Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo® Wug Turnout Blanket w/ Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18713
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection so your horse can stay warm and comfortable in any weather.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier Ballistic Nylon, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Thermobonded fiberfill insulation for longer lasting heat retention
  • Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • PVC coated tail cord and removable triple surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps
  • Large tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable triple belly surcingles
  • Reflective strips for visibility
  • High neck cut with leg arches

We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up


Medium has 200g fill
Heavy has 370g fill


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Protect your pony from winter's worst with the ...
Description:
Protect your pony from winter's worst with the ultimate in turnout armor!The SmartPak Ultimate Pony Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features aHeavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a ...
The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
Description:
The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Big D quality and features in this top ...
Description:
Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, ...
Description:
A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, andProtection against cold and weather. Designed for horses with a narrower build, the seamless design helps prevent mane rubbing and is perfect for thin-skinned horses. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1000D ballistic ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an ...
Description:
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an innovative design engineered to naturally move with the horse and ensure the utmost in comfort! This durable blanket is made from 1000D ballistic ripstop nylon and backed by a 4 year guarantee! ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Rambo® Wug Turnout Blanket w/ Leg Arches is rated 4.576470588235294 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit! I finally bit the bullet and bought a Rambo Wug w/Leg Arches. I am so happy I did! I put Toby's on last night, it was a perfect fit. The blanket fits him without gaps around the neck and chest, and seems to stay put. This blanket is very well made, and I really like how it 'hugs' him. He looks very comfortable - so much so that when I came in after chores last night, I immediately ordered another blanket for my other gelding. I am going to have to find out if Rambo makes sizes larger than 84 so my draft cross can have one too!
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best turnout ever!! Tough, truly waterproof, good fit and quality hardware. And, I love the reflective trim as it helps me find my horse in the pasture at night!
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout Sheet! I finally found a sheet that fits my TWH mare! She is very narrow in the front which had caused rubs or gapping with every other blanket I've tried - and there have been MANY. We get a lot of rain in Tennessee and the high neck is great for keeping the water out. I'm very pleased with the quality of the blanket and LOVE the color.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fabric quality, not so great butt strap! I love Rambo Turnouts and have others which have performed well. My mare ripped off the butt strap on her first day of wearing this sheet (this is her usual way of indicated if anything is uncomfortable---she is otherwise not hard on her clothing). I elected to replace the thick rubber strap with an adjustable fabric strap that is less "grabby" on the butt. Since then, no issues. The turnout is performing well and keeps my mare dry and happy in our winter downpours!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very rugged Great turnout sheet and the most rugged I have ever owned. My horses are out 24/7 and go in and out of the barn at will. I have a sheet and a medium weight for my PRE and alternate between the 2 depending on the weather. Recommend this outdoor sheet highly.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic turnout sheet! I love my Wug turnout sheet for my TB. I bought this sheet because my horse has high withers and large, muscular shoulders, and I was told that this sheet is great for horses with this build. When I purchased the sheet, I was concerned that the high neck piece may rub his mane. My horse has worn this sheet nearly every day for the past six months, and it's worn beautifully and has not caused any rubs on his mane or shoulders. The high neck piece helps keep him warm and dry. I also like the added safety of the plastic clips on the belly surcingles. This is a very well made, durable sheet that I look forward to using for years. The fantastic eggplant purple color of the sheet and the reflective strips on the sheet are nice added bonuses!
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shredded in 3 months and Rambo doesn't care! My horse used this turnout for 3 months. The inside shredded completely, and then the outside ripped too. He's never had an issue with any other blanket. When I contacted Rambo customer service, they refused to honor the "3 year guarantee" that I had registered for after buying the blanket, as it apparently only covers waterproofing. Well, if the blanket has shredded I guess it's no longer waterproof! They were not responsive. For a premium priced product, I would expect much better than shoddy material and poor customer service. Their logo is "the best your horse can get", well I'm sure my horse can get better than Rambo! I'm switching to smartpak blankets which I've also been using all winter on my other horse. They have better quality, better value, and a real guarantee.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo rocks! I bought this after trying and returning the Amigo Wug, which I found much inferior. My 17 hand Warmblood mare is so pleased with it she has stopped trying to bite me when I put it on her! LOL (She hated all the others I had for her.) The features are all here and the detachable belly straps with the breakaway feature makes me more comfortable leaving her in it overnight, as she likes to lay down and nap in her stall. Now if it holds up, I will be satisfied paying the high price.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO!!! This is a wonderful Rug. Run, buck and jump, it stays in place. Rolling also..
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! I own two of these, one lite and one medium. They are expensive, but well worth the cost. My horse refuses to stay in her stall except to eat. She wants to be outside no matter what the weather. She is in a 5 acre pasture with some woods and 9 other horses. There are a lot of play and dominance issues going on. Underneath, my horse's coat is beautifully shiny smooth. Both the blankets have held up and have no holes whatsoever. I have seen others put much cheaper blankets on their horses that are shredded in a matter of days. These even hold up when my horse goes into the woods. They wash up beautifully. I recommend Rambo wash and the laundromat with line drying. I predict they will last many years. You would not regret spending the extra money for these wugs.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best WUG hands down I own three WUG turnouts and will own nothing else. They are very high quality, they wear well for months at a time and my horses have no rubs.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I bought this blanket for our large pony mare who was clipped this Fall. Love the front closures, both "dog hook" and velcro, and the extra belly strap to keep out drafts on the coldest nights. The neck is high enough to keep her warm and no wither or shoulder rubs. It does make noise due to its crinkly fabric and initially she didn't care for that sound, but seems to have gotten used to it. Love the coated tail straps too, makes cleanup easy.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reflectors are a life saver! Last night my horses got loose from me in the pasture. The gate swung open, and they saw a golden opportunity to run around in the woods and play with the other horses. Not only was it pitch black, but there was a large expanse of woods for them to run around in. The only reason we were able to find my boys is because they were wearing these Rambo blankets with the reflectors. We were able to shine a light through the woods and the reflectors lit up. I hope that no one else will have to deal with this, but I'm so thankful that my boys were wearing these blankets.
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this blanket! Absolutely love this blanket. I have a skinny, 27 yr old TB gelding who needs all the help he can get in the colder months. Regular blankets leave his neck so exposed and although he is old, he still acts like a 2 yr old and easily rips and tears blankets. This blanket stays so nicely up on his neck giving him added warmth, the multiple Velcro enclosures and clips in the front keep it nice and secure and the three straps under his belly keep his body secure and warm too. no back leg straps necessary. I bought the medium weight which is very nice, and layer an extra blanket under it on the coldest of days. Wouldn't recommend any other blanket now!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more rubs! My 16H narrow chested Arab is a wimp. Every blanket he's ever had rubs his high withers and shoulders. But I've had this blanket on him nearly every day for a month and he hasn't shown any signs of rubbing ... yet. Me = thrilled! Is it pricey? Yes. But it fits him great, has a nice warranty directly through Horseware, has held up despite many rolls, and the hardware is great. I really love the V designed neck opening and snaps. The high neck feature minimizes pressure on his neck. The only complaint is the belly straps are just a skosh long but I think buckling the middle band LAST helps keep the straps at a safe length. I will say he is the type to walk around the paddock with his nose hoovered to the ground. I imagine if you have a horse who walks with his head quite high the WUG style might not be for you.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from well made This blanket is well made. I like the high neck instead of the usual roll of fleece. No more dent above the withers. For our horses the extra velcro on the chest is a bit over kill. As is the center curcingle. But that is our horses not your houdini horses. The under the tail plastic covered bungee is ok so far. We are used to leg straps.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is a great blanket. I love the high neck, as it's the only way I can give my small chested horse a Rambo(the originals hang off him). Great durability, fits wonderfully. I do wish they had it in colors different than purple!
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i like the blanket but not for the price. the blanket has sides that i think are too long for my 16 hands ottb & the long neck crumps up not giving him the coverage i was hoping for especially while out in the paddock grazing.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! These blankets are a must, they fit my horse perfectly, the V front closer is perfect for my rather narrow chested guy, the tail cord is great just hose it off, or wipe with a damp cloth when it gets dirty. And the third curcingle is great to keep him snug as a bug in a rug.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug Everyone I had talked to before has recommended that I get a Rambo blanket, and I'm so glad I did. My OTTB was turned out with others who play rough in the pasture and they tore his old blanket to shreds. This new blanket fits him well (he is a size 78") and I have faith that it will actually last through the winter.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super super blanket for horse with difficult withers. Perfect ! I have had the winter-version of this blanket for the same horse, first time in 5 years without rubs.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've just graduated from regular neck to wug neck and it's heaven! No more wet shoulders inside the blanket.My Hanoverian I've tried in a wug neck that I still have from 2 horses ago and it didn't work, but exactly for the reasons it didn't fit him were why I knew I could buy one for my husband-horse mare. She's a long & low QH 24/7... My Hanoverian is very upright in the pasture, so the neck seemed a bit restrictive when he was in his upright-alert moments, still kept his shoulders pretty dry though.I haven't had problems with the extra material up the neck making them too warm on those "warmer" rainy nights and mornings that dry off and warm up before you get there for PM feeding/chores, that was a concern, and has yet to be a problem. Definitely love the blanket for the level headed horse!Expensive, but worth it! My mom replaces her cheaper blankets almost annually, either they fall apart or don't stay waterproof and we both care for blankets correctly and turn out in small groups/herds. I say it's the cheaper blankets she buys.FYI- the blanket I bought initially has been used 3 winters on a previous horse and now was used for this mare and is still completely waterproof and has no tears. My horses live out and turn out beside and with others, my 3 are together and she is the bottom of the pecking order, the old blanket has withstood herd behavior and fill is still where it belongs. That's why I bought her a Rambo rain sheet in the same style.Picture isn't beautiful, wasn't meant to advertise the blanket, but the blanket fits her great and I love the purple on a chestnut!
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great and Stays in Place! My horse is a big warmblood with huge shoulders - he perpetually rips the shoulders in his blankets. He also tries to take his own blankets off when he gets too hot - ripping them. And, he rolls and sleeps lying down so they get crooked if they don't have hind leg straps. I hesitated on this blanket because it doesn't have shoulder gussets or hind leg straps, but I really wanted a blanket with the high neck (otherwise the rain runs down his neck and his chest gets soaked under his blanket) and the v-front closure (he was getting rubs from eating with his other blanket). This blanket was well worth the cost! He wore it all winter and it stayed put, even though it doesn't have hind leg straps, and no rips or any other damage! Water stays out and the rubs on his chest are gone. Very, very pleased this blanket.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment! The Rambo Wug is well made, waterproof and attractive. I own a number of the heavy weight Rambo turnout coats and find that they last for YEARS! This time I purchased a lite coat for spring rains. (Every time I try to save money by purchasing a less pricey brand I find that the cheaper products rip, wear out quickly or lose their waterproof quality.) You get what you pay for. Rambos are a worthwhile investment. These coats fit big athletic horses without causing rubs. The front closure system has been improved yet again. I removed the tail strap under the tail, yet the coats stay in place on all three horses without shifting.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar Quality My horse lives outside in the pasture in Montana 24/7 year-round. I own Rambo Wugs in all three weights. They fit great and are super durable. Love the increased neck coverage without having to get a separate neck cover. Really my only wish is that the back panel over his tail could be removed separately for washing--it gets dirty with manure quickly while the rest of the blanket stays clean for weeks.
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, tough blanket. I bought this blanket several weeks ago and have been impressed with how well it has stood up to constant wear. We had subzero temps for the past week and I was able to layer a midweight Rambo under this blanket with no trouble due to the generous fit. The plastic tail cord is a major improvement.
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality sheet Bought this sheet for my daughters warmblood mare. She actually measures an 80 but I ordered the 81 even knowing they tended to run a tad big. We wanted to be sure we could layer the sheet over the Rambo blanket and hood (78") with enough room and it does that perfectly.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny!! We purchased these blankets for our two OTTB boys, who can be rough and tumble during turn out, to say the least! After extensive research and some indecision, we opted for these and I'm so happy we did! So far, they have provided fantastic warmth and not a drop of moisture gets thru! These blankets are very easy to put on and take off with the chest clips and velcro (no buckles !) and I love the three belly surf ingles instead of the standard two. Best of all, these blankets STAY IN PLACE!!! With the high neck design, leg cut-outs, and well made chest closures, these blankets really do stay put, even through rough housing, rolling, and laying down. I've read some of the other reviews that state the blanket bunches at the withers/back which is does somewhat, but it has to in order to accommodate the horses head being down without shifting the entire blanket back. If you're contemplating like I was, don't! So far these blankets have stood up to Rambo's great name!
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from stays in place I bought this because every other blanket on my horse ends up twisted and shifted that requires lifting and re-adjusting. This one stays put.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad shoulder fit Thought I should bite the bullet and buy what I thought would be the best blanket even if expensiveHate the fit over the shoulder and tried it on several horses
Date published: 2014-01-27
  • 2016-08-28T11:36CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_8713, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders