting already present ones. I own two!
Date published: 2011-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! The large fit my 16 hand thoroughbred perfectly, the quality is fabulous and I could see hair growth in just a few days.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted Perfect to prevent shoulder rubs from stable sheet.
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fix for blanket rubbing Great fix for blanket rubbing! Horse is no longer loosing the hair on her shoulders! Fits great.
Date published: 2011-01-19
  • 2016-10-26T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_1943, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders