Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included


Sizing It Up

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 

Customers Also Shopped For
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun ...
Description:
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun and all types of insects. Favorite Features 270 g polyester fabric Twin chest straps Hidden front surcingle Adjustable and removable leg straps Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement Generous tail flap for ...
The KensingtonProtective Sheet provides maximumProtection from biting insects, ...
Description:
The KensingtonProtective Sheet provides maximumProtection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs. This sheet providesProtection for up to 78% of UV rays. Favorite Features 1000 x 2000 denier Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Description:
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
Give your horse full neckProtection from the flies ...
Description:
Give your horse full neckProtection from the flies with the KensingtonProtective Neck Rug! Favorite Features Protection to up to 78% of UV rays in addition to biting insects Lined with 70 denier nylon to prevent rubbing Attaches easily to the ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects ...
Description:
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing your ...
The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced ...
Description:
The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced fabric construction of ring spun brushed polyester with the latest in moisture management technology making this high-tech sheet Horseware's most versatile yet. Imported. Favorite Features Moisture management technology wicks away moisture and ...
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your ...
Description:
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UVProtection Adjustable and removable belly wrap Full ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Rambo Protector is rated 4.578125 out of 5 by 128.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good! I haven't owned it long enough to truly rate it but so far I am very happy. It does run large. I bought one size smaller but now wish I had gone two sizes smaller. He did sweat a little around the shoulders but today was the hottest day of the year. He doesn't mind it at all. I observed a big roll and the sheet did not impede or slip.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a fly sheet that lasts! My paint mare sunburns on her neck and back if I don't keep a fly sheet on her during the summer, but I was sick and tired of buying multiple sheets in a season when they got destroyed in the pasture. I decided to dish out the extra funds for a Rambo, and truly you get what you pay for. I have used this sheet for most of the summer for a mare that is on pasture 24/7, and although it's a little dirtier, it has held up really well. You can easily hose the dirt off when it gets too nasty, and the fabric is very breathable. It fits my solid-but-not-too-chunky paint very well, and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! What else can I say-it's a Rambo! That speaks for itself. I took the advice of other reviewers and ordered a smaller size and that worked. The blanket is holding up great (as all Rambos' do!) and certainly takes the rough-housing of my miniature donkey jumping up and trying to rough-house with my mare.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Fly Protector This fly protector is much cooler than some of the others I have used. I have a Thoroughbred who is very sensitive to the bugs and they did seem to bite him in some spots even with the sheet on. However, the flies have been horrible in the Northeast.I would recommend this sheet for its durability and good looks. Rambo adds the third surcingle which is helpful with keeping biting bugs away from the under belly.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fly sheet I bought this flysheet looking for lighter material so my horse wouldn't sweat. Before he was in a Baker which is made of a heavy plastic feeling mesh. This flysheet wasn't as soft and light as I expected but it was an improvement so I kept it. I fits beautifully and is really well made. Easy to put on and stays in place. Unfortunately my horse does still sweat on his neck and shoulder where the sheet is lined. I haven't been able to use it the last 2 weeks. Its been really hot (90s) though so I can't really blame the sheet. I can't comment on durability at this time but I do have high expectations considering the cost. I look forward to using this high quality sheet once the weather becomes a little more mild.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good this is the third one Rambo rugs are so durabule, I now have s fly sheets and one winter rug all the rugs will be replaced with Rambo as they need to be replaced (Rug is a blanket)
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rambo protector I really like this fly sheet. It is much lighter than most and keeps my horse cooler on hot, humid days.I would highly recommend this sheet to a friend.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet ever purchased! This is the best fly sheet I have ever purchased, it's easy to put on, covers great, and very durable!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RUNS A SIZE LARGE! I love this fly sheet and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quality fly sheet. I warn anyone though, order a size smaller than you would for normal Rambos.. If your horse wears a 78" regularly.. order a 75".
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most durable so far This is the most durable fly sheet I have tried so far. The stable owners call my horse's fly sheets "chew toys for Landon" (my horse's pasture playmate) because they have been hanging in shreds from my horse within days/a couple of weeks of wear. This sheet only has 2 golf ball sized holes after a good 6 weeks of wear and they are not fraying nor otherwise getting larger. :)
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet, but watch for fit First, let me say this is the same high quality product you would expect from Rambo. The material is softer than most fly sheets and my horse doesn't get near as sweaty under it as past sheets. It seems to be durable because my guy takes his daily rolling very seriously. No rips or tears so far.My only complaint was the fit. I ordered a 78 which is the size of his Rambo turnout blankets and sheets. It was so much longer than his other 78s. The end of the sheet (not the tail piece) hung to the end of his tail dock. The sides on the ends hung to below his hocks. A smaller size wouldn't work because the front of the sheet fit really well. (He is a tank of a warmblood so someone with a more "petite" horse may find a smaller size works.)I'm lucky enough to know a woman who does blanket repairs and she altered the sheet to fit.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing its job So far so good on this fly sheet from Rambo. This sheet does run large. Had to return the 81 and order one size down. The horse I bought this fly sheet for normally wears a size 81 in Rambo blankets but the 81 was too long for him. Good quality. My horse stays cooler and bug free in this fly sheet.
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Fit Horse normally wears a 78 or 80, but per the Horseware measurments, I ordered a 75. It fit fine lengthwise, but the neck was cut too large and the sheet kept sliding back and pulling hard on horses neck. If it had been a less expensive sheet, it might have been okay, but for what these sheets cost, I expected it to fit perfectly. I returned it.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Sheet Love the quality and workmanship! The sheet stays in place well, and my mare seems quite comfortable and happy.I would definitely buy this sheet again.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Happy Rambo has always had great durable products and this one is no acception. Very well put together. The Belly bands along with the Chest straps help keep it snug and where it belongs but still allows our horse to move freely. Stands up well to rolling and romping around in the paddock. The only downside I found was that it runs a bit large. Our TB is swimming in his!
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like this fly sheet... It gives all over protection but it runs big... My horse is a true 78 to the t... It is way big. So as far as durability it is wonderful but I recommend going with 1 size smaller.....
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sad day Yes a sad day to see after less than a month the front lower right and left trim and backing for the chest were frayed, pulled and torn. The buckles under the belly are showing signs of rust or discoloring at the least. There is one large pull. My horse is nineteen, well mannered but playful. I expect some ware and certainly some tare, but the amount and variety is way beyond reasonable to me.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sizing poor, otherwise great! Like all Rambo products I've had over the years, it's durable and doesn't slide around when rolling etc. Keeps the flys out and the coat slick and shiney. However the sizing is way to big! My horse wears a 78, but a 75 is the right size for this product!
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Survived Two Summers I've had this fly sheet for two years. It made it through the first summer in great condition, but the second summer it got a bit torn up. I pulled it out the other day and looked it over and it now has several finger sized holes and a 3-inch long rip in it. My horse is an OTTB who spends time in a field with other horses and in his stall. He isn't particularly rough on his blankets. Looking at this fly sheet, compared to other brands, I would say it is probably fairly durable and fits well. It also kept his dark bay coat from bleaching out.As an aside, I probably wouldn't recommend getting the cheaper Amigo version. I've owned both Rambo and Amigo products, and although I still think Rambo products are overpriced for what they are, the Amigo light weight sheet I have is of pretty low quality. I've had it for two years and it's faded and coming apart at the seams. I would have to assume that you might encounter similar issues with the Amigo fly sheet.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable!! This is a great fly sheet for horses that are rough on their clothes. My horse tore holes all through his last fly sheet but so far so good on this one! It also has great coverage so it offers good protection from those pesky bugs. It runs big though. I bought a 75 for my horse who normally wears a 78 and it fits fine.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slides to one side, metal surcingles I own a number of Rambo blankets - was hoping the fly sheet would fit as well but unfortunately, it does not. It fits slightly larger than the rambo wug lite and does not sit/stay midline (within 30 seconds of walking it had slid all the way to the left on my horse). Coverage of the belly is mediocre at best (wish they had a belly flap)....oddly enough, the metal surcingles which allow you to attach the neck piece are located on the underside of the blanket....which means they are against the horse's skin when the neck piece is detached (when its attached, the velcro straps cover the metal). That was concerning for me. Given the fit, I have to return the sheet - can't speak to whether the metal surcingles would end up being an issue since its going back.Wish it was requisite with the quality of Rambo blankets!
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet ever Been through a bunch of fly sheets, seen them rip up like tissue, on my horses and boarders horses. Decided to bite the bullet on the Rambo and see if it was worth it, trying to keep my new mostly black Overo comfortable and black! He is dominant over his little grullo buddy in the paddock, be he's a roller and a rubber and by gosh the thing is holding up, even with the pine trees. He's in a shady paddock, but so far he hasn't come in sweaty, and it's in the upper eighties already here in the south. It's made it two months intact, stays on, doesn't shift, and doesn't bother him. However he won't keep his matching 'astronaut' face mask on. Usually put a safety halter on top of the horses who pull them off, but haven't tried it with this design. Also, horse is 16 hands, usually wears a 78", 75" fits perfectly, thanks to the reviewer who pointed that out.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I purchased this fly sheet for my daughter's thoroughbred - I love the fit, the quality, and ease of putting it on and taking it off. In fact, I like it so much that as soon as i am done with this review I am going to order one for my horse! My only suggestion is that it would be nice if it came in more than one color - so people like me with multiple horses, doesn't have to worry about mixing them up.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I really like the sheet. Appears very sturdy. Had to return for smaller size. Seemed to run large.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing is too big, otherwise good Many reviews said the sizing is too big - they are right. I have had to return and ask for the next size down. I like the feel of the material, and assume since it is a Rambo it will last a long time
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best I love all the Rambo products. Their blankets fit all of my quarter horses well. No rub areas, secure fit and the cut seems to fit around the chest and shoulders perfectly. I have tried many other fly sheets and blankets but have never been able to meet all areas I need for blankets. Durability is the best. Overall you get your money worth since they hold up a lot longer than the other brands.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The fly sheet does not fit like the Rambo in the same size. It runs larger. I like the idea of a tail flap, however it is much too long and my mare cannot get it out of the way to avoid urinating on her tail. For a gelding, it would probably be a better fit because of the tail flap issue.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best out of Four Black horse since 2008, this is the fourth sheet we tried to keep him dark and fly free in a very humid area. The mare he goes out with chewed up two and one did not fit at all, lots of rubs. This is the winner for a Quarter Horse. I would only complain at the gap in his chest, it gets fly spray, but otherwise has been wonderful.
Date published: 2011-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but worth it! The mosquitos are so big they have landing lights! This new Rambo Protector along with a Crusader fly mask with ears saves my thin-skinned girl from the hungry little buggers. Well worth the purchase price and it looks like it may even make it thorugh more than one season. Lets hope so!
Date published: 2011-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it. It was difficult to decide to spend the extra $$ for this fly sheet, but it has stood up to plenty of abuse and remains in great shape. My last fly sheet ripped within a month. This has a snag here and there where she has rubbed against the fence, but it wears like iron and works beautifully. You do get what you pay for.
Date published: 2011-08-16
  • 2016-08-31T11:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_123
  • loc_en_US, sid_2314, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders