Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

RJ Classics Washington Xtreme Soft Shell Show Coat

RJ Classics, Inc.
- Item #21121
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Out with the old, in with the new! The RJ Classics Washington Xtreme Soft Shell Show Coat is not your traditional show coat - it delivers both competitive performance and revolutionary style! The high tech fabric and innovative style makes the RJ Classics Washington Xtreme Soft Shell Coat a great crossover jacket, perfect for any discipline.

Favorite Features

  • Unconstructed interior (no lining) allows the rider maximum comfort and unlimited range of motion
  • Ultra-lightweight fabric is stretchy and breathable to bring you the performance you need in the show ring
  • Water-resistant exterior also repels UV rays (the equivalent of wearing SPF 50) to keep your skin protected from sun's harmful rays
  • Four-button show Coat w/ tonal matte logo shank buttons and hidden zipper beneath allows for a perfect fit with no gapping
  • Three offset front welt pockets create a modern silhouette
  • Zipper cuffs continue the theme for this contemporary coat
  • Wrinkle-free, machine washable fabric is easy to care for

80% Nylon 20% Elastan.

Sizing It Up 

Customers Also Shopped For
The PiperSoftshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy and ...
The PiperSoftshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy and lightweight! Match with the Piper Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak in White/Light Grey as shown or wear them with the Piper Show Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches and you're ready for show ...
Classic design with high-tech features, from a brand ...
Classic design with high-tech features, from a brand you know and love: The Tailored Sportsman. Favorite Features Four-way stretch SchoellerSoft shell fabric Moisture-wicking 3XDRY fabric technology helps prevent noticeable perspiration marks, generates a cooling effect for comfort, and improves dirt ...
The ShowQuest Vintage Stock Tie is a pre-tied ...
The ShowQuest Vintage Stock Tie is a pre-tied stock tie made with top grade fabrics in delicate and beautifully crafted designs, and an attention to detail that is unsurpassed. Imported. Stock pins not included but can be purchased separately - ...
This cart is the perfect solution for around ...
This cart is the perfect solution for around the barn or away at shows. Transport two saddles and all your equipment with ease. Favorite Features Adjustable handle Adjustable saddle racks Removable wire basket on the bottom Pneumatic tires Gray tone ...
The Romfh Microweave Bling Pre-Tied Stock Tie features ...
The Romfh Microweave Bling Pre-Tied Stock Tie features clear crystals along the front band, a comfortable adjustable neck collar cover, and a Chill-factor panel on the tie layer to keep you cool on those hot days at the horse show. ...
Add the finishing touch to your show outfit ...
Add the finishing touch to your show outfit with Stock Pins by Browbands with Bling. Exquisite designs are carefully hand-crafted in the USA from high quality materials including genuine Swarovski crystals. Stainless Steel backing. 2" long. You can even match ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


RJ Classics Washington Xtreme Soft Shell Show Coat is rated 4.636363636363637 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my first soft-shell..very pleased! This coat seems well made and I love the zipper features that it has. I do not like when the buttons gap on older show coats in the chest area. It is my first soft-shell jacket and I have to say, I love it!I used it at a horse show last weekend, and it's currently hanging to dry after going through the wash machine. Easy!This coat is longer in length than the Grand Prix, but that was ok with me.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this coat Frankly, the coat was so far out of my price range, I almost didn't order it. But then I decided why not just try it on. The problem is that when you try it on, it feels SO GOOD you have to keep it. Honestly it's worth the money, but I only rated it a good for value because it was such a budget buster for me.I am very slim through the waist and broad shouldered, and wanted a clean silhouette for equitation. This coat provided me a slim fit, but allowed full range of motion through my arms and shoulders. If I were to criticize anything, it would be that it isn't a long. I have 5'10, and could use a little more length, but the fit is still great enough that I rode in a national competition wearing it!
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect, perfect, perfect! I have been looking for a soft shell show coat for ages! I've looked at Pikeur (the Gotha coat) and Grand Prix too since they were in a similar price range - but the sizes either fit only my waist or only my shoulders (I have relatively wide shoulders). I was very adamant on getting a Pikeur coat too - but luckily I found this at SmartPak! It sits perfectly on my shoulders and the waist area looks great too - the zipper under the buttons helps reduce any wrinkling! Coat ends where the sleeves end, which is great for me but may be a little short for dressage or other disciplines. Saved me a bunch of time and money since I didn't have to tailor it at all. Personally I don't think it's too thin - i've also only had it for a few months so I can't comment on durability. I only wish it had custom collar or inner lining color options - but honestly it fits so well I was willing to give the fancy flairs up for this coat. Highly recommended and well worth the price!
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality material and details The material is amazing for jumping but also looks so chic! The details help to support the jump at hand of jumping and showing but make this the most comfortabel jacket. Felt so good and looked even better!
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this coat on at a show and loved it but wasn't really in the market for a new one. However, I couldn't stop thinking about how amazingly well it fit and how great it looked. I haven't gotten to show in it yet so it's hard to gauge the durability and such but so far I love it!
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I have used it once and absolutely loved it. It is so comfortable. I had first ordered it one size larger and had to return it and order 1 size down. I do wish it had come in a short but the regular does fit ok. I thought price was very good.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unfortunately did not fit. This coat has many good qualities. It is lightweight, flexible and good looking. Unfortunately, it did not fit my daughter's build which resulted in strong wrinkles in the arms and the sides of the body. Likely would fit better on someone who was not as muscular.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Side by side comparison: this wins!! I needed a soft shell coat for showing hunters in the summer. I get migraines when I get overheated, so a breathable, lightweight coat was a must. Over a 2 week period, I tried three GP coats (TechLite Classic Sport, TL Quinn, and, Classic Sport Washable) and 2 of the RJ Xtreme coats: the Washington Xtreme, and the Monterey Xtreme. At first I liked the Quinn; it fit better than the first GP I'd tried. If I hadn't had this Washington Xtreme side by side with the Quinn, I would have kept the Quinn. But once I put this on, it was a whole new story. I love the four button look and the zipper closure behind the buttons is very flattering. (The Quinn has these features too.) Where the Quinn and the Washington xtreme coats differed is in the finishing details. This Washington Xtreme looks more polished and fits me like a glove. The Quinn and other GP coats flared out over my hips a little too much, were a little bit baggy in the waist for me, and the back vents weren't quite high enough (maybe why the waist was baggy). The Washington Xtreme, on the other hand, had just the right flare and length to the hips, and the waist was perfect and the vents ended in just the right spot. I also noticed a difference in the fabric when I had them side by side: the TechLite fabric of the Quinn was a little shiny. I didn't like it at all once I noticed it. The Washington Xtreme fabric is a lovely, soft lightweight, breathable fabric that is just stretchy enough to give and makes the fit perfect. Also, I love the zippered sleeves which make it easy to slip over gloves if needed and the angled zipper pockets are flattering and handy. The cut of this coat is very slimming and flattering. The Monterey Xtreme was also a bit too flared in the hips for me, but everything else fit fine. I just really like the 4 button look but the Monterey is a bit more classic. For sizing information, I wear a 4-6 in street clothes and the 6 in this coat fit me perfectly. I have average proportions. I wore a 12 in the GP coats. I am so glad I got to compare the Washington Xtreme to the Quinn side by side. The Quinn is a very nice entry level soft shell coat. But this is a step up for sure and if you're going to spend the money, spend the extra $50 and get this one. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for our hot, humid weather This is a comfortable, (relatively) cool show coat that (for once) does not feel like you are trying to jump fences while wearing a suit coat. It is very thin and lightweight, which takes some getting used to, but it still looks like a traditional coat when on and it is great for showing in the Texas heat and humidity. (I don't feel like I'm going to pass out after each trip.) I wear it in the hunters and think it looks perfectly appropriate. I particularly like the hidden zipper, since I have a large chest and pulling and gaping are often issues unless I buy the coat very large. This fits my chest without looking too big elsewhere. It is also easy care. I liked it so much I bought one for my trainer as a gift.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I just received this coat in the mail. I had seen it in a local tack store, but they did not have my size. I wanted a soft shell coat, with a bit of a pattern. The tonal black is gorgeous and exactly what I was looking for. Some of the other soft shell coats are very shiny, but this one has a more natural looking tone. I am rather large chested, but smaller everywhere else so other coats I looked at would need to have some tailoring done to make the rest of it fit properly after sizing up for my bust. This one fits wonderfully everywhere, no alterations required. I can't wait to start showing in it!
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little too thin. I know every now is looking for that super stretchy and thin show coat. I tried this one on in person and it looked like I was wearing a shirt. the material is literally so thin the you can see through it when holding it to the light. It just doesn't even look like a show coat. If your'e looking for a nice, stretchy, and durable hunter/jumper coat, I'd recommend the Grand Prix Quinn, also available on SmartPak!
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great concept, not so great coat I think that this style is the coat of the future -- basically the same fabric that yoga pants are made out of -- cut like a dressage coat. This coat needs a few extra touches though to look like a dressage coat -- it needs shoulder pads and back venting with buttons or zippers or something that will give it a little interest from behind. The vents as they are are only a couple of inches deep. And it needs metal buttons! The plastic ones are just too cheap looking. A great idea whose time has come, just not quite right here. And crazy expensive compared even to pikeur or cavallo coats.
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my life! This coat was the first soft shell show coat that I bought. I stepped into the next generation with this coat and couldn't imagine going back. When I first saw it I was blown away by the amazingly soft and stretchy fabric - what really sets it apart though, is the quality of the tailoring. When you put this coat on it looks like it was professionally tailored but then you also feel like you can go do some equestrian yoga! I've machine washed and hung the coat for care and it's held up beautifully over the 1+ year that I've owned it. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most amazing coat EVER!! I'm so happy I bought this coat.  It's extremely comfortable and stylish!  It fits like a glove, but is stretchy enough to allow the movement you need.  LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Coat - Worth the $ After searching endlessly for a coat that work well for dressage and stadium, I wound up with this coat. The Pikeur Skarlett was much too short and boxy, and traditional wool coats were not an option. It has the technical, lightweight fabric that make it bearable to wear on hot days. The shape is very flattering, and after only competing in it once, I received many compliments on it. I LOVE the zipper behind the buttons, it makes for a very polished (read: can't gape and see through to your shirt underneath) look and is very elegant. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! Like everyone else at a horse show on a hot day, I would be dying in my wool coat. Even so called lightweight and stretchy ones! I had never spent more than $200-$250 on a show coat.. And obviously as they are all getting much more technical with advanced features and fabrics the price is reflecting this! So when I started looking around, I knew to get what I wanted it would be more of an investment.When a button on my old coat broke at a spring show, a friend loaned me her wellington extreme coat. We are similar in size, but I would say she is slimmer than me. The jacket is SO stretchy all over it fit me like a glove.I showed in her jacket in my classes and knew there was no going back to the wool!!I ordered this jacket to finish out my show season, and ordered a size smaller than my old wool coat as it is much more forgiving. I can't even describe how much I love it! So light weight, and so flattering. I ordered the navy as I primarily show in the hunters now, and it is VERY dark. Dark enough that at first I thought they sent me the wrong color! My friend's coat is the black one and next to that you can tell its navy. Just so y'all know, it is a very, VERY dark navy.I am a pretty normal fit, don't usually need things altered (sleeves etc) and this is no exception. It was delivered on a weds and I tore the tags off and showed in it on a Saturday.I would suggest investing in a lightweight and fitted show shirt to wear under this jacket. Anything of a thicker material that is baggy doesn't look good under it. I bought the new tredstep symphony long sleeve white shirt, and it was a perfect match.Soooo much more comfortable than any other jacket, AND you can use the smartpak 20% off coupons on r&j classics! Technical and totally new, but still very classic and appropriate for hunters and hunt seat equitation.Everyone who tries mine on wants it! AND did I mention you can throw it in the washing machine!? :)
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome coat, but pricey I've waited a long time to find a lightweight coat with stretch that's washable. Luckily I tried on a RJ coat locally to find my size, so knew what I needed. I'm exceedingly happy as this coat's fit is perfect, styling is modern yet classic, and the material is amazingly comfortable. The zipper under the buttons is very smart and keeps everything in place. The stretch is what sold me and is why I'm keeping it even thought is way overpriced. We'll see how it holds up (that's why I only have 3 stars for durability - as I have yet to wear at a show), but the fit and comfort are superior. It's the first time I'm excited to wear a coat.
Date published: 2013-04-15
  • 2016-10-26T13:03CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_11121, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders