Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included


Sizing It Up

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 

Customers Also Shopped For
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
Description:
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun ...
Description:
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun and all types of insects. Favorite Features 270 g polyester fabric Twin chest straps Hidden front surcingle Adjustable and removable leg straps Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement Generous tail flap for ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Description:
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
Description:
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
Description:
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UVProtection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily Imported Sizing It ...
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your ...
Description:
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UVProtection Adjustable and removable belly wrap Full ...
The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrumProtection ...
Description:
The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrumProtection from a wide range of flies and mosquitoes. A breakthrough combination of five active ingredients helps ward off even the most resistant insects, while giving the horse's coat a healthy, oil-free shine. ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Rambo Protector is rated 4.578125 out of 5 by 128.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money! I bought this last month for my TB cross after moving to a place FULL of mosquitoes. He's a playful guy and can be tough on blankets. So far, so good. He typically wears a 76 blanket, but I took SmartPak's advice and subtracted down. It fits him perfectly. Other people on the farm didn't get the smaller sizes and their blankets hang way to far down. It stays where it should, even when he rolls a lot.It's worth the extra money up front to get the better blanket!
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic product I bought this product for my half Arabian Tobiano. She is very sensitive to both sun and bug bites. The Rambo Protector has kept her from being sunburned and amazingly, even though she rolls in the grass and dirt, for whatever reason the mesh almost seems to wisk the dirt off her coat. She is mostly white and when I take the Rambo Protector off her she is still pure white even though the Sheet is dirty. It works to keep 90% of the bugs from biting her but they do tend to go up underneath from time to time which makes her kick out quite violently because they get trapped under the mesh. The Rambo Protector is easy to put on and remove and seems to stay in place very well which is refreshing since many sheets I have used tend to slip to one side after a little while. I did read plenty of reviews prior to making the decision to purchase it and all of them said to buy a size smaller than your horse would normally wear and I'm so glad that I did because it fits perfectly.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective. Great Quality. Safe and Secure.. This is my first Rambo blanket and I'll look this brand for my next blanket. It gives the coverage I need and a secure fit for all day wear. My gelding loves to roll and it goes with him. It hoses off and dries nicely. The quality of the straps/connections are above my expectations.As a bonus, the color is perfect for my tri-color pinto.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs long I love Rambo products. My horse has only worn the fly sheet for 2 weeks, and so far it's worked very well. The fly sheet seems to run a bit longer than the Rambo blankets here wears.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits well but area in front allows black flies in I purchased this for my Morgan mare and it fits nicely, and is easy to adjust. I like the large tail cover which really provides a lot of protection. My only complaint is that there is an open area between where the neck cover comes down and the front of the blanket. Here in Maine we have 'black flies' which are slightly bigger than no-see-ums, and this is their favorite area to attack. This fly sheet (and most others) provide very little protection in this area (you can even see the gap in the promotional picture). It would be nice to see the neck cover protect this area as well.I haven't had this long enough to see how durable it is, but it's a nice sturdy fabric.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fly Protection!!! I bought this 3 weeks ago and my horse loves it!!!! It keeps the flies away never have I seen any near her anymore. Although, she did get a little bleached out on her back, but worth the money for great fly protection. The material is really tough, but not uncomfortable. It is nice because she lives in a field with trees and I don't worry about her ripping it because it is such a nice material. My mare is always lying down in it and it is great in hiding the dirt. Overall I really like this fly sheet!!
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs big I bought a Rambo Classic Lite 87 and it fit perfectly. So I bought the Protector an ordered a 87 and it is huge. I recommend it but one size down.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT fly sheet, sizing is horrible! The quality and feel of this fly sheet is superb, and I love it in that aspect. But the sizing on it is horrendous. My horse is normally an 84 in Rambos so that is what I originally ordered, well the drop fit him beautifully (yes, it is supposed to cover quite a bit) but the length was horribly too long. So I then ordered an 81, now the drop is slightly too short but the worst part is it that it is still TOO long. My horse is a 18h tank of an Oldenburg who's an 84/87 blanket and the 81 is still too long on him, but if I order a 78 the drop will be wayyy too short and the belly surcingles probably wouldn't even reach to buckle. I don't know what is up with the sizing on these, but they definitely need to figure something out. I am keeping the sheet just because it is quality and I do like it, but I wish the sizing wasn't so funky.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow Up Review This is a follow up review after ONE YEAR of use. I live in Hawaii so my horses are in these almost every day for at least 12 hours. These things wear like IRON. I have literally bought every sheet on the market and this one is hands down the best. I am including a photo that shows two of my horses wearing sheets I bought at the same time, one was freshly laundered (hosed down, soaked in oxy-clean for an hour and then machine washed on cold) to show you how well they clean up. It is soft and almost clean as new! Anyone who has experienced our red dirt knows this stuff STAINS but these sheets clean up WELL. I have absolutely no complaints about this sheet! They do run big though (my usually 82" wears the 78" and the normally 84" wears the 81").
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Size down 1 size I have 2 of these fly sheets. The first one I bought in his regular Rambo size (81") and it was too large and rubbed his chest. I used it for 2 seasons, but last year I decided to buy a new one because the chest's liner had started to rip. I bought a 78" this time and it fits perfect. I have 4 other Rambo blankets and he fits 81" in all of the them, so I'm not sure why this blanket runs large.Pros1. Coverage is great2. Protects against mosquitoes/flies3. Wraps underneath the horse's belly4. Strong and doesn't ripCons1. Sizing is off it fits large. My 16.3 hh warmblood/thoroughbred cross usually wears 81" in Rambo and needed a 78" in this blanket2. I don't like how the hood fits (it slips down and twists)3. Price is high
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased this size 78 sheet for a 1/2 TB mare who wears a size 81, her old green textilene Rambo died after more than 5 summers of wear. This new sheet was too narrow across the chest, she is 17" across from point to point of shoulder and too long, withers to tail. So a more narrow chested mare who wears an 80 wore it for a week, sheet too long from withers to top of tail flap. This mare is now wearing her new size 80 Kensington, which fits perfectly. On to the 3rd mare, 16.3 h. WB, normally wears a size 84, it fits thru the chest, the drop is perfect for her, still too long, this sheet measures 62", withers to top of tail flap. Rambo needs to return to the old dimensions and sizing! This sheet does wash well and easily. I like the long drop on the sides and it has quality fittings and straps. The fabric snags and frays more than textilene and the very long tail flap inhibits tail raising. I had 3 horses wearing old style Rambos for years and they were great, this one...NOT so much. I would not buy another.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase Rambo Protector met all of my expectations. Very durable and fits my horse well.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Rambo products These run very large, my mare normally takes a 78, she was swimming in it, and I had to go with a 75. They changed the snaps on the front from swivel to solid snaps, I am still unsure if I like them or not. Plus they took the tabs off the belly to run the surcingle thru and I don't think it stays in place as well. Overall I like it, I will really have to wait and see about durability.... haven't had it long enough.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! Both of my horses wear this sheet and it is by far the best fly sheet I have owned. The material is so tough and durable, yet it's very cool and breathable. They do run large, my horses usually wear 75" Rambos but can get away with the 72" protector fly sheet.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true I have had these before and they work and hold up well. I was looking at the new Buca's but since it was mail order and I didn't know anyone that had one I went for the one that I know I will get several seasons out of.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly protection Really happy with this fly sheet. Just ordered a new one for my Friesian cross. I think it's worth the investment.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet! This is by far the best fly sheet I've ever owned. My horse gets shoulder rubs from all other brand fly sheets. This one fits great and doesn't rub at all. It also allows better air flow keeping my mare cool and bug free. Worth the price.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Show horse wore this sheet one time in large grassy field. Sheet was snagged and ripped when he came in.Poor durability and quality.DON'T BUY THIS SHEET!
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flysheet I bought this flysheet for a horse on our farm about a month ago, and now am buying them for everyone else! They're so light and the horses are noticeably happier about the flies.It's great that the neck is detachable, so the horse isn't always 100% covered up. These are large - my horse usually wears a 75 in Rambo, I bought him a 75 - it fits him nicely, but is very long/deep (which is great for fly protection!).Had smartpak embroider them - came out beautifully!
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet! I bought this sheet for my TB. It has held up wonderful with him out in the turnout and in his corral. Even when it was 100 degrees he wasn't sweating. Glad I read the other reviews and ordered a size smaller. Fits him perfect. I would definately buy another.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fabric I love the fabric this sheet is made from. I believe it will hold up well. I wanted the V front for my large chested TB/Perch. cross as she breaks regular straight snap fronts. I had to return for a smaller size, as I appreciate the free shipping! This really runs large. The neck is a little large and the buckles too low on her so I took the sides of the neck up with bandage safety pins and the fit is pretty good now. I love how the sheet makes her coat look- smooth and super shiny. My mare would have large welts on her from bug bites and this sheet does a good job of keeping the bugs off and protects her tail from the no-see-ums. I especially love her coming in her stall and not rubbing her tail on the walls. Ticks will crawl under the sheet so I apply some spray in their favorite hiding places.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fly Sheet I LOVE this fly sheet. Its material is the perfect texture - soft enough to be gentle on the skin and coat yet firm enough to resist easy snags and tears. The neck cover actually gives perfect coverage - not too short!!! It has a longer drop than any other fly sheet I have owned which is a great feature. This long drop is one of the reasons that this sheet appears to run so large, but the body of the sheet fits very much like my Horseware blankets. I have a Thoroughbred who always wears size 78, and the 78 in this sheet fits him perfectly. My Quarter Horse normally wears a 75, but because he is toward the smaller end of 75 and he is not as leggy as my Thoroughbred, I might order the 72 for him. I am glad SmarPak is so great with returns just in case I choose the wrong size for him. I cannot speak for the durability of this sheet, but it is extremely well made and looks like it will hold up well. I am thrilled with this sheet so far, and I think my horse would agree.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! This sheet runs at least one size large but Smart Pak quickly exchanged. The design and fit is excellent once sized. I am a fan of the V-front closure and highly recommend it. The leg arches allow the horse to move freely along with the fit at the shoulder. There is no shifting of this design when the horse rolls. One recommendation to the design is to have a "High Neck" style like the blanket. This provides for an even better fit through the neck/shoulders.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Choice "If this sheet had any more bells and whistles, I'd need a degree from MIT to put it on," said a gal who works at the farm where I board my horse. BUT this sheet stays on. It protects my horse from the midges that give him sweet itch and the horse flies that terrify him. It also wears better than any other sheet I've tried.Worth the money.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rambo Protector Fly Sheet Every horse in our barn has this fly sheet, so my horse got one for Christmas. They seem to out last all others. I have a Peruvian Paso, so I needed a size 69". It fits thru the back and belly OK, but it is a bit tight in the shoulders. If it is velcroed closed in front, it fits just fine. But then when you clip the 2 buckles, it folds over the velcroe and is a bit tight. I may need to add an additional buckle for the broader chested Peruvian.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fly Sheet In over ten years of horse ownership, I have NEVER taken the time to review a purchase. This sheet, however, deserves some serious applause. I bought the size 69 for a 16.1 hand yearling clydesdale halter horse to protect her from sun fading (she is black) and flies. She wore this sheet day and night for over four months and was turned out with two rough and tumble horses. Aside from a few minor snags, the sheet is in awesome condition- it wears like iron. It does run large though, the 69 went almost down to my horse's knees, so it may not work so well for a smaller horse. This sheet gives great UV protection, my filly stayed raven black through our sunny California summer, and even in 90+ degree temps, never broke a sweat wearing it. I have purchased fly sheets from probably every major brand, but the Rambo is by far the best!
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RUNS LARGE! This is a very nice fly sheet, and I would know as I have owned nearly every one on the market! First note it RUNS BIG, I had read that in other reviews so I ordered down a size (My horse measures at 85" so I ordered an 81", ENORMOUS, so I ordered a 78") I love how long the neck is! It is actually built for the modern shaped horse! (I have Paint/Quarter Horse show horses) I haven't had it long enough to comment on it's durability but I am very happy with the quality thus far. I only wish SmartPak sold the waterproof liner as well!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet ever My neck rubber, roller, in the woods guy couldn't kill it! Wore it virtually every day since May. Kept his mostly black parts black, white marks white, never more sweat on blazing hot southern days than horses with no fly sheet, and would come in clean as a whistle! Other horses stomping and swishing despite tons of expensive fly spray, he's dozing with a hip dropped. Still wearing it some days mid October. Even the giant black "elephant flies" don't phase him, they light, he doesn't buck and run like the other horses, they fly away. Only complaint, how to afford 11 more of them...
Date published: 2012-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! I have purchased in the past Rambo fly sheets and they have worn like iron. When I purchased my new horse he needed a new fly sheet and I purchased this one. It fits great, the longer neck provides great coverage and I like the three belly curcingles since they appear to add more coverage. Currently it has held up fantastically and washes great. I love it so much that my friend will be ordering one for her horse.
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Fly Sheet I just bought another Rambo fly sheet. The last one lasted for 2 full summer seasons . The quality of material is great. My horse is an outside horse, so it has been exposed to all types of summer weather and still is doing the job. The only reason I am replacing the original one is that "no-rub" material is ripping. (Understandable after 2 years in the sun). A friend of mine recommended this product to me and I would also recommend the Rambo Protector to others.
Date published: 2012-10-09
  • 2016-08-24T11:18CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_123
  • loc_en_US, sid_2314, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders