Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Repel-Xpe

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13488
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
The horseman's choice for more than 30 years. Diluted 1:7 with water, Repel-Xpe provides economical protection from house flies, horn flies, gnats and mosquitoes. Mixed at 1:4 dilution, Repel-Xp kills ticks, horse flies, deer flies and stable flies.

Favorite Features
Single application keeps flies, gnats, ticks and mosquitoes off horse for days
Superior fly control that's easy on the budget.

Sizing It Up
Pint, Quart or Gallon

View Product Label

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic ...
Description:
The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic gallon jug traps up to 35,000 flies. Fly Terminator Pro is insecticide-free - ideal for use around livestock operations. Reusable. Patented, NO-RUST plastic top won't rust when exposed to the elements and ...
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and ...
Description:
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears and ...
The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable ...
Description:
The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable lotion. Repel-X Lotion is excellent for spot treatment around eyes, muzzle, ears and wounds. Cypermethrin formula with botanically-derived pyrethrins to repel and kill biting flies, filth flies, biting gnats, ticks and lice. ...
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains ...
Description:
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains 2 repellents, plus pyrethrins and permethrin. Favorite Features Contains aloe and lanolin to condition the coat PABA sunscreen providesProtection from harmful UV exposure Sizing It Up 16 oz. or 32 oz. View ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
Description:
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap ...
Description:
? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
Description:
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. Favorite Features Repel-X is a long-lasting water-base formula containing natural pyrethrins Newly designed superior spray bottle ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Repel-Xpe is rated 4.531914893617022 out of 5 by 94.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-X For decades, a tried and true weapon against bug attacks on my horses whether at work or at leisure.
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not work This stuff is a joke. I sprayed my horses legs and body with this stuff and there are still flies everywhere. I practically bathe him in it and within seconds there are flies all over him. I did a test-- 3 sprays on one of his legs and 10 seconds later I find at least 5 flies on the leg. I do have to say I got three bottles of spray out of this concentrate so the value is there. Just wish it would work. I will be trying something else next time.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value This fly repellent works very well and is an excellent value. It sounds expensive for a gallon but since it is a concentrate, you are actually buying four gallons for the price, and it works!
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fly spray that actually works I have used many,many different kinds of fly sprays. I just wanted one that worked and that didn't cost too much. I wanted to buy a concentrate so I didn't have to keep buying the $20 32 oz spray bottles.This fly spray works and is worth the price. The concentrate lasts awhile too!I highly recommend
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I moved my TB to Minnesota from California this summer and the bug situation was quite a shock to him. The first week he was there he had huge hives all over his body and had to have antihistamine injections to calm it down. Consequently, he would stomp all day and I was worried he would make himself lame. I went to my local tack store and bought a strong fly spray which the mosquitoes just laughed at and it was useless. Frustrated I decided for the cost I would by this concentrated version and it has been fab! The only problem I had with it was when I mixed it 1/5 and it was way to strong for him and actually made his skin peal! But, after I learned the correct concentration it has kept everything off! Not the best smelling but gets the job done and a huge cost saver :D
Date published: 2011-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not terribly effective, and OILY! OK, I knew that this is an oil-based insecticide when I ordered it, but I am rather disappointed in just how oily it is! We have a pretty nasty horse and deerfly population at our barn, so I diluted it to the recommended ratio for those conditions. Not only does it smell rather strongly, but I have to reapply it multiple times, just to see results. By the time I do that, my mare has oily, clumpy black streaks all over her. Definitely won't be taking this to the shows!
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product and great value I've been using this product on horses for years and years, and I love it. It's by far my favorite fly spray. I find that it works great (even better than the more expensive brands), doesn't make my horse "sticky" like other brands do, and to top it all off, it smells GOOD! I've never had a horse have a reaction to it, but it's clearly strong enough to be effective, and bought in the concentrate form, it's a great value. I would highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2011-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price I find that this is a very affordable fly repellent. Fly spray can be so costly in the hot and buggy weather. The cheap stuff works for about five minutes, and the really good stuff is too expensive for everyday use! This fly spray does the job and doesn't break the bank!
Date published: 2011-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stall door Staple Have used this forever and it seems to work pretty well. I usually use this as a fly spray for turnout and like that when you spray it the flies actually do stay off. Just be careful of over-concentrating it. I usually stick with the 1:7 instead of 1:4. When its too strong it can 'burn' their skin making it peel.
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Value We've been using Repel-X concentrate over 10 years. Best bang for your buck if you have the time to mix it up. Repels & kills flies, gnats & mosquitoes. With multiple horses this is the only affordable way to go.
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job This stuff works fine for the price, and it's nice to have the option to mix it at different concentrations for sensitive horses or extra-buggy occasions.
Date published: 2011-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly spray value With the price of fly spray between $15-20 per quart, the Repel X is a great bargain. You can mix it stronger if your fly problem is bad, or weaker if not so bad. It is the absolute best value. You do need a funnel to pour from the bottle it comes in to your sprayer bottle because it does drip.
Date published: 2011-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No flies! Fly spray works great and smells nice. My horse doesn't mind being out on muggy days when the bugs are the worst!
Date published: 2011-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-Xp I have used Repel-Xp for many years. I get consistent results when used in combination with Equitrol, Arbico Fly Parasites, and strategically placed Fly traps as an integrated fly control program.
Date published: 2011-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable for decades I have used this spray since I had my first horse-it's got a very strong distinct odor and has to be mixed, but works as well as anything, and even helps with ticks. I have given several others a chance for "natural" or sunscreen or sensitive claims, but this works as well as any(nothing is foolproof )and economical too!
Date published: 2011-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical Fly Spray I've used Repel-X for years. Being a concentrate, it's the most ecomonical flay spray that works just as well as the expensive ones. I do have to spray every day though. It has a very pleasant smell.
Date published: 2011-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only fly spray I use Even with just 1 horse, the cost of fly spray can be astronomical. I find concentrated fly spray to be the cheapest option and Repel XP has been by far the best at keeping the flies away in my area. It doesn't have an awful smell either.
Date published: 2010-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely the best fly repellent
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I use! I have used Repel-Xp for two "insect" seasons. I use it at 1:5 dillution and it helps for flies and ticks too! My mare had one tick all spring / summer in 2009 and none this year. Love this product and don't even use anything else for ticks.
Date published: 2010-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great fly spray this is an all around good fly spray. I mix it a little stronger than than the directions require and it seems to work great. 4:1 seems to be the formula for me
Date published: 2010-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Repel xp acceptable Works as well as any item but must be put don heavily and daily.
Date published: 2010-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep Coming Back I have been using Repel-X for many years. Occasionally I will see a new product and give it a try but I always go back to Repel-X. I like the fact that it repels and kills ticks. And it's a great value.
Date published: 2010-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most economic route I've used RepelX for years....it's by far one of the most economic fly sprays. I like the fact it can be made as strong or mild as you need, and it does not leave a heavy film on your horse's coat, something very important when you're showing. I have tried just about every brand of fly spray on the market, and this is the one I keep coming back to.
Date published: 2010-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite for Years Repel XP is economical, lasts for several days and repels those nasty biting flies that seem to come out at the end of summer. Excellent product.
Date published: 2010-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray! My horse has very sensitive skin. I had trouble finding a fly spray that kept the flies away without bothering his skin. I used to have to drench him in a very diluted spray and then cover him up with a fly sheet. Then I discovered Repel-X. Now all I have to do is spray him up and he's good to go. The flies don't bother him and Repel-X doesn't bother his skin!
Date published: 2010-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value Like most horse owners, I've tried ALL different kinds of fly sprays. I've tried the kind that claims it works for 14 days but it never does. So I switched back to Repel-X and use it every other day. My horse is extremely fly-sensitive so I also use a fly mask and sheet. In combination with the Repel-X, he is very comfortable. The thing which makes this brand stand out from the rest though is the fact you can buy it in concentrate and mix your own. This makes it the very best fly spray on the market.
Date published: 2010-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff Love this fly-repellent: it works, doesn't irritate sensitive skin, and is water-based (so less likely to attract dirt). And since it's a concentrate, you're not buying a lot of water and can adjust the dilution to suit your needs. One of my"must-haves" in the barn.
Date published: 2010-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from really work In the Connecticut woods, we really need fly spray that works! Repel-Xp is a great value and keeps those flies and mosquitoes away. I see fewer ticks on my horse too (using the 1:4 dilution). Only complaint about quality: they could design a better pouring spout. You must have a funnel and steady hands to pour, especially when you are just starting the gallon container.
Date published: 2010-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product is great and the price is right I have no problems putting this on my horses and it keeps the flies and bugs away
Date published: 2010-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST fly spray Repel-X is by far the best fly spray I've ever used. It's a great value, but works better than most of the more expensive sprays. You do have to re-apply it after you hose your horse off, which is a down side.I dilute it 4:1, and it seems to really keep ticks off, as well as flies and mosquitoes.Highly recommended. Smells good too.
Date published: 2010-04-25
  • 2016-09-29T13:11CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_3488, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders